1. Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12-14 and 18, “a processor to” should chang, for example, the claim purports to have a processor that is configured to (a processor configured to:) perform the functional steps. However, pursuant to MPEP 2173.05(g), the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be unclear and indefinite to a person skilled in the art can understand exactly what is claimed. For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result. Therefore, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim.
For example , the claim 1 does not recite the particular structure or steps that accomplish the function of "storing", "acquiring” and “making a setting", as there is no link how the processor do the functions.
The limitations in claims 1, 12-14 and 18, “control the ventilation and the air condition” is ambiguous and vague. Without defining how the processor controls the ventilation and air conditioner, the claims do not sufficiently define the metes and bounds of the invention. Applicant requested to provide a clear and define claim language so that a person skilled in the art can understand claimed invention by explaining how the processor controls the ventilation and the air conditioner. Therefore, the claims 1, 12-14 and 18 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The term “minimum” in claims 4-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “minimum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction requested.
The term “maximum” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction requested.
In claims 1 and 4-7, the limitation of "can be" are recited. These phrases involve a broad limitations followed by narrow limitation—it is unclear whether the narrow limitation is further limiting or not. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131USPQ 74 (Bd.App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ481 (Bd. App. 1949).
The term “capability” in claims 1-2 and 4-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “capability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicants requested to provide a clear and define claim language so that a person skilled in the art can understand exactly what is claimed invention.
The term “larger” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “larger” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims 2-11, 15-17 and 19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend on and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of claims 1, 12-14 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.1 Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsu (US 20070125115 A1) in view of Yamamoto (WO 2015/174176 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsu discloses an air-conditioning system (An air conditioning system 10) comprising:
a ventilation device ([0026], [0037], the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation) including:
a compressor (the compressor (50);
a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a first air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from outdoors through the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchange 54) and then supply the air that has passed through the first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchange 55) to an indoor space ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere);
a second heat exchanger the outdoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator [0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a second air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from the indoor space through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) and then supply the air that has passed through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 54) to the outdoors ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere); and
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit 40) in which a refrigerant flows, the refrigerant circuit being connected to the compressor ([0004], [0082], [0084], the refrigeration cycle and raises the input to the compressor), the first heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger by a refrigerant pipe (abstract, A refrigerant circuit 40 is provided with two adsorption heat exchangers (56, 57) in addition to an outdoor heat exchanger (54) and an indoor heat exchanger 55);
an air-conditioner including:
a third heat exchanger configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0099], heat exchangers (56, 57) serving as an evaporator is supplied to the room while the air having passed through the other serving as a condenser is discharged to the outside atmosphere), and
an air-conditioning indoor device (the indoor unit 11) configured to take in air in the indoor space ([0008], inside a building), perform heat exchange on the taken in air with a refrigerant flowing through the third heat exchanger ([0008]-[0010],The air conditioning system includes a refrigerant circuit provided with a heat-source side outdoor heat exchanger and a utilization side indoor heat exchanger and runs a refrigeration cycle by circulating refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit), and exhaust the air that has undergone heat exchange to the indoor ([0008],[0026], the air conditioning system dehumidifies the room by setting the refrigerant evaporation temperature in the indoor heat exchanger below the dew point of the room air and condensing moisture in the room air, the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation. In other words, a so-called second-class ventilation takes place).
Matsu fails to disclose a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner, wherein the processor stores a first capability indicating a heat load that can be output by the ventilation device according to power consumption of the ventilation device and a second capability indicating a heat load that can be output by the air-conditioner according to power consumption of the air-conditioner, acquires a temperature of the indoor space , and makes a setting to cause the ventilation device and the air-conditioner to share a first heat load that needs to be adjusted in the indoor space calculated based on the temperature of the indoor space, according to the first capability and the second capability.
