DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application 18/738,982 filed on 06/10/2024.
In the instant application, claims 1, 29 and 30 are independent claims; Claims 1-30 have been examined and are pending. This action is made non-final.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 06/10/2024 are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9-11, 17-20, 24 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected based claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 14 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (“Li,” US 2014/0160353), published on June 12, 2014 in view of DAI (“Dai,” US 2011/0314510), published on December 22, 2011).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Li: ¶0011 and Fig. 1; the control apparatus 13 communicates with the remote control apparatus 11 and the TV set 12 via a network), including a respective input device (Li: ¶0012 and Fig. 1; the remote control apparatus 11 includes the touch display unit 111 is configured for generating touch signals when being touched by a user):
displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface of an application on the electronic device, wherein the first user interface is not a system user interface of the electronic device (Li: ¶0013 and 0024; the TV set 12 broadcasts TV programs in the normal mode, and runs an executable program such as a music player or game selected by the user and displays an operation interface corresponding to the selected executable program when in the smart mode. Note: when the TV set 12 is in the smart mode, the interface of the selected execution program, e.g., music player or game, is displayed on the TV set 12. ¶0014; the first remote control interface displays a plurality of icons of buttons of the remote control apparatus 11, one of the icons is “TV/iTV.” The user touches the icon “TV/iTV” to change the normal mode to the smart mode, or change the smart mode to the normal mode);
while displaying the first user interface (Li: ¶0024; when the TV set 12 is in the smart mode, the interface of the selected execution program, e.g., music player or game, is displayed on the TV set 12. ¶0013; the working mode of the TV set 12 includes a normal mode and a smart mode. The TV set 12 broadcasts TV programs when in the normal mode, and executes an executable program selected by the user and displays an operation interface corresponding to the selected executable program when in the smart mode), receiving, via the respective input device, a first input; and in response to receiving the first input: in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is in a first mode of operation, providing the first input to the first user interface of the application (Li: ¶0013-0020; when the TV set 12 is in the smart mode, the remote control apparatus 11 displays the second remote control interface on the second display area 111b of the remote control apparatus 11. The second remote control interface is used to controlled the operating interface corresponding to the selected executable program displaying on the TV set 12. Note: a smart mode is interpreted as a first mode of operation); and in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is in a second mode of operation (Li: ¶0013; the working mode of the TV set 12 includes a normal mode and a smart mode. The TV set 12 broadcasts TV programs when in the normal mode, and executes an executable program selected by the user and displays an operation interface corresponding to the selected executable program when in the smart mode. ¶0014; the first remote control interface displays a plurality of icons of buttons of the remote control apparatus 11, one of the icons is “TV/iTV.” The user touches the icon “TV/iTV” to change the normal mode to the smart mode, or change the smart mode to the normal mode. Note: the normal mode is interpreted as a second mode of operation), different from the first mode of operation (Li: ¶0013; the working mode of the TV set 12 includes a normal mode and a smart mode. The TV set 12 broadcasts TV programs when in the normal mode, and executes an executable program selected by the user and displays an operation interface corresponding to the selected executable program when in the smart mode. Note: the normal mode is different from the smart mode), [providing the first input to a second user interface without providing the first input to the first user interface, wherein the second user interface is a system user interface of the electronic device].
Li does not appear to teach: providing the first input to a second user interface without providing the first input to the first user interface, wherein the second user interface is a system user interface of the electronic device.
However Dai teaches a set-top box entertainment system. Dai further teaches: providing the first input to a second user interface without providing the first input to the first user interface (Dai: ¶0011 and Fig. 1; the set-top box 20 includes a television mode and a game mode. The remote control device 30 is employed to control the television, for example, changing the channels, in the television mode. Under the game mode, the set-top box 20 runs game applications to generate game video/audio signals, which can be displayed on the television 10, and the remote control device 30 is employed to control game playing), wherein the second user interface is a system user interface of the electronic device (Dai: ¶0011 and Fig. 1; the set-top box 20 includes a television mode and a game mode. The remote control device 30 is employed to control the television, for example, changing the channels, in the television mode. Note: the interface to changing the channels may be interpreted as a system interface).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Dai and Li in front of them to include the use of a control to remotely control a set-top box as disclosed by Dai with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an improved and convenient entertainment system allowing users to play games through the set-top-box which will bring more entertainment value to users (Dai: ¶0022).
