DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims are directed to providing prompt information (mental processes and organizing methods of human activity) involving:
receiving a control operation;
triggering an interaction function;
transmitting object prompting information
Claims 1, 8, and 15 do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
The claim does not improve the functioning of the computer itself or another technology; rather, it uses the computer components as tools to implement the abstract idea of providing prompt information.
No particular machine beyond generic components. Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite “electronic device”; Claims 8 and 15 recite “computer program”; Claim 8 recites “processor”, “memory”; claim 15 “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”; yet, these are generic computing elements. See MPEP 2106.05(b), (f).
The additional elements (virtual scene, target virtual object, first virtual character, second virtual character) are generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and do not impose a meaningful limit on the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under MPEP § 2106.04(d).
Considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims do not recite an inventive concept (“significantly more”) beyond the abstract ideas.
Generic computer components and environments (electronic device, processor, memory, computer program, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) performing information prompts are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activities in the field of computer gaming.
Under Berkheimer v. HP, 881 F.3d 1360, absent evidence in the record that any claimed element or arrangement is not WURC, it is proper to treat generic servers, processors, memories, programs, and information prompts as conventional. The claims do not recite non-conventional computer functionality or architecture.
No specific algorithm, data structure, or hardware improvement is claimed that would transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The claims are directed to judicial exceptions—mental process and organizing methods of human activity —and do not integrate those exceptions into a practical application. The additional elements, viewed individually and in combination, amount to no more than the abstract idea of providing prompt information, implemented on a generic computer, and therefore do not add “significantly more.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20190275429 to Yang et al (Yang) in view of PUBG mobile video game as evidence provided by YouTube video titled “Map Control tips for Miramar! PUBG MOBILE” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HAsj9UcsCM&t=3s to PUBG mobile, and US Pub. 20210031106 to Alderman et al (Alderman).
Claims 1, 8, and 15. Yang discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory having a computer program stored therein (¶11), and the processor being configured to perform an information prompting method including:
displaying a virtual scene, the virtual scene, a first virtual character controlled by a first terminal and a second virtual character controlled by a second terminal (Fig. 1, and ¶¶40-43);
receiving a control operation for the first virtual character (¶¶3-4, and 56);
in response to the control operation, triggering an interaction function corresponding to the virtual scene (¶¶3-4, and 56); and
in response to the interaction function, transmitting object prompting information to the second terminal (¶¶58-63 “broadcast notification”).
However, Yang fails to explicitly disclose the virtual scene including a target virtual object;
receiving a control operation for the first virtual character when a distance between the first virtual character and the target virtual object is less than a first preset threshold;
in response to the control operation, triggering an interaction function corresponding to the target virtual object of the virtual scene;
in response to the interaction function, transmitting object prompting information associated with the target virtual object to the second terminal, the object prompting information prompting the second virtual character to interact with the target virtual object (emphasis added).
PUBG mobile teaches the virtual scene including a target virtual object (at 0:46-1:29 there are a plurality of items within the video game for a player character to pick up and add to their inventory);
receiving a control operation for the first virtual character when a distance between the first virtual character and the target virtual object is less than a first preset threshold (at 0:46-1:30 a user press associated buttons to move the player character in close proximity to different items within the video game and nearby prompts are displayed for the opportunity for the player to gather different items);
in response to the control operation, triggering an interaction function corresponding to the target virtual object of the virtual scene (at 0:46-1:30 the user of the video game presses associated button/icon to pick up nearby items with the video game screen).
The gaming system of Yang would have motivation to use the teachings of PUBG mobile in order to provide many opportunities for game players to collect a large variety different weapons, armor, skills, or the like in doing so would make the game more fun and interesting because having a variety of items to use allow game players to play longer to obtain desired items and become more strategic in which items to collect and use during different game situations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Yang with the teachings of PUBG mobile in order to provide many opportunities for game players to collect many different weapons, armor, skills, or the like in doing so would make the game more fun and interesting.
Alderman teaches transmitting object prompting information associated with the target virtual object; and prompting the second virtual character to interact with the target virtual object (Figs. 3A+B, and ¶¶30, 69, 83). The gaming system of Yang in view of PUBG mobile would have motivation to use the teachings of Alderman in order to provide teammates with specific and precise information during game play action in doing so would improve communication abilities between users playing the same online video game.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Yang in view of PUBG mobile with the teachings of Alderman in order to improve communication abilities between users playing the online same video game.
Claims 2, 9, and 16. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the method further comprises:
causing a display of the object prompting information near the target virtual object in the virtual scene at the second terminal, the object prompting information including identity information of the target virtual object (see Alderman Fig. 9, and ¶¶4, 50, 52, “first visual marker as displayed to the second user”, “game state information”).
Claims 3, 10, and 17. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the method further comprises:
causing a display of an interaction result between the second virtual character and the target virtual object in the virtual scene at the first terminal (see Alderman ¶¶77, 81 “acknowledgement or confirmation communication action”).
Claims 4, 11, and 18. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the method further comprises:
displaying virtual identifiers of a plurality of candidate virtual objects;
determining a target virtual identifier from the virtual identifiers of the candidate virtual objects in accordance with the control operation for the first virtual character; and
determining a candidate virtual object corresponding to the target virtual identifier as the target virtual object (see Alderman Figs. 5B, 6, 9, and ¶¶30, 61, 122).
Claims 5 and 12. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following:
causing a display of first text information at the first terminal, the first text information comprising object text information corresponding to a first candidate virtual object; and
determining the first candidate virtual object as the target virtual object when the first text information indicates that the second virtual character interacts with the first candidate virtual object (see PUBG mobile at 2:07, 3:22, 3:43 messages indicating items that other players has gathered or used).
Claims 6, 13, and 19. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the triggering an interaction function corresponding to the target virtual object of the virtual scene comprises:
controlling the first virtual character to move in the virtual scene; and
triggering the interaction function when a distance between the first virtual character and the target virtual object is greater than a second preset threshold, the second preset threshold being greater than or equal to the first preset threshold (see Alderman Fig. 3A, element 313, and ¶¶94-95 there are varying distance ranges associated with communication actions).
Claims 7, 14, and 20. Yang, PUBG mobile, and Alderman teaches wherein the method further comprises:
causing a removal of the object prompting information from the second terminal after the second virtual character interacts with a first virtual object, the first virtual object having an object type similar to an object type of the target virtual object (see Alderman ¶¶81-82).
Conclusion
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715