However, Yamamoto discloses a memory (page 4, par. 6, A storage device) storing one or more programs (Abstract, page 4, par. 6, a storage unit for storing measured data regarding air conditioning equipment operation), which when executed, cause the processor (page 6, par. 7, the computing device 2b is a device that computes a control command to the fan 2e, the valve 2f, etc., using data stored in the storage device 2a, and is a processor or the like) to:
control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner (page 4, par. 5, The ventilation control device of the present invention is a ventilation control device that determines an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility including a ventilation device and a plurality of air conditioners that air-condition the ventilation target area by the ventilation device for each zone), wherein the processor stores a first capability indicating a heat load that can be output by the ventilation device according to power consumption of the ventilation device (Abstract, a ventilator model for describing the relationship between the amount of ventilation and the power consumption of a ventilator) and a second capability indicating a heat load that can be output by the air-conditioner according to power consumption of the air-conditioner (Abstract, an air conditioner model for describing the relationship between the amount of heat processed and the power consumption of an air-conditioners);
acquires a temperature of the indoor space (page 9, par. 2, temperature acquisition targets are the air conditioners included in the area in which the ventilator), and
makes a setting to cause the ventilation device and the air-conditioner to share a first (page 4, Par. 6, page 11, par. 4-8, An air-conditioning load calculation unit that calculates, heat load a heat load for each zone from the ventilation load and the air-conditioning load) that needs to be adjusted in the indoor space calculated based on the temperature of the indoor space (page 7, par. 6, page 9, par. 2-8, the ventilation device 2 includes a temperature adjustment unit, set temperature of Formula is calculated from these acquired set temperatures, The room temperature of the an acquired from the operation measurement data of the ventilator when the ventilator measures the ambient temperature. When the ventilator is not measuring the ambient temperature, it is acquired from the operation measurement data of the air conditioner. Since the air conditioner normally measures the suction temperature of the indoor unit, this may be used as the room temperature), according to the first capability and the second capability (page 13, par. 6-8, the ventilator model and the air conditioner model may include a data table, and the power consumption may be obtained based on the data table).
Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and method for controlling ventilation.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify, calculating a heat load from the ventilation load and the air conditioning load, taught by Yamamoto, incorporated with an air conditioning system for running a refrigeration cycle, taught by Matsui, in order to improve the energy saving performance of the entire air conditioning equipment by determining an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto discloses the ventilation device is provided in plurality (page 8, par. 1, plurality of ventilation devices 2), the air-conditioner is provided in plurality (Page 5, Par. 4, a plurality of air conditioners 3a to 3c), and the processor makes a setting to cause the plurality of ventilation devices and the plurality of air-conditioners to share the first heat load that needs to be adjusted in the indoor space calculated based on the temperature of the indoor space, according to the first capability and the second capability (Page 8, par. 1, page 10, par. 1, These pieces of information also include information on the areas handled by one or a plurality of ventilators 2 and a plurality of air conditioners 3 and the division of zones Z1 to Z3 based thereon).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto discloses the first heat exchanger (the heat exchange unit 2h) to function as a condenser or an evaporator to adjust a temperature of air supplied to the indoor space (page 10, par. 7, when the condensation temperature and evaporation temperature can be measured as the refrigerant temperature, set temperature of the air conditioner in charge of the air conditioner 3 and the area in charge of the air conditioner 3), in a case where a part of the first heat load is set as a share assigned to the ventilation device (page 10, par. 2, page 11, par. 6-7, the ventilation load of the entire floor may be calculated, or the ventilation load of the entire floor may be calculated using operation measurement data of any one ventilation device 2 arbitrarily selected; Heat load = Air conditioning load-Ventilation load).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsui and Yamamoto disclose:
Matsui discloses the second heat exchanger is functioning as a condenser (Abstract, heat exchanger (56, 57) serving as a condenser, moisture is desorbed from the adsorbent and then applied to the air). Yamamoto discloses an input target temperature is higher than a temperature of air of the outdoors (page 11, par. 7, the outside air temperature is lower than the set temperature), and the target temperature is lower than the temperature of air in the indoor space (page 11, par. 8, outside air temperature is higher than the set temperature indoor), the processor reduces driving of the compressor (page 10, par. 5, the compressor frequency is calculated as a quadratic expression and the outside air temperature), sets an amount of air that can be supplied from the first air flow path to be a maximum value that can be set (page 7, par. 7, the air outside the building passes through the heat exchange unit 2h and is taken into the room. Hereinafter, air that enters the ventilator 2 from outside the building is referred to as “outside air”, and air that is taken into the room is referred to as “air supply”), and sets an amount of air that can be exhausted from the second air flow path to be a maximum value that can be set (page 7, par. 7, indoor air passes through the heat exchange unit 2h and is discharged outside the building. Hereinafter, the air that enters the ventilation device 2 from the room is referred to as “circulation”, and the air that is discharged outside the building is referred to as “exhaust).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses a heat load generated in the indoor space (page 4, Par. 6, a heat load for each zone from the ventilation load and the air-conditioning load) to a heat load generated by ventilation between the indoor space and the outdoors (Page 2, par. 1, a heat load calculation unit for calculating a heat load from the ventilation load and the air conditioning load), and acquires a result of the addition as the first heat load (page 11, par. 6, heat load = Air conditioning load-Ventilation load).
