DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/08/26 is acknowledged. Please note: There was a typo in the restriction requirement as independent claim 15 was intended for Group II only, not both groups. Group I is drawn to receipt of the press of an SOS button, which is clearly not included in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Kumar et al., WO 2006/104560 (hereinafter Kumar) in view of Applicant’s submission of prior art, Praveenkumar et al., CN 105264926 (hereinafter Praveenkumar).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kumar discloses a method for data-only communication in emergency, comprising: receiving, by a mobile device, a press on an SOS button on the mobile device [paragraphs 0036-0037]; generating, by the mobile device, a data alert in response to the receipt of the press on the SOS button [paragraph 0049]; and generating, by the mobile device, a data-only report to a remote server, wherein the data-only report includes the data alert [paragraphs 0052-0054].
What Kumar does not specifically disclose is determining, by the mobile device, that data transmission is more reliable than voice call under a network condition where data transmission channel and voice transmission channel are sequentially arranged. However, Praveenkumar teaches this limitation [reproduced from translation: “the text-only mode may be particularly useful in low signal strength conditions, because the payload text need significantly less than the audio data so as to use TCP to communicate. text-only mode message can use RTSP is sent as an M3 message.” Further, it is obvious that this technique can be applied in VoLTE or 5G systems where data transmission and voice transmission channels are sequentially arranged]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar to include the teaching of Praveenkumar. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Kumar discloses wherein the data-only report includes location information of the mobile device to allow the remote server to locate the mobile device [paragraphs 0042, 0049].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, and 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,010,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1 and 8 are taught in patented claims 1 and 12, respectively. The instant claim are broader as they omit the patented limitations regarding the mobile device being connected to the phone network and the Internet and receiving remote configuration from an emergency monitoring server. Instant dependent claims 2 and 9 are taught in patented claims 5 and 16, respectively. Instant dependent claims 3 and 10 are taught in patented claims 2 and 13, respectively. Instant dependent claims 4 and 11 are taught in patented claim 8. Instant dependent claims 5 and 12 are taught in patented claims 3 and 14, respectively. Instant dependent claims 6 and 13 are taught in patented claims 4 and 15, respectively. Instant dependent claims 7 and 14 are taught in patented claims 10 and 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ross et al, WO 2018/170536, disclose an emergency response system.
Gupta et al., WO 2012/137226, disclose a mobile communication device for providing an emergency call.
/EAW/
September 23, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644