DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120080910 to Davis in view of US 4348052.
Regarding claim 1, Davis ‘910 teaches a knock down furniture system comprising a chair assembly. The chair assembly comprising: first and second arm rests (side panels 108); a backboard (short panel 116); a pair of first connection devices (pair 112A of slots 26 and tab 18) coupling the backboard (116) between the first and second arm rests (108); a seat board (panel 116); and a pair of second connection devices (pair 112B of slots 26) coupling the seat board (116) between the first and second arm rests (108); each first connection device comprising a first L-shaped anchor (upper tab 18), a second transverse anchor (lower tab 18), and first and second openings (pair 112A of slots 26 and tab 18) opposite to and receiving the first L-shaped anchor (18) and the second transverse anchor (18) for coupling; each second connection device comprising a third L-shaped anchor (rear tab 18), and a third opening (slot 26) opposite to and receiving the third L-shaped anchor (18) for coupling.
Regarding claim 2, Davis ‘910 teaches the first L-shaped anchor is canted at an angle with respect to the first and second arm rests and the backboard.
Regarding claim 5, Davis ‘910 teaches the second transverse anchor (lower tab 18) comprises an elongate anchor extending through one of the first and second arm rests (108) and the backboard 9116).
Regarding claim 7, Davis ‘910 teaches the elongate anchor is L-shaped.
Regarding claim 17, Davis ‘910 teaches a knock down furniture system comprising a chair assembly and a method for making a chair assembly to be assembled by a user, the method comprising: providing first and second arm rests (108) and a backboard (116); forming a pair of first connection devices (pair 112A of slots 26 and tab 18) to be coupled between the backboard (116) and the first and second arm rests (108); providing a seat board (116); and forming a pair of second connection devices (pair 112B of slots 26 and tab 18) to be coupled between the seat board (116) and the first and second arm rests (108); each first connection device comprising a first L-shaped anchor (upper tab 18), a second transverse anchor (lower tab 18), and first and second openings (26) opposite to and receiving the first L-shaped anchor (18) and the second transverse anchor (8) for coupling; each second connection device comprising a third L-shaped anchor (front or rear tab 18), and a third opening (26) opposite to and receiving the third L-shaped anchor for coupling.
Regarding claim 18, Davis ‘910 teaches the first L-shaped anchor is canted at an angle with respect to the first and second arm rests and the backboard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120080910 to Davis (Davis ‘910).
Regarding claim 8, Davis ‘910 does not teach the second opening comprises a circle-shaped opening. Since the applicant does not disclose that the second opening comprises a circle-shaped opening solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the second opening of any suitable shape would perform equally well in retaining the second transverse anchor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second opening of the chair with any suitable shaped opening as taught by Davis ‘910 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to retain the second transverse anchor.
Regarding to claim 9, Davis ‘910 does not teach the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board are hollow.
Since the applicant does not disclose that having a hollow first and second arm rests, a hollow backboard, and hollow seat board solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board of any configuration such as solid would perform equally well is supporting a person sitting on the chair. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board of any configuration taught by Davis ‘910 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to support a person sitting on the chair.
Regarding claim 10, Davis ‘910 teaches a knock down furniture system comprising a chair assembly. The chair assembly comprising: first and second arm rests (108); a backboard (116); a pair of first connection devices (pair 112A of slots 26 and tab 18) coupling the backboard (116) between the first and second arm rests (108); a seat board (116); and a pair of second connection devices coupling (pair 112B of slots 26 and tab 18) the seat board (116) between the first and second arm rests (108); each first connection device comprising a first L-shaped anchor (upper tab 18), a second transverse anchor (lower tab 18), the first L-shaped anchor being canted at an angle with respect to the first and second arm rests (108) and the backboard (116), and first and second openings (slot 26) opposite to and receiving the first L-shaped anchor (18) and the second transverse anchor (lower tab 18) for coupling; each second connection device (pair 112B of slots 26 and tab 18) comprising a third L-shaped anchor (tab 18), and a third opening (slot 26) opposite to and receiving the third L-shaped anchor (18) for coupling, the first opening (26) and the third opening (26) each comprising an elongate opening.
