DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3-8,10-15, and 17-20 have been amended. No claim is added or cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 20210152380) hereinafter Yan in view of Jia et al. (US 20230025675) hereinafter Jia and further in view of BISHT et al. (US 20260012875) hereinafter BISHT.
Regarding claim 1, Yan teaches a method of wireless communication (i.e. communicate with a wireless network, [0021]), the method comprising: receiving, by a first network bridge, from a first session management function (SMF) of a wireless network, first data traffic (i.e. The CSC may receive UE/profile information (e.g., subscription information, device information, device type, subscriber type, one or more content or service providers associated with the UE and types of traffic from the session management function (SMF), [0024] and profile information for a given UE 405 may indicate a particular CHF 455 that should be used for UE 405 for a particular traffic type, [0048]); determining that the first data traffic is associated with a first traffic class (i.e. wherein the communication session is associated with a particular traffic type out of a plurality of candidate traffic types, claim 4); based on at least the first data traffic being associated with the first traffic class, forwarding the first data traffic from the first network bridge to both a first CHF and a second CHF (i.e. the CSC may select two separate CHFs based on the established bearers, UE/profile information, and CHF selection criteria (e.g., select CHF_1 for Bearer_A and CHF_2 for Bearer_B), [0025], the communication session is a first communication session, wherein the particular traffic type is a first traffic type, claim 6 and the CSC may provide (at 206) an indication of the selected CHF(s) to the SMF, which may provide usage or other charging-related information to the selected CHFs, [0026]); receiving, by the first network bridge, from a second SMF of the wireless network, second data traffic (i.e. The CSC may receive UE/profile information (e.g., subscription information, device information, device type, subscriber type, one or more content or service providers associated with the UE and types of traffic from the session management function (SMF), [0024]); determining that the second data traffic is associated with a second traffic class (i.e. determine that the UE is engaged in a second communication session with the network, wherein the second communication session is associated with a second traffic type that is different from the first traffic type, claim 6); and based on at least the second data traffic being associated with the second traffic class, forwarding the second data traffic from the first network bridge to the second CHF (i.e. determine that a second CHF, of the plurality of CHFs, is associated with the second traffic type; select the second CHF from the plurality of CHFs based on the determination that the UE is engaged in the second communication session associated with the second traffic type and the determination that the second CHF is associated with the second traffic type, provide usage information via the second communication session by the particular UE to the second CHF, claim 6), wherein the first CHF is operative to charge for and enforce traffic policies for the first traffic class (i.e. wherein the selected CHF is a first CHF, wherein the communication session is associated with a particular traffic type out of a plurality of candidate traffic types, claim 4 and wherein the particular traffic type is a first traffic type, and wherein the particular CHF is a first CHF, claim 6), and wherein the CHF is operative to charge for and enforce traffic policies for the second traffic class (i.e. the second CHF is associated with the second traffic type, claim 6) and to perform traffic diagnostics for both the first traffic class and the second traffic class (i.e. the establishment of communications sessions (first communication session associated with the first traffic type and second communication session associated with the second traffic type) may be performed in accordance with one or more policies, [0033]).
However, Yan does not explicitly disclose embedding an address of the SMF in the first data traffic; embedding an address of the second SMF in the second data traffic.
However, Jia teaches embedding an address of the first SMF in the first data traffic (i.e. adding the identifier of the first session management function network element to the multicast/broadcast service context of the multicast/broadcast service, [0347]); embedding an address of the SMF in the second data traffic (i.e. adding the identifier of the second session management function network element to the multicast/broadcast service context of the multicast/broadcast service, [0347] and the second session management function network element is different from the first session management function network element, [0170]).
Based on Yan in view of Jia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Jia to the system of Yan in order to reduce impact of video traffic on a mobile network will be greatly, (Jia, [0003]).
However, Yan in view of Jia do not explicitly disclose wherein the first network bridge is disposed in a signaling path between the first SMF and one or more charging management functions (CHFs).
