Claim Objections
Claim 8, and 19 objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite "at least one machine learning (ML) model" then it refers to it "the ML model", the term lacks antecedent basis, to correct it one example to write it "the at least one ML model". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 (III) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject matter. The analysis of claims 1-20, in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Claims 1-9 are directed to method (processes). Claims 10-17 are directed to a processor system (machine). Claims 18-20 are directed to an apparatus (machine). Therefore, claims 1-20 fall into one of four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine).
As to claim 1,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
... condensing the raw data to condensed data; (the limitation describes reducing collected data into a summarized, compact form, such as converting a series of recorded values into a summary representation, which is a mental process implemented using a pen and paper.)
... using the condensed data to identify personalization information; (the limitation describes identifying personalization information by evaluating the condensed data, which is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
receiving raw data from touch input on a touch surface of a device; (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
at the device; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
sending the condensed data to an analysis apparatus; (this limitation describes data transmission, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
at the analysis apparatus; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
sending the personalization information to the device; (this limitation describes data transmission, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
implementing at least some of the personalization information on the device. (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 10,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
condense the signals to vectors; (the limitation describes converting collected values into vector representations, which is a mental process implemented using a pen and paper.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
A processor system configured to; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
receive signals from a touch surface of a device; (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
send the vectors to an analysis apparatus; (this limitation describes data transmission, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
receive from the analysis apparatus personalization information related to the vectors; (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
implement the personalization information on the device. (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claim 18,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
correlate the condensed data to personalization information; (the limitation describes correlating data with personalization information by evaluating the data, which is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: the claim recited the following additional elements:
An apparatus comprising: at least one computer memory that is not a transitory signal and that includes instructions executable by at least one processor system to; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to store the abstract idea on a generic memory and apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
receive condensed data from a device, the condensed data representing raw data generated by a scroll motion on a touch surface of the device; (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
transmit the personalization information to the device. (this limitation describes data transmission, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claims 2 and 11,
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recite the following abstract ideas:
wherein the raw data is from a scroll motion on the touch surface, or wherein the signals are generated by a scroll motion on the touch surface; (the limitation describes the content of the data being considered, which merely specifies the type of data evaluated and is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) 1.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claims are ineligible.
As to claims 3 and 12,
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recite the following abstract ideas:
wherein the condensed data comprises at least one vector indicating direction and speed of the scroll motion, or wherein the vectors indicate direction and speed of the scroll motion; (the limitation describes the content of the data being considered, which merely specifies the type of data evaluated and is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) 1.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claims are ineligible.
As to claims 4 and 13,
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recite the following abstract ideas:
wherein the condensed data comprises at least an identification of content being presented concurrently with receiving the raw data from the touch surface, or wherein the vectors are sent with at least an identification of content being presented concurrently with receiving the signals from the touch surface; (the limitation describes the content of the data being considered, which merely specifies the type of data evaluated and is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) 1.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claims are ineligible.
As to claims 5 and 14,
Step 2A Prong 1: This claim does not recite an additional abstract idea, but the claims depend on claims 1 and 10.
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: those claims recited the following additional elements:
wherein the device comprises a computer game controller; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claims 6 and 15,
Step 2A Prong 1: This claim does not recite an additional abstract idea, but the claims depend on claims 1 and 10.
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: those claims recited the following additional elements:
wherein the device comprises a wireless telephone; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claims 7 and 16,
Step 2A Prong 1: This claim does not recite an additional abstract idea, but the claims depend on claims 1 and 10.
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: those claims recited the following additional elements:
wherein the analysis apparatus comprises a cloud server; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claims 8 and 19,
Step 2A Prong 1: This claim does not recite an additional abstract idea, but the claims depend on claims 1 and 18.
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B: those claims recited the following additional elements:
The additional limitation of claim 19 "wherein the instructions are executable to" (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
inputting or input the condensed data to at least one machine learning (ML) model; (This limitation is directed to mere instruction to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer to process, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
receiving or receive the personalization information from the ML model. (this limitation describes data collection/receiving, which is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
The additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the Judicial exception.
As to claims 9 and 17,
Step 2A Prong 1: those claims recite the following abstract ideas:
wherein the raw data comprises a series of x/y coordinates, or wherein the signals from the touch surface comprise a series of x/y coordinates; (the limitation describes the content of the data being considered, which merely specifies the type of data evaluated and is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) 1.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claims are ineligible.
