DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 6/11/2024. This application claims benefit to foreign application JAPAN 2023-104917, filed 6/27/2023. Claims 1-25 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-10 have been examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 8/7/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “mid-infrared region” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “mid-infrared region” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and do not remedy the indefiniteness; hence, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “the culture container is N culture dishes”, and the claim also recites “(N is an integer of 2 or more)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims because it is unclear whether parenthetical expressions are optional or required; thus, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takebe et al., US 2018/0236257 (cite A, attached PTO-892; herein “Takebe”) in view of Larson et al., 2021 (second NPL cite, IDS, 8/7/2024; herein “Larson”) and Weichselbaum et al., 2002 (cite U, attached PTO-892; herein “Parney”).
Takebe teaches methods of cell stimulation comprising irradiating cells cultured on a culture container (Abst.; [0028]; Fig. 1) with mid-infrared light with a wavelength of 4-10 µm, i.e., a cell sample evaluation method for evaluating a culture state of an object cell sample of an evaluation object containing a plurality of cells cultured on a culture container, the evaluation method comprising: an evaluation light irradiation step of irradiating an irradiation region set in a culture region of the plurality of cells in the object cell sample with evaluation light having a wavelength in a mid-infrared region under a predetermined irradiation condition.
Takebe teaches that infrared photon energy has the capacity to kill or damage cells ([0002-0008]). Additionally, Larson discloses that mid-infrared light of 3-30 µm is the most attractive spectral region for killing viable cells, i.e., for ablating soft or hard tissues (Abst.). Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to correlate irradiation with different intensities, wavelength and exposure time with death of the irradiated cells in order to practice the cell sample evaluation method with assurance that the irradiated cells will not be killed by the mid-infrared irradiation.
Neither Takebe nor Larson teaches methods of quantifying cell death resulting from the mid-infrared irradiation; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to quantify the dead cells by staining a culture of the cells with a stain that selectively stains dead cells in view of the disclosure of Weichselbaum.
Weichselbaum is drawn to combining low doses of irradiation with a chemotherapeutic (chelerythine) in order to increase apoptosis in tumor cells (Abst.) Weichselbaum teaches assaying cell death after irradiation comprising staining cells with propidium iodide which selectively stains dead cells (col. 15, ll. 18-48).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Takebe in view of Larson and Weichselbaum comprising irradiating cell samples in culture plates with mid-infrared light with different intensities and/or exposure times; measure the dead cells in the irradiated areas with propidium iodide which is excluded from live, viable cells but stains dead cells; and analyze the correlation between the irradiation amount and the dead cell number and compare the correlation to reference samples with a known state; therefore, claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 4, passage number is related to senescence of cells, i.e., highly passaged cells are more susceptible to senescence; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to correlate the resistance to death from irradiation with the passage number of the irradiated cells; therefore, claim 4 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 9, the correlation of irradiation with cell death would be expected to produce a curve, e.g., a straight line, correlating the amount of irradiation with the amount of cell death with a threshold irradiation amount for generating dead cells; therefore, claim 9 is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-8 of copending Application No. 18/739556 (reference application; herein “’556”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘556 recites a cell sample measurement method comprising: a preparation step of placing an object cell sample of a measurement object containing a plurality of cells cultured on a culture dish on a sample stage; an evaluation light irradiation step of irradiating N irradiation regions (N is an integer of 2 or more) set by dividing a culture region of the plurality of cells in the object cell sample with evaluation light having a wavelength in a mid-infrared region supplied from an irradiation light source with irradiation amounts different from each other; a dead cell number measurement step of measuring a dead cell number generated according to the irradiation amount of the evaluation light in each of the N irradiation regions of the object cell sample; and a culture state analysis step of obtaining, for the object cell sample, an object correlation between the irradiation amount of the evaluation light and the dead cell number for the N irradiation regions serving as an index of evaluation of a culture state of the object cell sample; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice a cell sample evaluation method for evaluating a culture state of an object cell sample of an evaluation object containing a plurality of cells cultured on a culture container wherein the culture container comprises a culture dish; the evaluation method comprising: an evaluation light irradiation step of irradiating an irradiation region set in a culture region of the plurality of cells in the object cell sample with evaluation light having a wavelength in a mid-infrared region under a predetermined irradiation condition; a dead cell number measurement step of measuring a dead cell number generated according to an irradiation amount of the evaluation light in the irradiation region of the object cell sample; and a culture state analysis step of evaluating a culture state of the object cell sample by obtaining an object correlation between the irradiation amount of the evaluation light and the dead cell number for the object cell sample, and comparing a reference correlation between the irradiation amount of the evaluation light and the dead cell number for a reference cell sample with a known culture state and the object correlation; therefore instant claims 1-2 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 3, the claims of ‘556 do not specifically recite more than one culture dish; however, claim 1 of ‘556 recites dividing a culture region of the plurality of cells in the object cell sample with evaluation light having a wavelength in a mid-infrared region supplied from an irradiation light source with irradiation amounts different from each other; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the divided culture regions to be in different culture dishes, i.e., N culture dishes and for the N irradiation regions to be set in the culture region on each of the N culture dishes; therefore, instant claim 3 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 5 of ‘556 recites the cell sample measurement method according to Claim 1, wherein in the dead cell number measurement step, the dead cell number is measured by capturing an optical image of the object cell sample stained with a staining agent for selectively staining dead cells; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by claim 1 of ‘556 wherein in the dead cell number measurement step, the dead cell number is measured by capturing an optical image of the object cell sample stained with a staining agent for selectively staining dead cells; therefore, instant claim 5 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 of ‘556 recites the cell sample measurement method according to Claim 1, wherein in the evaluation light irradiation step, the irradiation amount of the evaluation light is set by an irradiation condition including at least one of an irradiation time, an irradiation power, and a focusing condition of the evaluation light for the irradiation region; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by claim 1 of ‘556 wherein in the evaluation light irradiation step, the irradiation amount of the evaluation light is set by an irradiation condition including at least one of an irradiation time, an irradiation power, and a focusing condition of the evaluation light for the irradiation region; therefore, instant claim 6 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 of ‘556 recites cell sample measurement method according to Claim 1, wherein in the evaluation light irradiation step, the wavelength of the evaluation light is set in a wavelength region of 3 μm or more and 20 μm or less; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by claim 1 of ‘556 wherein in the evaluation light irradiation step, the wavelength of the evaluation light is set in a wavelength region of 3 μm or more and 20 μm or less; therefore, instant claim 7 is prima facie obvious.
A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to compare the correlations of evaluation light and dead cell measurements from the N regions to reference correlations of evaluation light irradiation and dead cell number in reference cell samples because scientific analysis requires comparison to controls to assess the statistical significance of the results (i.e., the object correlation); hence, claims 8 and 10 are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651