DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Status
Applicant’s amendments dated 6/23/2026 have been received and reviewed. The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The proposed Title of the Invention is acknowledge. The Title is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvill et al. (US 20240020430 A1, hereinafter Harvill) in view of MacInnes et al. (US 20050081161 A1, hereinafter MacInnes) in view of Kuo et al. (US 9723056 B1).
The applied reference (Harvill) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1
Harvill discloses a computer-implemented method for real-time animation and customization of products on a client-side device, the method comprising:
receiving, by a web service or user interface, external inputs in the form of key+value pairs; (see at least ¶71, 213)
updating, by a processor, key-value pairs of a product description stored within a functional data container in response to the received external inputs; (see at least ¶80)
triggering, by the processor, stored resources within the functional data container to generate a plurality of image frames representing stages of customization of the product; (see at least ¶610)
displaying, on a display of the client-side device, the plurality of image frames as an animation in real-time to visualize the customization of the product; (see at least ¶353, 612)
storing, in a memory of the client-side device, the functional data container and a set of product options as key+value pairs; (see at least ¶80)
editing and updating, by the user, a client user interface displaying key-value pairs of the product description locally on the client-side device and displaying the result without requiring a direct connection to the web service; (see at least ¶353, 610)
transmitting to a web service, via a communication interface of the client-side device, the edited and updated key-value pairs of the product description; (see at least ¶602)
Harvill does not explicitly disclose, but MacInnes teaches, in a similar environment:
optimizing, by employing data compression techniques, by a distributed system comprising the web service or user interface and the client-side device, the portability and performance of the functional data container to mitigate negative performance effects due to slow or disrupted network connectivity and to enhance the speed and rendering of the edited and updated key-value pairs of the product description. (MacInnes: see at least ¶74: object representing products such as furniture items converted into compressed format)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Harvill, with the compression techniques of MacInnes, since such a modification would have advantageously lessened the burden on system resources during the planning and rendering operations of application (MacInnes: ¶74).
While Harvill in view of MacInnes do not explicitly disclose that the data compression techniques are “to enhance a speed and rendering of the key-value pairs of the product description without compromising image quality”, Kuo teaches such a features (see at least col. 2, 34-48; col. 8: 33- col. 9: 6) in a similar environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Harvill and MacInnes, with the compression techniques of Kuo, since such a modification would have improved the user experience of a client-server application by adapting the page transmitted to the client device (see at least col. 1: 65 – col. 2: 17 of Kuo).
Regarding Claims 10, 19
Claims 10 and 19 are substantially similar in scope to claim 1 and are rejected on similar grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11-18, 21 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MISIASZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688