DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohsawa et al. (US 2019/0067680) in view of Lim et al. (US 2024/0413330).
Regarding claim 1, Ohsawa discloses an electrode film rolled web ([0024], [0088]) comprising: an adhesive layer(resin current collector 11 b containing a polyolefin resin matrix and a conductive filler A, Figs. 1 & 3(a), [0024], [0038]); and a negative active material layer laminated on the adhesive layer and including a negative active material(15, Figs. 1 & 3(a), [0038], [0051]), wherein the adhesive layer includes a particulate conductive material ([0069]-[0074]) and a binder([0057]-[0066]), the binder contains a polypropylene([0058]-[0061]), the conductive material is at least one selected from the group consisting of a carbon material and a metal material that is not alloyed with Li([0069]-[0072]), for the polyolefin resin matrix, a single polyolefin resin may be used or a mixture of two or more them can be used ([0058]), examples of the polyolefin resin include polyethylene (PE) (high density polyethylene (HDPE), low density polyethylene (LDPE), ultra high molecular weight polyethylene, or the like), polypropylene (PP), polyisobutylene, polybutadiene, polymethylpentene (PMP), or polycycloolefin (PCO), and a copolymer and a mixture thereof ([0060]), as for the materials of the polyolefin resin, it is preferable to contain polyethylene (PE) and/or polypropylene (PP), and a modified polyolefin resin([0061]), the modified polyolefin resin contained in the resin current collector functions as a dispersing agent to disperse the conductive filler A in the resin matrix([0062]), examples of the modified polyolefin resin include polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), or those obtained by introducing a polar functional group to those copolymers including a carboxy group, a 1,3-dioxo-2-oxapropylene group, a hydroxyl group, an amino group, an amide group, and an imide group([0063]) but does not explicitly disclose the binder contains a polyisobutylene and a polypropylene.
Lim teaches functionalized pre-lithiation particles for lithium-ion batteries(title). Lim teaches various suitable polymeric dispersion agents may be used in some designs, including but not limited to: polyimide (PI), polyethyleneimine (PEI), polysiloxane, polyisobutene (PIB), polyethylene wax (e.g., Evonik VESTOWAX), polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), polyethylene glycol (PEG), polystyrene (PS)([0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the binder of Ohsawa, a polyisobutylene as taught by Lim as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 I.
Continuing with claim 1, modified Ohsawa discloses the adhesive layer satisfies the following (A) and (B): (A) the adhesive layer contains the conductive material in an amount of 13% by mass or more and 60% by mass or less(Ohsawa, 10 to 88 parts by mass [0079]), the polyisobutylene in an amount of 6% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less(Ohsawa, 1 to 25% by mass [0062]), and the polypropylene in an amount of 34% by mass or more and 75% by mass or less(Ohsawa, 20 to 80% by mass [0066]), based on 100% by mass in total of the conductive material and the binder.
Modified Ohsawa is explicitly silent to the claimed ranges however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Continuing with claim 1, modified Ohsawa discloses the content of the modified polyolefin resin is preferably used at 1 to 25% by mass relative to the total amount of the resin current collector(Ohsawa [0062]), the content of the polyolefin resin in the resin current collector is not particularly limited as long as the shape and thickness are maintained, and light weight, durability, and solvent resistance are provided within a range in which it has a resin matrix function and does not impair the current collecting function (Ohsawa [0066]) but does not explicitly disclose (B) a ratio by mass between the polyisobutylene and the polypropylene is [polyisobutylene]:[polypropylene]=1:4 to 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide in the binder of modified Ohsawa, a ratio by mass between the polyisobutylene and the polypropylene is [polyisobutylene]:[polypropylene]=1:4 to 7 in order to balance durability and current collecting function, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ohsawa discloses the thickness of the resin current collector obtained by molding the materials for a resin current collector can be desirably within the range to keep shielding properties against the electrolyte solution and strength during the process (Ohsawa [0097]) but does not explicitly disclose a breaking strength determined by the following measurement method is 0.5 MPa or more: (Measurement Method) The strength of 75% of the maximum stress is defined as breaking strength, when a test piece obtained by cutting the electrode film rolled web into a size of 15 mm in width and 50 mm in length is measured under the conditions of inter-chuck distance: 30 mm and tensile speed: 100 mm/min.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrode film rolled web of modified Ohsawa with a breaking strength is 0.5 MPa or more in order to balance shielding properties against the electrolyte solution and strength during the process, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ohsawa discloses a resin current collector 11 b on the negative electrode side are laminated (i.e., integrated by adhesion) (Ohsawa Fig. 1, [0038]). Modified Ohsawa discloses it is also preferable to carry out a pressing step for pressing the active material composition for coating with even stronger pressure so the surface of the active material layer on the opposite side the film can be suitably smoothened, and, when a coating film is formed by transferring of a resin current collector (on the active material layer or by a conventional method, the adhesiveness can be greatly enhanced(Ohsawa [0335]) but does not explicitly disclose for a test piece thereof bonded under the following bonding condition 1, a normal-temperature adhesive strength in a 90° peeling test performed by the following measurement