DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0331568 A1 to Oh et al. (hereafter refers as Oh) in view of US 2019/0068337 A1 to Athley et al. (hereafter refers as Athley) and further in view of US 2026/0135678 A1 to Okawa et al. (hereafter refers as Okawa).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 20, Oh teaches a user equipment (UE) (a receiver/mobile terminal/UE, Fig. 5, terminal 200-1, 200-2, 200-3 or 200-4, and paragraph [44]) and a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (the receiver/UE performs a method for wireless communications, Fig. 9 and paragraphs [61-66]) comprising:
transmitting signaling that indicates a capability of the UE for communications between the UE and a network entity (the receiver/UE transmits a preparation message signaling to a base station/transmitter, paragraphs [61-63], to indicate a number of antennas of the UE and to support an interference alignment transmission, for communications between the UE and the base station paragraphs [53-55]), wherein a divided spectrum comprises division of a channel bandwidth into a plurality of subbands in accordance with a plurality of antennas at the UE (wherein the base station communicates with the UE over one or more subbands, which is formed by dividing channel bandwidth into a plurality of subbands based on the number of antennas at the UE, paragraphs [48-50, 58-60, 64-67]);
receiving control signaling that comprises a division pattern that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE (the UE is allocated with one or more subbands for communication, paragraphs [34, 49-50], which is determined based on the capability of the UE, i.e. based on the number of antenna at the UE and whether the UE supporting the interference alignment transmission, paragraphs [49, 54-55, 63-67]), wherein the division pattern indicates the division of the channel bandwidth into the plurality of subbands (wherein the UE is allocated with one or more subbands, which are division of the channel bandwidth, paragraphs 49-50, 58-60]); and
communicating, with the network entity, via the plurality of antennas across the plurality of subbands according to the division pattern (the UE/receiver communicates with the base station, via the plurality of antenna across the plurality of subbands, paragraphs 49-50, 58-60]).
However, Oh does not explicitly teach the division pattern indicates “a mapping between the plurality of antennas and the plurality of subbands”.
Athely teaches a user equipment (UE) (a second radio transceiver device/UE/terminal device, paragraphs [42, 45]), a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (the second radio transceiver/UE performs a method for wireless communications, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [71-73]) and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (the second radio transceiver/UE comprise a storage medium for storing set of executable instructions, paragraphs [111-115]), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (executable by one or more processors, paragraphs [111-115]), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (the second radio transceiver/UE comprises a storage medium for storing set of executable instructions, paragraphs [111-115]); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (the second radio transceiver/UE comprises a processing unit/circuitry coupled with the one or more memories, paragraphs [111-115] and Fig. 8) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (executes the set of executable instructions to cause the UE to perform the method, paragraphs [111-115] and Fig. 8):
receive control signaling that comprises a division pattern (the second radio transceiver/UE receives a configuration indicating mapping of sub-carriers and antennas, paragraphs [73-75]) that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE (wherein the mapping is determined based on transmission abilities of each antenna of the UE in each subcarrier, paragraphs [56-61, 76-80]),
wherein the division pattern indicates the division of the channel bandwidth into the plurality of subbands (wherein the configuration indicates allocation of plurality of subcarriers, paragraphs [58-61, 73-74], which are determined based on division of a system bandwidth, paragraphs [96-98] and Fig. 5) and indicates a mapping between the plurality of antennas and the plurality of subbands (wherein the configuration indicates a mapping between the plurality of antennas and the plurality of subbands/subcarriers, paragraphs [51, 65, 73]); and
communicate, with the network entity, via the plurality of antennas across the plurality of subbands according to the division pattern (the UE communicates with a first radio transceiver device 200, i.e. a network node, paragraph [42], via a plurality of antennas across the plurality of subcarriers based on the configuration, paragraphs [85-87]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of division pattern indicates the division of the channel bandwidth into the plurality of subbands and indicates a mapping between the plurality of antennas and the plurality of subbands as taught by Athley, with the teachings of division pattern as taught by Oh, for a purpose of increase efficiency in allocating the plurality of subbands, by clearly specifying the mapping between the plurality of antennas and the plurality of subbands, since different antennas have different capabilities associated with different subbands (see Athley, paragraphs [51, 59-61, 65, 73]).
