DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered 9/18/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 52-71 are pending.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 52, 57-60, 62 and 67-70 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 17 and 19 of conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2 and claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16 and 18 of conflicting Patent No. 11,443,488 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 52 of the pending application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 of the conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2 and 11,443,488 B2. That is, claim 1 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 1 of the conflicting applications. Also the corresponding dependent claims are identically the same. Look below for example.
Table 1 illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2
1
1
3
1 & 7
9
Conflicting Patent No. 11,443,488 B2
1
1
4
1 & 7
9
Pending Application 18/739696
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
Conflicting Patent No.
10,719,988 B2
11
11
13
11 and 17
19
Conflicting Patent No. 11,443,488 B2
10
10
13
10 and 16
18
Pending Application 18/739696
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
Table 2 illustrates a mapping between the limitations claim 52 of the pending application and claim 1 of the conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2. Claim 62 of pending application and claim 11 in the conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2 and claim 10 in the conflicting Patent No. 11,443,488 B2, respectively, are analyzed similarly. Additionally, the dependent claims are analyzed similarly.
Conflicting Patent No. 10,719,988 B2
Claim 1 of Conflicting Application
Serial Number (18/739696)
Claim 1 of Pending Application
1. A method for displaying information about media content using augmented reality, the method comprising:
retrieving using control circuitry, from a media database, information associated with a media asset;
generating using the control circuitry a non-augmented reality display of the information associated with the media asset;
retrieving using the control circuitry, from the media database, additional information associated with the media asset based on a user preference for a respective user of an augmented reality device;
providing using the control circuitry, in a plurality of augmented reality devices, an augmented reality display of the information associated with the media asset, wherein the augmented reality display in each respective one of the plurality of augmented reality devices comprises the respective additional information associated with the media asset based on the respective user preference of the respective user accessing one of the plurality of augmented reality devices;
analyzing, using the control circuitry, the additional information provided for each of the respective users of the plurality of the augmented reality devices to identify a common element among the additional information provided in the plurality of the augmented reality devices;
selecting, using the control circuitry, the common element of the additional information, the common element provided for at least two of the respective users of the plurality of augmented reality devices;
receiving, using the control circuitry, a plurality of interactions with the information associated with the media asset or the additional information associated with the media asset from any of the respective users of the plurality of augmented reality devices;
detecting, using the control circuitry, a common interaction among the plurality of interactions; and
updating, using the control circuitry, the non-augmented reality display of information based on the common element of the additional information and the common interaction.
52. (New) A method comprising:
generating, at a display device, a non-augmented reality display of a media asset;
generating, on an augmented reality device, an augmented reality display of the media asset, the media asset displayed on the augmented reality device comprising a plurality of interactive objects;
detecting user interaction with an interactive object of the plurality of interactive objects of the media asset, the user interaction occurring at the augmented reality device; based at least in part on the user interaction, retrieving, from a database, additional information associated with the interactive object based on a user profile associated with the augmented reality device; and
updating the non-augmented reality display of information based on the detected user interaction to include the additional information associated with the interactive object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52, 54-57, 62 and 64-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20190118099 A1 to Payzer in view of US Pub. No. 20170262154 A1 to Black.
As to claim 52 and 62, Payzer discloses a method comprising:
generating, at a display device, a non-augmented reality display of a media asset (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0039, 0052-0054, 0057, generating a non-augmented reality display of a plurality of information associated with a plurality of objects on a plurality of remote viewing devices);
generating, on an augmented reality device, an augmented reality display of the media asset, the media asset displayed on the augmented reality device comprising a plurality of interactive objects (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, generating a plurality of GUI interface of the plurality of information provided to the viewers of the remote viewing devices including augmented reality computers);
detecting user interaction with an interactive object of the plurality of interactive objects of the media asset, the user interaction occurring at the augmented reality device (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, receiving a plurality of viewer selections on the GUI interface of the augmented reality computers);
updating the non-augmented reality display of information based on the detected user interaction to include the additional information associated with the interactive object (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, updating on a plurality of the remote viewing devices including desktop computer based on the plurality of GUI interface and votes).
Payzer does not expressly disclose based at least in part on the user interaction, retrieving, from a database, additional information associated with the interactive object based on a user profile associated with the augmented reality device.
Black discloses based at least in part on the user interaction, retrieving, from a database, additional information associated with the interactive object based on a user profile associated with the augmented reality device (Black Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, ¶0040, 0052, 0070, 0095-0097, based on the user interaction with selecting the tags/items, receive from server, access to the content associated with the selected tag/item based on the user account information with permission access associated with the HMD device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Payzer by based at least in part on the user interaction, retrieving, from a database, additional information associated with the interactive object based on a user profile associated with the augmented reality device as disclosed by Black. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide access to content according to the users account upon the user selection of the item thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 54 and 64, Payzer discloses wherein the augmented reality device is at a location different from where the non-augmented reality display is located (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0039, 0052-0054, 0057, remote viewing devices in different locations in the network, e.g. WAN, LAN).