Regarding claim 9, Matsui discloses adds a heat load corresponding to control of reducing a temperature generated in a first area in the indoor space([0037], indoor sensible heat load and latent heat load to a heat load) corresponding to control of raising a temperature generated in a second area in the indoor space ([0037], [0096], which reduces humidity changes of indoor air that might arise from ventilation indoor sensible heat load and latent heat load but also indoor ventilation can be provided), and acquires a result of the addition as the first heat load ([0035], the temperature and absolute humidity of the air supplied to inside the building can be adequately controlled, which ensures that the sensible and latent heat loads in the building are coped with).
Regarding claim 10, Matsui discloses first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 56) to function as the evaporator and causes the second heat exchanger (heat exchanger 57) to function as the condenser ([0089], controlled, the indoor heat exchanger (55) serves as a condenser and the outdoor heat exchanger (54) serves as an evaporator) when the first heat load is determined to be a cooling load, and the processor causes the first heat exchanger to function as the condenser and causes the second heat exchanger to function as the evaporator when the first heat load is determined to be a heating load in (Abstract, the indoor heat exchanger (55), air is cooled or heated. Then, the air cooled or heated by the indoor heat exchanger (55) is supplied to the room to cope with sensible heat load in the room).
Regarding claim 12, Matsu discloses an air-conditioning system (An air conditioning system 10) comprising:
a ventilation device ([0026], [0037], the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation) including:
a compressor (the compressor (50);
a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a first air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from outdoors through the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchange 54) and then supply the air that has passed through the first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchange 55) to an indoor space ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere);
a second heat exchanger the outdoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator [0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a second air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from the indoor space through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) and then supply the air that has passed through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 54) to the outdoors ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere); and
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit 40) in which a refrigerant flows, the refrigerant circuit being connected to the compressor ([0004], [0082], [0084], the refrigeration cycle and raises the input to the compressor), the first heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger by a refrigerant pipe (abstract, A refrigerant circuit 40 is provided with two adsorption heat exchangers (56, 57) in addition to an outdoor heat exchanger (54) and an indoor heat exchanger 55).
an air-conditioner including:
a third heat exchanger configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0099], heat exchangers (56, 57) serving as an evaporator is supplied to the room while the air having passed through the other serving as a condenser is discharged to the outside atmosphere), and
an air-conditioning indoor device (the indoor unit 11) configured to take in air in the indoor space ([0008], inside a building), perform heat exchange on the taken in air with a refrigerant flowing through the third heat exchanger ([0008]-[0010],The air conditioning system includes a refrigerant circuit provided with a heat-source side outdoor heat exchanger and a utilization side indoor heat exchanger and runs a refrigeration cycle by circulating refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit), and exhaust the air that has undergone heat exchange to the indoor ([0008],[0026], the air conditioning system dehumidifies the room by setting the refrigerant evaporation temperature in the indoor heat exchanger below the dew point of the room air and condensing moisture in the room air, the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation. In other words, a so-called second-class ventilation takes place).