The combination of Oh and Athley does not explicitly teach the signaling indicating the capability of the UE to “support a divided spectrum”.
Okawa teaches a user equipment (UE) (terminal 20, Fig. 19), a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (the terminal 20 performs a method for wireless communications, Fig. 19) and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (terminal 20 comprise a memory for storing codes for wireless communications, paragraphs [320, 322-325]), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (executable by one or more processors, paragraphs [320-325]), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (terminal 20 comprise a memory for storing codes for wireless communications, paragraphs [320, 322-325]); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (terminal 20 comprises a processor coupled with the one or more memories, paragraphs [320-325] and Fig. 27) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (individually or collectively operable to execute the set of executable instructions to cause the UE to perform the method, paragraphs [320-325]):
transmitting signaling that indicates a capability of the UE (terminal transmits capability information, via a signaling, to a base station, Fig. 19 and paragraph [89]) to support a divided spectrum for communications between the UE and a network entity (wherein the capability information specifying number of band-switchable ports of the UE, thus indicating ports supporting plurality of bands, paragraphs [93-100]);
receive control signaling (the terminal receives configuration information, Fig. 19, step s102 and paragraph [89-90]); and
communicate, with the network entity, via the plurality of antennas across the plurality of subbands (the terminal communicates with a network node/base station, Fig. 19, step s103 and paragraph [91], via a plurality of antennas across the plurality of subbands based on the configuration information, paragraph [91]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmitting signaling that indicates the capability of the UE to support a divided spectrum for communications between the UE and a network entity as taught by Okawa, with the teachings of transmitting signaling that indicates the capability of the UE as taught by combination of Oh and Athley, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the capability of the UE by clearly specifying whether the ports/antennas of the UE supporting the divided spectrum, thus increase efficiency in allocation of the subbands to the plurality of ports/antennas of UE (see Okawa, paragraphs [93-100]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Athley further teaches wherein each antenna of the plurality of antennas are mapped to a respective subband of the plurality of subbands (wherein each antenna of the plurality of antennas are mapped to a respective subcarrier of the plurality of subcarriers, paragraph [61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein each antenna of the plurality of antennas are mapped to a respective subband of the plurality of subbands as taught by Athley, with the teachings of Oh, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by mapping different antennas have different capabilities associated with different subbands with respective subbands (see Athley, paragraphs [51, 59-61, 65, 73]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Athley further teaches wherein a first subset of the plurality of antennas are mapped to a first subband of the plurality of subbands (a first sub-carrier is mapped to a group of antenna ports, paragraphs [62-63]) and a second subset of the plurality of antennas are mapped to a second subband of the plurality of subbands in accordance with the mapping (a second sub-carrier is mapped to a second group of antenna ports, paragraphs [62-63]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the first subset of the plurality of antennas are mapped to the first subband of the plurality of subbands and the second subset of the plurality of antennas are mapped to the second subband of the plurality of subbands in accordance with the mapping as taught by Athley, with the teachings of Oh, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by mapping different group of antennas, with different capabilities associated with different subbands, with respective subbands (see Athley, paragraphs [51, 59-63, 65, 73]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Okawa further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive second control signaling that comprises a second division pattern that adds one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to the first subset of the plurality of antennas (receiving a control signaling, i.e. configuration information, Fig. 19, step s102 and paragraph [89-90], that switching the band/carrier 1 associated with port 2 to band/carrier 2, thus effectively adding port 2 to a group of antennas that including port 1 which associated with band/carrier 2, Fig. 3, 11, 22 and paragraphs [65, 75, 222-223]), wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on the second control signaling (the terminal communicates with the base station based on the configuration information, paragraph [91]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving second control signaling that comprises a second division pattern that adds one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to the first subset of the plurality of antennas, wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on the second control signaling as taught by Okawa, with the teachings of combination of Oh and Athley, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by changing the number of antennas in first subset or second subset when needed (see Okawa, Fig. 3, 11, 22 and paragraphs [65, 75, 