DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed on 07/24/2026 has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 5 and 17 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/24/2026, with respect to claims 1, 13, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Referring to claim 1, Applicant argues that Harding fails to disclose the limitations “wherein a first account is logged-in to the second electronic device, and the second electronic device is further configured to detect a third input for enabling a first function, wherein when the first function is enabled, the second electronic device provides an indication when receiving information shared by an electronic device to which another account other than the first account is logged-in” because Harding fails to disclose the “first function”, discloses a control on outbound sharing from the driver's device instead of an indication generated at the receiving device upon receipt of information (i.e., inbound sharing). Applicant also argues that Harding's whitelist authorization operates in the opposite direction and on the opposite device from the subject matter recited in the system/method/device of each of independent claims 1, 13 and 20 (see Remarks, pp.8-9).
In reply, Examiner respectfully disagrees because when examining, a claim should be given its broadest reasonable interpretation. That is, when giving to the limitation “function” its broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner interprets the function as any work, task or operation performed by the electronic device. Thus, running a navigation application in Harding equals to the claimed “function”, and “enabling a function” is interpreted as “launching navigation application.”
In reply to Applicant’s argument that Harding discloses a control on outbound sharing from the driver’s device, not an indication generated at the receiving device, Examiner respectfully submits that the claim does not specify the type of the claimed “indication” and the feature should be given its broadest reasonable interpretation. That is, when the driver’s device (second electronic device) receives the request sharing of navigation data from the passenger’s device (first electronic device), it transmits (provides) a message of navigation data for first route (indication) to the passenger’s device (first electronic device) (see Harding, fig.2A, S212-S214 and S218). Thus, the message generated by the driver’s device (second electronic device) is interpreted as the claimed “indication generated at the receiving device”. Examiner also submits that the claim fails to distinguish the electronic device sharing the information from the first electronic device and the second electronic device.
In reply to Applicant’s argument that Harding's whitelist authorization operates in the opposite direction and on the opposite device from the subject matter recited in the system/method/device of each of independent claims 1, 13 and 20, it is noted that Applicant appears to read limitations from the specification into the claims, wherein in the specification the first electronic device may be the foregoing mobile phone, and the second electronic device may be the foregoing vehicle.
Referring to claim 1, Applicant further argues that Harding cannot disclose an indication conditioned on the sharing device being logged-in to "another account other than the first account," because Harding's proximity-based sharing model expressly requires no accounts and no sign-in whatsoever and Harding repeatedly emphasizes that "there may be no need for the driver or passenger to submit credentials, sign into an account (see Remarks, p.9).
In reply, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Harding requires accounts, and each device is associated with an account. Harding further discloses authenticating based on credentials or other identifying information provided (see [0051]). Thus, Harding discloses account logged in to an electronic device, and generates a message (indication) when a request sharing of navigation data from the passenger’s device (first electronic device) is received.
For the foregoing reasons, Examiner respectfully submits that amended claim 1 should be rejected over Harding.
Referring to claims 13 and 20, the same response to arguments provided for claim 1 are applicable herein.
The rejection of dependent claims 2-4, 6-12, 14-16, and 18-19 should be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harding et al. (hereinafter referred to as Harding, US 2018/0332432 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Harding discloses a system (fig.1, system 100) comprising a first electronic device (fig.1, passenger’s device 104) and a second electronic device (fig.1, driver’s device 102), wherein:
the first electronic device is configured to display a first interface of first navigation information (fig.2A, S224) and to send a first message following detection by the first electronic device of a first input on the first interface (fig.2B, S226), wherein the first message comprises the first navigation information ([0057]-[0058] and [0060]) (Note: upon selection of second route by the passenger, the passenger’s device (104) transmits a message comprising navigation data of the second route to the driver’s device 102);
the second electronic device is configured to display first prompt information following receipt by the second electronic device of the first message to accept the first navigation information and to execute a navigation task related to the first navigation information in response to detecting a second input regarding the first navigation information ([0058]-[0060]) (Note: the driver's device may prompt the driver to accept or deny the second route transmitted by the passenger. For example, upon receiving the navigation data specifying the second route, the driver's device may continue to navigate the first route until the driver selects a control displayed or otherwise presented by the driver's device that confirms the driver's intention to navigate the second route);
wherein a first account is logged-in to the second electronic device (fig.1, driver’s device 102), and the second electronic device is further configured to detect a third input for enabling a first function, wherein when the first function is enabled, the second electronic device provides an indication when receiving information shared by an electronic device to which another account other than the first account is logged-in ([0022]-[0023], figs.2A-B and [0049]-[0051]) (Note: the reference discloses determining whether the second computing device or the user of the second computing device is authorized to receive navigation data shared by the first computing device can include determining whether the user of the second computing device is listed in a contact list for a user of the first computing device; wherein the driver's device and the passenger's device launch respective navigation applications at each of the devices and when the navigation application is enabled, the driver's device can provide a message to the passenger's device that contains the name of the driver, or a name associated with an account on the driver's device when receiving message announcing presence shared by the passenger's device).