As to claim 55 and 65, Payzer discloses wherein the non-augmented reality display of the media asset includes the plurality of interactive objects, the method further comprising:
detecting user interaction, at the non-augmented reality display, with a second interactive object of the plurality of interactive objects (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, receiving a plurality of viewer selections on the GUI interface of the augmented reality computers);
retrieving, from the database, additional information associated with the second interactive object based on a user profile associated with the display device (Black Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, ¶0040, 0052, 0070, 0095-0097, based on the user interaction with selecting the tags/items, receive from server, access to the content associated with the selected tag/item based on the user account information with permission access associated with the HMD device); and
updating the augmented reality display of the media asset based on the detected user interaction to include the additional information associated with the second interactive object (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, updating on a plurality of the remote viewing devices including desktop computer based on the plurality of GUI interface and votes).
As to claim 56 and 66, Payzer discloses wherein the augmented reality device is a first augmented reality device of a plurality of augmented reality devices, the method further comprising:
detecting user interactions, with the plurality of augmented reality devices, with the plurality of interactive objects (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, receiving a plurality of viewer selections on the GUI interface of the augmented reality computers);
based on the detected user interactions with the plurality of interactive objects, determining that a majority of the plurality of augmented reality devices interacted with a particular object (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, providing the plurality of GUI interface of the plurality of information provided the plurality of viewers of the remote viewing devices including augmented reality computers that is identical to remote viewing device display 180’’ to vote);
retrieving, from the database, additional information associated with the particular object (Black Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, ¶0040, 0052, 0070, 0095-0097, based on the user interaction with selecting the tags/items, receive from server, access to the content associated with the selected tag/item based on the user account information with permission access associated with the HMD device); and
updating the non-augmented reality display of information based on the detected user interactions to include the additional information associated with the particular object (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, updating on a plurality of the remote viewing devices including desktop computer based on the plurality of GUI interface and votes).
As to claim 57 and 67, Payzer discloses wherein the augmented reality device is a first augmented reality device of a plurality of augmented reality devices, the method further comprising: determining a common element of the additional information provided for any of the plurality of augmented reality devices (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, determining a plurality of GUI interface of the plurality of information provided to the viewers of the remote viewing devices including augmented reality computers); and updating the non-augmented reality display of information based on the common element of the additional information (Payzer Fig. 1, 2, ¶0021, 0029, 0031, 0036, 0040, 0052-0054, 0057, updating on a plurality of the remote viewing devices including desktop computer based on the plurality of GUI interface and votes).
Claims 53 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20190118099 A1 to Payzer in view of US Pub. No. 20170262154 A1 to Black and in further view of US Pub. No. 20110138416 A1 to Kang.
As to claim 53 and 63, Payzer and Black do not expressly disclose wherein the media asset comprises program listings.
Kang discloses wherein the media asset comprises program listings (Kang ¶0026, 0175, EPG).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Payzer and Black by wherein the media asset comprises program listings as disclosed by Kang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a listing of programs on the display that allows the user to see program of interest thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 60 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20190118099 A1 to Payzer in view of US Pub. No. 20170262154 A1 to Black and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20160366464 A1 to Rouady.
As to claim 60 and 70, Payzer and Black do not expressly disclose generating a picture-in-picture window in the non-augmented reality display, the picture-in- picture window overlaying a main display, and comprising the additional information associated with the interactive object.
Rouady discloses generating a picture-in-picture window in the non-augmented reality display, the picture-in- picture window overlaying a main display, and comprising the additional information associated with the interactive object (Rouady Fig. 9-12, ¶0074-0077, generating interactive overlay on the television the interactive overlay overlaying display 900 and includes time remaining information associated with 915, 920).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Payzer and Black by generating a picture-in-picture window in the non-augmented reality display, the picture-in- picture window overlaying a main display, and comprising the additional information associated with the interactive object as disclosed by Rouady. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide an overlay that allows the user to simultaneous view the content and additional information at the same time thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 61 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20190118099 A1 to Payzer in view of US Pub. No. 20170262154 A1 to Black and in further view of US Patent No. 8,910,201 B1 to Zamiska.
As to claim 61 and 71, Payzer and Black do not expressly disclose determining a relevance of the interactive object to a user of the augmented reality device.
Zamiska discloses determining a relevance of the interactive object to a user of the augmented reality device (Zamiska Fig. 2-5, col. 7, Il. 53-col. 8, Il. 14, col. 11, Il. 29-col. 12, Il. 16, most recent user preferences).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Payzer and Black by determining a relevance of the interactive object to a user of the augmented reality device as disclosed by Zamiska. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide the most relevant interactive objects for selection for the user thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 58, 59, 68 and 69 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 52-71 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2025 related to claims 52, 57-60, 62 and 67-70 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to Applicant's arguments:
Claims 52, 57-60, 62, and 67-70 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,719,988, and claims 1, 4, 7, 9-10, 13, 16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,443,488. Although Applicant respectfully disagrees and traverses these rejections, Applicant respectfully requests the Examiner to hold them in abeyance until Applicant receives an indication of allowability of an independent claim.
Examiners Response:
Although the claims have been amended, the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 52, 57-60, 62, and 67-70 are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 52-57, 60-67 and 70-71 have been rejected.
Claims 58, 59, 68 and 69 are objected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426