DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an Amendment filed on June 3, 2026 regarding Application No. 18/739,155. Applicants amended claims 1, 6, 8-10, 13, 17, and 19-20 and previously canceled claims 3 and 14. Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 5, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus et al. in US 2014/0015816 A1 (hereinafter Janus) in view of Luo et al. in US 2019/0261010 A1 (hereinafter Luo), in further view of Malemezian et al. in US 2018/0191996 A1 (hereinafter Malemezian), and in further view of Kim et al. in US 2023/0350624 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Janus teaches:
A method (300 in FIG. 3) of processing content (first and second image content in FIG. 3) for multiple displays (108 and 110 in FIG. 1) by a mobile computing device (700 in FIG. 7), comprising (Janus: FIGs. 1, 3, and 7, “[0024] FIG. 3 illustrates a flow diagram of an example process 300 according to various implementations of the present disclosure….”, “[0025] Process 300 may begin at block 302 where first image content may be rendered…. In various implementations, block 302 may involve display engine 104 accessing frame buffer 112 to obtain image data and to render that data into image content to be provided to display 108 as frame data 116….”, “[0026] At block 304 the second image content may be rendered…. In various implementations, block 304 may involve display engine 104 accessing frame buffer 114 to obtain image data and to render that data into image content to be provided to display 110 as frame data 118….”, “[0035] FIG. 6 illustrates an example system 600 in accordance with the present disclosure. In various implementations, system 600 may be a media system although system 600…. For example, system 600 may be incorporated into a… smart device (e.g., smart phone…)….”, “[0054] As described above, system 600 may be embodied in varying physical styles or form factors. FIG. 7 illustrates implementations of a small form factor device 700 in which system 600 may be embodied…. [D]evice 700 may be implemented as a mobile computing device having wireless capabilities….”, and “[0055] As described above, examples of a mobile computing device may include a… smart device (e.g., smart phone…)….”, see also FIGs. 2 and 6):
receiving, from one or more third-party image sources (630 and 640 in FIG. 6) via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data (e.g., streaming video) associated with a plurality of displays (108 and 110 in FIG. 1) (Janus: FIGs. 1 and 6, “[0016]… [I]n response to DCLK signal 120, displays 108 and 110 may display frame data 116 and 118, respectively, at a rate of sixty (60) hertz. For example, display 108 may display all pixels of frame data 116 sixty times a second or once every one sixtieth ( 1/60) of a second by displaying one pixel of frame data 116 at a real time rate of one pixel per pulse of DCLK signal 120.”, “[0036]… [S]ystem 600 includes a platform 602 coupled to a display 620. Platform 602 may receive content from a content device such as content services device(s) 630 or content delivery device(s) 640 or other similar content sources….”, “[0046]… Examples of content may include any media information including, for example, video, music, medical and gaming information, and so forth.”, “[0052]... [S]ystem 600 may be implemented as a wireless system, a wired system, or a combination of both. When implemented as a wireless system, system 600 may include components and interfaces suitable for communicating over a wireless shared media, such as one or more antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers,... and so forth....”, and “[0053] Platform 602 may establish one or more logical or physical channels to communicate information. The information may include media information…. Media information may refer to any data representing content meant for a user. Examples of content may include, for example,… videoconference, streaming video,… and so forth.”, see also FIGs. 4-5, [0019], and “[0041] Graphics subsystem 615 may perform processing of images such as… video for display…. An analog or digital interface may be used to communicatively couple graphics subsystem 615 and display 620. For example, the interface may be any of a High-Definition Multimedia Interface, DisplayPort, wireless HDMI, and/or wireless HD compliant techniques….”, and [0044]);
storing the received pixel data as a plurality of frames in a plurality of frame buffers (112 and 114 in FIG. 1) associated with the plurality of displays, respectively (Janus: see FIG. 1 and “[0015]… [M]emory 106 may contain two frame buffers 112 (frame buffer A) and 114 (frame buffer B) that store image data corresponding to frame data 116 (frame data A) and 118 (frame data B), respectively…. [F]rame data 116 may correspond to image content to be displayed on display 108, while frame data 118 may correspond to different image content to be displayed on display 110.”, see also FIGs. 2 and 4-5, [0046], and [0053].).
However, it is noted that Janus does not teach:
said receiving, from the one or more third-party image sources via said wireless communication medium, the one or more streams of pixel data encoded according to a first video coding format associated with the plurality of displays;
decoding the one or more streams of pixel data as decoded pixel data;
said storing the decoded pixel data as a plurality of frames in the plurality of frame buffers associated with the plurality of displays, respectively;
encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the plurality of frame buffers according to a second video coding format associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays.