As to claim 20,
Step 2A Prong 1: this claim recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein the condensed data comprises vectors and the raw data comprises a series of x/y coordinates. (the limitation describes the content of the data being considered, which merely specifies the type of data evaluated and is an evaluation and judgment activity that can be performed as a mental process in the human mind.)
Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B. Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) 1.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami et al. (US 20120278742 A1) in view of Entenmann et al. (US 20160188198 A1).
As to claim 1, Takami teaches a method comprising:
receiving raw data from touch input on a touch surface of a device; (see Takami paragraph [0052] "the user flicks (for example, lightly flicks with a finger) on a touch panel window screen and the like.", and see Takami paragraph [0094] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 determines whether or not a scroll operation is started by a user on the basis of an operation signal caused by the scroll operation from the operation unit")
sending the condensed data to an analysis apparatus; (see Takami paragraph [0099] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 creates the operation information file including the scroll operation information, the site ID, the page ID, and the object ID, which are obtained as described above (step S6), and temporarily stores the operation information file in the RAM.", and see Takami paragraph [0101] "In step S8, the web browser of the user terminal 1 transmits the operation information file created in step S6 and the user ID stored in advance to the information providing server 2 via the network NW.")
at the analysis apparatus, using the condensed data to identify personalization information; (see Takami paragraph [0076] "The system control unit 24 extracts scroll operation information, page ID, and object ID associated with a user ID of a certain user from the operation information database 224 and determines (calculates) the user's degree of interest in a display object identified by the extracted object ID for each display object on the basis of the extracted scroll operation information.", and see Takami paragraph [0087] "The system control unit 24 selects advertisement information (an example of information to be provided to the user) of a product or a service to be recommended to a certain user from the advertisement information database 226 on the basis of the degrees of interest in pages or the degrees of interest in objects associated with the user ID of the user in the degree-of-interest information database 225")
sending the personalization information to the device; and (see Takami paragraph [0087] "and transmits the selected advertisement information to the user terminal 1 when the user logs in (or when the user terminal 1 accesses a specific site).")
implementing at least some of the personalization information on the device. (see Takami paragraph [0140] "the system control unit 24 generates a web page in which the selected advertisement information is displayed and transmits the generated web page to the user terminal 1 (step S41). The transmitted web page is displayed on the display of the user terminal 1.")
Takami does not explicitly teach "at the device, condensing the raw data to condensed data"
However, Entenmann teaches
at the device, condensing the raw data to condensed data; (see Entenmann paragraph [0025] "This detection 1 can, for example, occur using a camera, but can also occur using a touch-sensitive display element or, particularly advantageously, using an optical finger navigation module.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0027] "In a third step, a totalling 3 then takes place, where the transmitted vectors are added up to form a total vector.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0030] "Should the total vector at least reach the predetermined minimum length LM (FIG. 3, 4), then a determination 6 of the current movement vector from the information contained in the total vector follows. This occurs via a form of averaging, i.e., for example the total vector is divided in its length LS (FIG. 2) by the number of vectors contributing to it, which were added up.")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami to condense the raw touch data into vectors at the device as taught by Entenmann. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the best possible accuracy and dynamics in determining the speed of the touch movement for both slow and quick movements, and to obtain smoothed direction information that is substantially easier to evaluate, see Entenmann paragraph [0030].
As to claim 2, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the raw data is from a scroll motion on the touch surface. (see Takami paragraph [0052] "the user terminal 1 scrolls the web page (that is, a display area in which texts and images are displayed) in the horizontal direction, the vertical direction, or an oblique direction in the window screen (the user terminal 1 moves the web page in the active display area in the web browser) according to a scroll operation of the user. . . . the user flicks (for example, lightly flicks with a finger) on a touch panel window screen and the like.")
As to claim 3, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 2,
wherein the condensed data comprises at least one vector indicating direction and speed of the scroll motion. (see Entenmann paragraph [0025] "This detection 1 can, for example, occur using a camera, but can also occur using a touch-sensitive display element or, particularly advantageously, using an optical finger navigation module.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0030] "Should the total vector at least reach the predetermined minimum length LM (FIG. 3, 4), then a determination 6 of the current movement vector from the information contained in the total vector follows. This occurs via a form of averaging, i.e., for example the total vector is divided in its length LS (FIG. 2) by the number of vectors contributing to it, which were added up.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0053] "The length LS of the total vector shows, in the present example, the absolute value of the speed. In particular, the direction WS of the total vector in comparison to the direction W must be considered.")
