DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-11, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN Pub. CN112755531, Google Patent English Translation - https://patents.google.com/patent/CN112755531B/en?oq=CN112755531, to Tencent Technology (herein referred to as Tencent) in view of CarX Drift Racing 2 video game as evidence in YouTube video, “(532) Tips and Tricks to Drift like a Pro in CarX Drift Racing 2 (Controls Explained) - YouTube” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHXF06l1BPE to Blake Broghammer (herein referred to as Broghammer) in view of Inertial Drift video game as evidence provided by YouTube video, “Inertial Drift: A Game of Learning Curves|Racing Games are Amazing!” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogVIEQ3vSA8 to Mach5Mike (herein referred to as Mach5Mike).
Claims 1, 11, and 20. Tencent discloses (as required by claim 11) a computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, (as required by claim 20) a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium the memory having a computer program stored therein, and the computer program being loaded and executed by the processor and causing the computer device to perform a virtual vehicle control method including:
displaying a virtual vehicle in a drifting state (“drift state”) moving at a first speed in a first direction (“traveling direction at the speed V”), wherein a drift angle of the virtual vehicle is greater than a first threshold (“an operation end event corresponding to the direction control and the drift control, if an included angle between the direction of the head of the virtual vehicle and the driving direction is greater than a first threshold value, controlling the virtual vehicle to keep the drift state, wherein the virtual vehicle is in the drift state and corresponds to the drift direction”; “drifting state is a moving state that a large included angle is formed between the direction of the vehicle head and the driving direction, so that the vehicle body slides through a curve”; “the size relation between the included angle and a first threshold value and a second threshold value, wherein the first threshold value is larger than the second threshold value. Illustratively, the first threshold is 45 degrees and the second threshold is 10 degrees”);
in response to an operation on a first brake control, gradually decreasing of the virtual vehicle (“brake control is a control for controlling the virtual vehicle to decelerate”);
detecting a first operation on a throttle control (“an accelerator”);
in response to the first operation on a throttle control, accelerating the first speed of the virtual vehicle along the first direction (“an accelerator”, “traveling direction at the speed V”, the game player presses the accelerator control to increase the video game vehicle speed in the vehicle’s pointing direction); and
in response to that the drift angle of the virtual vehicle is decreased to be less than the first threshold, controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drifting state (“if an included angle between the direction of the vehicle head and the driving direction is smaller than a second threshold value, controlling the virtual vehicle to be switched from a drifting state to a normal driving state after the target duration”; “the included angle between the vehicle head direction and the driving direction is too small, so that the user can exit from a drifting state”).
However, Tencent fails to explicitly disclose:
in response to an operation on a first brake control, gradually decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle;
while decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle:
detecting a first operation on a throttle control
in response to the first operation on a throttle control, accelerating the first speed of the virtual vehicle along the first direction and decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle at an accelerated rate (emphasis added).
Broghammer teaches displaying a virtual vehicle in a drifting state moving at a first speed in a first direction, wherein a drift angle of the virtual vehicle is greater than a first threshold (at 0:01-0:07, the first threshold is an angle greater than zero, i.e., the car is moving with a drift angle);
gradually decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle (at 0:03-0:05, 1:23-1:24 the virtual car is coming out of drifting);
while decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle (at 0:04-0:05):
detecting a first operation on a throttle control (at 0:05-0:06 the virtual car accelerates, i.e., a player presses necessary game controls to decrease drift then presses acceleration control);
in response to a first operation on a throttle control, accelerating the virtual vehicle and the decreasing of the drift angle of the virtual vehicle (at 0:27-0:33, 1:29-2:01, 2:18-2:40, 3:49-3:59, 6:55-7:23, a game player uses the brake and/or throttle to change the car’s drifting angle as turning different corners on a race track); and
in response to that the drift angle of the virtual vehicle is decreased to be less than the first threshold, controlling the virtual vehicle to exit the drifting state (at 0:08, 0:17, 1:24, the car is moving with no drifting angle). The gaming system of Tencent would have motivation to use the teachings of Broghammer in order to more closely associate specific vehicle controls to how the vehicle is positioned and oriented during driving the vehicle in doing so would add more realism to the operating a vehicle in the video game.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Tencent with the teachings of Broghammer in order to more closely associate specific vehicle controls to how the vehicle is positioned and oriented during driving the vehicle in doing so would add more realism to the operating a vehicle in the video game.
Mach5Mike teaches decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle at an accelerated rate (see at 2:07-3:32, a player response according to the vehicle motion and orientation as moving along game track is to adjust vehicle drift using the independent drift controls to control the vehicle to move along desired vehicle path, using the independent drift controls quickly changes the vehicle’s drift angle). The gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer would have motivation to use the teachings of Mach5Mike in order to provide game players more control over the vehicle’s motion and orientation during a race in hopes to improve the gaming experience.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer with the teachings of Mach5Mike in order to provide game players more control over the vehicle’s motion and orientation during a race in hopes to improve the gaming experience.
Claims 4 and 14. Tencent in view of Broghammer teaches wherein the gradually decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle comprises:
obtaining a target vehicle head orientation of the virtual vehicle at a next timestamp, a time interval between two adjacent timestamps being a unit time;
determining a target moving direction of the virtual vehicle at the next timestamp based on the target vehicle head orientation, an included angle between the target moving direction and the target vehicle head orientation being smaller than an included angle between a moving direction and a vehicle head orientation at a current timestamp (see Broghammer 0:02-0:18 as time passes during a drive on the race track the head of the car changes positioning including changes to different drift angles to direct the car in desired directions while the head of car is in a desired position, in some instances as a player drives the car the angle of the car is wider than a desired required angle for optimal speed, control, and performance); and
controlling the virtual vehicle to move at the next timestamp based on the target moving direction (see Broghammer 0:02-0:18).