Luo teaches:
receiving, from one or more third-party image sources (1130 and 1140 in FIG. 11) via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data (e.g., streaming video) encoded according to a first video coding format associated with a plurality of displays (of 116-122 in FIG. 1) (Luo: FIGs. 1 and 11, “[0028]... The network 100 [in FIG. 1] may include a broadcaster 102 that broadcasts videos 104 such as movies, television shows, or any other videos of frame sequences over a computer network such as a wide area network (WAN) including the internet, a local area network (LAN), or any other network that wired or wirelessly transmits video frame sequences.”, “[0030]… [A] transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence) at the remote server 106, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence. In one form, the transcoder 110 is located at the site of the server 106 (or is on server 106) and transmits the multiple encoded frame sequences, whether as a single bitstream or multiple bitstreams, to end devices. By other forms, the transcoder may be at the location of the end devices, where for example, the transcoder may be part of a business or residential gateway, set-top box (cable box), and so forth that then transmits multiple encoded video sequences of different formats to different devices. The transcoder may even be located on one of the end devices itself such as a smartphone to form a personal area network (PAN). Such a transcoder may receive a single compressed version of a video sequence, and then provides bitstreams of the video sequence re-compressed in multiple different formats. By some example arrangements, a large screen television 116 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 4K or 8K 60 fps video, a smartphone 118 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 720p 30 fps video, a tablet 120 may receive the video sequence formatted for 1080p HD 30 fps video, and a desk top or laptop computer 122 may receive the video sequence formatted for advanced video coding (AVC) 1080p 30 fps video. These are one of many possible example arrangements.”, “[0118]… [S]ystem 1100 includes a platform 1102 communicatively coupled to a display 1120. Platform 1102 may receive content from a content device such as content services device(s) 1130 or content delivery device(s) 1140 or other similar content sources….”, “[0128]… Examples of content may include any media information including, for example, video, music, medical and gaming information, and so forth.”, and “[0135] Platform 1102 may establish one or more logical or physical channels to communicate information. The information may include media information…. Media information may refer to any data representing content meant for a user. Examples of content may include, for example,… videoconference, streaming video,… and so forth.”, see also [0001] and “[0123] Graphics subsystem 115 may perform processing of images such as… video for display…. An analog or digital interface may be used to communicatively couple graphics subsystem 1115 and display 1120. For example, the interface may be any of a High-Definition Multimedia Interface, Display Port, wireless HDMI, and/or wireless HD compliant techniques….”);
decoding the one or more streams of pixel data as decoded pixel data (Luo: FIG. 1 and “[0030]… [A] transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence….”, see also [0001]);
storing the decoded pixel data as a plurality of frames in a frame buffer associated with the plurality of displays (Luo: FIGs. 1 and 3, “[0030]… [A] transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence….”, “[0037]… The decoder 302 may receive a bitstream of compressed video data, and may perform de-entropy coding to generate readable values for one or more frames in a frame sequence where each frame is formed of the image data (the luma and/or chroma values) in addition to any supporting data which may include prediction data such as prediction mode and motion vectors, but could also include quantization data and/or other supporting data.”, “[0038] The decoder 302 may then perform inverse quantization and transform, and residual code assembly. Then frames of image data are reconstructed either by using intra-prediction or by adding inter-prediction based predictions to the residuals. Filtering is applied to the reconstructed rough frame to generate a final de-compressed frame….”, and “[0039]… [T]he de-compressed frames may be stored in a de-compressed (or non-compressed) frame buffer 306 where the image data of the frames is accessible to an encoder 316.”, see also [0001] and “[0079]… [T]he frames may be obtained or read from memory multiple times, one time for each different encoding session that is to be established for different video formats and/or video codec formats or standards to be used….”);
encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the frame buffer according to a second video coding format (Luo: FIGs. 1-3 and “[0030]… [A] transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence…. The transcoder may… be located on one of the end devices itself such as a smartphone to form a personal area network (PAN). Such a transcoder may receive a single compressed version of a video sequence, and then provides bitstreams of the video sequence re-compressed in multiple different formats. By some example arrangements, a large screen television 116 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 4K or 8K 60 fps video, a smartphone 118 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 720p 30 fps video, a tablet 120 may receive the video sequence formatted for 1080p HD 30 fps video, and a desk top or laptop computer 122 may receive the video sequence formatted for advanced video coding (AVC) 1080p 30 fps video. These are one of many possible example arrangements.”, “[0031] Referring to FIG. 2,… transcoder 200 may be used to perform the methods of video coding….”, “[0034]… [T]he transcoder 200 may have one or more encoders to establish multiple individual encoding sessions, one for each video format alternative that needs its own encoding session to generate video image data with a desired format….”, “[0035]… Encoding session(s) 3 (216) may provide data in different codec formats or standards such as HEVC or VP9 to name a couple of examples and that will establish images 224 that are compatible with different decoders and may offer different quality levels depending on the standard used….”, “[0037] Referring to FIG. 3, in more detail, an example transcoder (or video coding system or device) 300…. The transcoder 300 may have a decoder 302…. The decoder 302 may receive a bitstream of compressed video data, and may perform de-entropy coding to generate readable values for one or more frames in a frame sequence where each frame is formed of the image data (the luma and/or chroma values) in addition to any supporting data which may include prediction data such as prediction mode and motion vectors, but could also include quantization data and/or other supporting data.”, “[0038] The decoder 302 may then perform inverse quantization and transform, and residual code assembly. Then frames of image data are reconstructed either by using intra-prediction or by adding inter-prediction based predictions to the residuals. Filtering is applied to the reconstructed rough frame to generate a final de-compressed frame….”, and “[0039]… [T]he de-compressed frames may be stored in a de-compressed (or non-compressed) frame buffer 306 where the image data of the frames is accessible to an encoder 316.”, see also [0001], [0028]-[0029], [0079], and [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Luo, to display images on devices with different video coding formats.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo does not teach:
the second video coding format is associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays; and
outputting, to the docking station, the plurality of encoded frames for display on the plurality of displays, respectively;
receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station, wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources.
