Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, which discloses “controlling a transformer connection to maintain an impedance presented to a receive signal regardless of the one power level to which the communication signal is amplified for transmission”. However, it is not clear from the specification how the claimed subject matter can be achieved. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claims 11 and 14, see claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bakalski et al. (20150311922), hereafter called BAKALSKI.
BAKALSKI (Figs 1, 3a and 5) discloses a switching circuit for RF amplifier comprising: selectively (switch 102) amplifying (see Fig. 1, wherein terminals (RF1 and RF2) are respectively connected to amplifiers (116 and 124)) the communication signal (RF_IN) to one of a plurality of power levels (RF1 and RF2) for transmission; and controlling (controller/processor 106) a variable capacitance (354) to maintain a frequency response while amplifying to the one power level.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 13, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NGAI et al. (20180226924), hereafter called NGAI.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 13, NGAI (Fig. 4) discloses an amplifier circuit comprising: selectively (120) amplifying (124) the communication signal (112) to one of a plurality of power levels (1361 and 136n) for transmission; and controlling (controller/processor 134) a variable capacitance (117) to maintain a frequency response while amplifying to the one power level, see paras. [0026], [0028] and [0031].
Regarding claims 3 and 15, see Fig. 4, wherein the amplifying comprises amplifying the communication signal with a first amplifier path and a second amplifier path, and wherein the method further comprises combining (combined and generated an output signal (132)) an output of the first amplifier path with an output of the second amplifier path.
Regarding claims 5-8 and 17-20, wherein claimed subject matters are inherent in NGAI, see paras. [0026], [0028] and [0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKALSKI/NGAI, hereafter called PRIOR ART.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 16, PROR ART discloses claimed invention except for a phase shifter claimed. However, providing a phase shifter for desired/specific intended use of the invention is considered a matter of design engineering and well-known in the art for shifting the phase the RF signal to a desired degree(s), see Krett et al. (8,963,636), claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, NGAI discloses claimed invention except the desired dB claimed. However, it is inherently obvious combined power level of the paths is higher than each individual path by itself, wherein desire dB is based on design engineering, such as components value selected, which is considered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ripley et al. (20170063412), another related prior art, with selected inputs. However, it does not disclose selectively amplify for each path.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843