DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received 05/15/2026.
In the response to the Non-Final Office Action 02/18/2026, the applicant states that claims 1-20 are pending in current application.
No claim has been amended. In summary, claims 1-20 are pending in current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose or suggest “converting the target design features into a three-dimensional (3D) accessory model; generating a joint based on the target design features and the 3D accessory model”. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Stuyck discloses “converting the target design features into a three-dimensional (3D) product model”. For example, in Fig. 1 and paragraph [0018], Stuyck teaches processing the one or more accessed images 110 to generate a three-dimensional digital garment 120; Stuyck further teaches converting accessed images with design features into a three-dimensional digital product as illustrated in Fig. 1.
. In paragraph [0021], Stuyck teaches the computing device 101 aligns the front panel 205 and the back panel 207 in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body 209 and the back panel 207 is behind the three-dimensional body 209; Stuyck further teaches the three-dimensional body 209 is a three-dimensional template of a human body; Stuyck further more teaches converting the one or more images with design features into 3D product model in any suitable manner as illustrated in Fig. 2.
. In Fig. 8 and paragraph [0029], Stuyck teaches aligning the front panel and the back panel in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body and the back panel is behind the three-dimensional body.
Hancock discloses “product is accessory”. For example, in paragraph [0035], Hancock teaches the product is an article of jewelry such as a pendant, ring, earring, brooch, bracelet, necklace, watch, or the like. In paragraph [0038], Hancock teaches enabling more efficient customization of intricate, elaborate jewelry such as pendants, rings, earrings, brooches, bracelets, and necklaces. In Fig. 6A-6D and paragraphs [0050-0051], Hancock teaches the information 140 is associated with the generic Base Model 210 and generic Subparts 230;
.
Hancock further discloses “converting the target design features into a three-dimensional (3D) accessory product model”. For example, in paragraph [0008], Hancock teaches generating a three-dimensional generic base model of an accessory product, wherein the generic base model comprises one or more three-dimensional generic subparts. In paragraph [0037], Hancock teaches creating the 3D Base Model and its subset of Subparts.
Stuyck further discloses “generating a joint based on the target design features and the 3D product model”. For example, in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0022], Stuyck teaches the computing device 101 draws virtual lines that perpendicularly intersect with boundaries of the front panel 205 and the back panel 207; Stuyck further teaches determining a continuous portion of the boundaries as a boundary segment 310; Stuyck further more teaches those segments 320 of arm sleeve, neck, or bottom of the garment are joined and linked together as illustrated in Fig. 3.
. In Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, and paragraph [0023], Stuyck teaches generating a digital garment 120 by attaching, linking, and joining each of the identified one or more pairs of boundary segments 310 of the front panel 205 and the back panel 207;
; Stuyck further teaches the computing device 101 decreases the distance between each pair of boundary segments 310 of the front panel 205 and the pack panel 207 at each iteration; Stuyck further more teaches linking and joining each pair of boundary segments.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Hancock with Stuyck. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation for combing Stuyck with Hancock would have been to improve the process by which the 2D and 3D data is passed back and forth from the manufacturing entity to the entity customizing the product and back to the manufacturing entity; to display the product and create the digital models for manufacturing; to generate a three-dimensional generic base model of a product; to design a generic and or customized Base Model(s) and Subparts; to create a custom brand by jewelry designer as taught by Hancock in paragraphs [0007], [0036-0037], [0041], and [0054]. “the law does not require that the references be combined for the reasons contemplated by the inventor” {In re Beattie, 974 F.2d 1309, 1314 (Fed. Cir. 1992)(prior citations omitted)). It is concluded that the Examiner’s articulated reasoning provides a rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,418 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuyck (US 20230088866 A1) and in view of Hancock (US 20210232720 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Original), Stuyck discloses a method implemented in a computing device for virtual try-on (Fig. 1; [0018]: the computing device 101 processes the one or more accessed images 110 to generate a three-dimensional digital garment 120; generate a three-dimensional digital garment based on one or more 2D images; Fig. 5; [0025]: virtual try-on system; the generated digital garment 120 is used for an application such as a virtual try-on; Fig. 9; [0032-0033]: computer system 900 includes a processor 902, memory 904, storage 906), comprising:
processing a two-dimensional (2D) image depicting an image of a product design ([0018]: the computing device 101 processes the one or more accessed images 110 to generate a three-dimensional digital product; [0019]: the computing device 101 generates a front-segmentation mask identifying the front of the garment in the one or more accessed images; the front-segmentation mask may be two-dimensional; Fig. 1; [0020]: the computing device 101 generates a back panel of the garment; the back panel is a duplicate of the front panel; the computing device 101 accesses one or more second images comprising a back of the garment to generate the back panel of the garment; generate a back-segmentation mask identifying the back of the garment in the one or more second images);