Malemezian teaches:
a docking station (802 in FIG. 8) coupled to a plurality of displays (804 and 806 in FIG. 8) (Malemezian: FIG. 8 and “[0070]… [T]he branch device is a docking station (802)… driving two monitors (e.g., monitor1 (804), monitor2 (806))….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, “[0026]… The branch device (106) takes external input interface content and transports the content to an external output interface. For example, the branch device (106) may be a docking station….”, and “[0031]… As shown in FIG. 2, the system may include multiple display devices (e.g., display device 1 (208), display device N (210)) connected via a branch device (206) to a source device (202)….”); and
outputting, to the docking station, pixel data for display on the plurality of displays, respectively (Malemezian: FIG. 8, “[0070]… [T]he branch device is a docking station (802)… driving two monitors (e.g., monitor1 (804), monitor2 (806))…. The docking station (802) may further be connected to a laptop (808) as the source device….”, “[0074]… [T]he source device produces original video streams….”, and “[0075] Before sending the video streams to the display device ports….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, “[0026] A branch device (106) is interposed between and coupled to both the display device (104) and the source device (102).… The branch device (106) takes external input interface content and transports the content to an external output interface. For example, the branch device (106) may be a docking station….”, and “[0029] Continuing with FIG. 1, an original video stream (112) is a video stream that is output of the source device (102). In particular, video signals of the original video stream (112) is as transmitted from the source device (102) to the display device (104)….”);
receiving one or more user inputs (keyboard or mouse inputs) via one or more input devices (keyboard or mouse) coupled to the docking station (Malemezian: FIG. 8 and “[0070]… The docking station (802) may further include a USB layer module for receiving an auxiliary (“AUX”) and/or fast AUX (“FAUX”) channel from the DP cable via the source device port and providing the AUX channel to USB hub. The USB hub may be used to connect to peripheral devices, such as a keyboard and mouse.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Malemezian, such that Janus as modified teaches: receiving, from one or more third-party image sources via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data encoded according to a first video coding format associated with a plurality of displays (receiving, one or more third-party image sources, via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data, and associated with a plurality of displays of Janus combined with receiving, one or more third-party image sources, via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data, encoded according to a first video coding format, and associated with a plurality of displays of Luo); decoding the one or more streams of pixel data as decoded pixel data (one or more streams of pixel data of Janus combined with decoding, one or more streams of pixel data, and decoded pixel data of Luo); storing the decoded pixel data as a plurality of frames in a plurality of frame buffers associated with the plurality of displays, respectively (storing, received pixel data, plurality of frames, plurality of frame buffers associated, and plurality of displays of Janus combined with storing, decoded pixel data, plurality of frames, frame buffer, associated, and plurality of displays of Luo); encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the plurality of frame buffers according to a second video coding format associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays (plurality of frames of received pixel data, stored, plurality of frame buffers, and plurality of displays of Janus combined with encoding, plurality of frames of decoded pixel data, stored, frame buffer, second video coding format of Luo combined with the docking station, coupled, and plurality of displays of Malemezian); outputting, to the docking station, the plurality of encoded frames for display on the plurality of displays, respectively (plurality of frames and plurality of displays of Janus combined with the plurality of encoded frames and plurality of displays of Luo and outputting, docking station, pixel data, and plurality of displays of Malemezian), for “branch device bandwidth management for video streams.” (Malemezian: [0020]).
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo and Malemezian does not explicitly teach or teach:
wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources;
transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via the wireless communication medium; and
receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions.
Kim teaches:
wherein one or more user inputs (200 inputs, e.g., keyboard inputs) include keystroke instructions (e.g., corresponding to keyboard inputs) for a software application associated with one or more third-party image sources (300 image sources) (Kim: i.e., ; see FIG. 1, “[0048]... [T]he source devices 300... are electronic apparatuses that provide content such as an image, text, and audio, and may include a TV, a mobile phone, a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a tablet PC, a desktop computer, a set-top box, a game console, a game player, a digital versatile disk (DVD) player, a Blue Ray disk, and the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto.”, and “[0049] Also, the input devices 200... may be implemented as various forms of apparatuses for controlling the source devices 300 and may include a remote controller, a mobile phone, a tablet PC, a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller (e.g., a game pad), and the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto.”, see also FIGs. 6, 10A-D, and 13, “[0086]... [T]he display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620 and control the first source device 610 based on the received input data. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, when an input of the display apparatus 100 is set to the first source device 610, the display apparatus 100 may display, on a display, an image received from the first source device 610. In this case, the image received from the first source device 610 may be the same as an image displayed on the first source device 610, or may be an image rendered in a background environment of the first source device 610 and be different from the image displayed on the first source device 610.”, “[0087] The display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620. In this case, the input data may be an input of controlling an image displayed on the display apparatus 100 and may include various types of inputs, such as a touch input, a button input, a key input, and a speech input.”, “[0088] The display apparatus 100 may convert the input data received from the first source device 610 into input information corresponding to the first source device 610 and transmit the input information to the first source device 610.”, and “[0089] The first source device 610 may render an image based on the received input information and transmit the rendered image to the display apparatus 100. The display apparatus 100 may display the rendered image based on the input information. Accordingly, the image (screen) displayed on the display may be controlled based on the input data received from the first input device 620.”);
transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via a wireless communication medium (Kim: see FIGs. 1 and 6, [0049] (keyboard input device 200), “[0051]... [T]he source devices 300... may be connected to the display apparatus 100 through a wired or wireless network.... [T]he source devices 300 may be connected to the display apparatus 100 by using BT [(Bluetooth)], a WLAN (Wi-Fi),... or the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and... the source devices 300 may be connected to the display apparatus 100 by using various wired/wireless communication schemes.”, ““[0087] The display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620. In this case, the input data may be an input of controlling an image displayed on the display apparatus 100 and may include various types of inputs, such as a touch input, a button input, a key input, and a speech input.”, “[0088] The display apparatus 100 may convert the input data received from the first source device 610 into input information corresponding to the first source device 610 and transmit the input information to the first source device 610.”, and [0089], see also FIGs. 2, 10A-D and 13 and [0060]); and
receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions (Kim: see FIGs. 1 and 6, [0049] (keyboard input device 200), [0051] (source devices 300 wirelessly connected to display apparatus 100), and “[0089] The first source device 610 may render an image based on the received input information and transmit the rendered image to the display apparatus 100. The display apparatus 100 may display the rendered image based on the input information. Accordingly, the image (screen) displayed on the display may be controlled based on the input data received from the first input device 620.”, see also FIGs. 10A-D and 13 and [0087]-[0088]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Kim, such that Janus as modified teaches:
receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station, wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources (receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station of Janus as modified combined with the one or more user inputs, keystroke instructions, software application, and one or more third-party image sources of Kim); transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via the wireless communication medium (one or more third-party image sources and wireless communication medium of Janus as modified combined with transmitting, keystroke instructions, software application, one or more third-party image sources, and wireless communication medium of Kim); and receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions (wireless communication medium and one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with receiving, wireless communication medium, updated pixel data, one or more third-party image sources, and responsive to the keystroke instructions of Kim), for wireless user keyboard input.