Regarding claim 2, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai further teach: wherein the respective input device is in the first mode or the second mode of operation based on a state of a mechanical input element included in the respective input device (Dai: ¶0020; the remote control device 30 includes a switch button 310 configured to generate switch signals for switching the set-top box 20 between the television mode and the game mode).
Regarding claim 3, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 2,
Li and Dai further teach: wherein the mechanical input element is configured to: while in a position corresponding to the second mode of operation, automatically transition to a position corresponding to the first mode of operation when force from an input directed to the mechanical input element ceases to be applied to the mechanical input element (Dai: ¶0020; the remote control device 30 includes a switch button 310 configured to generate switch signals for switching the set-top box 20 between the television mode and the game mode)..
Regarding claim 6, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 2,
Li and Dai further teach: wherein the respective input device is in the first mode or the second mode of operation based on a state of a virtual input element displayed by the respective input device (Li: ¶0014; the first remote control interface displays a plurality of icons of buttons of the remote control apparatus 11, one of the icons is “TV/iTV.” The user touches the icon “TV/iTV” to change the normal mode to the smart mode, or change the smart mode to the normal mode).
Regarding claim 7, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 2,
Li and Dai further teach: wherein the respective input device or the electronic device is configured to indicate a correspondence between a respective input element at the respective input device and a corresponding respective operation at the electronic device (Dai: ¶0011 and Fig. 1; the set-top box 20 includes a television mode and a game mode. The remote control device 30 is employed to control the television, for example, changing the channels, in the television mode. Under the game mode, the set-top box 20 runs game applications to generate game video/audio signals, which can be displayed on the television 10, and the remote control device 30 is employed to control game playing).
Regarding claim 8, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 7,
Li and Dai further teach: wherein the corresponding respective operation is accessible via selection of a second respective input element displayed via the display generation component, the respective input element has a first appearance, and the second respective input element has the first appearance (Dai: ¶0011 and Fig. 1; the set-top box 20 includes a television mode and a game mode. The remote control device 30 is employed to control the television, for example, changing the channels, in the television mode. Under the game mode, the set-top box 20 runs game applications to generate game video/audio signals, which can be displayed on the television 10, and the remote control device 30 is employed to control game playing. See Fig. 1; the remote control device 30 includes various control elements with different appearances).
Regarding claim 14, Li and Dai teach the method of claim 2,
Li and Dai further teach: while displaying the first user interface while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation; and in response to detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation, pausing progress in the first user interface (Li: ¶0013; the working mode of the TV set 12 includes a normal mode and a smart mode. The TV set 12 broadcasts TV programs when in the normal mode, and executes an executable program selected by the user and displays an operation interface corresponding to the selected executable program when in the smart mode).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is directed to an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs (Li: ¶0016-0017 and Fig. 1; control apparatus 13 includes control unit 132, storage unit 131 storing executable programs and communication unit 130) for executing the method as claimed in claim 1; Claim 29 is similar scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs for executing the method as claimed in claim 1; Claim 30 is similar scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and Dai as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Park et al. (“Park,” US 2008/0163301), published on July 3, 2008.
Regarding claim 12, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 7,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: wherein the respective input device displays a visual indication of the respective operation associated with the respective input element.
However Park teaches a remote control with user profile capability. Park further wherein: wherein the respective input device displays a visual indication of the respective operation associated with the respective input element (Park: ¶0027 and Fig. 1; the control unit 101 is a remote control device. ¶0031-0033; the control unit 101 includes an indicator 107 that is configured to change a profile indication indicia 108 upon actuation of the profile selector 104. The indicator 107 is configured to change appearance upon selection of one of the modes of operation or upon selection of one of the user profiles. This appearance change may be done by color, text, sound, direction of emitted light, or light intensity).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an improved device for quickly and easily selecting and displaying programmed preferences (Park: ¶0010).
