DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5-6, and 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims include a number likely not part of the claim, but a line numbering. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they include near identical subject matter on all of the elements (‘801 is more specific in claim 1 but includes all of the specifics of the present claim 1 within it).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,517,667. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because (‘667 is more specific in claim 1 but includes all of the specifics of the present claim 1 within it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koblish US Publication 20150133914 (hereinafter Koblish).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Koblish discloses an apparatus/method, comprising: providing an insertion tube that is configured to be inserted into a body cavity (element 22); connecting a distal tip to the insertion tube (element 24 as per Figures 2-3 which shows the components connected to each other), the distal tip having an external surface (Figures 2-3 at element 24) and a cavity formed in the external surface (at elements 28, top view of a cross-section shown in Figure 4 that there are several cavities where the electrodes and insulation 28 and 56 are set), the cavity being surrounded by a region of the external surface having a curvature (Figures 2-4, 7-9); and fitting a microelectrode into the cavity so that a base surface of the electrode mates with the base receiving surface of the distal tip (Figure 4 which shows the electrode 28 contacting the base surface 54), and an external surface of the microelectrode is contoured, located and oriented to conform with the curvature of the region (Figures 3-4 which shows that the microelectrodes are contoured in the same way that the distal tip 24 is).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Koblish discloses that the external surface and the surface of the microelectrode are defined by a common equation (elements 24 and 28 which share the same axis of rotation and same curvatures and thus by extension would include a “common equation” as best understood by the disclosure).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Koblish discloses locating insulation between the microelectrode and the distal tip so as to electrically insulate the microelectrode from the distal tip (element 56).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Koblish discloses connecting at least one conductor (element 48), insulated from the distal tip ([0052][0059], see Figures 5-6), to the microelectrode (28) and configuring the conductor to convey an electropotential generated by the body cavity and detected by the microelectrode (0052]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Koblish discloses connecting at least two conductors of two different materials at a junction to form a thermocouple (elements 60/62 and [0063], which mentions it can be a thermocouple which includes two dissimilar conductive materials), and connecting the junction to the microelectrode so as to provide a signal representative of a temperature of the microelectrode (Figure 11 which shows the junction near element 60 with the two wires 62 extending out from the microelectrode).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Koblish discloses configuring the distal tip to receive radiofrequency (RF) energy at an ablation frequency adapted to perform ablation on the body cavity (electrode 24 at [0053][0060][0061]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Koblish discloses that the microelectrode is configured to detect an electropotential at a lower frequency than the ablation frequency ([0050] which details the general process for both mapping and ablation).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Koblish discloses that the external surface and the surface of the microelectrode have a common non-zero first principal curvature and a common second principal curvature equal to zero (Figures 6-7 at elements 24 and 28).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Koblish discloses the external surface and the surface of the microelectrode have a common surface of revolution (Figures 2-3, 6-8 which shows the tip 24 and electrode surface 28 having identical surfaces of revolution).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koblish in view of Susil et al. US Publication US 2003/0050557 (hereinafter Susil).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Koblish is silent on the filter. Susil teaches an ablating/mapping catheter that includes coupling a high pass filter, configured to block the lower frequency and to pass the ablation frequency, between the microelectrode and the distal tip ([0037]-[0046] which details filtering out high frequencies along the conductive path). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date to utilize the filter as taught by Susil with the device of Koblish as predictable results would have ensued (filtering out of signals via known processes). Susil teaches the filtering components can be bandpass, high-pass, or low-pass depending on the use of the device at that time ([0039]).
Claims 9 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koblish in view of Susil, as applied to claim 19, and in further view of Fang et al. US Publication 2012/0095362 (hereinafter Fang).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Koblish discloses configuring a handle for a used of the apparatus to hold the insertion tube (30) and though details placing other electronic components within the handle ([0047], printed circuit board) and connecting the wiring to a high pass filter for filtering out the ablation frequencies (rendered obvious above via Susil regarding the high pass filter), does not mention the filter 17 is also within the handle itself. Fang teaches a catheter with the filter and other electronic components housed within the handle of the catheter (Figure 8, [0055]-[0056]), It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of invention to utilize the handle as taught by Fang with the device of Koblish in order to reduce the overall amount of wiring and by extension reduce signal degradation ([0009][0053]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN M ANTISKAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794