Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112447559A.
Regarding claim 1, CN’559 teaches (see Fig 8 and English translation on pages 7-8) an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising: an outer cup (outer peripheral wall 29) having a treatment space with an open top; a support unit (2) for supporting a substrate in the treatment space; a guide cup (inner peripheral wall 33) disposed in the treatment space and arranged to surround the support unit (2); a liquid supply unit (liquid nozzle 7) for supplying a treatment liquid to a top surface of the substrate supported by the support unit; and a trap ring (41) disposed in a gap between the guide cup (33) and the outer cup (29) to capture the treatment liquid flowing through the gap, wherein the trap ring (intercepting ring 41) is formed with an exhaust hole (exhaust pipe 38) through which gas flowing through the gap passes, and the trap ring (41) has a capture space for capturing the treatment liquid on a top surface thereof (see English Translation on page 10).
As to claim 2, CN’559 teaches the trap ring includes: a first sidewall (27A); and a second sidewall, and the first sidewall (27A) is positioned more adjacent to the outer cup (29) than the second sidewall, and the capture space is provided as a space between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (see Figs 8 and 9a-9b for V-shaped groove 27 A).
As to claim 3, in CN’559 the first sidewall is provided to be away from the outer cup (29) as the first sidewall goes downwardly (see Fig 9b).
Regarding claim 4, in CN’559 the second sidewall (27A) is provided to be away from the guide cup (33) as the second sidewall (83) goes downwardly (see Figs 8 and 9a-9b).
As to claim 5, CN’559 teaches the first sidewall (27A) is provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the outer cup (29), and the second sidewall (27) is provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the guide cup (33).
Regarding claim 6, CN’559 teaches a bottom end of the first sidewall and a bottom end of the second sidewall are in contact with each other (see Figs 8-10).
As to claim 7, in CN’559 at least one of the first sidewall (27A) or the second sidewall is formed with the exhaust hole (exhaust pipe 38).
As to claim 9, in CN’559 an inclination angle of the first sidewall (27A) and an inclination angle of the second sidewall (27A) with respect to an axis perpendicular to the ground are the same (see Fig 9).
Regarding claim 14, in CN’559 the photosensitive liquid can have a viscosity of 1000 cP or more (see English translation on page 9).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Uemura (US 2019/0067043A1).
Regarding claim 1, Uemura teaches (see Fig 1) an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising: an outer cup (cup body 19 with a guide portion 24) having a treatment space with an open top; a support unit (spin chuck 11) for supporting a substrate in the treatment space; a guide cup (guide portion 21) disposed in the treatment space and arranged to surround the support unit (11); a liquid supply unit (liquid nozzle 4) for supplying a treatment liquid to a top surface of the substrate supported by the support unit; and a trap ring (collecting member 6) disposed in a gap between the guide cup (21) and the outer cup (19) to capture the treatment liquid flowing through the gap, wherein the trap ring (6) is formed with an exhaust hole (exhaust duct 8) through which gas flowing through the gap passes, and the trap ring (41) has a capture space for capturing the treatment liquid on a top surface thereof (see Fig 1).
As to claim 2, Uemura teaches (see Figs 1 and 3) the trap ring (collecting member 6) includes: a first sidewall (outer ring 62 with portion 24); and a second sidewall (inner ring 61 with portion 21), and the first sidewall (62) is positioned more adjacent to the outer cup (19) than the second sidewall, and the capture space is provided as a space between the first sidewall (62) and the second sidewall (61).
As to claim 3, Uemura discloses the first sidewall (62) provided to be away from the outer cup (19) as the first sidewall goes downwardly (see Fig 3 for downward sloping portion 24).
Regarding claim 4, Uemura teaches the second sidewall (61) provided to be away from the guide cup (21) as the second sidewall (61) goes downwardly (see Fig 3 for downward sloping portion 21).
As to claim 5, the first sidewall (ring 62 with portion 24) is provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the outer cup (19), and the second sidewall
(inner ring 61 with portion 21) is provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the guide cup (21, see Fig 4).