Regarding claim 13, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: wherein: while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, the respective input device indicates that the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, and while the respective input device is in the second mode of operation, the respective input device indicates that the respective input device is in the second mode of operation.
However Park teaches a remote control with user profile capability. Park further wherein: while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, the respective input device indicates that the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, and while the respective input device is in the second mode of operation, the respective input device indicates that the respective input device is in the second mode of operation (Park: ¶0027 and Fig. 1; the control unit 101 is a remote control device. ¶0031-0033; the control unit 101 includes an indicator 107 that is configured to change a profile indication indicia 108 upon actuation of the profile selector 104. The indicator 107 is configured to change appearance upon selection of one of the modes of operation or upon selection of one of the user profiles. This appearance change may be done by color, text, sound, direction of emitted light, or light intensity).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an improved device for quickly and easily selecting and displaying programmed preferences (Park: ¶0010).
Regarding claim 15, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: while displaying the first user interface while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, detecting a notification event; and receiving, via the respective input device, input associated with the notification event; and in response to receiving the input associated with the notification event: pausing progress in the first user interface; and transitioning the respective input device to the second mode of operation.
However Park teaches a remote control with user profile capability. Park further wherein: while displaying the first user interface while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, detecting a notification event (Park: ¶0027 and Fig. 1; the control unit 101 is a remote control device. ¶0031-0033; the control unit 101 includes an indicator 107 that is configured to change a profile indication indicia 108 upon actuation of the profile selector 104. The indicator 107 is configured to change appearance upon selection of one of the modes of operation or upon selection of one of the user profiles. This appearance change may be done by color, text, sound, direction of emitted light, or light intensity); and receiving, via the respective input device, input associated with the notification event; and in response to receiving the input associated with the notification event: pausing progress in the first user interface; and transitioning the respective input device to the second mode of operation (Park: ¶0025; when a user selects his particular profile with the control unit, the electronic device loads the corresponding set of preferences from a locally stored user profile database. ¶0026; when a particular user profile is activated, that user’s personal channel list may also be automatically activated so that channel browsing order follows the current user’s previous settings).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an improved device for quickly and easily selecting and displaying programmed preferences (Park: ¶0010).
Regarding claim 16, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: while displaying the first user interface while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation; and in response to detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation: in accordance with a determination that a notification corresponding to a communication event was displayed when the respective input device transitioned to the second mode of operation, displaying, via the display generation component, a communication user interface associated with the communication event.
However Park teaches a remote control with user profile capability. Park further wherein: while displaying the first user interface while the respective input device is in the first mode of operation, detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation (Park: ¶0027 and Fig. 1; the control unit 101 is a remote control device. ¶0031-0033; the control unit 101 includes an indicator 107 that is configured to change a profile indication indicia 108 upon actuation of the profile selector 104. The indicator 107 is configured to change appearance upon selection of one of the modes of operation or upon selection of one of the user profiles. This appearance change may be done by color, text, sound, direction of emitted light, or light intensity); and in response to detecting that the respective input device has transitioned to the second mode of operation: in accordance with a determination that a notification corresponding to a communication event was displayed when the respective input device transitioned to the second mode of operation, displaying, via the display generation component, a communication user interface associated with the communication event (Park: ¶0025; when a user selects his particular profile with the control unit, the electronic device loads the corresponding set of preferences from a locally stored user profile database. ¶0026; when a particular user profile is activated, that user’s personal channel list may also be automatically activated so that channel browsing order follows the current user’s previous settings).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Park, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an improved device for quickly and easily selecting and displaying programmed preferences (Park: ¶0010).
Claims 21-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and Dai as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chang (“Chang,” US 2006/0066716), published on May 30, 2006.
Regarding claim 21, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: wherein the respective input device displays a respective user interface for selecting a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device.