Regarding claim 4, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of frame buffers is separate from an operating system of the mobile computing device (Janus: see FIG. 1 and “[0015]… [M]emory 106 may contain two frame buffers 112 (frame buffer A) and 114 (frame buffer B) that store image data corresponding to frame data 116 (frame data A) and 118 (frame data B), respectively….”, see also FIG. 2 and “[0058] Various embodiments may be implemented using hardware elements, software elements, or a combination of both…. Examples of software may include… operating system software…. Determining whether an embodiment is implemented using hardware elements and/or software elements may vary in accordance with any number of factors, such as desired computational rate, power levels, heat tolerances, processing cycle budget, input data rates, output data rates, memory resources, data bus speeds and other design or performance constraints.” It would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of suitability for the intended use to store decoded pixel data from image sources.).
Regarding claim 5, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
adjusting a resolution of the decoded pixel data based at least in part on a resolution of each display of the plurality of displays (Janus: a resolution of the received pixel data and a resolution of displays 108 and 110; Luo: “[0030]… [A] transcoder that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence…. Such a transcoder may receive a single compressed version of a video sequence, and then provides bitstreams of the video sequence re-compressed in multiple different formats. By some example arrangements, a large screen television 116 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 4K or 8K 60 fps video, a smartphone 118 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 720p 30 fps video, a tablet 120 may receive the video sequence formatted for 1080p HD 30 fps video, and a desk top or laptop computer 122 may receive the video sequence formatted for advanced video coding (AVC) 1080p 30 fps video. These are one of many possible example arrangements.”, see also FIG. 2, [0023], [0029], “[0035]… [E]ncoding session(s) 1(212) may be established for each change in resolution or scaling that is to be provided, resulting in images (or actually frame sequences) 220 with different image sizes that can be provided to different end devices for viewing….”, [0041], [0079]-[0080], and [0102] Also, it would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of suitability for the intended use to display images on different displays according to a resolution of a corresponding display.).
Regarding claim 10, Janus is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 10 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 10 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
A controller for a mobile computing device, comprising:
a processing system; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system, causes the controller to:.
Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
A controller for a mobile computing device, comprising (Janus: FIGs. 3 and 6-7, “[0024] FIG. 3 illustrates a flow diagram of an example process 300 according to various implementations of the present disclosure….”, “[0033]… [A]ny one or more of the blocks of FIG. 3 may be undertaken in response to instructions provided by one or more computer program products. Such program products… providing instructions that, when executed by… a processor, may provide the functionality described herein. The computer program products may be provided in any form of computer readable medium. Thus, for example, a processor including one or more processor core(s) may undertake one or more of the blocks shown in FIG. 3 in response to instructions conveyed to the processor by a computer readable medium.”, and “[0035] FIG. 6 illustrates an example system 600 in accordance with the present disclosure. In various implementations, system 600 may be a media system although system 600 is not limited to this context. For example, system 600 may be incorporated into a… smart device (e.g., smart phone…)….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, “[0058] Various embodiments may be implemented using hardware elements, software elements, or a combination of both. Examples of hardware elements may include processors…. Examples of software may include… instruction sets, computing code, computer code, code segments, computer code segments….”, and “[0059] One or more aspects of at least one embodiment may be implemented by representative instructions stored on a machine-readable medium which represents various logic within the processor, which when read by a machine causes the machine to fabricate logic to perform the techniques described herein….”; claim 1 above):
a processing system (Janus: “[0033]… [A]ny one or more of the blocks of FIG. 3 may be undertaken in response to instructions provided by one or more computer program products. Such program products… providing instructions that, when executed by… a processor, may provide the functionality described herein. The computer program products may be provided in any form of computer readable medium. Thus, for example, a processor including one or more processor core(s) may undertake one or more of the blocks shown in FIG. 3 in response to instructions conveyed to the processor by a computer readable medium.”, see also FIGs. 1-2 and 6); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system, causes the controller to: (Janus: “[0013] The material disclosed herein may be implemented in hardware, firmware, software, or any combination thereof. The material disclosed herein may also be implemented as instructions stored on a machine-readable medium, which may be read and executed by one or more processors. A machine-readable medium may include any medium and/or mechanism for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (e.g., a computing device). For example, a machine-readable medium may include read only memory (ROM); random access memory (RAM); magnetic disk storage media; optical storage media; flash memory devices; electrical, optical, acoustical or other forms of propagated signals (e.g., carrier waves, infrared signals, digital signals, etc.), and others.”, see also FIGs. 1-2 and 6 and “[0033]… [A]ny one or more of the blocks of FIG. 3 may be undertaken in response to instructions provided by one or more computer program products. Such program products… providing instructions that, when executed by… a processor, may provide the functionality described herein. The computer program products may be provided in any form of computer readable medium. Thus, for example, a processor including one or more processor core(s) may undertake one or more of the blocks shown in FIG. 3 in response to instructions conveyed to the processor by a computer readable medium.”).
Regarding claim 12, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The controller of claim 10, wherein the mobile computing device comprises a smartphone (Janus: FIG. 7 , “[0054]…. [D]evice 700 may be implemented as a mobile computing device having wireless capabilities….”, and “[0055] As described above, examples of a mobile computing device may include a… smart device (e.g., smart phone…)….”).
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 5 above.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, in further view of Kim, and in further view of Rabii et al. in US 2015/0334388 A1 (hereinafter Rabii).
Regarding claim 2, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim does not teach:
wherein the first video coding format is associated with an x264 video codec.
Rabii teaches:
wherein a first video coding format is associated with an x264 video codec (Rabii: “[0024]… H.264/MPEG-4 AVC may also be used to encode the video stream [from a transmitting device to a display device]….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Rabii, such that Janus as modified teaches: wherein the first video coding format is associated with an x264 video codec (first video coding format of Janus as modified combined with the first video coding format of Rabii), so as to “significantly reduce the bandwidth needed to transmit video from a transmitting device to a display device….” (Rabii: [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim is further modified by Rabii in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 2 above. Thus, claim 11 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, in further view of Kim, and in further view of Yoon et al. in KR 10-0892763 B1 (hereinafter Yoon; an original copy and a full machine translation thereof was provided with the August 1, 2025 Office action).