extracting target design features of the product design depicted in the 2D image ([0019]: identify a front of the garment in the one or more RGB images; [0020]: identify the back of the garment in the one or more second images; [0022]: identify, i.e., extract, one or more pairs of boundary segments of the front panel 205 and the back panel 207; identify one or more pairs of boundary segments of the front panel and back panel in any suitable manner; boundary segments are target design features; Fig. 8; [0029]: identify, i.e., extract, one or more pairs of boundary segments of the front panel and the back panel.);
converting the target design features into a three-dimensional (3D) product model ([0021]: the computing device 101 aligns the front panel 205 and the back panel 207 in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body 209 and the back panel 207 is behind the three-dimensional body 209; the three-dimensional body 209 is a three-dimensional template of a human body; Fig. 8; [0029]: align the front panel and the back panel in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body and the back panel is behind the three-dimensional body.);
generating a surface attributes map based on the product design depicted in the 2D image (Fig. 2; [0019]: generate a front panel 205 of the garment corresponding to the front-segmentation mask 203; the front panel 205 comprises three-dimensional meshes; surface attributes map with color as illustrated in Fig. 2;
;
; Fig. 1; [0021]: a depth map of the user wearing the garment; Fig. 5; [0026]: observe collisions between meshes corresponding to the avatar 501 and meshes corresponding to the digital garment 503);
generating a joint based on the target design features and the 3D product model (Fig. 3; [0022]: the computing device 101 draws virtual lines that perpendicularly intersect with boundaries of the front panel 205 and the back panel 207; determine a continuous portion of the boundaries as a boundary segment 310; Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0023]: the computing device 101 decreases the distance between each pair of boundary segments 310 of the front panel 205 and the pack panel 207 at each iteration; join each pair of boundary segments); and
performing virtual application of the 3D product model with the surface attributes map and the joint on a user (Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0023]: the garment has been deformed to fit to the three-dimensional body 209; the generated digital garment 120 is represented by three-dimensional meshes;
; [0024]: the computing device 101 deforms the digital garment 120 according to the second pose of the three-dimensional body 209; Fig. 5; [0025]: the generated digital garment 120 is used for an application such as a virtual try-on, where a user may drape the digital garment 120 to an avatar representing the user; [0026]: the computing device 101 detects the user's action to the piece of the digital garment by observing collisions between meshes corresponding to the avatar 501 and meshes corresponding to the digital garment 503.).
Stuyck fails to explicitly disclose product is accessory.
In same field of endeavor, Hancock teaches product is accessory ([0035]: the product is an article of jewelry such as a pendant, ring, earring, brooch, bracelet, necklace, watch, or the like; [0038]: enable more efficient customization of intricate, elaborate jewelry such as pendants, rings, earrings, brooches, bracelets, necklaces, etc.; Fig. 6A-6D; [0050-0051]: the information 140 is associated with the generic Base Model 210 and generic Subparts 230;
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stuyck to include product is accessory as taught by Hancock. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the process by which the 2D and 3D data is passed back and forth from the manufacturing entity to the entity customizing the product and back to the manufacturing entity; to display the product and create the digital models for manufacturing; to design a generic and or customized Base Model(s) and Subparts; to create a custom brand by jewelry designer as taught by Hancock in paragraphs [0007], [0036], [0041], and [0054].
Regarding to claim 2 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the accessory design comprises at least one of: an earring, a necklace, a bracelet or a wristband (Hancock; [0035]: the product is an article of jewelry such as a pendant, ring, earring, brooch, bracelet, necklace, watch, or the like; [0038]: enable more efficient customization of intricate, elaborate jewelry such as pendants, rings, earrings, brooches, bracelets, necklaces, etc.).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 3 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target design features comprise: a segmentation mask of the product design depicted in the 2D image (Stuyck; Fig. 2; [0019]: the computing device 101 generates a front-segmentation mask identifying the front of the garment in the one or more accessed images; the front-segmentation mask is two-dimensional;
; Fig. 8; [0029]: identify one or more pairs of boundary segments of the front panel and the back panel.), an object contour of the product design depicted in the 2D image, and a skeletonization graph of the product design depicted in the 2D image (Stuyck; Fig. 2; [0020]: the computing device 101 may generate a back-segmentation mask identifying the back of the garment in the one or more second images; Fig. 5; [0025]: the generated digital garment 120 is used for an application such as a virtual try-on, where a user may drape the digital garment 120 to an avatar representing the user ; [0026]: the computing device 101 detects the user's action to the piece of the digital garment by observing collisions between meshes corresponding to the avatar 501 and meshes corresponding to the digital garment 503; Fig. 8; [0029]: identify one or more pairs of boundary segments of the front panel and the back panel.).
