Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims are not written as on sentence. The claims have multiple sentences that are grouped within a claim. There should be only one period and it should be at the end of the entire claim.
Capitalization should only occur at the beginning of the claim.
For examination purposes the examiner has formatted the claims into proper form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the main control unit" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A “main control unit” is recited in line 15.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the sealing method" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The parent claims do not state a sealing method.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the auxiliary circuit" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The parent claims do not state an auxiliary circuit.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the heating electrode, temperature sensor, and the detection circuit, respectively making the heating electrode, temperature sensor, and the detection circuit electrically connected to the main control unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the filter layer or heating electrode" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The parent claims do not state an a filter layer or a heating electrode.
Claim 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The use of “etc.” is an indefinite term in a claim because it does not distinctly point out the subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Driscoll et al. (US 2016/0146800).
Regarding claim 1, O’Driscoll discloses a single molecule/single cell detection chip (fig. 1a, ref. 120, 126), comprising:
a micropore array (fig. 1c, ref. 121 array ), set on the surface of the said single molecule/single cell detection chip (fig. 1, ref. 120 including multiple micropores;
the multiple micropores are used to divide the test solution into multiple test target droplets (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use limitation which does not further structurally limit the instant claim. A test solution is not positively recited and can be added to the micropores at a later time);
the test droplets include a reaction solution and at most one target nucleic acid molecule/protein molecule/cell (A test solution which is worked upon is not positively recited and can be added to the micropores at a later time);
the target nucleic acid molecule/protein molecule/cell can emit fluorescence of a specific wavelength after certain biochemical reactions and modifications, which can be detected by a photoelectric detector (A test solution which is worked upon is not positively recited and can be added to the micropores at a later time. Claim 1 is drawn to the detection chip and the photoelectric detector is not positively recited as part of the detection chip. The detection chip of claim 1 can be provided near a photelectric detector at the time of a reaction in order to detect reaction products within the micropores. O’Driscoll provides a photodetector 110);
a detection IC circuit (photodetector 110), set below the said micropore array (120), which it includes:
a detection unit (photodetector 110), comprising multiple detection sub-units set one-to-one corresponding to the multiple micropores (the apertures 122 align with the photodetector and have photomask 125 where light is transmittable only via said apertures 122 of the substrate);
the multiple detection sub-units are connected to the main control unit (the photodetector 110 is a CMOS sensor which has individual pixels that correspond to the apertures 122 of the substrate. The CMOS is connected to control unit (processing system 190) which gathers and analyzes the images, para 123-125, 134-140);
the detection sub-units are used to identify test droplets in which the emitted light intensity of the target nucleic acid molecule/protein molecule/cell exceeds a first threshold, obtain raw measurement results, and send the raw measurement results to the main control unit (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use limitation and does not further structurally limit the instant claim.);
a main control unit (processing system 190), used for power management, clock management, controlling the detection sub-units, receiving the raw measurement results, generating final detection results based on the raw measurement results, and outputting the final detection results to the external circuit of the chip (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use limitation and does not further structurally limit the instant claim. Applicant can claim “a main control unit that is programmed to” language in order to provide the process steps in a device claim. Further recitation of how the power, clock management occurs and how the control unit controls the detection sub units will provide further limitations to the claim).
Regarding claim 2, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the multiple micropore arrays are orderly arranged on the surface of the said single molecule/single cell detection chip to form a micropore array (see fig. 1c); all the pore walls of the said micropores are perpendicular to the bottom of the said micropores (see fig .1c); or all the pore walls of the said micropores form an acute or obtuse angle with the bottom of the said micropores (this is an or limitation and is optional).
Regarding claim 3, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the micropore array includes multiple droplet areas, and the multiple micropores are distributed over the multiple droplet areas (see fig 1c which shows an array with 36 droplet areas); the test solution flows along a predetermined direction and covers the multiple droplet areas to form a test droplet array (a test solution is not positively recited and can be added at a later time).
Regarding claim 6, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the micropore array is made of inert materials (polymeric materials or glass) and obtains hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity through physical modification or chemical modification (this limitation is drawn a product by process and does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
Regarding claim 7, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the sealing method within the said chip includes thermal bonding, silicon-silicon bonding, glue sealing, and intermediate layer material sealing, etc. (this limitation is drawn to a process of making a chip and does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
Regarding claim 8, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the sealing methods are divided into physical sealing and chemical sealing, etc.; physical sealing includes oil encapsulating water, film sticking, tape, and thin-film encapsulation sealing, etc.; chemical sealing includes the transition from liquid phase to solid phase by paraffin, polymer etching sealing, chemical deposition sealing, etc. (this limitation is drawn to a process of making a chip and does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
Regarding claim 12, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the main control unit includes a power management circuit (standard computer inherently is provided with a power circuit), clock management circuit (standard computer inherently is provided with a clock), row and column selection circuit (the photodetector images the row and column to which the computer identifies each row and column and relates the image to the reaction occurring is in the micropore), signal readout circuit (CMOS sensor provides data to computer), signal processing circuit (computer analyzes the sensor data to product an output), and I/O interface circuit (an output data set); the power management circuit is used to convert the external power supply of the chip into one or more DC levels inside the chip; the clock management circuit is used to receive and process the clock signal provided externally to the chip as the time base for the internal digital circuit of the chip; the row and column selection circuit is connected to the power management circuit and is used to send row and column gating instructions to select the corresponding row and column position of the detection sub-unit; the signal readout circuit is connected to the power management circuit and is used to read the raw measurement results outputted by the detection circuit and convert the raw measurement results into digital electrical signals. The signal readout circuit also includes a preprocessing circuit, which is connected to the main control unit and is used to perform multiple averaging and noise reduction on the digital electrical signals, or to compress the signals. The I/O interface circuit is connected to the signal readout circuit and the temperature sensing circuit, and is used to input the external power supply, clock, control signals, etc., into the chip, and to transmit the digital electrical signals from the signal readout circuit and the temperature signals from the temperature sensing circuit to the external circuit of the chip in the form of digital signals (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. These claims are drawn to process/intended use limitations. Application should recite “a control unit programmed to” language).