Regarding claim 6, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim does not teach:
further comprising:
receiving authentication data associated with a user of the mobile computing device; and
authenticating the user based on the authentication data, the pixel data being received from the one or more third-party image sources based at least in part on authenticating the user.
Yoon teaches:
receiving authentication data (identifiable ID and password) associated with a user of a mobile computing device (110 in FIG. 3) (Yoon: FIGs. 3 and 6, p. 5, ¶ 7 (“… [T]he thin client (100)… is a mobile terminal or a docking station equipped with a mobile terminal….”) and 8th to the last ¶ (“The portable terminal [110] may be…a smart phone….”), and p. 6, 4th to the last ¶ (“… [T]he thin client logs into the server using an identifiable ID and password to connect to the server….”)); and
authenticating the user based on the authentication data, data being received from one or more sources (200 in FIG. 3) based at least in part on authenticating the user (Yoon: FIG. 6, p. 5, ¶ 6 (“… [T]hin client (100)… connects to the server (200) after going through a prescribed authentication process.”), and p. 6, 4th to the last ¶ (“… [T]he thin client logs into the server using an identifiable ID and password to connect to the server….”) and 2nd to the last ¶ (“… [T]he thin client can connect to the server and receive data stored in the server….”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Yoon, further comprising: receiving authentication data associated with a user of the mobile computing device (mobile computing device of Janus as modified combined with the authentical data, user, and mobile computing device of Yoon); and authenticating the user based on the authentication data, the pixel data being received from the one or more third-party image sources based at least in part on authenticating the user (pixel data and one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with authenticating the user, authentication data, data, and one or more sources of Yoon), to limit access to data to an authenticated user.
Regarding claim 7, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, Kim, and Yoon teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein the authentication data includes biometric data, a password, or a security access code (Yoon: a password; FIG. 6 and p. 6, 4th to the last ¶ (“… [T]he thin client logs into the server using… [a] password to connect to the server….”)).
Regarding claim 17, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim is further modified by Yoon in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 6 above. Thus, claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, in further view of Kim, and in further view of Shin et al. in JP 2007-140590 A (hereinafter Shin; an original copy and a full machine translation thereof is/was provided with the Office action mailed in response to the June 3, 2026 Amendment).
Regarding claim 8, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim does not teach:
wherein:
the one or more third-party image sources comprise a remote desktop server; and
the one or more user inputs are transmitted to the remote desktop server using a remote desktop protocol (RDP).
Shin teaches:
wherein:
one or more third-party image sources comprise a remote desktop server (Shin: “[0003] In this image communication, Microsoft's RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) is widely used when a terminal transmits input from a user to a server or when a server transmits screen information to the terminal.”, “[0004] Using this RDP, the same image is transmitted from a master PC (personal computer) to a plurality of slave PCs via... the Internet, and the same image is simultaneously displayed on a terminal device such as a plurality of desktop PCs or laptop PCs. can do. Therefore, the user can enjoy images transmitted from the master PC at the same time.”, and “[0006] Furthermore, one communication game can be simultaneously enjoyed among a plurality of portable terminals using communication technologies such as Bluetooth, IRDA, and 802.11. In this case, the same image is displayed at each terminal, and the operation by a predetermined key operation is also synchronized between the terminal devices.”, see also FIGs. 9-10, [0002], and [0005]); and
one or more user inputs are transmitted to the remote desktop server using a remote desktop protocol (RDP) (Shin: [0003]-[0004] and [0006]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Shin, such that Janus as modified teaches: wherein: the one or more third-party image sources comprise a remote desktop server (one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with the one or more third-party image sources and remote desktop server of Shin); and the one or more user inputs are transmitted to the remote desktop server using a remote desktop protocol (RDP) (one or more user inputs of Janus as modified combined with the one or more user inputs, transmitted to the remote desktop server, and using a RDP of Shin), for image synchronization.
Regarding claim 19, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim is further modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 8 above. Thus, claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 8 above.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, in further view of Kim, and in further view of Cho et al. in US 2017/0064215 A1 (hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 9, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim does not teach:
wherein the one or more third-party image sources comprise a game streaming service.
Cho teaches:
wherein one or more third-party image sources comprise a game streaming service (Cho: “[0420]... [T]the display apparatus may receive various kinds of content such as a streaming service based on... a game service....”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Cho, such that Janus as modified teaches: wherein the one or more third-party image sources comprise a game streaming service (one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with the one or more third-party image sources and game streaming service of Cho), to provide game streaming content.
Regarding claim 20, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim is further modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 9 above. Thus, claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 9 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janus in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, in further view of Kim, and in further view of Wan in WO 2022/194140 A1 (hereinafter Wan; an original copy and a full machine translation thereof was provided with the August 1, 2025 Office action).
Regarding claim 13, Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
The controller of claim 10.
However, it is noted that Janus as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim does not teach:
wherein the one or more third-party image sources include a remote desktop server.
Wan teaches:
wherein one or more third-party image sources include a remote desktop server (2 in FIG. 1) (Wan: FIG. 1 and “[0027] When server 2 is a remote desktop server, the scenario shown in FIG1 is a remote desktop connection scenario, and the remote desktop server is used to provide a video stream of the remote desktop to the mobile terminal 1 so that the mobile terminal can display the screen of the remote desktop….”, see also “[0026] As shown in FIG1 , the server 2 remotely provides a video stream to the mobile terminal 1, and the mobile terminal1 presents the video content according to the received video stream. Specifically, the mobile terminal 1 is an electronic device such as a smart phone….”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Wan, such that Janus as modified teaches: wherein the one or more third-party image sources include a remote desktop server (one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with the one or more third-party image sources and remote desktop server of Wan), to provide images to a mobile computing device.