222-223]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Okawa further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive second control signaling that comprises a second division pattern that removes one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas from the first subset of the plurality of antennas (receiving a control signaling, i.e. configuration information, Fig. 19, step s102 and paragraph [89-90], that switching the band/carrier 1 associated with port 2 to band/carrier 2, thus effectively remove port 2 to a group of antennas that including port 2, Fig. 3, 11, 22 and paragraphs [65, 75, 222-223]), wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on the second control signaling (the terminal communicates with the base station based on the configuration information, paragraph [91]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving second control signaling that comprises a second division pattern that removes one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas from the first subset of the plurality of antennas, wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on the second control signaling as taught by Okawa, with the teachings of combination of Oh and Athley, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication by changing the number of antennas in first subset or second subset when needed (see Okawa, Fig. 3, 11, 22 and paragraphs [65, 75, 222-223]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Athley further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform a beam management procedure using one or more channel state information reference signals (the UE/second radio transceiver device obtains information of individual beamforming weight for each antenna port, paragraph [85], wherein the beamforming weight is determined based on CSI reference signals, paragraphs [68-70, 78]), wherein the one or more channel state information reference signals are based at least in part on one of a layout of the plurality of antennas at the UE or the division pattern (wherein the CSI reference signals are transmitted from a plurality of antennas at the UE via the plurality of sub-carriers, paragraphs [55-57, 61, 76-79]), and wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on performance of the beam management procedure (the UE communicates with the base station based on the performance of beamforming, paragraphs [85-86]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform a beam management procedure using one or more channel state information reference signals, wherein the one or more channel state information reference signals are based at least in part on one of a layout of the plurality of antennas at the UE or the division pattern, and wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on performance of the beam management procedure as taught by Athely, with the teachings of Oh, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communication employing beam management procedure for communication over a plurality of antennas at the UE (see Athley, paragraphs [67-70, 78, 84-86]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh further teaches wherein the signaling further indicates a quantity of the plurality of antennas at the UE (wherein the preparation message signaling indicating the number of antennas of the UE, paragraphs [11, 53-55]) and the division pattern is based at least in part on the quantity of the plurality of antennas at the UE (wherein the division pattern, i.e. number of times and how the spectrum being divided, is based on the number of antennas of the UE, paragraphs [48-50, 58-60, 64-67]).
Regarding claim 12, Okawa further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a combination thereof (wherein the control signaling comprises RRC signaling, MAC-CE, DCI or a combination thereof, see paragraphs [92, 147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the control signaling comprises one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a combination thereof as taught by Okawa, with the teachings of combination of Oh and Athley, for a purpose of increase compatibility of the UE by configuring the control signaling as one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a combination thereof (see Okawa, paragraphs [92, 147]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa further teaches wherein the network entity comprises a gNB (wherein the network entity/node comprises a gNB, see Oh, paragraph [44], see Athley, paragraph [44], see Okawa, paragraph [356]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0331568 A1 to Oh et al. (hereafter refers as Oh) in view of US 2019/0068337 A1 to Athley et al. (hereafter refers as Athley) and US 2026/0135678 A1 to Okawa et al. (hereafter refers as Okawa) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0191807 A1 to Bhupatiraju et al. (hereafter refers as Bhupatiraju).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa further teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive second control signaling that indicates for the UE to increase an output power of the plurality of antennas across the plurality of subbands (the UE/terminal receives control information from the base station, to increase output power of the plurality of antennas across the plurality of bands, see Okawa, paragraphs [162-163, 289-292]), wherein communicating with the network entity is based at least in part on increasing the output power of the plurality of antennas (wherein the UE/terminal communicates with the base station based on the increasing/boosting the power of the plurality of antennas, see Okawa, paragraphs [162-163, 289-292]).
However, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa does not explicitly teach increase output power “based at least in part on an equivalent isotropic radiated power (EIRP) of the plurality of antennas failing to satisfy a threshold”.