As to claim 4, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the condensed data comprises at least an identification of content being presented concurrently with receiving the raw data from the touch surface. (see Takami paragraph [0053] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 creates an operation information file which includes the obtained scroll operation information, the page ID of the web page, the site ID of the website 3k that provides the web page, and the object ID of the display object displayed in the window screen when the web page scrolls.")
As to claim 6, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a wireless telephone. (see Takami paragraph [0051] "The user terminal 1 is, for example, a personal computer (PC), a PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), a mobile phone, or a portable game machine, and has a web browser function.")
As to claim 7, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the analysis apparatus comprises a cloud server. (see Takami paragraph [0048] "The user terminal 1 and the information providing server 2 or the website 3k can transmit and receive data to and from each other via a network NW by using, for example, TCP/IP as a communication protocol. The network NW is made up of, for example, the Internet, a dedicated communication line (for example, CATV (Community Antenna Television) line), a mobile communication network (including a base station and the like), gateways, and the like.")
As to claim 9, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the raw data comprises a series of x/y coordinates. (see Entenmann paragraph [0031] "At points in time t1 to t10, individual vectors are each transferred to the processing unit.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0050] "a schematic depiction of the gesture on which the shown variables are based is additionally shown as an arrow P in an x-y plane in front of a symbolic piece of detection equipment E.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0051] "This can also be well recognized from the movement data shown in the graphs, in particular the speed v.sub.x in the x direction and the speed v.sub.y in the y direction.")
As to claim 10, Takami teaches a processor system configured to:
receive signals from a touch surface of a device; (see Takami paragraph [0052] "the user flicks (for example, lightly flicks with a finger) on a touch panel window screen and the like.", and see Takami paragraph [0094] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 determines whether or not a scroll operation is started by a user on the basis of an operation signal caused by the scroll operation from the operation unit")
send the vectors to an analysis apparatus; (see Takami paragraph [0101] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 transmits the operation information file created in step S6 and the user ID stored in advance to the information providing server 2 via the network NW.")
receive from the analysis apparatus personalization information related to the vectors; and (see Takami paragraph [0076] "determines (calculates) the user's degree of interest in a display object identified by the extracted object ID for each display object on the basis of the extracted scroll operation information.", and see Takami paragraph [0087] "The system control unit 24 selects advertisement information (an example of information to be provided to the user) of a product or a service to be recommended to a certain user from the advertisement information database 226 on the basis of the degrees of interest in pages or the degrees of interest in objects associated with the user ID of the user in the degree-of-interest information database 225, and transmits the selected advertisement information to the user terminal 1")
implement the personalization information on the device. (see Takami paragraph [0140] "The transmitted web page is displayed on the display of the user terminal 1.")
Takami does not explicitly teach "condense the signals to vectors"
condense the signals to vectors; (see Entenmann paragraph [0026] "The detected data are then made available to this in a second step by a transmission 2 to a processing unit in the form of vectors.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0027] "In a third step, a totalling 3 then takes place, where the transmitted vectors are added up to form a total vector.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0030] "then a determination 6 of the current movement vector from the information contained in the total vector follows. This occurs via a form of averaging")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami to condense the raw touch data into vectors at the device as taught by Entenmann. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the best possible accuracy and dynamics in determining the speed of the touch movement for both slow and quick movements, and to obtain smoothed direction information that is substantially easier to evaluate, see Entenmann paragraph [0030].
As to claim 11, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
wherein the signals are generated by a scroll motion on the touch surface. (see Takami paragraph [0052] "the user terminal 1 scrolls the web page . . . according to a scroll operation of the user. . . . the user flicks (for example, lightly flicks with a finger) on a touch panel window screen and the like.")
As to claim 12, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 11,
wherein the vectors indicate direction and speed of the scroll motion. (see Entenmann paragraph [0053] "The length LS of the total vector shows, in the present example, the absolute value of the speed. In particular, the direction WS of the total vector in comparison to the direction W must be considered.")
