DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The terminology utilized within claim 8 does not appear to be used in the current specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a blade-side semicircle positioned on a blade side and a grip-side semicircle positioned on a grip side, and the blade-side semicircle is entirely uncovered by the cover” of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “a blade-side semicircle positioned on a blade side and a grip-side semicircle positioned on a grip side, and the blade-side semicircle is entirely uncovered by the cover” is new matter. The specification does not appear to use the term circular, semicircle, or the specifics of the dial as currently claimed. Examiner notes the drawings do appear to show the dial as circular in shape, however, the specifics and details related to the bounds of the semicircular portions are not provided.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “a blade-side semicircle positioned on a blade side and a grip-side semicircle positioned on a grip side, and the blade-side semicircle is entirely uncovered by the cover” is unclear. Examiner notes the dial appears to be rotatable. As such, it is unclear as to the bounds of the semicircular portions, such that the “blade side semicircle” is capable of always being uncovered by the cover, even when the portions themselves rotate. If the dial rotates, it appears the “blade side semicircle” will move, and thus not always be uncovered by the cover. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as capable of being covered during use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719).
Regarding claim 1, Nakakura teaches a cutting device comprising:
a main body (1) including a grip (1a,1b,1c)(Figure 1B; Paragraph 0036);
a blade part (4) including a fixed blade (2) fixed to the main body and a movable blade (3) configured to reciprocate in a slidable way with respect to the fixed blade (Figure 1A; Paragraph 0034);
a dial (7) that is rotatably attached to the main body and is operated when a cutting height is adjusted (Figure 1A, Paragraph 0059; noting a trim length may be adjusted based on the rotation of the dial 7);
and a cover (8,17) that covers a part of the dial in a state where rotation of the dial is permitted (Figures 1A-1C noting portions 7a that protrudes from the cover 8 allowing rotation of the dial 7), wherein the dial is attached between the grip and the blade part to the main body, and the cover covers a grip side of the dial (Figures 1A-1C and Figure 3; Paragraph 0034-0035);
and the cover comprises a top wall (X1) covering a top surface of the dial (Figures 3 and 8B), and a protrusion (X2) formed at a distal end of the top wall, the distal end being close to the blade part (4), the protrusion protruding outwardly from an external surface of the top wall (See annotated Figure 8B below).
Regarding claim 2, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, wherein the cover includes a plurality of types of surfaces (Figure 3; Examiner notes the cover has multiple surfaces, flat, round, angled, recessed etc. as provided in the Figures).
Regarding claim 4, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, wherein the cover comprises a peripheral wall (X3) covering a peripheral surface (7a) of the grip side of the dial, and a coupling wall (17) that couples the top wall and the peripheral wall, and the peripheral wall is formed to be wider than the top wall (Figures 1A and 3; Paragraph 0040; See annotated Figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 4, wherein the coupling wall includes a coupling surface (rounded exterior surface of element 17 that engages the dial 7) that is a convex curved surface (Figure 3; Paragraph 0037, 0041).
Regarding claim 8, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, wherein the dial is circular (Figure 3) and comprises a blade-side semicircle positioned on a blade side and a grip-side semicircle positioned on a grip side (See Figures 1A noting two different semicircular portions extending out past the cover 8), and the blade-side semicircle is entirely uncovered by the cover (Figure 1A noting the semi-circle showing is capable of being rotated, thus the portion as shown is entirely uncovered in light of the 112 rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719) in view of Sonnenberg (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0360021).
Regarding claim 3, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 1, but does not provide wherein the cover includes an anti-slip part formed on the cover.
Sonnenberg teaches it is known in the art of hair cutting implements to incorporate a handle with an exterior surface comprised of anti-slip materials (Paragraph 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Nakakura to incorporate the teachings of Sonnenberg to provide an external surface with an anti-slip part. Doing so provides a surface with a material for better gripping.
Thus, Nakakura in view of Sonnenberg provides the cover includes an anti-slip part formed on the cover (Nakakura Figure 3 and Sonnenberg Paragraph 0004).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakakura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0044719).
Regarding claim 7, Nakakura teaches the cutting device according to Claim 6, and wherein a grip side surface of the protrusion is an angled surface (See annotated Figure 8B above).
Nakakura does not provide the grip side surface of the protrusion as a concave curved surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the current references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes a new piece of art (US2005/0044719) has been utilized to better show multiple viewpoints of the cover (8) in relation to the dial (7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 06/08/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724