Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 13, the phrase “the channel” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (2014/0174602) in view of Vetten et al. (2015/0259109; hereinafter Vetten) and/or Wakabayashi et al. (5,105,997; hereinafter Wakabayashi).
As to claim 1, Baker discloses a liquid transport spout (10) comprising a backstop (see Fig. 6 below) having a slanted outward facing side, an apex (see Fig. 6 below) of the backstop is coupled to a hollow fill neck (12) and a base of the backstop is coupled to a hollow tube-fitting end (see Fig. 6 below). Baker further discloses the backstop contains an interior liquid transport channel bridging the fill neck and tube-fitting end (Fig. 6). Baker also discloses the other claimed limitations except for the backstop comprises a pyramid-shaped backstop having at least 3 outward facing sides as claimed. Vetten teaches a liquid transport spout (Figs. 1-2 & 4) comprising a base body (1) having a truncated pyramid-shaped backstop (4; [0017], [0022] & [0031]) having at least 3 outward facing sides, an apex (Fig. 4) of the backstop is coupled to a hollow fill neck (3). Wakabayashi shows a filling nozzle (13) comprising a tubular holding portion/backstop (32; 92) having at least 3 outward facing sides (Fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Vetten and/or Wakabayashi to modify the liquid transport spout of Baker so the liquid transport spout is constructed with a pyramid-shaped backstop having at least 3 outward facing sides as claimed to facilitate handling the spout and/or because the selection of the specific shape for the backstop such as the shaped as disclosed by Baker or Vetten or Wakabayashi or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
As to claim 15, Baker discloses the liquid transport spout as above having most of the limitations of the claim except for the backstop comprises a 3-faced truncated trapezoidal backstop.
Vetten teaches a liquid transport spout (Figs. 1-2 & 4) comprising a base body (1) having a truncated pyramid-shaped trapezoidal backstop (4; [0017], [0022] & [0031]) having at least 3 outward facing sides, an apex (Fig. 4) of the backstop is coupled to a hollow fill neck (3). Wakabayashi shows a filling nozzle (13) comprising a tubular holding portion/trapezoidal backstop (32; 92) having at least 3 outward facing sides (Fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Vetten and/or Wakabayashi to modify the liquid transport spout of Baker so the liquid transport spout is constructed with a 3-faced truncated trapezoidal backstop having at least 3 outward facing sides as claimed to facilitate handling the spout and/or because the selection of the specific shape for the backstop such as the shaped as disclosed by Baker or Vetten or Wakabayashi or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
As to claims 2 and 16, Vetten further teaches a junction between the apex and fill neck is ribbed to form an increased diameter at the junction.
As to claims 3 and 17, Wakabayashi further shows cutouts (95) at a base of the at least 3 outward facing sides to form wing-like edges at corners of the backstop (Fig. 9).
As to claims 4-5 and 18-19, Vetten further teaches a threaded end cap (2) coupled to the at least one threads of the fill neck (Fig. 4).
As to claims 6 and 20, Baker further discloses a hollow flexible tube (26, 30, 32) coupled to the tube fitting end (Fig. 4).
As to claim 7, to the extent that the spout of Baker as modified further fails to show the hollow flexible tube is transparent, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid transport spout of Baker as modified so the liquid transport spout is constructed with the hollow flexible tube and the hollow flexible tube is transparent as claimed to allow visual access to the contents within the hollow flexible tube and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
As to claims 8 and 11, Baker discloses the liquid transport spout is a single integral device. To the extent that Baker fails to disclose the spout comprises the fill neck is removable from the backstop as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid transport spout of Baker so the liquid transport spout is constructed with the fill neck is removable from the backstop instead of the single integral device because it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 10, Baker further discloses the tube-fitting end is ribbed (between two hinge points 14; Fig. 3). Vetten also teaches the backstop is ribbed (5).
As to claim 12, Baker further discloses the spout is formed from at least one of CNC’ing, casting and molding [0042].
As to claim 13, the backstop of the spout of Baker is capable to be rotatable around an axis of a vertical line/channel (see the vertical dash line as shown in Fig. 3).
As to claim 14, either Vetten or Wakabayashi teaches the faces of the backstop are asymmetric.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Newton (2,111,031).
The liquid transport spout of Baker as modified further fails to show the tube-fitting end is recessed into the backstop. Newton teaches a spout (1) comprising a backstop (4, 5) including an apex of the backstop is coupled to a hollow fill neck with a top flange (2) and a base of the backstop is coupled to a hollow tube-fitting end with a bottom flange (3). The hollow tube-fitting end is recessed into the backstop (Figs. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Newton to modify the liquid transport spout of Baker as modified so the liquid transport spout is constructed with the hollow tube-fitting end is recessed into the backstop to prevent the liquid from spilling during usage.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736