Matsu fails to disclose a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner, wherein the control processor adds a humidification amount or a dehumidification amount required for a first area in the indoor space to a humidification amount or a dehumidification amount required for a second area in the indoor space, and perform temperature control by using the first heat exchanger of the ventilation device and the third heat exchanger of the air-conditioner based on a result of the addition.
Yamamoto discloses a memory (page 4, par. 6, A storage device) storing one or more programs (Abstract, page 4, par. 6, a storage unit for storing measured data regarding air conditioning equipment operation), which when executed, cause the processor (page 6, par. 7, the computing device is a device that computes a control command to the fan, the valve, etc., using data stored in the storage device, and is a processor or the like) to:
control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner (page 4, par. 5, The ventilation control device of the present invention is a ventilation control device that determines an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility including a ventilation device and a plurality of air conditioners that air-condition the ventilation target area by the ventilation device for each zone),
wherein the control processor adds a humidification amount or a dehumidification amount required for a first area in the indoor space to a humidification amount or a dehumidification amount required for a second area in the indoor space (page 7, par. 6-7, the humidity adjustment unit includes a humidifier and a dehumidifier; the humidity adjusting unit has a function of adjusting the humidity before supplying the air after passing through the heat exchange unit), and perform temperature control by using the first heat exchanger of the ventilation device (page 7, par. 5, The ventilation device 2 includes a temperature adjustment unit) and the third heat exchanger of the air-conditioner based on a result of the addition (page 14, par. 3, the air conditioner 3 is in the cooling operation and the outside air temperature is lower than the target set temperature of the air-conditioning target area (page 7, par. 6, The temperature adjustment unit includes a heat source device, a heat exchanger, and a heater, and the humidity adjustment unit includes a humidifier and a dehumidifier).
Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and method for controlling ventilation.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify, calculating a heat load from the ventilation load and the air conditioning load, taught by Yamamoto, incorporated with an air conditioning system for running a refrigeration cycle, taught by Matsui, in order to improve the energy saving performance of the entire air conditioning equipment by determining an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility.
Regarding claim 13, Matsu discloses an air-conditioning system (An air conditioning system 10) comprising:
a ventilation device ([0026], [0037], the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation) including:
a compressor (the compressor (50);
a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a first air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from outdoors through the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchange 54) and then supply the air that has passed through the first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchange 55) to an indoor space ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere);
a second heat exchanger the outdoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator [0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a second air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from the indoor space through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) and then supply the air that has passed through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 54) to the outdoors ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere); and
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit 40) in which a refrigerant flows, the refrigerant circuit being connected to the compressor ([0004], [0082], [0084], the refrigeration cycle and raises the input to the compressor), the first heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger by a refrigerant pipe (abstract, A refrigerant circuit 40 is provided with two adsorption heat exchangers (56, 57) in addition to an outdoor heat exchanger (54) and an indoor heat exchanger 55);
an air-conditioner including:
a third heat exchanger configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0099], heat exchangers (56, 57) serving as an evaporator is supplied to the room while the air having passed through the other serving as a condenser is discharged to the outside atmosphere), and
an air-conditioning indoor device (the indoor unit 11) configured to take in air in the indoor space ([0008], inside a building), perform heat exchange on the taken in air with a refrigerant flowing through the third heat exchanger ([0008]-[0010],The air conditioning system includes a refrigerant circuit provided with a heat-source side outdoor heat exchanger and a utilization side indoor heat exchanger and runs a refrigeration cycle by circulating refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit), and exhaust the air that has undergone heat exchange to the indoor ([0008],[0026], the air conditioning system dehumidifies the room by setting the refrigerant evaporation temperature in the indoor heat exchanger below the dew point of the room air and condensing moisture in the room air, the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation. In other words, a so-called second-class ventilation takes place).