However, BISHT teaches wherein the first network bridge is disposed in a signaling path between the first SMF and one or more charging management functions (CHFs) (i.e. The NF instance may be a PCF or CHF-PC instance. A PCF instance is considered herein for reference, [0015] and the SMF 104 creates and sends a first request to the PCF instance 1 via the SCP 102. The PCF instance 1 then creates and sends a first response back to the SMF 104 corresponding to the first request by the SMF 104, via the SCP 102. The SMF 104 creates a second request and may send the second request to the PCF instance 1, or a new PCF instance 2 or n, via the SCP 102. Thus, the PCF instance 2 or n may also get involved for creating and sending a second response back to the SMF 104 corresponding to the second request by the SMF 104, via the SCP 102, [0016] and Fig. 4). Therefore, SCP is a bridge between SMF and CHF-PC instances.
Based on Yan in view of Jia and further in view of BISHT, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of BISHT to the system of Yan and Jia in order to easing out the increasing complexities of the networks, provides reliable service quality and security, facilitates monitoring and improvement in efficiency, (BISHT, [0005])
Regarding claim 2, Yan does not explicitly disclose determining that the first data traffic is associated with the first traffic class comprises determining that the first data traffic is associated with a first data network name (DNN); and wherein determining that the second data traffic is associated with the second traffic class comprises determining that the second data traffic is associated with a second DNN different than the first DNN.
However, Jia teaches determining that the first data traffic is associated with the first traffic class comprises determining that the first data traffic is associated with a first data network name (DNN) (i.e. a first session management function network element) determines whether there is another PDU session that has a same data network name (DNN), [0170]); and wherein determining that the second data traffic is associated with the second traffic class comprises determining that the second data traffic is associated with a second DNN different than the first DNN (i.e. where the second session management function network element is different from the first session management function network element) serving the terminal device has another PDU session having the same DNN or another PDU session having the same DNN, [0170]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 5, Yan does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the first network bridge, from the second CHF, a terminate action request; forwarding, by the first network bridge, to the first SMF, the terminate action request; receiving, by the first network bridge, from the first SMF, a delete session request; and forwarding, by the first network bridge, to the first CHF, the delete session request.
However, Jia teaches receiving, by the first network bridge, from the second CHF, a terminate action request (i.e. delete, based on the third message from a context corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service, an identifier of the terminal device and/or a session management context identifier of a PDU session associated with the first multicast/broadcast service, [0044] and A name of the first information element may be Delete Indication, Quit Indication, Leave Indication, Unjoin indication, Uninterested indication, or an indication information element with another name. The name of the first information element is not limited herein, and a function of the first information element is to indicate to leave the first multicast/broadcast service, [0145]); forwarding, by the first network bridge, to the first SMF, the terminate action request; receiving, by the first network bridge, from the first SMF, a delete session request (i.e. the session management function network element releases, from the session management context of a PDU session of the terminal device, [0018]); and forwarding, by the first network bridge, to the first CHF, the delete session request (i.e. the session management function network element notifies the access network device to remove/release/delete QoS parameter information corresponding to the dedicated QoS flow, for example, remove/release/delete a corresponding QoS configuration (QoS Profile), [0255]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 6, Yan teaches receiving, from the second SMF, by the first network bridge, third data traffic (i.e. The CSC may receive UE/profile information (e.g., subscription information, device information, device type, subscriber type, one or more content or service providers associated with the UE and types of traffic from the session management function (SMF), [0024]); determining that the third data traffic is associated with the first traffic class (i.e. the communication session is associated with a particular traffic type out of a plurality of candidate traffic types, claim 4); based on at least the third data traffic being associated with the first traffic class, forwarding the third data traffic to both the first CHF and the second CHF (i.e. the CSC may select two separate CHFs based on the established bearers, UE/profile information, and CHF selection criteria (e.g., select CHF_1 for Bearer_A and CHF_2 for Bearer_B), [0025], the communication session is a first communication session, wherein the particular traffic type is a first traffic type, claim 6 and the CSC may provide (at 206) an indication of the selected CHF(s) to the SMF, which may provide usage or other charging-related information to the selected CHFs, [0026]); receiving, from the first SMF, by the first network bridge, fourth data traffic (i.e. The CSC may receive UE/profile information (e.g., subscription information, device information, device type, subscriber type, one or more content or service providers associated with the UE and types of traffic from the session management function (SMF), [0024] and profile information for a given UE 405 may indicate a particular CHF 455 that should be used for UE 405 for a particular traffic type, [0048]; determining that the fourth data traffic is associated with the second traffic class (i.e. determine that the UE is engaged in a second communication session with the network, wherein the second communication session is associated with a second traffic type that is different from the first traffic type, claim 6); and based on at least the fourth data traffic being associated with the second traffic class, forwarding the second data traffic to the second CHF but not to the first CHF (i.e. determine that a second CHF, of the plurality of CHFs, is associated with the second traffic type; select the second CHF from the plurality of CHFs based on the determination that the UE is engaged in the second communication session associated with the second traffic type and the determination that the second CHF is associated with the second traffic type, provide usage information via the second communication session by the particular UE to the second CHF, claim 6).
