DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argued that Hanechak's "display parameters" are static design constraints defining a print template layout, not dynamic parameters tied to live window states. Hanechak's user "adjustments" (paragraph [0046]) permit only reordering photographs within a fixed template, swapping sequence A-B-C to A- C-B, which bears no resemblance to independently resizing or repositioning video windows on a display device. The claims require display parameters associated with independently resizable and repositionable software windows displaying live video streams.
While Applicant’s arguments are understood, The claims teach “display parameters” associated with a plurality of “adjustable windows” and “overlapped windows”. Hanechak clearly teaches “display parameters” (i.e., display parameters, as taught in several paragraphs of Hanechak) associated with a plurality of “adjustable windows” (paragraph 0042 teaches that display parameters include any constraint on the ways in which images may be positioned within the image area of an image display…paragraph 0044 also teaches that given an image arrangement in accordance with the display parameters, embodiments of the invention scale the arrangement to fit within the display area of an image display (460). The scaling may be completed by observing the dimensions of the image area, and then scaling the entire arrangement (while maintaining aspect ratio of the arrangement) such that 1) at least one dimension of the arrangement (height or width) is equal to a respective dimension of the image area, and 2) no dimension of the arrangement is larger than the respective dimension of the image area). In addition, FIGs. 5A-5E clearly show that image display areas, which is interpreted as windows, are adjustable and overlapped, and paragraph 0052 teaches that “display parameters” are modified.
Claim Objections
3. Applicant is advised that should claims 1-10 be found allowable, claims 11-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3-6 and 13-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman et al. (US 2010/0166062) cited in IDS, hereinafter “Perlman” in view of Hanechak (US 2009/0067753) cited in IDS.
As per claim 1, Hanechak discloses a system comprising:
Perlman discloses a system comprising:
a decoder having a processor (paragraphs 0452-0453) configured to decode a plurality of video streams including a first video stream received from a first video source and a second video stream received from a second video source over a communications network (paragraph 0440, FIG. 31f shows details of Shared video scaling and recompression 3142, along with a larger number of HQ video compressors HQ 3121H1-3131H1. Internal routing 3192, per requests for particular video streams scaled to particular sizes from the App/Game Servers 3121-3125, selects typically a subset of compressed HQ streams from HQ video compressors HQ 3121H1-3131H1. A stream within this selected subset of streams is routed either through a Decompressor 3161-3164 if the stream requested is to be scaled, or routed on Non-scaled Video path 3196 if the stream requested is at full resolution. The streams to be scaled are decompressed to uncompressed video by Decompressors 3161-3164);
a plurality of scalers configured to scale a plurality of frames in the first video stream to generate a plurality of scaled frames (Fig. 31f; paragraph 0440,…Note that if a particular HQ stream is requested at more than one resolution, then Internal Routing 3192 multicasts that stream (using IP multicasting technology that is well-known by practitioners in the art) to one or more Decompressors 3161-3164 and (if one a requested size if full resolution) to Outbound Routing 3193. All of the requested streams, whether scaled (from Compressors 3181-3184) or not (from Internal Routing 3192), are then sent to Outbound Routing 3193)… wherein the plurality of scalers are shared by the plurality of video streams and a number of video streams assigned to a particular scaler can be updated dynamically, wherein at least one scaler processes frames from both the first video stream and the second video stream (Fig. 31f; paragraph 0440, The streams to be scaled are decompressed to uncompressed video by Decompressors 3161-3164, then each scaled to the requested size by Scalers 3171-3174, then each compressed by Compressor 3181-3184. Note that if a particular HQ stream is requested at more than one resolution, then Internal Routing 3192 multicasts that stream (using IP multicasting technology that is well-known by practitioners in the art) to one or more Decompressors 3161-3164 and (if one a requested size if full resolution) to Outbound Routing 3193. All of the requested streams, whether scaled (from Compressors 3181-3184) or not (from Internal Routing 3192), are then sent to Outbound Routing 3193. It is clear that each scaler scales a decompressed HQ stream, as shown in Fig. 31f; in addition, when a particular HQ stream is requested at more than one resolution, the particular HQ stream is scaled by the scalers. Therefore, one or more of the scalers scales more than one HQ stream. This process changes dynamically based on the request of generating the particular HQ stream with more than one resolution);
a memory device configured to store the plurality of scaled frames (Fig. 31d shows that the output of the shared video scaling and recompression 3142, which are scaled and compressed frames as described in Fig. 31f, is routed to delay buffer 3115); and
an encoder configured to encode the plurality of scaled frames into an output video stream (Fig. 31f; paragraph 0440, The streams to be scaled are decompressed to uncompressed video by Decompressors 3161-3164, then each scaled to the requested size by Scalers 3171-3174, then each compressed by Compressor 3181-3184).
