DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Action is in response to the applicant's reply of 1/23/2026. In view of the applicant's amendments, and unless restated herein, the previously presented objections to the drawings, claims and specification, as well as all previously presented 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections, have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending. Claims 8, 9, and 11-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Beginning at page 20, the applicant argues, re the Section 112(a) rejection, that specification paragraph [0051] and Fig. 5 provide the required description of the fluid knife (claims 2 and 20). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Specification paragraph [0052] provides the only description of the fluid knife function, however, the depicted structure 514 is not shown to have any structure capable of providing such function, e.g., “sweeps the surface of the cover lens (512)”. It should be noted that Batarseh778 (discussed below re the Section 103 rejection of claim 2) discloses such a fluid knife 210 and cover lens 250 in his Fig. 4A, which, by comparison with the present Fig. 5, clearly shows a lack of fluid knife structure in the present application.
With regard to the remaining Section 103 rejections, the applicant’s arguments are directed to both claims 1 and 16, thus the examiner’s response will apply with respect to both claims.
Beginning at page 29, the applicant argues, with respect to both claims 1 and 16 that the new requirement as to the placement, type, and function of the measurement apparatus are not obvious from the examiner’s combination. The examiner respectfully disagrees. This argument, in part, disputes the examiner’s summary of Batarseh294’s paragraph [0060]. The examiner respectfully disagrees, in that the examiner’s summary is accurate, i.e., varying pressure depending on a “desired” flow pattern, is equivalent to the examiner’s summary portion “to achieve a desired flow pattern”. In this regard, it should be noted that the applicant’s quote supports the rejection, as well. Batarseh294’s using the broadly stated measurement devices of paragraph [0031] for achieving various desired flow patterns of paragraph [0060] by varying gas input pressure supports the inclusion and positioning of the claimed measurement devices in the combination.
At the first full paragraph on page 30, the applicant further argues that Batarseh694 does not disclose “actively controlling variations in the flow rate of the gas input to the tool purging head 100”. This activity is not claimed in any claim, however, Batarseh694 indisputably discloses varying the purging gas pressures to achieve desired gas flow patterns, and the operator would benefit from having all dynamic information concerning the purging gas, which would include both flow rates and pressures, since those conditions are both indicative of the gas flow pattern. This is an expected use of the information, such that Batarseh294 acquires significantly more benefit from measurement devices including a gas flow rate sensor/meter than merely using such information in a debris-cleaning process, which is the applicant’s contention. In response to applicant's argument, in this regard, that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Batarseh294’s broad suggestion to provide measurement equipment necessary to vary the dynamic purging gas parameters to achieve targeted flow patterns forms ample bases for the use of these various measurement devices in the Batarseh294 system, without using knowledge obtained from the applicant’s disclosure.
Further arguments in this regard begin on page 30 and address Skinner and Moxley. The examiner’s combination does not rely on these references with respect to the newly required measurements devices discussed in the foregoing.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (page 32), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, and as mentioned above, Batarseh294’s broad suggestion to provide measurement equipment necessary to vary the dynamic purging gas parameters to achieve targeted flow patterns forms ample bases for the use of these various measurement devices in the Batarseh294 system.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims 2-7 and 17-20 rise or fall based on the outcome of the foregoing arguments regarding claims 1 and 16.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “deployment device” in claim 16. The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, is that numbered 206 in specification paragraph [0037].
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fluid knife (claims 2 and 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See the related Section 112(a) rejections in this regard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 20 The drawings do not depict any structure performing the claimed function of a fluid knife and the specification merely includes a statement of function, without structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh et al. (US20210285294) [Batarseh294], in view of Skinner et al. (US20060102343) [Skinner] and Moxley et al. (US20100044103) [Moxley].
