DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
-The terminology utilized within claim 1 does not appear to be used in the current specification. Specifically “the protrusion protrudes in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the dial from the distal end”.
- The terminology utilized within claim 8 does not appear to be used in the current specification. Specifically “in a view along the rotation axis of the dial, a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a grip side of a center of the dial is smaller than a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a side opposite to the grip side of the center of the dial”. Paragraphs 0121-0122 appear to note the differences in the “exposed” areas, but does not specify a viewpoint.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the protrusion protrudes in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the dial from the distal end” of claim 1; and “in a view along the rotation axis of the dial, a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a grip side of a center of the dial is smaller than a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a side opposite to the grip side of the center of the dial” of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
-Examiner notes the drawings appear to show the distal end to be reference character 31b with the protrusion being 312 (See Figure 3 noting the distal end surface and protrusion and Figure 10 noting the rotational axis C1; Paragraph 0096-0097). As currently shown in the Figures, the protrusion appears to intersect the rotational axis C1, and is not parallel as it is currently claimed (See annotation of Figure 10 below noting one example of the current claim language of the protrusion extension position).
-Examiner also notes the viewpoint of claim 8 may be shown, but it is unclear as to what view Applicant is referring to that specifically relates to the drawings, to show the projected areas as claimed such that one projected area is smaller than the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the protrusion protrudes in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the dial from the distal end” is unclear. Examiner notes the protrusion of capable of “protruding” in a plurality of directions, all different depending upon the viewpoint as the protrusion is three-dimensional and shown in the drawings from multiple positions. As such, it is unclear as to the bounds of the protrusion protruding in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the dial from the distal end”, such that the “protrusion is capable of only being in the claimed state. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as a portion of the protrusion is protruding in a direction parallel to a rotational axis of the dial.
-Regarding claim 8, the phrase “in a view along the rotation axis of the dial, a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a grip side of a center of the dial is smaller than a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a side opposite to the grip side of the center of the dial” is unclear. The language concerning “a view” does not appear to state what view is to be used (top view, isometric or side view as shown in the Figures). The viewpoint appears to change the overall perspective of the bounds of what can be considered the “projected area of the dial” that can be exposed. As such, it is also unclear as to the bounds of what is to be considered the projected area. Is the projected area the entirety of the exposed dial or merely an undefined portion? What defines the grip side/ area such that the projected area includes two different portions? Examiner notes the drawings appear to provide the grip area as capable of being handled and utilized by the user (Figures 23-29) however, the users thumb appears to possibly extend past the dial cover as shown in Figure 29. What are the bounds to the “grip side” to define the first and second projected areas?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719).
Regarding claim 1, Nakakura teaches a cutting device comprising:
a main body (1) including a grip (1a,1b,1c)(Figure 1B; Paragraph 0036);
a blade part (4) including a fixed blade (2) fixed to the main body and a movable blade (3) configured to reciprocate in a slidable way with respect to the fixed blade (Figure 1A; Paragraph 0034);
a dial (7) that is rotatably attached to the main body and is operated when a cutting height is adjusted (Figure 1A, Paragraph 0059; noting a trim length may be adjusted based on the rotation of the dial 7);
and a cover (8,17) that covers a part of the dial in a state where rotation of the dial is permitted (Figures 1A-1C noting portions 7a that protrudes from the cover 8 allowing rotation of the dial 7), wherein the dial is attached between the grip and the blade part to the main body, and the cover covers a grip side of the dial (Figures 1A-1C and Figure 3; Paragraph 0034-0035);
and the cover comprises a top wall (X1) covering a top surface of the dial (Figures 3 and 8B), and a protrusion (X2) wherein the protrusion is formed at a distal end of the top wall, the distal end is close to the blade part (4), the protrusion protrudes in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the dial from the distal end of the top wall (See Figure 3 noting a view of the components including the top surface and annotated Figure 8B below).
Regarding claim 2, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, wherein the cover includes a plurality of types of surfaces (Figure 3; Examiner notes the cover has multiple surfaces, flat, round, angled, recessed etc. as provided in the Figures).
Regarding claim 4, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, wherein the cover comprises a peripheral wall (X3) covering a peripheral surface (7a) of the grip side of the dial, and a coupling wall (17) that couples the top wall and the peripheral wall, and the peripheral wall is formed to be wider than the top wall (Figures 1A and 3; Paragraph 0040; See annotated Figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 4, wherein the coupling wall includes a coupling surface (rounded exterior surface of element 17 that engages the dial 7) that is a convex curved surface (Figure 3; Paragraph 0037, 0041).
Regarding claim 8, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, in a view along the rotation axis of the dial, a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a grip side of a center of the dial is smaller than a projected area of the dial exposed from the cover on a side opposite to the grip side of the center of the dial. (See annotated Figure 4 below showing a projected area P1 on a grip side, that is smaller than the opposite side P2 when taken through the “center” along the rotational axis of the dial as viewed from “Above” or a top view. Examiner notes the interpretation to be as best understood in light of the 112 rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719) in view of Sonnenberg (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0360021).
Regarding claim 3, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, but does not provide wherein the cover includes an anti-slip part formed on the cover.
Sonnenberg teaches it is known in the art of hair cutting implements to incorporate a handle with an exterior surface comprised of anti-slip materials (Paragraph 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Nakakura to incorporate the teachings of Sonnenberg to provide an external surface with an anti-slip part. Doing so provides a surface with a material for better gripping.
Thus, Nakakura in view of Sonnenberg provides the cover includes an anti-slip part formed on the cover (Nakakura Figure 3 and Sonnenberg Paragraph 0004).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719).
Regarding claim 7, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 6, and wherein a grip side surface of the protrusion is an angled surface (See annotated Figure 8B above noting that the surface is angled to some degree, as the specific angle is not claimed).
Nakakura does not provide the grip side surface of the protrusion as a concave curved surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references A-B on page 1 establish the state of the art with a different dial orientation (Kammer) and a different dial cover (Morisugi).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has updated the rejection above to better show the projection extension (top to bottom) in relation to the rotational axis of the dial (7). As best understood, the projection extends/projects in a direction parallel to the rotational axis of the dial as shown in the annotation of Figure 8A above.
-Claim 8 has also been updated to include the new claim limitations and has been interpreted as best understood in light of the 112 rejections noting it is unclear as to what viewpoint is to be utilized, as well as the bounds of the projected areas and other terminology.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 09/23/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724