DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INOUE T. et al ("Design of photonic-crystal surface-emitting lasers with enhanced in-plane optical feedback for high-speed operation", OPTICS EXPRESS, vol. 28, no. 4, 7 February 2020 (2020-02-07), page 5050, XP093215176, DOI: 10.1364/OE.385277, 04/16/25 IDS) in view of CN117559221A (hereafter CN’221, 04/16/25 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, INOUE discloses a laser device (FIGS. 1a-1b, p. 5052), comprising: a first photonics crystal section (PC1, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operable to out-couple light in a vertical direction (a laser emission direction, FIG. 1a); and a second photonics crystal section (PC2, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operable to produce in a horizontal direction (in-plane optical feedback perpendicular to the laser emission direction, FIG. 1a). INOUE does not disclose producing a photon-photon resonance in the horizontal direction. CN’221 discloses using multiple resonant cavities in a surface-emitting semiconductor laser to produce photon-photon resonance and increase modulation bandwidth (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the PCSEL of INOUE with configuring the second photonics crystal section to produce a photon-photon resonance as taught by CN’221 in order to increase modulation bandwidth while retaining the optical confinement and vertical emission characteristics of the photonic crystal laser.
Regarding claim 2, INOUE discloses the first photonics crystal section comprises a first etched pattern (PC1 comprises holes with different filling factors than that of PC2, FIG. 1b, p. 5052), and the second photonics crystal section comprises a second etched pattern that is different than the first etched pattern (FIG. 1b, p. 5052).
Regarding claim 3, INOUE discloses the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section are located at a same fabrication layer (FIGS. 1a-1b, p. 5052).
Regarding claim 4, INOUE discloses the laser device comprises: an epitaxy layer (P-cladding layer, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operably coupled to the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section.
Regarding claim 5, INOUE, as modified, discloses the laser device is a photon-photon resonance photonic crystal surface-emitting laser (PPR PCSEL) (see abstract of CN’221).
Regarding claim 6, INOUE discloses the laser device is a bottom-emitting laser (substrate-side emitting laser, FIG. 1a, p. 5052).
Regarding claim 7, INOUE discloses the laser device comprises: an active layer (Active layer, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operably coupled to the first photonics crystal section and the second photonics crystal section.
Regarding claim 8, INOUE discloses the laser device comprises: an epitaxy layer (N-cladding layer, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operably coupled to the active layer.
Regarding claim 9, INOUE discloses the laser device comprises: a reflector (P-electrode acts as a reflector, FIG. 1a, p. 5052) operably coupled to the epitaxy layer.
Regarding claim 10, INOUE, as modified, discloses the laser device comprises: a plurality of second photonics crystal sections (PC2 across both x/y axis, FIG. 1b, p. 5022), wherein: each second photonics crystal section is operable to produce a photon-photon resonance in a horizontal direction (see abstract of CN’221).
Regarding claims 11-20, same rejections as applied to claims 1-10 are maintained since the method claims 11- 20 contain substantially the same limitations as the product claims 1-10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NODA et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0131343 A1) discloses a 2D photonic-crystal surface-emitting laser comprising multiple photonic crystal sections similar to the claimed invention (see FIGS. 1-5).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828