As to claim 13, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
wherein the vectors are sent with at least an identification of content being presented concurrently with receiving the signals from the touch surface. (see Takami paragraph [0053] "the web browser of the user terminal 1 creates an operation information file which includes the obtained scroll operation information, the page ID of the web page, the site ID of the website 3k that provides the web page, and the object ID of the display object displayed in the window screen when the web page scrolls. The web browser of the user terminal 1 transmits the created operation information file and the user ID stored in the user terminal 1 to the information providing server 2 via the network NW.")
As to claim 15, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
wherein the device comprises a wireless telephone. (see Takami paragraph [0051] "The user terminal 1 is, for example, a personal computer (PC), a PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), a mobile phone, or a portable game machine, and has a web browser function.")
As to claim 16, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
wherein the analysis apparatus comprises a cloud server. (see Takami paragraph [0048] "The user terminal 1 and the information providing server 2 or the website 3k can transmit and receive data to and from each other via a network NW by using, for example, TCP/IP as a communication protocol. The network NW is made up of, for example, the Internet")
As to claim 17, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
wherein the signals from the touch surface comprise a series of x/y coordinates. (see Entenmann paragraph [0031] "At points in time t1 to t10, individual vectors are each transferred to the processing unit.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0050] "a schematic depiction of the gesture on which the shown variables are based is additionally shown as an arrow P in an x-y plane in front of a symbolic piece of detection equipment E.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0051] "This can also be well recognized from the movement data shown in the graphs, in particular the speed v.sub.x in the x direction and the speed v.sub.y in the y direction.")
As to claim 18, Takami teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one computer memory that is not a transitory signal and that includes instructions executable by at least one processor system to: (see Takami paragraph [0060] "The storage unit 22 is made up of, for example, a hard disk drive, and stores various programs such as the operating system, the user's degree of interest calculation program and the like.", and see Takami paragraph [0073] "The system control unit 24 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 24a, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 24b, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 24c, and the like. The CPU 24a reads and executes various programs stored in the ROM 24b and the storage unit 22, so that the system control unit 24 performs a process for providing a web page and the like.")
correlate the condensed data to personalization information; and (see Takami paragraph [0076] "determines (calculates) the user's degree of interest in a display object identified by the extracted object ID for each display object on the basis of the extracted scroll operation information.", and see Takami paragraph [0087] "The system control unit 24 selects advertisement information (an example of information to be provided to the user) of a product or a service to be recommended to a certain user from the advertisement information database 226 on the basis of the degrees of interest in pages or the degrees of interest in objects")
transmit the personalization information to the device. (see Takami paragraph [0140] "the system control unit 24 generates a web page in which the selected advertisement information is displayed and transmits the generated web page to the user terminal 1 (step S41).")
Takami does not explicitly teach "receive condensed data from a device, the condensed data representing raw data generated by a scroll motion on a touch surface of the device"
However, Entenmann teaches
receive condensed data from a device, the condensed data representing raw data generated by a scroll motion on a touch surface of the device; (see Entenmann paragraph [0025] "This detection 1 can, for example, occur using a camera, but can also occur using a touch-sensitive display element or, particularly advantageously, using an optical finger navigation module.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0075] " In a third step, a totalling 3 then takes place, where the transmitted vectors are added up to form a total vector.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0030] "Should the total vector at least reach the predetermined minimum length LM (FIG. 3, 4), then a determination 6 of the current movement vector from the information contained in the total vector follows. This occurs via a form of averaging, i.e., for example the total vector is divided in its length LS (FIG. 2) by the number of vectors contributing to it, which were added up.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0051] "In the present example, the gesture is a slow swiping movement from left to right and then back again without a pause.")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami to condense the raw touch data into vectors at the device as taught by Entenmann. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the best possible accuracy and dynamics in determining the speed of the touch movement for both slow and quick movements, and to obtain smoothed direction information that is substantially easier to evaluate, see Entenmann paragraph [0030].
As to claim 20, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
wherein the condensed data comprises vectors and (see Entenmann paragraph [0026] "The detected data are then made available to this in a second step by a transmission 2 to a processing unit in the form of vectors.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0027] "In a third step, a totalling 3 then takes place, where the transmitted vectors are added up to form a total vector.")
the raw data comprises a series of x/y coordinates. (see Entenmann paragraph [0050] "a schematic depiction of the gesture on which the shown variables are based is additionally shown as an arrow P in an x-y plane in front of a symbolic piece of detection equipment E.", and see Entenmann paragraph [0051] "This can also be well recognized from the movement data shown in the graphs, in particular the speed v.sub.x in the x direction and the speed v.sub.y in the y direction.")