Bhupatiraju teaches increase an output power based at least in part on an equivalent isotropic radiated power (EIRP) failing to satisfy a threshold (increase transmission power of one or more antennas, until reaching an EIRP limit, abstract and paragraphs [31, 34, 35]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of increasing the output power based at least in part on an equivalent isotropic radiated power (EIRP) failing to satisfy a threshold as taught by Bhupatiraju, with the teachings of combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa, for a purpose of increasing quality of signaling, i.e. RSSI, while comply with the EIRP limit, by increasing the output power when the EIRP is below the EIRP limit (see Bhupatiraju, abstract and paragraphs [31, 34, 35]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0331568 A1 to Oh et al. (hereafter refers as Oh) in view of US 2019/0068337 A1 to Athley et al. (hereafter refers as Athley) and US 2026/0135678 A1 to Okawa et al. (hereafter refers as Okawa) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2019/0140880 A1 to Li et al. (hereafter refers as Li).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa does not explicitly teach wherein “a physical resource group size associated the communications between the UE and the network entity is based at least in part on a quantity of the plurality of subbands, and communicating with the network entity is in accordance with the physical resource group size”.
Li teaches physical resource group size associated the communications between the UE and the network entity is based at least in part on a quantity of the plurality of subbands (the UE determines size of PRB based on quantity of subcarriers, paragraph [244]), and communicating with the network entity is in accordance with the physical resource group size (the UE communicate with a base station based on the PRB, paragraphs [65-70, 74]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of physical resource group size associated the communications between the UE and the network entity is based at least in part on a quantity of the plurality of subbands, and communicating with the network entity is in accordance with the physical resource group size as taught by Li, with the teachings of combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in communicating by enable the UE to determine the size of physical resource group for communication (see Li, paragraphs [65-71]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0331568 A1 to Oh et al. (hereafter refers as Oh) in view of US 2019/0068337 A1 to Athley et al. (hereafter refers as Athley) and US 2026/0135678 A1 to Okawa et al. (hereafter refers as Okawa) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2026/0095884 A1 to Shrestha et al. (hereafter refers as Shrestha).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa does not explicitly teach wherein the signaling further indicates “a threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands supported at the UE”, and the division pattern is based “at least in part on the threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands”.
Shrestha teaches a signaling further indicates a threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands supported at the UE (UE capability signaling indicates a number of bands supported by the UE, paragraph [132]), and the division pattern is based at least in part on the threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands (a number of resources allocated is determined based on at least the number of bands supported by the UE, paragraph [132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the signaling further indicates a threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands supported at the UE and the division pattern is based at least in part on the threshold quantity of the plurality of subbands as taught by Shrestha, with the teachings of combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the division pattern by using the number of subbands supported at the UE, thus only allocate the number of subbands based on the number of subband supported at the UE (see Shrestha, paragraph [132]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0331568 A1 to Oh et al. (hereafter refers as Oh) in view of US 2019/0068337 A1 to Athley et al. (hereafter refers as Athley) and US 2026/0135678 A1 to Okawa et al. (hereafter refers as Okawa) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2008/0096574 A1 to Khandekar et al. (hereafter refers as Khandekar).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa does not explicitly teach wherein the signaling further indicates “a threshold output power of a power amplifier of the UE, and the division pattern is based at least in part on the threshold output power of the power amplifier of the UE”.
Khandekar teaches signaling further indicates a threshold output power of a power amplifier of the UE (sending a power limit information to a base station specifying power amplifier size, paragraph [47]), and the division pattern is based at least in part on the threshold output power of the power amplifier of the UE (scheduling subbands based on the power amplifier size, paragraphs [47, 59, 92]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of signaling further indicates a threshold output power of a power amplifier of the UE and the division pattern is based at least in part on the threshold output power of the power amplifier of the UE as taught by Khandekar, with the teachings of combination of Oh, Athley and Okawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in determining the division pattern by ensure that the division pattern is determined based on the threshold output power of the power amplifier of the UE (see Khandekar, paragraphs [47, 59, 92]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2008/0212530 A1 discloses dividing frequency band into N second bands and allocating the N second bands to MS based on receiving antennas of the MS (See Fig. 4).
US 2021/0099991 A1 discloses transmitting UE capability message to a base station, the UE capability message including an indication of a UE type, wherein the UE type is associated with one of reduced number of antenna (paragraph [109]), wherein the UE type including UE supporting reduced bandwidth (paragraphs [30-32, 114]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 July 22, 2026