However Chang teaches an integrated remote control device; wherein the respective input device displays a respective user interface for selecting a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device (Chang: ¶0027-0028 and Fig. 2; a user can select a control target device by pressing a device selection button corresponding to the control target device through the device selection button unit 220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Chang, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an integrated control device with ease of use and reduction in user errors by making it possible to remotely control two or more control target devices in a single mode without changing modes (Chang: ¶0012).
Regarding claim 22, Li, Dai and Chang teach the method of claim 21,
Li, Dai and Chang further teach: wherein the respective user interface is a projected user interface (Chang: ¶0027-0028 and Fig. 2; a user can select a control target device by pressing a device selection button corresponding to the control target device through the device selection button unit 220).
Regarding claim 23, Li, Dai and Chang teach the method of claim 22,
Li. Dai and Chang further teach: wherein the respective user interface is projected onto a surface in an environment of the respective input device (Chang: ¶0027-0028 and Fig. 2; a user can select a control target device by pressing a device selection button corresponding to the control target device through the device selection button unit 220).
Regarding claim 27, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: wherein: the respective input device includes a first button and a second button, in response to selection of the first button, a first electronic device is selected as a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device, and in response to selection of the second button, a second electronic device is selected as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device.
However Chang teaches an integrated remote control device; wherein: the respective input device includes a first button and a second button, in response to selection of the first button, a first electronic device is selected as a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device, and in response to selection of the second button, a second electronic device is selected as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device (Chang: ¶0027-0028 and Fig. 2; a user can select a control target device by pressing a device selection button corresponding to the control target device through the device selection button unit 220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Chang, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the indicator when a profile selector is changed as disclosed by Park with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to provide an integrated control device with ease of use and reduction in user errors by making it possible to remotely control two or more control target devices in a single mode without changing modes (Chang: ¶0012).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, Dai and Chang as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of VanDuyn et al. (“VanDuyn,” US 10163336), patented on December 25, 2018.
Regarding claim 25, Li, Dai and Chang teach the method of claim 21,
Li, Dai and Chang do not appear to teach: wherein the respective user interface includes a representation of a map of a physical environment of the respective input device, including one or more representations of one or more candidate target electronic devices that are selectable to designate the selected candidate target electronic device as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device.
However VanDuyn teaches a universal remote control of devices based on orientation of remote; wherein the respective user interface includes a representation of a map of a physical environment of the respective input device, including one or more representations of one or more candidate target electronic devices that are selectable to designate the selected candidate target electronic device as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device (VanDuyn: see col. 9 line 60 – col. 10 line 33; the various absolute directions mapped with target control devices).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of VanDuyn, Li, Dai and Chang in front of them to incorporate the method of controlling devices based on orientation of the remote device as disclosed by VanDuyn with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to allow users to control multiple devices in an efficient and convenient manner (VanDuyn: see col 1. Lines 7-18).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and Dai as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of VanDuyn et al. (“VanDuyn,” US 10163336), patented on December 25, 2018.
Regarding claim 26, Li and Dai teaches the method of claim 1,
Li and Dai do not explicitly teach: wherein: in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is oriented towards a first electronic device, the first electronic device is selected as a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device, and in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is oriented towards a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, the second electronic device is selected as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device.
However VanDuyn teaches a universal remote control of devices based on orientation of remote; wherein: in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is oriented towards a first electronic device, the first electronic device is selected as a target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device, and in accordance with a determination that the respective input device is oriented towards a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, the second electronic device is selected as the target electronic device to be controlled by the respective input device (VanDuyn: see col. 5 lines 1-9; different absolute directions may be mapped to different devices. Therefore, by pointing remote control at the device desired to be controlled, the remote control or a host system in communication with the remote control can determine the appropriate device to which a command is to be sent in response to user input).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of VanDuyn, Li and Dai in front of them to incorporate the method of controlling devices based on orientation of the remote device as disclosed by VanDuyn with the method of remotely controlling TV interface as taught by Li to allow users to control multiple devices in an efficient and convenient manner (VanDuyn: see col 1. Lines 7-18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
Inquiry
/TAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174