Claim 5. Tencent in view of Broghammer teaches wherein the method further comprises:
accelerating the virtual vehicle within first duration from an exit moment of the drifting state (see Broghammer 0:02-0:18 after vehicle comes out of drifting position, a user hits throttle button to gain speed).
Claims 8 and 17. Tencent in view of Broghammer teaches wherein the method further comprises:
when the drift angle of the virtual vehicle is greater than a third threshold, determining that the virtual vehicle is in an out-of-control state (see Broghammer at 2:35-2:44 car “spin out”); and
controlling the virtual vehicle to switch from the out-of-control state to a grip-restored state (see Broghammer at 2:45-2:47 where the player gains control of the car’s steering and movement).
Claims 9 and 18. Tencent in view of Broghammer teaches wherein the method further comprises:
when the drift angle of the virtual vehicle is greater than a second threshold and less than a third threshold (see Broghammer 0:00-0:04 in this case, “ideal drifting” is when the head of the car is at about 45 degree angle interpreted as a second threshold, and 90 degrees is the third threshold), gradually decreasing the drift angle of the virtual vehicle and accelerating the virtual vehicle based on a first base acceleration of the virtual vehicle (see Broghammer 0:00-0:18 in cases where the drift angle of the car is lowered to particular point then a user hits the throttle button to gain speed).
Claims 10 and 19. Tencent in view of Broghammer teaches wherein the method further comprises:
when it is detected that a direction adjustment control and a second brake control are both in a triggered state, controlling the virtual vehicle to enter the drifting state (see Broghammer 0:02-0:18 instances where the user presses steering and brake controls simultaneously where this causes the vehicle to drifting).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN Pub. CN112755531, Google Patent English Translation - https://patents.google.com/patent/CN112755531B/en?oq=CN112755531, to Tencent Technology (herein referred to as Tencent) in view of CarX Drift Racing 2 video game as evidence in YouTube video, “(532) Tips and Tricks to Drift like a Pro in CarX Drift Racing 2 (Controls Explained) - YouTube” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHXF06l1BPE to Blake Broghammer (herein referred to as Broghammer) and Inertial Drift video game as evidence provided by YouTube video, “Inertial Drift: A Game of Learning Curves|Racing Games are Amazing!” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogVIEQ3vSA8 to Mach5Mike (herein referred to as Mach5Mike)as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of YouTube video, “How to Stop Spins in Sim Racing” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-AatMVQtn0I&t=158s to Danny Lee (herein referred to as Lee).
Claims 2 and 12. Tencent fails to explicitly disclose increasing grip of the virtual vehicle, the grip being in positive correlation with the decreasing of the drift angle.
Lee teaches increasing grip of the virtual vehicle, the grip being in positive correlation with the decreasing of the drift angle (see at 1:39-2:48 “restore grip to the rear tyres”). The gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer would have motivation to use the teachings of Lee in order to further make give a player the sensations and feel of driving a real car in doing so would add more realism to the operating the car in the video game.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer with the teachings of Lee in order to add more realism to the operating of the car in the video game.
Claims 3, 6, 7, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN Pub. CN112755531, Google Patent English Translation - https://patents.google.com/patent/CN112755531B/en?oq=CN112755531, to Tencent Technology (herein referred to as Tencent) in view of CarX Drift Racing 2 video game as evidence in YouTube video, “(532) Tips and Tricks to Drift like a Pro in CarX Drift Racing 2 (Controls Explained) - YouTube” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHXF06l1BPE to Blake Broghammer (herein referred to as Broghammer) and Inertial Drift video game as evidence provided by YouTube video, “Inertial Drift: A Game of Learning Curves|Racing Games are Amazing!” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogVIEQ3vSA8 to Mach5Mike (herein referred to as Mach5Mike)as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Garena Speed Drifters video game as evidence provided in YouTube video “Garena Speed Drifters - CWW Boost Citrus” - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3PYCzH_17M&t=12s to Xrabbit TV (herein referred to as Xrabbit).
Claims 3 and 13. Tencent fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 3 and 13.
Xrabbit teaches wherein the accelerating the virtual vehicle comprises:
superimposing an additional first acceleration on a first base acceleration of the virtual vehicle, to obtain a first target acceleration of the virtual vehicle; and
accelerating the virtual vehicle based on the first target acceleration (see at 0:22-0:50). The gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer would have motivation to use the teachings of Xrabbit in order to provide controls for players to quickly make their respective car instantly speed up in doing so would make the game play more fun.
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Tencent in view of Broghammer with the teachings of Xrabbit in order to provide controls for players to quickly make their respective car instantly speed up in doing so would make the game play more fun.
Claims 6 and 15. Tencent in view of Broghammer and Xrabbit teaches wherein the method further comprises:
when a second operation on the throttle control is detected, accelerating the virtual vehicle within duration of the second operation; and
when the duration of the second operation reaches a maximum response value from an exit moment of the drifting state, displaying prompt information configured for indicating that a full throttle skill is triggered (see Broghammer at 6:10-6:13 “full throttle”; see Xrabbit at 0:22-0:50 nitro and boost controls).
Claims 7 and 16. Tencent in view of Broghammer and Xrabbit teaches wherein the method further comprises:
when the drift angle of the virtual vehicle is less than a second threshold, accelerating the virtual vehicle and the decreasing of the drift angle of the virtual vehicle; and
displaying prompt information configured for indicating that a slingshot exit skill is triggered (see Xrabbit at 0:40-0:50 – booster button, tap again to trigger CCW boost).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715