Matsu fails to disclose a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner, wherein when input of a target humidity in the indoor space is received, the processor performs humidity control by using the first heat exchanger of the ventilation device and the third heat exchanger of the air-conditioner such that an average humidity in the indoor space becomes the target humidity, based on a relative humidity distribution in the indoor space.
Yamamoto discloses a memory (page 4, par. 6, A storage device) storing one or more programs (page 8, par. 3, stored in the storage device are a ventilation device model and an air conditioner model), which when executed, cause the processor (page 6, par. 7, the computing device is a device that computes a control command to the fan, the valve, etc., using data stored in the storage device, and is a processor or the like) to:
control the ventilation device (ventilation device 2) and the air-conditioner (air conditioner 3) (page 4, par. 5, The ventilation control device of the present invention is a ventilation control device that determines an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility including a ventilation device and a plurality of air conditioners that air-condition the ventilation target area by the ventilation device for each zone),
wherein when input of a target humidity in the indoor space is received, the processor performs humidity control by using the first heat exchanger (heat exchange unit 2h) of the ventilation device (page 7, par. 6, the flow of air flowing through the ventilation device, the humidity adjusting unit has a function of adjusting the humidity before supplying the air after passing through the heat exchange unit or the air that has not passed through into the room), and
the third heat exchanger (heat exchange unit 2h) of the air-conditioner such that an average humidity in the indoor space becomes the target humidity, based on a relative humidity distribution in the indoor space (page 7, par. 5, page 14, par. 3, page 7, par. 6, the air conditioner 3 is in the cooling operation and the air-conditioning target area includes the humidity adjustment unit to adjust the humidifier and dehumidifier. The humidifier 21 is a device that humidifies before supplying air into the room, and the dehumidifier 2m is a device that dehumidifies before supplying air into the room).
Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and method for controlling ventilation.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify, calculating a heat load from the ventilation load and the air conditioning load, taught by Yamamoto, incorporated with an air conditioning system for running a refrigeration cycle, taught by Matsui, in order to improve the energy saving performance of the entire air conditioning equipment by determining an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility.
3.2 Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsu (US 20070125115 A1) in view of Yamamoto (WO2015/174176A1) further in view of Okamoto (US 20200080742 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsui and Yamamoto discloses the limitation of claim 1, but fails to disclose the limitation of claim 6. However, Okamoto discloses a minimum heat load determined as a minimum value that can be set based on the power consumption of the air-conditioner out of the heat load that can be output by the air-conditioner ([0014], a heat load processing capability of the outdoor-air conditioner or the indoor-air conditioner and is expressed in a unit of watt or the like. The consumed energy is, for example, power consumption and is expressed in a unit of watt or the like),
and the processor causes the air-conditioner to maintain an operation of processing the minimum heat load of the second capability ([0183], processes a sensible heat, the load processed amount of the highly efficient indoor-air conditioner 50 is reduced, and there is a concern about an increase in the whole power consumption).
Okamoto, Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and air conditioner controller.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an air conditioning system, taught by Okamoto, incorporated with the teaching of Yamamoto and Matsui, as state above, in order to reduce the power consumption of the indoor-air conditioner.
3.3 Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsu (US 20070125115 A1) in view of Yamamoto (WO2015/174176A1) further in view of Takasuka et al. (JP2001-336793A).
Regarding claim 14, Matsu discloses an air-conditioning system (An air conditioning system 10) comprising:
a ventilation device ([0026], [0037], the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation) including:
a compressor (the compressor (50);
a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a first air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from outdoors through the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchange 54) and then supply the air that has passed through the first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchange 55) to an indoor space ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere);
a second heat exchanger the outdoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator [0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a second air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from the indoor space through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) and then supply the air that has passed through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 54) to the outdoors ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere); and
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit 40) in which a refrigerant flows, the refrigerant circuit being connected to the compressor ([0004], [0082], [0084], the refrigeration cycle and raises the input to the compressor), the first heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger by a refrigerant pipe (abstract, A refrigerant circuit 40 is provided with two adsorption heat exchangers (56, 57) in addition to an outdoor heat exchanger (54) and an indoor heat exchanger 55).