However, Perlman does not explicitly disclose scaling a plurality of frames…using a plurality of display parameters associated with a plurality of adjustable windows shown on a connected display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Hanechak discloses scaling a plurality of frames…using a plurality of display parameters associated with a plurality of adjustable windows shown on a connected display device (FIG. 4A, paragraph 0043, Given the image data, embodiments of the invention may scale each of the images according to the resolved display parameters (440). For example, with reference to FIG. 3B, the display parameters may dictate that each of the images 310, 320, 330 be equal in height. As a result, the images 310, 320, 330 are scaled to a common, predetermined height, h.sub.T, while maintaining the aspect ratio of each image 310, 320, 330. Next, the scaled images are arranged according to the display parameters (450). The display parameters may determine one or more ways in which the images can be positioned relative to one another. Referring again to FIG. 3B, for example, the display parameters may require that each image 310, 320, 330 be positioned adjacent to another image to form a single row of images as shown. Moreover, the scaled images may be arranged independent of an image area of a product design; see also paragraph 0077-0078, images B and C 520, 530 are positioned to the right of the image area 505, rotated at differing angles, and scaled to occupy the upper and lower bounds of the image area 505…With images B and C 520, 530 positioned as a vertical photo strip, image A 510 is scaled so that its height matches the height of the photo strip), associated with a plurality of adjustable windows shown on a connected display device (claim 1, analyzing a plurality of images to produce image data, the image data including aspect ratio of each image of the plurality of images; and based on the image data, display parameters and a display area, defining an arrangement within the display area for the plurality of images such that the display parameters are satisfied and at least one dimension of the arrangement is maximized; see also paragraphs 0037, 0042-0043, 0046, 0049, and 0052, wherein the area of each image, as shown in figs. 3B-3C and 5A-5E, is interpreted as adjustable window since it follows a design layout).
Therefore, it will be obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Perlman in view of Hanechak, by using display parameters associated with a plurality of adjustable windows in scaling video frames. Thus, improving display arrangement of the frames to fit within the display area. This rational applies to all combination of Perlman and Hanechak used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, Hanechak discloses wherein the connected display device shows a plurality of windows each having different display parameters, wherein the plurality of windows are overlapping on the connected display device (see FIGs. 5B-5E and paragraphs 0060-0067, 0078).
As per claim 7, Perlman discloses wherein the plurality of scalers is implemented in a reprogrammable logic device, and wherein a number of the plurality of scalers is dynamically configurable (paragraphs 0450-0451).
As per claim 8, Perlman discloses wherein each of the plurality of scalers is configured to apply upscaling or downscaling to video data included in the plurality of frames (paragraph 0432 and 0436).
As per claim 9, Perlman discloses wherein the plurality of video streams is displayed on the connected display device and an additional display device (paragraph 0254, With so many viewers, there are bound to be many viewers with display devices 422 that have the same or nearly the same resolution (each app/game server 1521-1525 has the ability to scale the video for adjusting the fitting)).
As per claim 10, Hanechak discloses wherein the plurality of display parameters are modified as one of the plurality of adjustable windows shown on the connected display device is modified (paragraph 0049; FIG. 4B, steps 445 and 455).
As per claims 11-12 and 17-20, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1-2 and 7-10 are applicable for claims 11-12 and 17-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482