Referring to claim 2, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein:
the second electronic device is further configured to display a second interface before receiving the first message, wherein the second interface is a display interface of second navigation information (fig.2A, S208 and [0044]-[0045]) (Note: before the driver’s device receives the second route navigation data from the passenger’s device, the driver's device navigates a first route); and
the second electronic device is configured to switch from display of the second interface to display of a third interface in response to detecting the second input, wherein the third interface is a display interface of the navigation task ([0058]-[0059]) (Note: the driver's device changes from navigating the first route to navigating the second route as selected by the passenger when the driver accepts the second route transmitted by the passenger’s device).
Referring to claim 3, Harding discloses the system according to claim 2, wherein the second interface is a display interface of a navigation route from a current location of the second electronic device to a first address ([0044]) (Note: before changing to the second route, the driver’s device displays a navigation along the first route from the current location of the driver's device to a selected destination).
Referring to claim 4, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first navigation information comprises information about a second address, and the second electronic device is configured to display information about a route from the current location of the second electronic device to the second address in response to detecting the second input ([0061]) (Note: the modified route (second route) proposed by the passenger’s device may be updated based on the passenger's selection at the passenger's device of one or more search results (points of interest). The route may be updated in various ways depending on the user's instruction, such as by replacing the ultimate destination of the route with a location indicated by one of the search results, or by maintaining the ultimate destination that was originally programmed while re-directing the route through the locations corresponding to the selected search result(s) before the route eventually reaches the ultimate destination).
Referring to claim 10, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein a second map application is installed on the second electronic device, and the second electronic device is configured to display the navigation task on the second map application in response to detecting the second input (fig.1 and [0042]) (Note: the driver's device and the passenger's device have navigation applications that may be an installed third-party application (e.g., GOOGLE MAPS for mobile), wherein the navigation task of the second route is displayed on a map application).
Referring to claim 12, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is a vehicle ([0038]) (Note: The driver's device 102 may be an integrated vehicle navigation device).
Referring to claim 13, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 14, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 2 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 15, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 3 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 16, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 4 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 20, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Harding further discloses an electronic device (figs.1-2, driver’s device 102), comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing one or more computer programs comprising instructions that, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, enable the electronic device to perform the operations as described in claim 1 ([0018] and [0080]-[0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Harding in view of Negi et al. (hereinafter referred to as Negi, US 2016/0180150 A1).
Referring to claim 6, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic device (fig.1, driver’s device 102) stores first parameter information; and the second electronic device is further configured to: before executing the navigation task, determine that parameter information associated with the second input matches first parameter information ([0051]) (Note: before executing the navigation task of the second route, the driver’s device 102 determines that credential associated with an input matches a credential in a whitelist of the driver’s device).
Harding fails to disclose wherein the second electronic device stores first human physiological parameter information; and the second electronic device is further configured to: determine that human physiological parameter information associated with the second input matches first human physiological parameter information.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electronic device art, Negi discloses a concept wherein an electronic device (fig.2A, user device 120) stores first human physiological parameter information ([0034]) (Note: the user device includes a storage that stores user heart rate data files 250 (first human physiological parameter information)); and
the electronic device is further configured to: determine that human physiological parameter information associated with an input matches first human physiological parameter information ([0021]-[0022] and [0085]-[0086]) (Note: the user device is further configured to determine that the received heart rate data matches and/or substantially matches the stored heart rate data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the system of Harding with the concept of Negi to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve security and user authentication.
Referring to claim 18, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 6 is applicable herein.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Harding in view of Orlovas et al. (hereinafter referred to as Orlovas, US 2023/0231907 A1).