an air-conditioner including:
a third heat exchanger configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0099], heat exchangers (56, 57) serving as an evaporator is supplied to the room while the air having passed through the other serving as a condenser is discharged to the outside atmosphere), and
an air-conditioning indoor device (the indoor unit 11) configured to take in air in the indoor space ([0008], inside a building), perform heat exchange on the taken in air with a refrigerant flowing through the third heat exchanger ([0008]-[0010],The air conditioning system includes a refrigerant circuit provided with a heat-source side outdoor heat exchanger and a utilization side indoor heat exchanger and runs a refrigeration cycle by circulating refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit), and exhaust the air that has undergone heat exchange to the indoor ([0008],[0026], the air conditioning system dehumidifies the room by setting the refrigerant evaporation temperature in the indoor heat exchanger below the dew point of the room air and condensing moisture in the room air, the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation. In other words, a so-called second-class ventilation takes place).
Matsu fails to disclose a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner, wherein the first air flow path includes a plurality of air supply ports for supplying air to the indoor space, and includes a first air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the air supply ports, the second air flow path includes a plurality of exhaust ports for taking in air from the indoor space, and includes a second air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the exhaust ports, and the processor controls, for each of the air supply ports, the first air volume adjustment mechanism of the corresponding supply port, and the processor controls, for each of the exhaust ports, the second air volume adjustment mechanism of the corresponding exhaust port.
However, Yamamoto discloses a memory (page 4, par. 6, A storage device) storing one or more programs (Abstract, page 4, par. 6, a storage unit for storing measured data regarding air conditioning equipment operation), which when executed, cause the processor (page 6, par. 7, the computing device 2b is a device that computes a control command to the fan 2e, the valve 2f, etc., using data stored in the storage device 2a, and is a processor or the like) to:
control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner (page 4, par. 5, The ventilation control device of the present invention is a ventilation control device that determines an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility including a ventilation device and a plurality of air conditioners that air-condition the ventilation target area by the ventilation device for each zone).
Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and method for controlling ventilation.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify, calculating a heat load from the ventilation load and the air conditioning load, taught by Yamamoto, incorporated with an air conditioning system for running a refrigeration cycle, taught by Matsui, in order to improve the energy saving performance of the entire air conditioning equipment by determining an operating state of the ventilation device of an air conditioning facility.
Yamamoto and Matsui fail to disclose wherein the first air flow path includes a plurality of air supply ports for supplying air to the indoor space, and includes a first air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the air supply ports, the second air flow path includes a plurality of exhaust ports for taking in air from the indoor space, and includes a second air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the exhaust ports, and the processor controls, for each of the air supply ports, the first air volume adjustment mechanism of the corresponding supply port, and the processor controls, for each of the exhaust ports, the second air volume adjustment mechanism of the corresponding exhaust port.
Takasuka discloses wherein the first air flow path includes a plurality of air supply ports for supplying air to the indoor space (page 8, par. 3-6, an air supply fan 3 that supplies air to the air-conditioned space A through the air supply duct 4) and includes a first air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the air supply ports (page 12, par. 1, the air conditioning air volume variable device 23, each air supply amount adjusting device controlled such that the air supply amount),
the second air flow path includes a plurality of exhaust ports for taking in air from the indoor space (page 7, par. 5, The exhaust air volume adjusting device 9 includes an air volume detecting section for detecting a passing air volume (an exhaust volume of the exhaust hood 2)), and includes a second air volume adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an air volume for each of the exhaust ports (page 11, par. 1, the exhaust amount obtained by the operation is output to the exhaust amount adjusting device),
the processor controls (control unit 30), for each of the air supply ports, the first air volume adjustment mechanism of the corresponding supply port (page 40, par. 6, air supply amount adjusting devices, the supply air volume variable device 21 based on a signal from the air conditioner 10 and a signal from the air conditioner 40 is provide), and
the processor controls (control unit 30), for each of the exhaust ports, the second air volume adjustment mechanism (page 10, par. the external air introduction volume of the corresponding exhaust port (page 12, par. 1, the required air volume of the exhaust fan 6 is calculated by summing the values obtained by multiplying the design air volume of the exhaust hood 2 by the set ratio, and the exhaust air volume variable device 22 sends the required air volume to the exhaust air variable device 22 so that the air volume of the exhaust fan 6 becomes the required air volume. A corresponding control signal is output to adjust the overall exhaust air volume, and the air volume of the exhaust air volume adjusting device 9 is adjusted in the areas E1 and E2).