However, Yan does not explicitly disclose embedding the address of the second SMF in the third data traffic; embedding an address of the first SMF in the fourth data traffic.
However, Jia teaches embedding the address of the second SMF in the third data traffic (i.e. adding the identifier of the second session management function network element to the multicast/broadcast service context of the multicast/broadcast service, [0347] and the second session management function network element is different from the first session management function network element, [0170]); embedding an address of the first SMF in the fourth data traffic(i.e. adding the identifier of the first session management function network element to the multicast/broadcast service context of the multicast/broadcast service, [0347]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Yan teaches performing load balancing for data traffic associated with the first traffic class among a first plurality of CHFs that are operative to charge for and enforce traffic policies for the first traffic class, the first plurality of CHFs including the first CHF (i.e. the CSC may select two separate CHFs based on the established bearers, UE/profile information, and CHF selection criteria (e.g., select CHF_1 for Bearer_A and CHF_2 for Bearer_B), [0025], the communication session is a first communication session, wherein the particular traffic type is a first traffic type, claim 6 and the CSC may provide (at 206) an indication of the selected CHF(s) to the SMF, which may provide usage or other charging-related information to the selected CHFs, [0026]); performing load balancing for data traffic associated with the second traffic class among a second plurality of CHFs that are operative to charge for and enforce traffic policies for the second traffic class and to perform traffic diagnostics for both the first traffic class and the first traffic class, the second plurality of CHFs including the second CHF (i.e. determine that a second CHF, of the plurality of CHFs, is associated with the second traffic type; select the second CHF from the plurality of CHFs based on the determination that the UE is engaged in the second communication session associated with the second traffic type and the determination that the second CHF is associated with the second traffic type, provide usage information via the second communication session by the particular UE to the second CHF, claim 6); and based on at least a failure of the first network bridge, performing a failover to a second network bridge, the second network bridge operative to route data of the first traffic class and data of the second traffic class as the first network bridge (i.e. CHFs 455 may register CHF selection criteria with CSCR 465 (and/or one or more other devices or systems may provide CHF selection criteria, associated with respective CHFs 455, to CSCR 465). CHFs 455 may generate or otherwise maintain charging information based on usage information from SMF 420 and/or one or more other devices or systems (e.g., an application server that provides services to UE 405, such as a TAS, a messaging application server, [0039] and CSC 460 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, etc., that perform one or more operations described herein. For example, CSC 460 may select a particular CHF 455, out of a group of candidate CHFs, [0040]).
Regarding claims 8-9, 12-16, and 19-20, the limitations of 8-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-2 and 5-7. Yan further teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor, one or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, upon execution by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations (i.e. An apparatus, comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the set of processor-executable instructions, wherein executing the set of processor-executable instructions causes the one or more processors to, claim 1). Therefore, the limitations of claims 8-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-2 and 5-7 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 20210152380) hereinafter Yan in view of Jia et al. (US 20230025675) hereinafter Jia and BISHT et al. (US 20260012875) hereinafter BISHT and further in view of ZHU (CN116830611A) hereinafter ZHU.
Regarding claim 3, Yan in view of Jia and further in view of BISHT teach the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Yan in view of Jia and further in view of BISHT do not explicitly disclose receiving, by the first network bridge, from the first CHF, a first response to the first data traffic; extracting, from the first response, the address of the first SMF; forwarding, by the first network bridge, the first response to the first SMF using the extracted address of the first SMF, wherein forwarding the first data traffic to the second CHF is based on at least receiving the first response; receiving, by the first network bridge, from the second CHF a second response to the second data traffic; extracting, from the second response, the address of the second SMF; and forwarding, by the first network bridge, the second response to the second SMF using the extracted address of the second SMF.