As to claim 7, Uemura teaches at least one of the first sidewall or the second sidewall is formed with the exhaust hole (see Fig 4).
As to claim 9, Uemura teaches (see Fig 3) an inclination angle of the first sidewall and an inclination angle of the second sidewall with respect to an axis perpendicular to the ground are capable of being the same (see Fig 3).
Regarding claim 10, Uemura teaches (see Fig 6) a ring cleaning unit (solvent nozzle 7) capable of supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring (6).
As to claim 11, in Uemura teaches (see Figs 1 and 3-4) the guide cup (19) includes: a top wall (24) provided with a downward slope in a direction toward the outer cup; and an outer wall (24) extending downwardly from the top wall, the outer cup (19) includes a sidewall (22) provided parallel to a perpendicular direction, the trap ring (6) is positioned between the outer wall (24) and the sidewall (22), and the ring cleaning unit (7) further includes a ring cleaning nozzle for supplying a cleaning liquid to the top wall (see Fig 6).
Regarding claim 12, Uemura teaches the outer cup (19) includes: a bottom wall (drain port 27) extending inwardly from the sidewall to provide a discharge space for liquid at a lower portion of the guide cup (21); and a discharge hole (exhaust path 25) connected with the discharge space to discharge the liquid, and the outer wall (24) is provided in a position opposite the discharge hole (25).
As to claim 13, in Uemura the treatment liquid is a photosensitive liquid, and the cleaning liquid is a thinner (solvent capable of being thinner).
Regarding claim 14, in Uemura the photosensitive liquid capable of having a viscosity of 1000 cP or more (see para [0029] for a viscosity of, e.g., 5,000 cP).
As to claim 15, Uemura (see Fig 1) an apparatus for applying a resist liquid onto a substrate (W), the apparatus comprising: an outer cup (31) having a treatment space with an open top; a support unit for supporting and rotating a substrate in the treatment space; a guide cup (21) disposed in the treatment space, and arranged to surround the support unit (2); a liquid supply unit (4) for supplying a resist liquid to a top surface of the substrate (W) supported by the support unit; a trap ring (6) disposed in a gap between the guide cup (33) and the outer cup (29) to capture the treatment liquid flowing through the gap; and a ring cleaning unit (7) for supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring (41), wherein the trap ring (6) includes: a first sidewall (outer ring 62 with portion 24) provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the outer cup; and a second sidewall (inner ring 61 with portion 21) provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the guide cup, a capture space is formed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall to capture the resist liquid that has been scattered from the substrate, and an exhaust hole (exhaust duct 8) is formed in at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall through which gas flowing through the gap passes.
As to claim 16, in CN559 the cleaning liquid is thinner (solvent capable of being thinner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112447559A in view of Uemura (US 2019/0067043A1).
As to claims 10, 13 and 15-18, CN’559 teaches (see Fig 1) an apparatus for applying a resist liquid onto a substrate, the apparatus comprising: an outer cup (29) having a treatment space with an open top; a support unit (2) for supporting and rotating a substrate (W) in the treatment space; a guide cup (33) disposed in the treatment space, and arranged to surround the support unit; a liquid supply unit (coating liquid nozzle 7) for supplying a resist liquid to a top surface of the substrate supported by the support unit (2); a trap ring (41) disposed in a gap between the guide cup (33) and the outer cup (29) to capture the treatment liquid flowing through the gap; and, wherein the trap ring (41) includes: a first sidewall (26) provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the outer cup (29); and a second sidewall (27A) provided with a downward slope in a direction away from the guide cup (33), a capture space is formed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall to capture the resist liquid that has been scattered from the substrate (see Fig 9a-9b), and an exhaust hole (38) is formed in at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall through which gas flowing through the gap passes. CN’559 lacks teaching a ring cleaning unit including an intermediate nozzle for supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring. However, Uemura teaches (see Fig 6) a ring cleaning unit including a nozzle (7) for supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring (41), wherein the cleaning liquid is capable of being a thinner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a ring cleaning unit in CN’559 to prevent clogging of the exhaust passage.