Takasuka, Yamamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation controller and air conditioner controller.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a supply and exhaust air-conditioning control system, taught by Takasuka, incorporated with the teaching of Yamamoto and Matsui, as state above, in order to improve the power cost of the air supply fan can be further reduced while preventing the contaminated air from flowing out and the contaminated air from flowing in from the outside.
Regarding claims 15, Yamamoto discloses the processor stores first position information indicating a position of each of the air supply ports and second position information indicating a position of each of the exhaust ports (page 18, par. 4, page 18, par. 4, input various information using the input device 15. The input information is stored in the storage device 11. The information is such that the positional relationship between the ventilation target area VZ of each ventilation device 2; page 7, par. 3, the air that enters the ventilation device 2 from the room is referred to as “circulation”, and the air that is discharged outside the building is referred to as “exhaust”, and the air conditioning target areas (zones Z1 to Z3) of the air conditioners 3a to 3c can be specified), and the processor controls the first air volume adjustment mechanism and the second air volume adjustment mechanism (page 14, par. 7-8, the ventilation volume is changed variously, and the ventilation volume when the result of calculating the sum of the power consumption of the ventilation device 2 and the power consumption of the air conditioner 3 at each ventilation volume is the smallest is stored in the storage device 11based on the position of the air supply port indicated by the first position information and the position of the exhaust port indicated by the second position information(page 8, column 5, The ventilation volume and the control command stored in the storage device 11 are the ventilation volume determined by the operating state determination unit).
3.4 Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsu (US 20070125115 A1) in view of Okamoto (US 20200080742 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Matsu discloses an air-conditioning system (An air conditioning system 10) comprising:
a ventilation device ([0026], [0037], the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation) including:
a compressor (the compressor (50);
a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a first air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from outdoors through the first heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchange 54) and then supply the air that has passed through the first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchange 55) to an indoor space ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere);
a second heat exchanger the outdoor heat exchanger 55) configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator [0082], [0099], the outdoor heat exchanger 54 serves as a condenser and the indoor heat exchanger 55 serves as an evaporator);
a second air flow path (air supply passage 23) configured to pass air taken in from the indoor space through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 55) and then supply the air that has passed through the second heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger 54) to the outdoors ([0082], FIGS. 5 and 6, room air cooled by the indoor heat exchanger (55) passes through the air supply passage (23) and is returned to the room through the air supply opening (26) while outdoor air having taken heat from refrigerant in the outdoor heat exchanger (54) is discharged to the outside atmosphere); and
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit 40) in which a refrigerant flows, the refrigerant circuit being connected to the compressor ([0004], [0082], [0084], the refrigeration cycle and raises the input to the compressor), the first heat exchanger, and the second heat exchanger by a refrigerant pipe (abstract, A refrigerant circuit 40 is provided with two adsorption heat exchangers (56, 57) in addition to an outdoor heat exchanger (54) and an indoor heat exchanger 55);
an air-conditioner including:
a third heat exchanger configured to function as a condenser or an evaporator ([0099], heat exchangers (56, 57) serving as an evaporator is supplied to the room while the air having passed through the other serving as a condenser is discharged to the outside atmosphere), and
an air-conditioning indoor device (the indoor unit 11) configured to take in air in the indoor space ([0008], inside a building), perform heat exchange on the taken in air with a refrigerant flowing through the third heat exchanger ([0008]-[0010],The air conditioning system includes a refrigerant circuit provided with a heat-source side outdoor heat exchanger and a utilization side indoor heat exchanger and runs a refrigeration cycle by circulating refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit), and exhaust the air that has undergone heat exchange to the indoor ([0008],[0026], the air conditioning system dehumidifies the room by setting the refrigerant evaporation temperature in the indoor heat exchanger below the dew point of the room air and condensing moisture in the room air, the air exhaust from inside the building takes place by natural exhaust ventilation. In other words, a so-called second-class ventilation takes place).