However, ZHU teaches receiving, by the first network bridge, from the first CHF, a first response to the first data traffic (i.e. Receive a policy control request response sent by the PCF, where the policy control request response is used by the SMF to perform policy control on the terminal device, page 3, paragraph 1); extracting, from the first response, the address of the first SMF (i.e. After the UPF completes the IP address allocation, the SMF can receive the N4 session establishment response message sent by the UPF including the IP address, page 32, paragraph 3); forwarding, by the first network bridge, the first response to the first SMF using the extracted address of the first SMF (i.e. SMF receives the policy control request response sent by PCF, page 31, paragraph 8), wherein forwarding the first data traffic to the second CHF is based on at least receiving the first response; receiving, by the first network bridge, from the second CHF a second response to the second data traffic (i.e. CHF sends a second billing response message to SMF based on the second billing data request, page 34, paragraph 10); extracting, from the second response, the address of the second SMF (i.e. SMF can receive the N4 session establishment response message sent by UPF, and send the fourth message containing the IP address, page 30, paragraph 9); and forwarding, by the first network bridge, the second response to the second SMF using the extracted address of the second SMF (i.e. the SMF may receive a second charging response message including the second charging data sent by the CHF, the SMF can obtain the second charging data from the CHF by sending a second charging data request, page 33, paragraphs 1-3).
Based on Yan in view of Jia and BISHT and further in view of ZHU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of ZHU to the system of Yan, Jia and BISHT in order to meet users' requirements for communication quality and to charge for different services, (page 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, the limitations of claims 10 and 17 are similar to the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, the limitations of claims 10 and 17 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 20210152380) hereinafter Yan in view of Jia et al. (US 20230025675) hereinafter Jia and BISHT et al. (US 20260012875) hereinafter BISHT and ZHU (CN116830611A) hereinafter ZHU and further in view of Zhang (US 20210195409) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, Yan in view of Jia and BISHT and further in view of ZHU teach the limitations of claim 3 above.
However, Yan in view of Jia and BISHT and further in view of ZHU do not explicitly disclose decrypting the extracted address of the first SMF, wherein embedding the address of the first SMF comprises: encrypting the extracted address of the first SMF; and embedding the encrypted address of the first SMF; and decrypting the extracted address of the second SMF, wherein embedding the address of the second SMF comprises: encrypting the address of the second SMF; and embedding the encrypted address of the second SMF.
However, Zhang teaches decrypting the extracted address of the first SMF (i.e. the network decrypt the received identity information, to obtain data corresponding to the decrypted identity information, [0088]), wherein embedding the address of the first SMF comprises: encrypting the extracted address of the first SMF (i.e. The second network element encrypts the first identity information of the terminal by using a public key to obtain the second identity information, [0028]); and embedding the encrypted address of the first SMF (i.e. The address information of the SMF is used to identify the SMF, and may be an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the SMF, or a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the SMF, or SMF instance information, or an SMF service instance address, or the like, [0135]); and decrypting the extracted address of the second SMF (i.e. a network element that decrypts the second identity information, [0168]), wherein embedding the address of the second SMF comprises: encrypting the address of the second SMF (i.e. the identity information of the terminal is encrypted. When the identity information of the terminal is subsequently sent to the network slice, the encrypted identity information is sent, [0088]); and embedding the encrypted address of the second SMF (i.e. This protects the identity information of the terminal from being leaked to the vertical industry security domain. After receiving the encrypted identity information, some network elements (such as the PCF, the CHF, or the UDM) in the network decrypt the received identity information, to obtain data corresponding to the decrypted identity information, [0088]).
Based on Yan in view of Jia and BISHT and ZHU and further in view of Zhang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Zhang to the system of Yan, Jia, BISHT and ZHU in order to protecting a risk of leaking identity information, (Zhang, [0005]).
Regarding claim 11 and 18, the limitations of claims 11 and 18 are similar to the limitations of claim 4. Therefore, the limitations of claims 11 and 18 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
4/28/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447