method is 0.03 N/cm or more: (Measurement Method) The strength is measured when a test piece of 15 mm in width and 50 mm in length cut out from the electrode film rolled web is peeled off by 90° at a speed of 20 mm/min after bonding a surface of the adhesive layer side of the test piece onto a center of a copper foil of 15 mm in width and 60 mm in length; An arithmetic mean value of measured values obtained by performing the same measurement three times is defined as the adhesive strength; (Bonding Condition 1) Roll bonding under an environment at a pressure of 8.6 kg/cm, a speed of 1 m/min, and 25° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrode film rolled web of modified Ohsawa with a normal-temperature adhesive strength in a 90° peeling test is 0.03 N/cm or more in order to balance pressing and laminating, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ohsawa discloses a resin current collector 11 b on the negative electrode side are laminated (i.e., integrated by adhesion) (Ohsawa Fig. 1, [0038]). Modified Ohsawa discloses it is also preferable to carry out a pressing step for pressing the active material composition for coating with even stronger pressure so the surface of the active material layer on the opposite side the film can be suitably smoothened, and, when a coating film is formed by transferring of a resin current collector (on the active material layer or by a conventional method, the adhesiveness can be greatly enhanced(Ohsawa [0335]) but does not explicitly disclose for a test piece thereof bonded under the following bonding condition 2, a heated adhesive strength in a 90° peeling test performed by the following measurement method is 0.10 N/cm or more: (Measurement Method) The strength is measured when a test piece of 15 mm in width and 50 mm in length cut out from the electrode film rolled web is peeled off by 90° at a speed of 20 mm/min after bonding a surface of the adhesive layer side of the test piece onto a center of a copper foil of 15 mm in width and 60 mm in length; An arithmetic mean value of measured values obtained by performing the same measurement three times is defined as the adhesive strength; (Bonding Condition 2) Roll bonding under an environment at a pressure of 8.6 kg/cm, a speed of 1 m/min, and 50° C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrode film rolled web of modified Ohsawa with a heated adhesive strength in a 90° peeling test is 0.10 N/cm or more in order to balance pressing and laminating, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ohsawa discloses the lithium ion secondary battery (a pseudo bipolar type laminate battery or bipolar type battery) can maintain discharge capacity even when it is used for a long period of time, and thus has good cycle characteristics(Ohsawa [0481]) but does not explicitly disclose a SOC-OCV value determined by the following method is 18 times or more: (Measurement Method) An amount of the active material included in a test electrode prepared from the electrode film rolled web is calculated, and a theoretical capacity (mAh/g) of the test electrode is determined from a theoretical capacity of the active material and the amount of the active material; Then, with charging at 0.1 C for 30 minutes and pausing for 5 minutes as 1 time, the same operation is repeated 22 times in total for a coin cell for measurement; The number of times of charging until the voltage reaches 0.05 V is defined as an SOC-OCV value.
It would have been obvious to provide the electrode film rolled web of modified Ohsawa with a SOC-OCV value is 18 times or more in order to balance discharge capacity and cycle characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ohsawa discloses the conductive material is flaky nickel particles (Ohsawa [0070], [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ohsawa discloses an electrode comprising the electrode film rolled web according to claim 1 as a material (Ohsawa negative electrode [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ohsawa discloses an electrode laminate wherein the electrode according to claim 8(Ohsawa [0038]), and any one selected from the group consisting of a separator are laminated(Ohsawa [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ohsawa discloses an electrode laminate (Ohsawa [0038]) comprising: the electrode according to claim 8(Ohsawa [0038]); a first member laminated on a first surface of the electrode; and a second member laminated on a second surface of the electrode, wherein each of the first member and the second member is any one selected from the group consisting of a separator (Ohsawa [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ohsawa discloses an electrochemical device comprising the electrode laminate according to claim 9(Ohsawa [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ohsawa discloses an apparatus comprising the electrochemical device according to claim 11(Ohsawa [0480]-[0481]).
4. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohsawa et al. (US 2019/0067680) in view of Lim et al. (US 2024/0413330) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2017/0040582).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ohsawa does not explicitly disclose a release film is laminated on the adhesive layer.
Kim teaches flexible battery (title). Kim teaches the conductive adhesive layer 339 may be at least one of an isotropic conductive adhesive (ICA) including a polymer base material and conductive filler particles, an anisotropic conductive paste (ACA) including a thermally curable polymer base material and conductive filler particles, an anisotropic conductive film having a release film attached thereto (Fig. 3, [0070]). Kim teaches when the conductive adhesive layer 339 is wound on a reel in the form of a film, the release film may allow the conductive adhesive layer 339 to be easily handled so as not to be adhered to the reel([0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electrode film rolled web of modified Ohsawa with a release film is laminated on the adhesive layer as taught by Kim as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724