Matsu fails to disclose a memory storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner, wherein the first heat exchanger is configured to reduce an evaporation temperature of a refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger, and when a target temperature and a target humidity are set, and the first heat exchanger is functioning as an evaporator, the processor implements control to dehumidify air flowing in a state where the evaporation temperature in the first heat exchanger is reduced to reach the target humidity, and controls the temperature by the air-conditioner to reach the target temperature.
However, Okamoto discloses a memory storing one or more programs ([0096], [0131], a computer formed of a memory, a CPU, stores in advance, in the form of a database, a relationship between the dehumidifying amount of the humidity controller 10), which when executed, cause the processor (arithmetic section 43) to: control the ventilation device and the air-conditioner ([0005], control unit controls, in the cooperative load control, an operating capacity of the outdoor-air conditioner and an operating capacity of the indoor-air conditioner in cooperation),
wherein the first heat exchanger is configured to reduce an evaporation temperature of a refrigerant flowing through the first heat exchanger ([0071]-[0072], the air conditioner is configured by decreasing the evaporating temperature of the room heat exchanger to a pre-set temperature in the refrigerating operation), and when a target temperature and a target humidity are set ([0070] A target temperature of the room (set temperature) is inputted via a controller, and a target humidity of the room is automatically determined in the air conditioning system), and the first heat exchanger is functioning as an evaporator ([0071], [0083], adjusts a refrigerant evaporating temperature and a refrigerant condensing temperature of the room heat exchanger 62. heat exchanger (62) operates as the evaporator).
the processor (Fig. 5, control unit 90) implements control to dehumidify air flowing ([0007]-[0009], [0019], state operating capacity mainly indicates a cooling (dehumidifying) capability/heating capability) where the evaporation temperature in the first heat exchanger ([0007], [0131], predetermined target value as an indicator (e.g., a target value of the evaporation temperature of the refrigerant in the indoor-air conditioner heat exchanger)) is reduced to reach the target humidity ([0169], the outdoor-air conditioner has processed the outdoor-air latent-heat load such that the humidity (absolute humidity) of the supply air is less than or equal to the humidity (absolute humidity) of the target space), and controls the temperature by the air-conditioner to reach the target temperature ([0005], [0007], [0131], The control unit controls, in the cooperative load control, at least one of a parameter of the outdoor-air conditioner and a parameter of the indoor-air conditioner such that a temperature or humidity of the indoor-air).
Okamoto and Matsui are analogous art. They relate to ventilation and air conditioner controller
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an air conditioning system that achieves energy conservation and comfortableness, taught by Okamoto, incorporated with an air conditioning system for running a refrigeration cycle, taught by Matsui, in order to improve a total amount of a power consumption of the outdoor-air conditioner and a power consumption of the indoor-air conditioner is reduced.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4-5, 11, 16-17 and 19, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Citation Pertinent prior art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PHAM (US 20190154287 A1) discloses a building includes a relative humidity (RH) sensor. The RH sensor is configured to measure an RH of the air within the building. At least one of the thermostats and an IAQ control module is configured to control humidification of the building based on the RH measured by the RH sensor.
Dick (US 5337574) discloses A hearing and cooling system, and a reversible vapor compression refrigeration plant serves as an air conditioner for cooling or as a heat pump for heating
Ha (US 20180209668 A1) discloses an air conditioner capable of performing cooling through an outlet if room temperature or room humidity is high to reduce the room temperature or the room humidity, and closing the outlet to perform cooling at low velocity through an outlet hole if room temperature or room humidity reaches a predetermined value so that a user can little feel the wind velocity of cooling of the air conditioner.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119