Davis ‘910 does not teach the second opening comprises a circle-shaped opening solves.
Since the applicant does not disclose that the second opening comprises a circle-shaped opening solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the second opening of any suitable shape would perform equally well in retaining the second transverse anchor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second opening of the chair with any suitable shaped opening as taught by Davis ‘910 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to retain the second transverse anchor.
Regarding claim 13, Davis ‘910 teaches the second transverse anchor (lower tab 18) comprises an elongate anchor extending through one of the first and second arm rests (108) and the backboard 9116).
Regarding claim 15, Davis ‘910 teaches the elongate anchor is L-shaped.
Regarding claim 16, Davis ‘910 does not teach the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board are hollow.
Since the applicant does not disclose that having a hollow first and second arm rests, a hollow backboard, and hollow seat board solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board of any configuration such as solid would perform equally well is supporting a person sitting on the chair. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first and second arm rests, the backboard, and the seat board of any configuration taught by Davis ‘910 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to support a person sitting on the chair.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11154137 to Davis et al. (Davis ‘137) in view of US 20120080910 to Davis (Davis ‘910).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17, Davis ‘137 teaches a knock down furniture system comprising a chair assembly. The chair assembly comprising: first and second arm rests (side panels 34); a backboard (back panel 14); a pair of first connection devices (two retention tabs 18 and a locking tab 22 and two retention slots 38 and locking slot 42) coupling the backboard (14) between the first and second arm rests (34); a seat board (seat panels 14); and a pair of second connection devices (two retention tabs 18 and a locking tab 22 and two retention slots 38 and locking slot 42) coupling the seat board (14) between the first and second arm rests (34); each first connection device comprising a first anchor (retention tab 18), a second transverse anchor (locking tab 22), and first and second openings (two retention slots 38 and locking slot 42) opposite to and receiving the first anchor (18) and the second transverse anchor (22) for coupling; each second connection device comprising a third anchor (retention tab 18), and a third opening (slot 38) opposite to and receiving the third anchor (18) for coupling. Davis ‘137 teaches the locking tab 22 snaps to the right into the locking section 58 of the locking slot 42 (column 5, lines 25-29).
Davis ‘137 does not teach the first and second connection device comprising a first L-shaped anchor and third L-shaped anchor, respectively.
Davis ‘910 teaches the first and second connection device (18) comprising a first L-shaped anchor and third L-shaped anchor, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the anchors of the first and second connection device taught by Davis ‘137 with L-shaped anchors as taught by Davis ‘910 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide securely retain the anchor within the retention slots. Such a modification would have involved a simple substitution of known attachment means for another to obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Davis ‘137 teaches the second transverse anchor (22) comprises a snap fastener (column 5, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 12, Davis ‘137 teaches the second transverse anchor (22) comprises a snap fastener (column 5, lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 13, Davis ‘137 teaches the second transverse anchor (22) comprises an elongate anchor extending through one of the first and second arm rests and the backboard.
Regarding claim 19, Davis ‘137 teaches the second transverse anchor (22) comprises one of a snap fastener (column 5, lines 25-29) and an elongate anchor extending through one of the first and second arm rests and the backboard.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 11, 14, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the angle being less than 15° in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the second transverse anchor comprises a housing coupled to one of the first and second arm rests and the backboard and receiving the elongate anchor in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the second transverse anchor comprises a housing coupled to one of the first and second arm rests and the backboard and receiving the elongate anchor; and wherein the elongate anchor is L-shaped in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following US Patents 3045834, 2650657, 2550361, 20120080910, 20200196751, 4348052, US-3973800, and 4209198 are cited show chair assembly.
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631