Claim 1 Batarseh294 discloses a laser tunnelling system 1 in a wellbore 4 [Figs. 1-5B; abstract; para. 0030-0035], the system comprising:
a laser generation unit 30,100 configured to generate a laser beam 60 [Figs. 1,2; para. 0032];
a downhole tool 30,100 [Fig. 1]; and
a fiber optic cable 20 coupled to the laser generation unit and configured to convey the laser beam to the downhole tool [Fig. 1; para. 0030,0032,0038];
wherein the downhole tool comprises:
a laser head 30 that receives the laser beam, the laser head comprising:
a laser muzzle [at least a portion of 100] positioned to emit the laser beam from the laser head [Figs. 1,2];
a purging nozzle [at least a portion of 100; e.g., coaxial flow assembly 110 (with or without helical flow assembly 130)] proximate to the laser muzzle [e.g., both being integrated into structure 100] and configured to discharge a pressurized gas [Figs. 1,2; abstract; para. 0060-0065];
a pressure sensor [para. 0031], wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressure signal of the pressurized gas [para. 0031];
Batarseh294 further discloses varying the purging gas input pressure to achieve a desired flow pattern including pressure ranges in this regard [para. 0060], a motion system [at least motor 32], e.g., for vertically adjusting and/or rotating the laser tool [para. 0046,0049,0033], and that the downhole pressure sensor, a downhole temperature sensor, and “other sensors” are at least used for at identifying problems with the laser tool, leading, in some cases, to changing the operation by taking responsive, damage-preventing, corrective action [para. 0031], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (1) that the laser tunnelling system is for in-situ permeability measurements, (2) a separate purging nozzle and laser muzzle, (3) a gas flow rate meter disposed adjacent to the laser muzzle, (4) that and the gas flow rate meter is configured to measure a flow rate of the pressurized gas, the gas flow rate meter is configured to measure a flow rate of the pressurized gas, (5) that the pressure sensor is disposed adjacent to the laser muzzle, (6) a seal pad adjacent to the laser muzzle, and (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Accordingly, the stated use for in-situ permeability determination is given no patentable weight.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have an integrated purging nozzle and laser muzzle, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Since Batarseh294 further discloses varying the purging gas input pressure to achieve a desired flow pattern including pressure ranges in this regard [para. 0060], a motion system [at least motor 32], e.g., for vertically adjusting and/or rotating the laser tool [para. 0046,0049,0033], and that the downhole pressure sensor, a downhole temperature sensor, and “other sensors” are at least used for identifying problems with the laser tool [para. 0031], it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to position a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a gas flow rate sensor/meter adjacent the laser muzzle to monitor the flow rate and pressure signals of the pressurized gas as part of the desired varying of the gas flow pressure, such sensors and such sensors positioning being suitable for such monitoring and gas flow varying. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that downhole conditions would be monitored, e.g., at the laser muzzle, such muzzle being proximate the location of the exiting pressurized purging gas.
Batarseh294, as modified, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (6) a seal pad adjacent to the laser muzzle, and (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
Skinner discloses a laser tunnelling system 20 having horizontally projecting laser equipment 90 with a seal pad 92 to at least partially seal with the wall [Fig. 13; para. 0087,0047,0048].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to include a seal pad at the end of the horizontally projecting laser equipment [e.g., without limitation, tube 118]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the laser beam’s encounter with the formation would be sealed from, e.g., conditions in the surrounding wellbore.
Batarseh294, as modified, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
In addition to the above-referenced desired movability of the laser head of Batarseh294, Skinner also discloses configuring the laser head such that the beam may be directed with multiple degrees of directional freedom, e.g., about three axes [Figs. 5A-5C; para. 0065,0067-0071].
Moxley discloses using a gimbal 3005 in a configuration for achieving desired laser beam directions with respect to the x, y, and z axes, e.g., motion about the z-axis to target points in a plane established by the x and y axes [Fig. 30; para. 0221].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to utilize a three-axis gimbal in a configuration enabling moveability of the laser beam disclosed by Batarseh294, as well as, the multiple degrees of directional freedom disclosed by Skinner. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that all downhole points would be targetable.
Claim 6 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the purging nozzle is configured to remove dust from a path of the laser beam and cool down the laser head during operation of the laser beam [abstract; para. 0003,0034,0050,0057].
Claim 16 As discussed with respect to claim 1, Batarseh294 discloses a system in a wellbore 4 [Figs. 1-5B; abstract; para. 0030-0035], the system comprising:
a laser tunnelling system 1, comprising:
a laser generation unit 30,100 configured to generate a laser beam 60 [Figs. 1,2; para. 0032];
a downhole tool 30,100 [Fig. 1]; and
a fiber optic cable 20 coupled to the laser generation unit and configured to convey the laser beam to the downhole tool [Fig. 1; para. 0030,0032,0038];
wherein the downhole tool comprises:
a laser head 30 that receives the laser beam, the laser head comprising:
a laser muzzle [at least a portion of 100] positioned to emit the laser beam from the laser head [Figs. 1,2];
a purging nozzle [at least a portion of 100; e.g., coaxial flow assembly 110 (with or without helical flow assembly 130)] proximate to the laser muzzle [e.g., both being integrated into structure 100] and configured to discharge a pressurized gas [Figs. 1,2; abstract; para. 0060-0065];
a pressure sensor [para. 0031], wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressure signal of the pressurized gas [para. 0031]; and
a deployment device 42 configured to convey the downhole tool into the wellbore [Fig. 1; para. 0046].