Claim(s) 5,8,14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takami et al. (US 20120278742 A1) in view of Entenmann et al. (US 20160188198 A1) and Zhao et al. (US 20200338445 A1).
As to claim 5, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
Takami as modified by Entenmann does not explicitly teach "wherein the device comprises a computer game controller"
However, Zhao teaches
wherein the device comprises a computer game controller. (see Zhao paragraph [0051] "A computer simulation controller 202 such as a PlayStation® controller, Xbox® controller, or other controller may include a touchpad 204 that can receive touch signals from a hand 206 and communicate via wired and/or wireless paths 208 with a computer simulation console 210 and/or a display device 212")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami as modified by Entenmann such that the device comprises a computer game controller as taught by Zhao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to provide touch input on a controller touchpad while viewing content on a separate display distanced from the controller, see Zhao paragraph [0051].
As to claim 8, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the method of claim 1,
Takami as modified by Entenmann does not explicitly teach "inputting the condensed data to at least one machine learning (ML) model; and", and "receiving the personalization information from the ML model"
However, Zhao teaches
comprising: inputting the condensed data to at least one machine learning (ML) model; and (see Zhao paragraph [0059] "At 510 a heatmap algorithm, discussed further below in reference to FIGS. 6-8, is accessed to output a sequence of letters 512 according to the hard presses 504.", and see Zhao paragraph [0068] "A network 900 of NN may receive input letters 902 with probabilities 904 from the heatmap to output time-distributed predicted letters 906 with associated probabilities 908.")
receiving the personalization information from the ML model. (see Zhao paragraph [0060] "The reduced list of candidates 516 is provided to a module 518 that outputs a predicted network or words for presentation on the screen, which a user can then select to complete his or her desired input without typing every letter of the predicted word or words. The module 518 may be established by one or more neural networks (NN) as described further below. To produce a predicted word or words, the module 518 may receive input from a contextual user block 520, which provides previous word strings employed by the user with the current input inferred to possibly be a repeat of a prior input")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami as modified by Entenmann to input the condensed data to a machine learning model and receive personalization information from the model as taught by Zhao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to predict output tailored to the user based on the user's own previous inputs so the user can complete a desired input with less effort, see Zhao paragraph [0060].
As to claim 14, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the processor system of claim 10,
Takami as modified by Entenmann does not explicitly teach "wherein the device comprises a computer game controller"
However, Zhao teaches
wherein the device comprises a computer game controller. (see Zhao paragraph [0051] "A computer simulation controller 202 such as a PlayStation® controller, Xbox® controller, or other controller may include a touchpad 204 that can receive touch signals from a hand 206")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami as modified by Entenmann such that the device comprises a computer game controller as taught by Zhao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to provide touch input on a controller touchpad while viewing content on a separate display distanced from the controller, see Zhao paragraph [0051].
As to claim 19, Takami as modified by Entenmann teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
Takami as modified by Entenmann does not explicitly teach "wherein the instructions are executable to: input the condensed data to at least one machine learning (ML) model; and", and "receive the personalization information from the ML model"
wherein the instructions are executable to: input the condensed data to at least one machine learning (ML) model; and (see Zhao paragraph [0059] "At 510 a heatmap algorithm, discussed further below in reference to FIGS. 6-8, is accessed to output a sequence of letters 512 according to the hard presses 504.", and see Zhao paragraph [0068] "A network 900 of NN may receive input letters 902 with probabilities 904 from the heatmap to output time-distributed predicted letters 906 with associated probabilities 908.")
receive the personalization information from the ML model. (see Zhao paragraph [0060] "The reduced list of candidates 516 is provided to a module 518 that outputs a predicted network or words for presentation on the screen, which a user can then select to complete his or her desired input without typing every letter of the predicted word or words. The module 518 may be established by one or more neural networks (NN) as described further below. To produce a predicted word or words, the module 518 may receive input from a contextual user block 520, which provides previous word strings employed by the user with the current input inferred to possibly be a repeat of a prior input")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Takami as modified by Entenmann to input the condensed data to a machine learning model and receive personalization information from the model as taught by Zhao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to predict output tailored to the user based on the user's own previous inputs so the user can complete a desired input with less effort, see Zhao paragraph [0060].
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH KHALED ABOUD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121