Claims 1 and 10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomsen in US 2007/0177677 A1 (hereinafter Thomsen) in view of Luo, in further view of Malemezian, and in further view of Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Thomsen teaches:
A method of processing content (video) for multiple displays (for, e.g., a television, personal computer, and personal digital assistant) by a device (e.g., cable television set-top box), comprising (Thomsen: FIGs. 1-2, “[0003] The present disclosure is generally related to the processing of bit streams, and more specifically to the transcoding of media bit streams.”, “[0017] Although the described transcoder systems and methods could be used in a number of potential environments, FIG. 1 depicts an embodiment of a cable television distribution network 100 in which embodiments of the transcoders described herein may be used. In general, network 100 relays multimedia signals received from a number of sources, such as satellites 102, to a plurality of remote locations 104. Such multimedia signals could be, for example video and/or audio signals….”, and “[0022] Decoder 116 could be, for example, in a cable television set-top box. According to other embodiments, decoder 116 could be associated with a television, stereo system, or computing device (e.g. personal computer, laptop, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc.). Decoder 116 may receive a plurality of programs on a respective channel, each channel carried by a respective multimedia stream (which can include audio and video signals, among others).”, see also [0023], [0027], and [0040]):
receiving, from one or more third-party image sources (video stream source(s)) via a wireless communication medium, one or more streams of pixel data (video stream) encoded according to a first video coding format associated with a plurality of displays (of, e.g., a television, personal computer, and personal digital assistant) (Thomsen: FIGs. 1-2, “[0017]… In general, network 100 relays multimedia signals received from a number of sources, such as satellites 102, to a plurality of remote locations 104. Such multimedia signals could be, for example video and/or audio signals…. The remote locations 104 could be residences or businesses that pay for, or otherwise receive, cable television programming. Although reference may be made generally to multimedia signals throughout the detailed description, signals having only one form of media, such as audio or video signals alone, are intended to be well within the scope of the disclosure.”, “[0018] Such multimedia signals and/or data signals may be transmitted over a down-link 106 from satellites 102 to a respective receiver 108 at a cable head-end 110. The signals received at the cable head-end 110 can be multiplexed data streams. Such data streams may comprise compressed multimedia streams transmitted in a variety of formats, such as, but not limited to, MPEG-1, MPEG-2, MPEG-4, VC-1, mp3, and/or RealAudio streams. Such compressed multimedia streams may be transmitted to the cable head-end 110 at a variety of bit rates.”, “[0019] A transcoder 112, located at the cable head-end 110, functions to decode and re-encode the individual media streams for their eventual transmission to remote locations 104. That is, it is sometimes desired to re-encode a previously encoded stream….”, and “[0022] Decoder 116 could be, for example, in a cable television set-top box. According to other embodiments, decoder 116 could be associated with a television, stereo system, or computing device (e.g. personal computer, laptop, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc.). Decoder 116 may receive a plurality of programs on a respective channel, each channel carried by a respective multimedia stream (which can include audio and video signals, among others).”, see also [0023], [0027], [0035], [0039], and [0040]);
decoding the one or more streams of pixel data as decoded pixel data (Thomsen: “[0019] A transcoder 112, located at the cable head-end 110, functions to decode… the individual media streams….”, see also “[0027] FIG. 2 depicts an embodiment of a transcoder 112a that could be used in the cable head-end (or decoder 116, etc.) of FIG. 1. A transcoder, in its simplest form, comprises a decoder for decoding the first compressed multimedia stream into an intermediate uncompressed format….”, [0032], and [0035]);
storing the decoded pixel data as a plurality of frames in a plurality of buffers (204 in FIG. 2) associated with the plurality of displays, respectively (Thomsen: see FIG. 2, “[0022] Decoder 116 could be, for example, in a cable television set-top box. According to other embodiments, decoder 116 could be associated with a television, stereo system, or computing device (e.g. personal computer, laptop, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc.). Decoder 116 may receive a plurality of programs on a respective channel, each channel carried by a respective multimedia stream (which can include audio and video signals, among others).”, ““[0035]… [D]ecoded-data buffer 204, which holds the decoded, uncompressed frequency domain data 216….”, and “[0039]… [T]ranscoder 112a includes a 1:1 relationship between incoming streams, buffer memory blocks, and transcoding processors. Thus, if one-thousand streams are to be processed, among other redundancies, an equal number of decoded data buffers 104, re-encoded data buffers 110, parameter buffers 126, decoders 102, requantization elements 106, and variable-length encoders 108 are used.”);
encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the plurality of buffers according to a second video coding format (Thomsen: “[0019] A transcoder 112, located at the cable head-end 110, functions to decode and re-encode the individual media streams for their eventual transmission to remote locations 104. That is, it is sometimes desired to re-encode a previously encoded stream….” and “[0027] FIG. 2 depicts an embodiment of a transcoder 112a that could be used in the cable head-end (or decoder 116, etc.) of FIG. 1. A transcoder, in its simplest form, comprises a decoder for decoding the first compressed multimedia stream into an intermediate uncompressed format, followed by an encoder for encoding and compressing the audio and/or video from the intermediate uncompressed format to a second compressed format. In some instances this approach may be all that is needed for efficiently transcoding from one format to another (e.g. MPEG-2 to MPEG-4)….”, see also [0018], [0023], [0032], [0037], and “[0040]… [O]ther transcoding operations are intended to be within the scope of the present disclosure. Such operations could include converting the underlying multimedia streams from one format to another (i.e. MPEG-2 to MPEG-4; MPEG-4 to VC-1, etc.). Various analysis and operations may be performed on the underlying multimedia content in the process of decoding and re-encoding. The specifics of this analysis and operations are well within the skill in the art and are outside of the scope of this disclosure.”);
outputting the plurality of encoded frames for display on the plurality of displays, respectively (Thomsen: FIGs. 1-2, “[0019] A transcoder 112, located at the cable head-end 110, functions to decode and re-encode the individual media streams for their eventual transmission to remote locations 104. That is, it is sometimes desired to re-encode a previously encoded stream….”, “[0021] Once the multimedia streams have been transcoded using transcoder 112, the streams can be transmitted over communication connection 114 to one or more decoders 116 at the remote location 104…. Decoder 116 can, for example, decode and extract the multimedia signals from the transcoded streams for playback on a playback device 118. Playback device could be, for example, a television or audio playback system.”, “[0022] Decoder 116 could be, for example, in a cable television set-top box. According to other embodiments, decoder 116 could be associated with a television, stereo system, or computing device (e.g. personal computer, laptop, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc.). Decoder 116 may receive a plurality of programs on a respective channel, each channel carried by a respective multimedia stream (which can include audio and video signals, among others).”, and “[0023] Although the transcoder 112 may be described in certain embodiments as being part of the cable head-end 110, the transcoder could also be used in a number of other locations, such as in decoder 116. For example, according to such an embodiment, decoder 116 may receive a plurality of multimedia streams (e.g. representing one or more channels of audio and/or video content) over connection 114. These streams may be in an inappropriate form for decoder 116 to properly decode and provide to device 118 for playback. Thus, decoder 116 may include a transcoder similar to transcoder 112 to transform the streams into a target format that is usable for decoder 116 or playback device 118….”).