Stuyck in view of Hancock further discloses product is accessory (Hancock; [0035]: the product is an article of jewelry such as a pendant, ring, earring, brooch, bracelet, necklace, watch, or the like; [0038]: enable more efficient customization of intricate, elaborate jewelry such as pendants, rings, earrings, brooches, bracelets, necklaces, etc.).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 4 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the method of claim 1, wherein converting the target design features into the 3D accessory model (same as rejected in claim 1) comprises:
generating a 3D flat mesh in an x-y plane based on one of the target design features (Stuyck; [0019]: the front panel comprises three-dimensional flat meshes; [0020]: the back panel comprises three-dimensional flat meshes);
adjusting a depth of each vertex in the 3D flat mesh along a z-axis to generate a 3D curve mesh (Stuyck; [0021]: generate the three-dimensional body 209 based on a depth map of the user wearing the garment; align the front panel and the back panel in the three-dimensional space; Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0023]: intermediate iteration among the plurality of simulation iterations for generating a digital garment; the computing device 101 decreases and adjusts the distance between each pair of boundary segments 310 of the front panel 205 and the pack panel 207 at each iteration;
), wherein adjusting the depth of each vertex comprises adjusting the depth of each vertex along the z-axis based on a threshold and a distance in the x-y plane between the vertex in the 3D flat mesh and an object contour of target design features (Stuyck; Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0023]: intermediate iteration among the plurality of simulation iterations for generating a digital garment; the computing device 101 decreases and adjusts the distance between each pair of boundary segments 310 of the front panel 205 and the pack panel 207 at each iteration;
.);
generating a mirrored duplicate of the 3D curve mesh along the z-axis (Stuyck; [0020]: the back panel is a duplicate of the front panel; the computing device 101 generates a back panel 207 by duplicating the front panel 205; Fig. 4B; [0023]: a final iteration of the plurality of simulation iterations for generating a digital garment; each pair of boundary segments 310 has been attached together;
; 3D curve mesh); and
merging the 3D curve mesh with the mirrored duplicate of the 3D curve mesh to generate the 3D product model (Stuyck; [0021]: the computing device 101 aligns the front panel 205 and the back panel 207 in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body 209 and the back panel 207 is behind the three-dimensional body 209; the three-dimensional body 209 may be a three-dimensional template of a human body; Fig. 4B; [0023]: a final iteration of the plurality of simulation iterations for generating a digital garment; each pair of boundary segments 310 has been attached together;
).
Stuyck in view of Hancock further discloses product is accessory (Hancock; [0035]: the product is an article of jewelry such as a pendant, ring, earring, brooch, bracelet, necklace, watch, or the like; [0038]: enable more efficient customization of intricate, elaborate jewelry such as pendants, rings, earrings, brooches, bracelets, necklaces, etc.).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the joint based on the target design features and the 3D accessory model (same as rejected in claim 1) comprises:
determining the joint in the 3D product model by mapping the 2D joint to 3D space (Stuyck; Fig. 2; [0019]: the computing device 101 generates a front-segmentation mask identifying the front of the garment in the one or more accessed images; the front-segmentation mask is two-dimensional;
; [0021]: the computing device 101 aligns the front panel 205 and the back panel 207 in a three-dimensional space so that the front panel is in front of a three-dimensional body 209 and the back panel 207 is behind the three-dimensional body 209; the three-dimensional body 209 is a three-dimensional template of a human body).
