Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-6, 8, and 14-20 recite the term “its” which render the claims unclear and indefinite because the term “its” can be reference multiple structure recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richardson (U.S. 8,539,652).
As for Claim 1, Richardson discloses a fastener (5) , comprising:
a first component (6) attached to a first substrate (38); and
a second component (7) attached to a second substrate (39);
wherein the first component is adapted to reversibly grip the second component when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 21-47, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to grip 7);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 48-64, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to detach from 7);
2. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first component is substantially flat with a rounded outer periphery (rounded periphery defined by frame 11 and cover 12).
3. The fastener in claim 2, wherein the rounded outer periphery of the first component forms a concave surface which curves toward the direction of its contact with the second component (see concave surface of 12 disclosed in Figs. 3-4).
4. The fastener in claim 3, wherein the second component is substantially flat with a rounded outer periphery (see rounded outer periphery defined by 32).
5. The fastener in claim 4, wherein the concave surface around the periphery of the first component is adapted to curve around and grip the rounded outer periphery of the second component when brought into contact with each other (see Figs. 3-4).
6. The fastener in claim 5, wherein the concave surface around the periphery of the first component is adapted to detach from the rounded outer periphery of the second component upon application of the second force.
7. The fastener in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of arms (25a) extending from the first component, each arm contacting and reversibly gripping the second component (see Fig. 2).
8. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first component bends upon application of the first force so that its outer periphery can grip the second component (see Col. 6 lines 21-47, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to grip 7).
9. The fastener in claim 1, further comprising a fastening component (32) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
10. The fastener in claim 9, wherein the fastening component includes a button (32).
11. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first substrate includes fabric (38).
12. The fastener in claim 11, wherein the second substrate includes fabric (39).
13. The fastener in claim 12, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are positioned on opposing flanges on a shirt (see Fig. 2 disclosing substrates 38 and 39).
As for Claim 14, as best understood, Richardson discloses a fastener, comprising:
a first component (6) having a substantially flat surface (surface of 12) and a concave gripping edge (interior edge of 25a which grips 32) on its outer periphery, and attached to a first substrate (38) on one flange of a shirt;
a second component (7) attached to a second substrate (39) on a second flange of the shirt;
wherein the first component is adapted to reversibly grip the second component with its concave gripping edge when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 21-47, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to grip 7);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force in the same direction of the first force and pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 48-64, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to detach from 7).
15. The fastener in claim 14, further comprising a fastening component (32) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
16. The fastener in claim 15, wherein the fastening component includes a button (32).
As for Claim 17, as best understood, Richardson discloses a fastener (5), comprising:
a first component (6) having a substantially curved outer surface (surface of 12) and a rounded edge (interior edge of 25a) on its periphery; and
a second component (7) attached to a second substrate (39) and having a curved outer gripping edge (edge of 32) with a concave surface positioned toward a center of the second component (see Fig. 2);
wherein the first component is adapted to be reversibly gripped by the second component with its concave gripping edge when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 21-47, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to grip 7);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force in the same direction of the first force and pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 48-64, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to detach from 7).
20. The fastener in claim 17, further comprising a fastening component (32) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dowse (U.S. 568,116, as cited by Applicant).
As for Claim 1, Dowse discloses a fastener, comprising:
a first component (A) attached to a first substrate (see substrate disclosed in Fig. 2); and
a second component (B) attached to a second substrate (see substrate disclosed in Fig. 2);
wherein the first component is adapted to reversibly grip the second component when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force pushing the first component into the second component (see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2);
2. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first component is substantially flat with a rounded outer periphery (rounded periphery defined by shell C and collet D).
3. The fastener in claim 2, wherein the rounded outer periphery of the first component forms a concave surface which curves toward the direction of its contact with the second component (see concave surface of A in Fig. 2).
4. The fastener in claim 3, wherein the second component is substantially flat with a rounded outer periphery (see rounded outer periphery defined by surface of B).
5. The fastener in claim 4, wherein the concave surface around the periphery of the first component is adapted to curve around and grip the rounded outer periphery of the second component when brought into contact with each other (see Fig. 2 and see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2).
6. The fastener in claim 5, wherein the concave surface around the periphery of the first component is adapted to detach from the rounded outer periphery of the second component upon application of the second force (see Fig.2 and see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2).
7. The fastener in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of arms (arms of D) extending from the first component, each arm contacting and reversibly gripping the second component (see Fig. 2).
8. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first component bends upon application of the first force so that its outer periphery can grip the second component (see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2).
9. The fastener in claim 1, further comprising a fastening component (G) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
10. The fastener in claim 9, wherein the fastening component includes a button (g).
11. The fastener in claim 1, wherein the first substrate includes fabric (see fabric disclosed in Fig. 2).
12. The fastener in claim 11, wherein the second substrate includes fabric (see fabric disclosed in Fig. 2).
13. The fastener in claim 12, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are positioned on opposing flanges on a shirt (see Fig. 2 disclosing substrates).
As for Claim 14, as best understood, Dowse discloses a fastener, comprising:
a first component (A) having a substantially flat surface (see Fig. 2) and a concave gripping edge (interior edge of C and D) on its outer periphery, and attached to a first substrate (substrate disclosed in Fig. 2) on one flange of a shirt;
a second component (7) attached to a second substrate (39) on a second flange of the shirt;
wherein the first component is adapted to reversibly grip the second component with its concave gripping edge when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 21-47, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to grip 7);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force in the same direction of the first force and pushing the first component into the second component (see Col. 6 lines 48-64, disclosing an external force pushing on 6 to detach from 7).
15. The fastener in claim 14, further comprising a fastening component (32) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
16. The fastener in claim 15, wherein the fastening component includes a button (32).
As for Claim 17, as best understood, Richardson discloses a fastener (5), comprising:
a first component (6) having a substantially curved outer surface (surface of 12) and a rounded edge (interior edge of 25a) on its periphery; and
a second component (B) attached to a second substrate (substrate discloses in Fig. 2) and having a curved outer gripping edge (edge of B) with a concave surface positioned toward a center of the second component (see Fig. 2);
wherein the first component is adapted to be reversibly gripped by the second component with its concave gripping edge when brought into contact thereto upon application of a first force pushing the first component into the second component (see page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2);
wherein the first component is adapted to detach from the second component upon application of a second force in the same direction of the first force and pushing the first component into the second component (s.ee page 1, lines 81-102 and page 2, lines 1-2).
18. The fastener in claim 17, further comprising a spring component (G) positioned between the first component and the second component.
19. The fastener in claim 18, wherein the spring component is permanently attached to the second component (see Fig. 2).
20. The fastener in claim 17, further comprising a fastening component (D) that is positioned between the first substrate and the first component (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Riceman et al. U.S. 5,189,768
/DAVID M UPCHURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677