DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by SAITO et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0063072 A1, 02/05/25 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, SAITO discloses a laser device (FIG. 1), comprising: a first photonics crystal section (a photonic crystal layer 30 of a first QCL 21a, FIG. 1, [0016]-[0017]) operable to out-couple light, of a first wavelength (λ1, FIG. 1, [0025]), in a vertical direction (FIG. 1); and a second photonics crystal section (a photonic crystal layer 30 of a second QCL 21b, FIG. 1, [0016]-[0017]) operable to out-couple light, of a second wavelength (λ2, FIG. 1, [0025]) that is different than the first wavelength (λ2 different from λ1, [0025]), in the vertical direction (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, SAITO discloses the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section are located at a same fabrication layer (the same photonic crystal layer 30, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, SAITO discloses the laser device comprises: a first epitaxy layer operably coupled below the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section (it’s implicitly taught by the first and second QCLs 21a/22b, FIG. 1), and a second epitaxy layer operably coupled below the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section (it’s implicitly taught by the first and second QCLs 21a/22b, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, SAITO discloses a glucose monitor comprises the laser device (“the blood glucose level can be determined based on the intensity of the reflected light that corresponds to the glucose absorptance in the blood vessel 100,” [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, SAITO discloses the laser device is a bottom-emitting laser (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 9, SAITO discloses the laser device comprises: one or more optical elements (15, FIG. 1, [0015]) placed on an emission surface (12, FIG. 1, [0026]).
Regarding claims 11-15 and 19, same rejections as applied to claims 1-5 and 9 are maintained since the method claims 11-15 and 19 contain substantially the same limitations as the product claims 1-5 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITO et al.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, SAITO has disclosed the laser device and the method of fabricating the laser device outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above except the laser device is a top-emitting laser. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser device and the method with modifying the laser device with a top-emitting configuration in order to simplify fabrication and obtain easier wire bonding.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, SAITO has disclosed the laser device and the method of fabricating the laser device outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above except the first wavelength and the second wavelength are between 2.0 and 2.4 μm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser device and the method with QCLs emitting a wavelength between 2.0 and 2.4 μm in order to be used in particular application (e.g. glucose monitoring).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITO et al. in view of NODA et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0131343 A1, 02/05/25 IDS).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, SAITO has disclosed the laser device and the method of fabricating the laser device outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above except one or more edge lattice sections, adjacent to the first photonics crystal section, are operable to constrain a horizontal mode of the first wavelength, and one or more edge lattice sections, adjacent to the second photonics crystal section, are operable to constrain a horizontal mode of the second wavelength. NODA discloses one or more edge 2DPC light reflection sections (125, FIG. 5, [0067]), adjacent to a 2DPC light amplification section (123, FIG. 5, [0067]), are operable to constrain a horizontal mode of a PCSEL ([0007]-[0008]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic crystal layer of the first and second QCLs of SAITO with the edge reflection sections as taught by NODA in order to obtain stable output by controlling the degree of light confinement.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITO et al. in view of Fukuoka (US PG Pub 2018/0372620 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, SAITO has disclosed the laser device and the method of fabricating the laser device outlined in the rejection to claims 1 and 11 above except the first wavelength and the second wavelength are determined according to temperature. Fukuoka discloses “It deems that the wavelength of the light emitted from the QCL can be changed by changing a temperature of the QCL with a thermoelectric cooler (TEC), and/or by changing an amount of injection current applied to the QCL.” ([0007]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser device and the method with temperature based wavelength control as taught by Fukuoka in order to obtain desired output wavelengths based on temperature change.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HALBRITTER et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0344905 A1, 09/05/25 IDS) discloses a photonic crystal layer having multiple emission regions similar to the claimed invention (see FIG. 4).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828