DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the tilted track" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartlepp et al. USP 6,259,967.
See the attached (2) annotated sheets from the Hartlepp et al. patent depicting the rejected claim features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartlepp et al. USP 6,259,967.
Hartlepp et al. teach the claimed features as outlined in the above 102 rejection. Hartlepp et al. fail to teach the following features:
Claim 3, Hartlepp et al. teach a chute instead of a rubber coated roller.
Claims 7, 14, 15, Hartlepp et al. is silent on the coefficient of frictions on his first and second sectors while the applicant claims a lower COF on the first sector a higher COF on the second sector.
Claim 11, Hartlepp et al. utilizes all conveyor belts and chutes, while the applicant claims some of his conveyors as roller conveyors.
In each of the above instances, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice as to such known features being utilized instead of other known features and the mere claiming of such features does not provide a patentable departure over the device of Hartlepp et al since the Hartlepp et al device performs functionally the same as the applicants.
Claim(s) 8 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartlepp et al. USP 6,259,967 in view of Bennett et al. USP 7,816,617.
Hartlepp et al. teach the claimed features as outlined on the previously mentioned annotated sheets. Hartlepp et al. fail to teach the reversal of motion of one of the first and second sectors. Hartlepp et al. teach his first and second sectors moving in forward trajectory. Bennet et al. teach a sorting system with at least one of his sectors (conveyors) configured to move forward at times and in reverse at other times. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a conveyor to move both in a forward and in a reverse direction based at least partly on the determined position data of the subset of products within the conveying/sorting system and to properly space and position the articles to achieve the sorting goals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10, 12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DOUGLAS A HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
DAH
January 30, 2026