Batarseh294 further discloses varying the purging gas input pressure to achieve a desired flow pattern including pressure ranges in this regard [para. 0060], a motion system [at least motor 32], e.g., for vertically adjusting and/or rotating the laser tool [para. 0046,0049,0033], and that the downhole pressure sensor, a downhole temperature sensor, and “other sensors” are at least used for at identifying problems with the laser tool, leading, in some cases, to changing the operation by taking responsive, damage-preventing, corrective action [para. 0031], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (1) that the laser tunnelling system is for in-situ permeability measurements, (2) a separate purging nozzle and laser muzzle, (3) a gas flow rate meter disposed adjacent to the laser muzzle, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressure signal of the pressurized gas , (4) that and the gas flow rate meter is configured to measure a flow rate of the pressurized gas, the gas flow rate meter is configured to measure a flow rate of the pressurized gas, (5) that the pressure sensor is disposed adjacent to the laser muzzle, (6) a seal pad adjacent to the laser muzzle, and (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Accordingly, the stated use for in-situ permeability determination is given no patentable weight.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have an integrated purging nozzle and laser muzzle, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Since Batarseh294 further discloses varying the purging gas input pressure to achieve a desired flow pattern including pressure ranges in this regard [para. 0060], a motion system [at least motor 32], e.g., for vertically adjusting and/or rotating the laser tool [para. 0046,0049,0033], and that the downhole pressure sensor, a downhole temperature sensor, and “other sensors” are at least used for identifying problems with the laser tool [para. 0031], it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to position a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a gas flow rate sensor/meter adjacent the laser muzzle to monitor the flow rate and pressure signals of the pressurized gas as part of the desired varying of the gas flow pressure, such sensors and such sensors’ positioning being suitable for such monitoring and gas flow varying. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that downhole conditions would be monitored, e.g., at the laser muzzle, such muzzle being proximate the location of the exiting pressurized purging gas.
Batarseh294, as modified, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (6) a seal pad adjacent to the laser muzzle, and (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
Skinner discloses a laser tunnelling system 20 having horizontally projecting laser equipment 90 with a seal pad 92 to at least partially seal with the wall [Fig. 13; para. 0087,0047,0048].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to include a seal pad at the end of the horizontally projecting laser equipment [e.g., without limitation, tube 118]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the laser beam’s encounter with the formation would be sealed from, e.g., conditions in the surrounding wellbore.
Batarseh294, as modified, otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose (7) a 3-axis gimbal from which the laser head is mounted.
In addition to the above-referenced desired movability of the laser head of Batarseh294, Skinner also discloses configuring the laser head such that the beam may be directed with multiple degrees of directional freedom, e.g., about three axes [Figs. 5A-5C; para. 0065,0067-0071].
Moxley discloses using a gimbal 3005 in a configuration for achieving desired laser beam directions with respect to the x, y, and z axes, e.g., motion about the z-axis to target points in a plane established by the x and y axes [Fig. 30; para. 0221].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to utilize a three-axis gimbal in a configuration enabling moveability of the laser beam disclosed by Batarseh294, as well as, the multiple degrees of directional freedom disclosed by Skinner. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that all downhole points would be targetable.
Claim 18 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 16, discloses that the deployment device is coiled tubing [para. 0048].
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh294, in view of Skinner and Moxley, and further in view of Batarseh et al. (US20140360778) [Batarseh778].
Claim 2 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses a temperature sensor adjacent to the laser muzzle and configured to determine a temperature of the pressurized gas [as discussed with respect to the sensors of the claim 1 combination], and an optical element that “may direct, collimate, focus, defocus, or otherwise manipulate the direction or geometry of the laser beam 60 prior to output” [para. 0034], the optical element comprising “two or more components, such as a crystal, a lens, a mirror, a prism, a cube, a cylinder, or a cone” [para. 0055], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the laser head further comprises:
a first cover lens configured to protect the laser head;
a fluid knife proximate to the laser muzzle side of the first cover lens and configured to sweep the first cover lens;
a second cover lens positioned proximate to the first cover lens between the first cover lens and the fluid knife; and
a vacuum nozzle proximate to the laser muzzle and configured to collect dust and vapor from a path of the laser beam.