Regarding claim 13, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 12, wherein the micropores are processed based on MEMS technology compatible with CMOS processes, or using precisely machined regular micro-through-hole arrays, and are bonded and aligned to the main control unit, allowing the signal readout circuit to read the optical signals from the micropore array one by one (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. These claims are drawn to process/intended use limitations).
Regarding claim 14, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the detected light can be visible light, fluorescent luminophores (para 93), up conversion luminescence, rare earth element luminescence, or quantum dot luminescence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Driscoll et al. (US 2016/0146800) in view of McDevitt et al. (US 2002/0045272).
Regarding claim 4, O’Driscoll does not teach the micropore array is composed of materials such as negative photoresist, silicon dioxide, silicone, etc., which are insulating, inert, and compatible with specific biochemical reactions; it can be produced on a CMOS wafer through methods such as single-crystal silicon etching, wet etching, polysilicon deposition, polymer material coating, and pattern transfer and microfabrication methods such as lithography, nanoimprinting, screen printing, dry etching, and laser etching (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use that does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
McDevitt teaches an chemical sensor array that comprises a substrate having an array of areas where a sample can be placed . The substrate is made of photoresist materials, silicon, or silicon dioxide which is well known in the art for array based sensors as taught by McDevitt. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify O’Driscoll to make the substrate out of a photoresist material, silicon or silicon dioxide as these materials are well known in the art as being impervious to fluids in which the analyte is present as taught by McDevitt (para 195).
Regarding claim 5, the O’Driscoll does not teach wherein the inner side surface of the micropores is hydrophilic, and the bottom of the micropores is hydrophilic or hydrophobic. McDevitt teaches various parts of the array can be either hydrophobic or hydrophobic by determining how the liquid is to interact with the array. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify the surface of the array of O’Driscoll to employ either hydrophobic or hydrophilic surfaces of the array in order to move a fluid on the array to the micropores as needed. This technique is well known as taught by McDevitt in para. 537-539).
Regarding claim 9, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the detection sub-unit includes a stacked arrangement of a filter layer (photomask), O’Driscoll does not teach a heating electrode, detection circuit (photodetector, and auxiliary circuit (circuit that connects photodetector with the control unit system 180);
the filter layer (photomask 125) is set below the corresponding micropore (121), composed of several sets of first (photomask 125) and second refractive layers (glass 126) stacked together, used to filter the incident excitation light of the micropore; after the droplet amplification, the fluorescence emission light with a wavelength greater than the cutoff wavelength of the filter layer mostly passes through the filter layer to reach the detection unit, while the incident excitation light with a wavelength lower than the cutoff wavelength of the filter layer is mostly filtered out;
the refractive index of the first refractive layer is different from that of the second refractive layer (the photomask and the glass layer 126 are made of different materials and therefore have different refractive indexes);
the refractive index of the first refractive layer is different from that of the second refractive layer (the photomask and the glass layer 126 are made of different materials and therefore have different refractive indexes); the detection circuit includes one or more photodetectors (CMOS by design employs a plurality of pixels that are photodetectors), used to receive row and column gating instructions and control commands, so that the one or more photodetectors generate and send the raw measurement results to the main control unit when they receive the light signal (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use limitation that does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
O’Driscoll does not teach a heating electrode.
the heating electrode is set between the filter layer and the detection circuit or between the micropore and the filter layer, used to heat the test droplet to the target temperature for isothermal amplification, or to perform multiple temperature cycles for the variable temperature amplification reaction of nucleic acids;
The auxiliary circuit includes a temperature sensing circuit, with the thermosensitive element of the temperature sensing circuit set close to the micropore or inside the main control unit, used to read the temperature signals of one or more detection circuits and output them through the main control circuit to the external circuit.
McDevitt teaches a sensing array that comprises a substrate with a various electrodes for moving fluids within various channels. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify O’Driscoll to employ an heating electrode to control various temperatures within the device in order to move fluids on the array as taught by McDevitt (para 245-249).
Regarding claim 10, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 6, wherein the auxiliary circuit also includes multiple metal connection lines, which are respectively set between the heating electrode, temperature sensor, and the detection circuit, respectively making the heating electrode, temperature sensor, and the detection circuit electrically connected to the main control unit. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify the Modified O’Driscoll to recognize that wiring is provided between all the structurally components that need or send signal or electricity for the device to work.
Regarding claim 11, the single molecule/single cell detection chip according to claim 1, wherein the filter layer or heating electrode is equipped with microlenses for converging the light emitted from the micropores (the filter layer is a photomask that converges the light emitted from the micropores to the CMOS photodetector).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758