Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly added limitation in claim 1, “wherein a height of the empty space of each of the plurality of microneedles is more than half of a height of each of the plurality of microneedles” is not described in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAPLAN et al. (2013/0338632) and in further view of ENOMOTO et al. (2018/0250503).
Regarding claims 1-6, KAPLAN et al. discloses a transdermal drug delivery patch
[0127] comprising:
a flexible base layer [0013], [0088]; and
a plurality of microneedles disposed at one surface of the base layer (Fig.2),
including a biodegradable polymer [0046], [0099], [0112], [0163] and a drug [0027], [0034]-[0035], and having an empty space inside (microneedles are hollow [0035]),
wherein each of the plurality of microneedles is formed of a star-shape [0042].
As evidenced by ENOMOTO et al., star-shaped microneedles include a plurality
of protrusions extending in a radial direction, and a part between two protrusions adjacent along the circumferential direction among the plurality of protrusions is concave (Fig.20) as claimed.
KAPLAN et al. is silent to the hollow or empty space of each of the plurality of microneedles is more than half of a height of each of the plurality of microneedles. However, ENOMOTO et al. discloses hollow star-shaped microneedles have empty space in all of the conical tip part (112), the base (111) and the part having a star polygonal cross section (114) which construct the microneedle (110) (Fig.19, [0208]) and as shown in Fig.19, the height of the empty space is more than half of a height of the microneedle as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a hollow microneedle would have empty space from the base to the tip part of the microneedle wherein the empty space height is more than half of the height of the microneedle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kaplan does not disclose the specific relationship between the
internal empty space height and the overall microneedle height as amended in instant claim 1.
Examiner agrees Kaplan does not disclose said feature but Enomoto et al. discloses hollow star-shaped microneedles have empty space in all of the conical tip part (112), the base (111) and the part having a star polygonal cross section (114) which construct the microneedle (110) (Fig.19, [0208]) and as shown in Fig.19, the height of the empty space is more than half of a height of the microneedle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a hollow microneedle would have empty space from the base to the tip part of the microneedle wherein the empty space height is more than half of the height of the microneedle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742