As to claims 11, 12 and 19, CN’559 teaches (see Figs 1 and 9) an apparatus for treating a substrate, the apparatus comprising: an outer cup (29) having a treatment space with an open top; a support unit (2) for supporting a substrate in the treatment space; a guide cup (33) disposed in the treatment space and arranged to surround the support unit; a liquid supply unit (coating liquid nozzle 7) for supplying a treatment liquid to a top surface of the substrate supported by the support unit; a trap ring (41) disposed in a gap between the guide cup and the outer cup to capture the treatment liquid flowing through the gap; and, wherein the guide cup (33) includes: a top wall (21) provided with a downward slope in a direction toward the outer cup (see portion 26); and an outer wall (25) extending downwardly from the top wall, and the outer cup (29) includes: a sidewall (29B) provided parallel to the outer wall (25); and a bottom wall (29B) extending from the sidewall (29B) in a direction toward the guide cup, the bottom wall (29B) is formed with a discharging pipe (PT1) for discharging the treatment liquid and the cleaning liquid, and an exhaust pipe (38) for exhausting the treatment space, the outer wall (25) is provided in a position opposite the discharge hole, and the bottom wall (29B) is provided with a downward slope toward the discharge hole (PT3), the trap ring (41) includes: a first sidewall (27A); and a second sidewall (27A), the first sidewall (27A) is positioned more adjacent to the outer cup (29) than the second sidewall, and a bottom end of the first sidewall (27A) and a bottom end of the second sidewall are in contact with each other to provide a capture space for capturing the treatment liquid, and each of the first sidewall (27A) and the second sidewall is formed with an exhaust hole (PT2, PT3) through which gas flowing through the gap passes. CN’559 lacks teaching a ring cleaning unit including an intermediate nozzle for supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring. However, Uemura teaches (see Fig 6) a ring cleaning unit including a nozzle (7) for supplying a cleaning liquid to clean the trap ring (41), wherein the cleaning liquid is capable of being a thinner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a ring cleaning unit in CN’559 to prevent clogging of the exhaust passage.
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claim 8, CN’559 teaches (see Figs 8-10) protrusion portions (101, 121). However, these portions are not provided on the sidewall of the trap ring (see Figs 8-10 for protrusions 101, 121 provided on the sidewall of the outer cup). Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus for treating a substate, comprising, among others, an outer cup, a support unit, a guide cup, a liquid supply unit, a trap ring, wherein the trap ring is formed with an exhaust hole, and the trap ring has a capture space, wherein the trap ring arranged as claimed (see claim 2) with a firs sidewall, a second sidewall, wherein an outer protrusion extending from a top end of the first sidewall in a direction toward the outer cup and coupled to the outer cup; and an inner protrusion extending from a top end of the second sidewall in a direction toward the guide cup, and coupled to the guide cup. (per claim 8). As to claim 20, prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus for treating a substate, comprising, among others, an outer cup, a support unit, a guide cup, a liquid supply unit, a trap ring, wherein the trap ring is formed with an exhaust hole, and the trap ring has a capture space, where the guide cup with a top wall provided with a downward slope in a direction toward the outer cup, the outer cup and the trap ring arranged as claimed (see claim 19), wherein the top wall is formed with a retention groove defined by a first wall, a second wall spaced from the first wall in a direction from the guide cup toward the outer cup, and a bottom surface extending from the first wall and the second wall, a height of the first wall is provided to be higher than a height of the second wall, the retention grooves are provided in a plurality in a ring shape along a circumferential direction of the top wall, the retention groove includes: a first retention groove; and a second retention groove spaced from the first retention groove in a direction from the first retention groove toward the outer cup, a bottom surface of the first retention groove is provided at a higher position than a bottom surface of the second retention groove, and an outer surface of the outer wall is provided with at least two guide grooves formed downwardly from a bottom end of the top wall.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/