Batarseh778 discloses laser heads 35 in overlapping embodiments [Figs. 4A,4B], having a first cover lens 250,270 [para. 0062] configured to protect the laser head [para. 0055,0062];
a fluid knife 210 proximate to the laser muzzle side of the first cover lens and configured to sweep the first cover lens [para. 0055,0056,0060];
a second cover lens 260 positioned proximate to the first cover lens between the first cover lens and the fluid knife [Figs. 4A,4B; para. 0062]; and
a vacuum nozzle 230 proximate to the laser muzzle and configured to collect dust and vapor from a path of the laser beam [Figs. 4A,4B; para. 0055,0058-0060],
and further discloses a laser muzzle 45 and temperature sensor 240, both positioned and configured in a manner corresponding to the laser muzzle and temperature sensor discussed in the claim 1 combination [Fig. 3; para. 0042,0044,0046,0047].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to utilize a laser muzzle and contiguous optical element with accompanying structures corresponding to those of Batarseh778, i.e., having the first and second cover lenses, fluid knife, and vacuum nozzle, positioned proximate a laser muzzle with a temperature sensor, as well as, a vacuum nozzle, as disclosed by Batarseh778. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that proper preparation of the laser beam would be provided, along with means for cleaning optical components and purging/collecting dust and vapors to enhance the performance of the laser beam.
Claim 4 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses that the “optical element” “may direct, collimate, focus, defocus, or otherwise manipulate the direction or geometry of the laser beam 60 prior to output” [para. 0034], the optical element comprising “two or more components, such as a crystal, a lens, a mirror, a prism, a cube, a cylinder, or a cone” [para. 0055], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly delineate, with respect to such focusing, collimating, and manipulating functions, a collimating system configured to collimate the laser beam, comprising: a focusing lens configured to create a focused laser beam; a collimator positioned to receive the focused laser beam and configured to create a collimated laser beam; and a beam manipulator configured to direct the collimated laser beam.
Batarseh778 discloses the same functions and delineates a collimating system configured to collimate the laser beam, comprising: a focusing lens 120 configured to create a focused laser beam; a collimator 130 positioned to receive the focused laser beam and configured to create a collimated laser beam; and a beam manipulator 105 configured to direct the collimated laser beam [Fig. 4A; abstract; para. 0009,0014,0018,0050-0054].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to enable its collimating, focusing, and beam manipulation functions with the collimator, focus lens, and beam manipulator configuration disclosed by Batarseh778. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that known components for accomplishing such functions would be in place.
Claim 5 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 4, discloses that a beam size of the laser beam is controlled by the collimating system [e.g., a smaller diameter; para. 0054].
Claim 7 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 1, discloses a fiber optic cable 20 [para. 0030,0038] and that system 1 materials, generally, are resistant to wellbore temperatures and pressures [para. 0052], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose an insulation cable, the insulation cable comprising the fiber optic cable, wherein the insulation cable is selected to resist a high temperature and a high pressure.
Batarseh778 discloses an insulation cable, the insulation cable 70 comprising the fiber optic cable, wherein the insulation cable is selected to resist a high temperature and a high pressure [Fig. 4A; para. 0009,0044,0049].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to enable its fiber optic cable protection by utilizing the insulation cable of Batarseh778. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the fiber optic cable would be protected from high temperatures and pressures.
Claim 17 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 16, discloses that the “optical element” “may direct, collimate, focus, defocus, or otherwise manipulate the direction or geometry of the laser beam 60 prior to output” [para. 0034], the optical element comprising “two or more components, such as a crystal, a lens, a mirror, a prism, a cube, a cylinder, or a cone” [para. 0055], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly delineate, with respect to such focusing, collimating, and manipulating functions, a collimating system configured to collimate the laser beam, comprising: a focusing lens configured to create a focused laser beam; a collimator positioned to receive the focused laser beam and configured to create a collimated laser beam; and a beam manipulator configured to direct the collimated laser beam.
Batarseh778 discloses the same functions and delineates a collimating system configured to collimate the laser beam, comprising: a focusing lens 120 configured to create a focused laser beam; a collimator 130 positioned to receive the focused laser beam and configured to create a collimated laser beam; and a beam manipulator 105 configured to direct the collimated laser beam [Fig. 4A; abstract; para. 0009,0014,0018,0050-0054].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to enable its collimating, focusing, and beam manipulation functions with the collimator, focus lens, and beam manipulator configuration disclosed by Batarseh778. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that known components for accomplishing such functions would be in place.
