DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 3, figures 13-18, claims 1, 9, 11, 13, and 18, in the reply filed on 3/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-8, 10, 14-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Cavanagh, US 2015/0007422 A1. Cavanagh discloses a fastening device (figures 8w, 8x, 8y) comprising a housing (case unit in claim and should be changed to housing unit to be consistent with the specification) comprising an inner space; a spool received within the inner space and configured for a lace to be wound thereabout; an engaging unit disposed above the spool along an axis; a torque unit disposed above the engaging unit along the axis and comprising at least one torque portion; and a knob covering the case unit; wherein as a rotation of the knob in a tensioning direction causes the torque unit to drive the engaging unit for allowing the knob to drive the spool, the spool is rotated in the tensioning direction to tension the lace, and as a force born by the at least one torque portion exceeds a threshold, the spool is not rotated in the tensioning direction. Please see the annotated drawing showing the elements of the claim.
As stated in paragraphs [0066]-[0067], Cavanagh discloses the fastening device with a force threshold adjustment that limits the amount of tension able to be applied to the spool, i.e., once the threshold is reach with rotating the knob, the knob slips on the engaging unit via the torque unit to prevent fully winding of the spool.
Regarding claim 11, Cavanagh discloses a case unit with an inner space and a plurality of engaging teeth, a spool, a knob, at least one pawl arm in the inner space and corresponding to the at least one of the engaging teeth, a torque portion received in the inner space ang being rotatably connected to the knob and the pawl arm. Please see the annotated drawing showing the claimed elements. And, as stated in paragraphs [0066]-[0067], Cavanagh discloses the fastening device with a force threshold adjustment that limits the amount of tension able to be applied to the spool, i.e., once the threshold is reach with rotating the knob, the knob slips on the engaging unit via the torque unit to prevent fully winding of the spool.
Regarding claim 12, Cavanagh discloses a connecting unit, i.e., the bolt that connects the knob to the spool, indirectly through the torque unit and the housing unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ha discloses a wire clamping device that has a simple configuration and is operated in a simple manner so as to improve convenience of use and product productivity and durability. The present invention includes: a housing part provided with a ratchet-type gear on the inner circumference thereof and having a cylindrical inner surface; a reel part axially coupled to the inside of the housing part and arranged in a rotatable manner such that a wire is wound, and having a ratchet-type protrusion is formed in the upper portion thereof; an elevating cam part having a slide protrusion, which is coupled in a selectively elevating manner along the ratchet-type protrusion, formed in the lower portion thereof, an outer circumferential cam groove part formed on the outer circumference thereof, and an inner circumferential cam groove part formed on the inner circumference thereof; a cam driving unit in which a cam protruding part, which is coupled to the inner circumferential cam groove part so as to lift the elevating cam part during the unidirectional rotation, is formed; a cam base part having a guide cam part, which is inserted into the outer circumferential cam groove part so as to guide the elevation of the elevating cam part, formed on the inner circumference thereof and having a ratchet coupling part, the unidirectional rotation of which is restricted by the ratchet-type gear, provided on the outer circumference thereof; and a rotating cover coupled to the upper part of the cam driving unit so as to be rotated in an integral manner.
Wang discloses a reel device is provided, including a shell body; a rotating shaft, movably and rotatably disposed in the shell body along an axial direction, the rotating shaft including a head section, an exterior circumferential face of the head section circumferentially having a plurality of engaging teeth circumferentially disposed thereon and extending radially; a ratchet assembly, including a first ratchet portion and a second ratchet portion meshed with the first ratchet portion, the first ratchet portion being fixed on the shell body, the second ratchet portion being rotatable relative to the first ratchet portion unidirectionally, the second ratchet portion comovably connected with the rotating shaft; a reel unit, rotatably disposed on the shell body for being connected to at least one rope, the reel unit having a meshed hole extending in the axial direction, the plurality of engaging teeth being radially detachably engaged with the meshed hole.
Chen discloses a fastening device includes a case, a spool and a knob. The case includes a housing and a base. The housing includes a receiving space and two side holes communicated with the receiving space. The base is detachably connected to the housing. The base includes a continuous wall, and the continuous wall surrounds a lower edge of the housing after the base is connected to the housing. The spool is received in the receiving space and configured for a lace passing through the side holes to be wound therearound. The knob is disposed on the case. Rotating the knob relative to the case in a fastening direction causes the spool to rotate in the fastening direction for fastening the lace.
Martin discloses reel devices, systems, and related methods. The reel devices are modular and include an automatic shift assembly that shifts to provide a mechanical advantage when used to tighten a cord. For instance, the reel devices are configured to provide a first drive ratio and automatically transition to a second drive ratio in response to a torque force. The reel devices include a drive assembly and a shift assembly. The drive assembly includes a cycloidal gear.
Converse discloses a device for tightening an article includes a housing, a spool rotatably positioned within the housing, a knob operably coupled with the spool to cause the spool to rotate within the housing, and a stop mechanism. The device is configured so that incremental rotation of the knob in a first direction causes a corresponding incremental rotation of the spool within the housing that incrementally tensions a tension member and thereby tightens the article. The device is also configured so that incremental rotation of the knob in a second direction causes a corresponding incremental rotation of the spool that incrementally loosens the tension member's tension. The stop mechanism is configured to prevent rotation of the spool in the second direction when the tension member's tension achieves or falls below a tension threshold.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677