However, it is noted that Thomsen does not teach:
the plurality of buffers are a plurality of frame buffers,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Thomsen as modified teaches: storing the decoded pixel data as a plurality of frames in a plurality of frame buffers associated with the plurality of displays, respectively, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for their intended use to store decoded video frames pixel data.
However, it is noted that Thomsen as modified does not teach:
said device is a mobile computing device;
said encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the plurality of frame buffers according to the second video coding format associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays;
said outputting, to the docking station, the plurality of encoded frames for display on the plurality of displays, respectively.
Luo teaches:
A method of processing content (video) for multiple displays (of 116-122 in FIG. 1) by a mobile computing device (e.g., smartphone) (Luo: see FIGs. 1 and 3 and “[0030] The network 100 also may include a transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence…. [T]he transcoder may be at the location of the end devices, where for example, the transcoder may be part of a business or residential gateway, set-top box (cable box), and so forth that then transmits multiple encoded video sequences of different formats to different devices. The transcoder may even be located on one of the end devices itself such as a smartphone to form a personal area network (PAN). Such a transcoder may receive a single compressed version of a video sequence, and then provides bitstreams of the video sequence re-compressed in multiple different formats. By some example arrangements, a large screen television 116 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 4K or 8K 60 fps video, a smartphone 118 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 720p 30 fps video, a tablet 120 may receive the video sequence formatted for 1080p HD 30 fps video, and a desk top or laptop computer 122 may receive the video sequence formatted for advanced video coding (AVC) 1080p 30 fps video. These are one of many possible example arrangements.” );
encoding a plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in a frame buffer according to a second video coding format (Luo: FIGs. 1-3, “[0030]… [A] transcoder 110… that has a decoder unit 112 that decodes compressed image data of frames of a frame sequence of a video (also referred to herein as a video sequence)…, and then uses an encoder unit 114 to encode the video sequence formatted to be compatible with multiple end devices for display of the video sequence…. [T]he transcoder may be at the location of the end devices, where for example, the transcoder may be part of a business or residential gateway, set-top box (cable box), and so forth that then transmits multiple encoded video sequences of different formats to different devices. The transcoder may even be located on one of the end devices itself such as a smartphone to form a personal area network (PAN). Such a transcoder may receive a single compressed version of a video sequence, and then provides bitstreams of the video sequence re-compressed in multiple different formats. By some example arrangements, a large screen television 116 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 4K or 8K 60 fps video, a smartphone 118 may receive the video sequence formatted for HEVC 720p 30 fps video, a tablet 120 may receive the video sequence formatted for 1080p HD 30 fps video, and a desk top or laptop computer 122 may receive the video sequence formatted for advanced video coding (AVC) 1080p 30 fps video. These are one of many possible example arrangements.”, and “[0039]… [T]he de-compressed frames may be stored in a de-compressed (or non-compressed) frame buffer 306 where the image data of the frames is accessible to an encoder 316.”, see also [0001], [0028]-[0029], [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0037]-[0038], [0079], and [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Luo, so a user can send video images from a mobile device to multiple connected display devices.
However, it is noted that Thomsen as modified by Luo does not teach:
the second video coding format is associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays; and
said outputting, to the docking station;
receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station, wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources.
Malemezian teaches:
a docking station (802 in FIG. 8) coupled to a plurality of displays (804 and 806 in FIG. 8) (Malemezian: FIG. 8 and “[0070]… [T]he branch device is a docking station (802)… driving two monitors (e.g., monitor1 (804), monitor2 (806))….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, “[0026]… The branch device (106) takes external input interface content and transports the content to an external output interface. For example, the branch device (106) may be a docking station….”, and “[0031]… As shown in FIG. 2, the system may include multiple display devices (e.g., display device 1 (208), display device N (210)) connected via a branch device (206) to a source device (202)….”); and
outputting, to the docking station, pixel data for display on the plurality of displays, respectively (Malemezian: FIG. 8, “[0070]… [T]he branch device is a docking station (802)… driving two monitors (e.g., monitor1 (804), monitor2 (806))…. The docking station (802) may further be connected to a laptop (808) as the source device….”, “[0074]… [T]he source device produces original video streams….”, and “[0075] Before sending the video streams to the display device ports….”, see also FIGs. 1-2, “[0026] A branch device (106) is interposed between and coupled to both the display device (104) and the source device (102).… The branch device (106) takes external input interface content and transports the content to an external output interface. For example, the branch device (106) may be a docking station….”, and “[0029] Continuing with FIG. 1, an original video stream (112) is a video stream that is output of the source device (102). In particular, video signals of the original video stream (112) is as transmitted from the source device (102) to the display device (104)….”);
receiving one or more user inputs (keyboard or mouse inputs) via one or more input devices (keyboard or mouse) coupled to the docking station (Malemezian: FIG. 8 and “[0070]… The docking station (802) may further include a USB layer module for receiving an auxiliary (“AUX”) and/or fast AUX (“FAUX”) channel from the DP cable via the source device port and providing the AUX channel to USB hub. The USB hub may be used to connect to peripheral devices, such as a keyboard and mouse.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Malemezian, such that Thomsen as modified teaches: A method of processing content for multiple displays by a mobile computing device, comprising (method of Thomsen combined with the method of Luo): encoding the plurality of frames of decoded pixel data stored in the plurality of frame buffers according to a second video coding format associated with a docking station coupled to the plurality of displays (encoding of Thomsen as modified combined with encoding of Luo and the docking station of Malemezian); outputting, to the docking station, the plurality of encoded frames for display on the plurality of displays, respectively (outputting of Thomsen as modified combined with the docking station of Malemezian), for “branch device bandwidth management for video streams.” (Malemezian: [0020]).