Referring to claim 7, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the third electronic device (fig.3, passenger's devices 312) is configured to: display a fourth interface, wherein the fourth interface is a display interface of third navigation information; and send a second message in response to detecting a fourth input on the fourth interface, wherein the second message comprises the third navigation information; and the second electronic device (fig.3, driver's device 310) is configured to execute a navigation task related to the third navigation information in response to receiving the second message ([0073]-[0074]) (Note: any passenger’s device 312 may modify a route and send a navigation data of the modified route to the driver’s device 310 causing the driver's device 310 to update its navigation based on the new route).
Harding fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system further comprises a third electronic device, a second account is logged-in to the third electronic device, and the second account is associated with an account logged-in to the second electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electronic device art, Orlovas discloses a concept wherein a system comprising an electronic device, an account is logged-in to the electronic device, and the account is associated with an account logged-in to another electronic device ([0045]) (Note: the first user device may share the login information with other user devices (e.g., second user device) associated with the first user device to enable the other user devices to utilize the login information (e.g., access information) such as, for example, username, password).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the system of Harding with the concept of Orlovas to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need to go through a registration process for new login information for the third electronic device.
Referring to claim 19, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 7 is applicable herein.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Harding in view of Husain et al. (hereinafter referred to as Husain, US 2015/0119080 A1).
Referring to claim 8, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein: the first electronic device (fig.1, passenger’s device 104) is configured to send the first message to the second electronic device (fig.1, driver’s device 102) in response to receiving a fifth input ([0057]-[0058] and [0060]) (Note: upon selection of second route by the passenger, the passenger’s device (104) transmits a message comprising navigation data of the second route to the driver’s device 102).
Harding fails to explicitly disclose wherein: the first electronic device is further configured to display second prompt information on the first interface in response to detecting establishment of a connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electronic device art, Husain discloses a concept wherein: the first electronic device is further configured to display second prompt information on the first interface in response to detecting establishment of a connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device ([0011]) (Note: if user Bill requests to be connected with user Harry, Harry can choose to accept or deny the request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the system of Harding with the concept of Husain to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance user experience by minimizing manual configuration.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Harding in view of Luan et al. (hereinafter referred to as Luan, US 2014/0297178 A1).
Referring to claim 9, Harding discloses the system according to claim 1, except wherein the first interface comprises a sharing control; and the first electronic device is configured to: display a sharing window in response to detecting a sixth input for the sharing control, wherein the sharing window comprises identification information of the second electronic device; and send the first message to the second electronic device in response to detecting a seventh input for the identification information of the second electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electronic device art, Luan discloses wherein the first interface comprises a sharing control ([0103]) (Note: the first terminal further includes a share-requesting module); and
the first electronic device is configured to:
display a sharing window (fig.5) in response to detecting a sixth input for the sharing control, wherein the sharing window comprises identification information of the second electronic device (fig.5 and [0059]-[0061]) (Note: the first terminal displays a sharing window after user makes a sharing request; wherein the sharing window (fig.5) comprises identification information of the second electronic device); and
send the first message to the second electronic device in response to detecting a seventh input for the identification information of the second electronic device ([0061]-[0062]) (Note: the first terminal transmits navigation information to the second terminal when user clicks the messaging button to send a message to the friend to provide navigation with him).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant modify the system of Harding with the concept of Luan to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the operation of location-sharing, reduce the difficulty in use and make the location-based service easily, quickly and conveniently.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Harding in view of Foster et al. (hereinafter referred to as Foster, US 2015/0088412 A1).
Referring to claim 11, Harding discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein: the first interface is a display interface of a first map application, a data format of the first navigation information is a first data format associated with the first map application (fig.1).
Harding fails to disclose the second electronic device is configured to: convert the data format of the first navigation information into a second data format prior to displaying the navigation task on the second map application, wherein the second data format is associated with the second map application; and display the navigation task based on the first navigation information obtained through data format conversion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electronic device art, Foster discloses a concept wherein an electronic device is configured to: convert the data format of the first navigation information into a second data format prior to displaying the navigation task on the second map application, wherein the second data format is associated with the second map application; and display the navigation task based on the first navigation information obtained through data format conversion ([0005] and [0009]) (Note: a portable device receives a navigation data according to a predefined format exposed with the API and converts the navigation data to the format supported by the head unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the system of Harding with the concept of Foster to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide seamless interoperability, improved accuracy, and increased safety.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683