Claim 20 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 16, discloses a temperature sensor adjacent to the laser muzzle and configured to determine a temperature of the pressurized gas [as discussed with respect to the sensors of the claim 16 combination], and an optical element that “may direct, collimate, focus, defocus, or otherwise manipulate the direction or geometry of the laser beam 60 prior to output” [para. 0034], the optical element comprising “two or more components, such as a crystal, a lens, a mirror, a prism, a cube, a cylinder, or a cone” [para. 0055], and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the laser head further comprises:
a first cover lens configured to protect the laser head;
a fluid knife proximate to the laser muzzle side of the first cover lens and configured to sweep the first cover lens;
a second cover lens positioned proximate to the first cover lens between the first cover lens and the fluid knife; and
a vacuum nozzle proximate to the laser muzzle and configured to collect dust and vapor from a path of the laser beam.
Batarseh778 discloses laser heads 35 in overlapping embodiments [Figs. 4A,4B], having a first cover lens 250,270 [para. 0062] configured to protect the laser head [para. 0055,0062];
a fluid knife 210 proximate to the laser muzzle side of the first cover lens and configured to sweep the first cover lens [para. 0055,0056,0060];
a second cover lens 260 positioned proximate to the first cover lens between the first cover lens and the fluid knife [Figs. 4A,4B; para. 0062]; and
a vacuum nozzle 230 proximate to the laser muzzle and configured to collect dust and vapor from a path of the laser beam [Figs. 4A,4B; para. 0055,0058-0060],
and further discloses a laser muzzle 45 and temperature sensor 240, both positioned and configured in a manner corresponding to the laser muzzle and temperature sensor discussed in the claim 1 combination [Fig. 3; para. 0042,0044,0046,0047].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to utilize a laser muzzle and contiguous optical element with accompanying structures corresponding to those of Batarseh778, i.e., having the first and second cover lenses, fluid knife, and vacuum nozzle, positioned proximate a laser muzzle with a temperature sensor, as well as, a vacuum nozzle, as disclosed by Batarseh778. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that proper preparation of the laser beam would be provided, along with means for cleaning optical components and purging/collecting dust and vapors to enhance the performance of the laser beam.
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh294, in view of Skinner, Moxley, and Batarseh778, and further in view of Zediker et al. (WO2013019959) [Zediker].
Claim 3 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 2, discloses a rotation joint configured to rotate the laser head over a first degree of freedom and a tilt joint configured to tilt the laser head over a third degree of freedom, and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the 3-axis gimbal comprises: a pivot joint and a pivot arm configured to pivot the laser head over a second degree of freedom.
Zediker discloses a downhole laser tool 3000 wherein a pivot arm 3008 and joint providing a pivot for directing the laser beam 3009 [Fig. 30; para. 00263,00167].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to include a pivot arm as part of the 3-axis gimbal configured to pivot the laser head over a second degree of freedom, as disclosed by Zedicke. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the pivot arm would provide a known method for pivoting a laser head in a well.
Claim 19 Batarseh294, as modified with respect to claim 16, discloses a rotation joint configured to rotate the laser head over a first degree of freedom and a tilt joint configured to tilt the laser head over a third degree of freedom, and otherwise discloses all the limitations of this claim, but does not explicitly disclose that the 3-axis gimbal comprises: a pivot joint and a pivot arm configured to pivot the laser head over a second degree of freedom.
Zediker discloses a downhole laser tool 3000 wherein a pivot arm 3008 and joint providing a pivot for directing the laser beam 3009 [Fig. 30; para. 00263,00167].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the apparatus and methods of Batarseh294, as modified, to include a pivot arm as part of the 3-axis gimbal configured to pivot the laser head over a second degree of freedom, as disclosed by Zedicke. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that this combination of prior art elements and techniques would have been within the skill of the art and would successfully yield and achieve the expected and predictable result that the pivot arm would provide a known method for pivoting a laser head in a well.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, and 11-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In combination with the other limitations of claim 8, the differences between the now required placement, type, and use of sensors and the Le sensors 56, Le being previously referenced in support of the determination of permeability of a zone. Batarseh294 does not disclose permeability determination from sensor measurements. Lagus et al. (US4353240) discloses determining reservoir permeability using temperature, injected, regulated, and pressured gas, and pressure measurements [Figs 1,3; abstract], but does not disclose the required sensors in association with a laser-based system. Schulz et al. (US20100326659) discloses a laser generation system having a laser head for making sealed tunnels/perforation, the laser head having at least three degrees of freedom [Figs. 1-3,6A-6C], but does not disclose the required sensors. Sampson et al. (US20170167233) discloses the advantages of perforations having a larger entrance diameter [Fig. 1; abstract; para. 0027], but does not disclose the required sensors. Price (US4227582) discloses laser perforating through a seal pad 60 [Fig. 1], but does not disclose the required sensors.
Claims 9 and 11-15 depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE S GRAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676