However, it is noted that Thomsen as modified by Luo and Malemezian does not explicitly teach or teach:
wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources;
transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via the wireless communication medium; and
receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions.
Kim teaches:
wherein one or more user inputs (200 inputs, e.g., keyboard inputs) include keystroke instructions (e.g., corresponding to keyboard inputs) for a software application associated with one or more third-party image sources (300 image sources) (Kim: i.e., ; see FIG. 1, “[0048]... [T]he source devices 300... are electronic apparatuses that provide content such as an image, text, and audio, and may include a TV, a mobile phone, a tablet PC, a laptop computer, a tablet PC, a desktop computer, a set-top box, a game console, a game player, a digital versatile disk (DVD) player, a Blue Ray disk, and the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto.”, and “[0049] Also, the input devices 200... may be implemented as various forms of apparatuses for controlling the source devices 300 and may include a remote controller, a mobile phone, a tablet PC, a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller (e.g., a game pad), and the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto.”, see also FIGs. 6, 10A-D, and 13, “[0086]... [T]he display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620 and control the first source device 610 based on the received input data. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, when an input of the display apparatus 100 is set to the first source device 610, the display apparatus 100 may display, on a display, an image received from the first source device 610. In this case, the image received from the first source device 610 may be the same as an image displayed on the first source device 610, or may be an image rendered in a background environment of the first source device 610 and be different from the image displayed on the first source device 610.”, “[0087] The display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620. In this case, the input data may be an input of controlling an image displayed on the display apparatus 100 and may include various types of inputs, such as a touch input, a button input, a key input, and a speech input.”, “[0088] The display apparatus 100 may convert the input data received from the first source device 610 into input information corresponding to the first source device 610 and transmit the input information to the first source device 610.”, and “[0089] The first source device 610 may render an image based on the received input information and transmit the rendered image to the display apparatus 100. The display apparatus 100 may display the rendered image based on the input information. Accordingly, the image (screen) displayed on the display may be controlled based on the input data received from the first input device 620.”);
transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via a wireless communication medium (Kim: see FIGs. 1 and 6, [0049] (keyboard input device 200), “[0051]... [T]he source devices 300... may be connected to the display apparatus 100 through a wired or wireless network.... [T]he source devices 300 may be connected to the display apparatus 100 by using BT [(Bluetooth)], a WLAN (Wi-Fi),... or the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and... the source devices 300 may be connected to the display apparatus 100 by using various wired/wireless communication schemes.”, ““[0087] The display apparatus 100 may receive input data from the first input device 620. In this case, the input data may be an input of controlling an image displayed on the display apparatus 100 and may include various types of inputs, such as a touch input, a button input, a key input, and a speech input.”, “[0088] The display apparatus 100 may convert the input data received from the first source device 610 into input information corresponding to the first source device 610 and transmit the input information to the first source device 610.”, and [0089], see also FIGs. 2, 10A-D and 13 and [0060]); and
receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions (Kim: see FIGs. 1 and 6, [0049] (keyboard input device 200), [0051] (source devices 300 wirelessly connected to display apparatus 100), and “[0089] The first source device 610 may render an image based on the received input information and transmit the rendered image to the display apparatus 100. The display apparatus 100 may display the rendered image based on the input information. Accordingly, the image (screen) displayed on the display may be controlled based on the input data received from the first input device 620.”, see also FIGs. 10A-D and 13 and [0087]-[0088]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Kim, such that Janus as modified teaches:
receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station, wherein the one or more user inputs include keystroke instructions for a software application associated with the one or more third-party image sources (receiving one or more user inputs via one or more input devices coupled to the docking station of Janus as modified combined with the one or more user inputs, keystroke instructions, software application, and one or more third-party image sources of Kim); transmitting the keystroke instructions for the software application to the one or more third-party image sources via the wireless communication medium (one or more third-party image sources and wireless communication medium of Janus as modified combined with transmitting, keystroke instructions, software application, one or more third-party image sources, and wireless communication medium of Kim); and receiving, via the wireless communication medium, updated pixel data from the one or more third-party image sources responsive to the keystroke instructions (wireless communication medium and one or more third-party image sources of Janus as modified combined with receiving, wireless communication medium, updated pixel data, one or more third-party image sources, and responsive to the keystroke instructions of Kim), for wireless user keyboard input.
Regarding claim 10, Thomsen is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 immediately above. Thus, claim 10 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 immediately above.
However, it is noted that claim 10 differs from claim 1 immediately above in that the following are recited:
A controller for a mobile computing device, comprising:
a processing system; and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system, causes the controller to:.
Thomsen as modified by Luo, Malemezian, and Kim teaches:
A controller for a mobile computing device, comprising (Thomsen: A controller for a device, comprising; “[0024] Now that a number of potential non-limiting environments have been described within which the disclosed transcoder systems and methods can be used, attention is now directed to various exemplary embodiments of such transcoder systems and methods. It should be understood that any of the methods or processing described herein could be implemented within hardware, software, or any combination thereof. For example, when processing or process steps are implemented in software, it should be noted that such steps to perform the processing can be stored on any computer-readable medium for use by, or in connection with, any computer-related system or method…. [A] computer-readable medium is an electronic, magnetic, optical, or other physical device or means that can contain or store a computer program for use by, or in connection with, a computer related system or method. The methods can be embodied in any computer-readable medium for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions.”; claim 1 immediately above (mobile computing device)):
a processing system (Thomsen: [0024]); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing system, causes the controller to: (Thomsen: [0024]).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 8/27/26B