Stuyck in view of Hancock further discloses:
identifying a cycle portion and a non-cycle portion based on connectivity of a skeletonization graph of the target design features (Hancock; [0046]: specify 450 a Template 156 or one or more generic Assets 240; [0048]: the visualization Assets 240 are generated using a lower CPU; Fig. 6A-6D; [0050-0051]: the information 140 is associated with the generic Base Model 210, generic Subparts 230, and generic Assets 240;
); and
identifying a 2D joint comprising a connection between the cycle portion and the non-cycle portion (Hancock; Fig. 6A-6D; [0050-0051]: the information 140 is associated with the generic Base Model 210, generic Subparts 230, and generic Assets 240; the join and connection are shown in Fig, 6A-6D;
); and
determining the joint in the 3D accessory model by mapping the 2D joint to 3D space (Hancock; [0006]: bridge three-dimensional (“3D”) and two-dimensional (“2D”) technology to allow consumers to easily, quickly, and conveniently engage with products by customizing them online; [0036]: bridging three-dimensional (“3D”) and two-dimensional (“2D”) technology; [0037]: customization happens in 2D via image manipulation while being tracked in 3D for optimized efficiency).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 8 (Original), Stuyck discloses a system (Fig. 1; [0018]: the computing device 101 processes the one or more accessed images 110 to generate a three-dimensional digital garment 120; generate a three-dimensional digital garment based on one or more 2D images; Fig. 5; [0025]: virtual try-on system; the generated digital garment 120 is used for an application such as a virtual try-on; Fig. 9; [0032-0033]: computer system 900 includes a processor 902, memory 904, storage 906), comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 9; [0032]: computer system 900 includes a processor 902, memory 904, storage 906; [0033]: processor 902 includes hardware for executing instructions; processor 902 may retrieve the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 904);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured by the instructions to at least (Fig. 9; [0032]: computer system 900 includes a processor 902, memory 904, storage 906; [0033]: processor 902 includes hardware for executing instructions):
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 8.
Regarding to claim 9 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the system of claim 8,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 9.
Regarding to claim 10 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the system of claim 8,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 10.
Regarding to claim 11 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to convert the target design features into the 3D accessory model by (same as rejected in claim 8):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 11.
Regarding to claim 14 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to generate the joint based on the target design features and the 3D accessory model by (same as rejected in claim 8):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 14.
Regarding to claim 15 (Original), Stuyck discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions to be implemented by a computing device having a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least ([0019]: the computing device 101 generates a front-segmentation mask identifying the front of the garment in the one or more accessed images; the front-segmentation mask may be two-dimensional; Fig. 1; [0020]: the computing device 101 generates a back panel of the garment; the back panel is a duplicate of the front panel; the computing device 101 accesses one or more second images comprising a back of the garment to generate the back panel of the garment; generate a back-segmentation mask identifying the back of the garment in the one or more second images; Fig. 9; [0032]: computer system 900 includes a processor 902, memory 904, storage 906; [0033]: processor 902 includes hardware for executing instructions; processor 902 may retrieve the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 904):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 15.
Regarding to claim 16 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 16.
Regarding to claim 17 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 17.
Regarding to claim 18 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions (same as rejected in claim 15) to
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 18.
Regarding to claim 20 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to (same as rejected in claim 15)
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 20.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuyck (US 20230088866 A1) in view of Hancock (US 20210232720 A1), and further in view of Tung (US 11158121 B1 ).
Regarding to claim 5 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the method of claim 1,
Stuyck in view of Hancock fails to explicitly disclose wherein the surface attributes map comprises at least one of: an albedo map, metallic appearance attributes, a roughness map, and a normal map.
In same field of endeavor, Tung teaches wherein the surface attributes map comprises at least one of: an albedo map, metallic appearance attributes, a roughness map, and a normal map (col. 4, lines 5-20: fine geometric details are added to normal maps generated by using a conditional adversarial network; tackle 3D surface geometry refinement using deep neural network on normal maps for realistic garment reconstruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stuyck in view of Hancock to include wherein the surface attributes map comprises at least one of: an albedo map, metallic appearance attributes, a roughness map, and a normal map as taught by Tung. The motivation for doing so would have been to tackle 3D surface geometry refinement using deep neural network on normal maps for realistic garment reconstruction; to improve the realism of the final rendered product as taught by Tung in col. 4, lines 5-20 and col. 13, lines 25-35.
Regarding to claim 6 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock and Tung discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the surface attributes map is generated by an artificial intelligence (AI) model (Tung; col. 4, lines 5-20: fine geometric details are added to normal maps generated by using a conditional adversarial network, i.e. artificial intelligence; tackle 3D surface geometry refinement using deep neural network on normal maps for realistic garment reconstruction).
Same motivation of claim 5 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 12 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the system of claim 8,
The claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock and Tung discloses the system of claim 12,
The claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 19 (Original), Stuyck in view of Hancock discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616