DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielson et al. (2016/0059093) in view Harbert et al. (2023/0139568). Claim 1, Nielson discloses a golf club head comprising a main body having a crown portion, a sole portion, a toe portion connected with the crown portion and the sole portion, a face plate connecting portion connected with the crown portion, the toe portion, and the sole portion (fig 15A-B). Two first counterweight installation portions (rearward track 12020F; forward channel 12020) provided at the sole portion (fig 46) [0249], a ball striking face plate attached to the face plate connecting portion of the main body (fig 15B). Two first counterweight blocks (weights assemblies 12040; 12040F) installed in the first counterweight installation portions (rearward track 12020F; forward channel 12020) of the main shell (fig 46) [0049]. Each counterweight block (weight assemblies 12040; 12040F) is attached using a screw (set screw) passing through a first elongated fixing hole of one of the first counterweight blocks (weight assemblies) [0249, 0219]. Nielson discloses the weights or counterweight blocks are secured in place by tightening the set screw which causes the screw to compress against the bottom of the channel. Nielson does not disclose threaded screw holes in the main shell or body to receive the screw. Harbert teaches attachments to a sole of a club head using a screw that is secured through a screw hole in the main body (fig 9B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the type of screw connection to optimize strength and durability. Claim 2, Nielson discloses the first counterweight installation portions (rearward track 12020F; forward channel 12020) of the main shell each have two lateral sides; the first counterweight blocks (weights assemblies 12040; 12040F) each have two lateral sides corresponding to the two lateral sides of the first counterweight installation portions of the main shell (fig 46). Claim 3, Nielson discloses one of the first counterweight blocks (weights assemblies 12040; 12040F) is movable along a first moving line, and the other of the first counterweight blocks is movable along a second moving line intersected with the first moving line (fig 46) [0249]. Claim 4, Nielson does not disclose the screw through the main body as shown above. Harbert teaches the screw through the main body (see above) in addition to an inner cylinder portion penetrated by the screw hole (fig 9B area surrounding screw). Claim 7, Nielson does not disclose a groove. Harbert teaches the main shell has a groove provided at the sole portion and located between the channel and the face plate connecting portion (114, fig 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have included a groove or sole slot to increase the face flex when hitting the golf ball. Claim 8, Nielson discloses the main shell or body may be made from titanium alloy, which is identical to applicant’s material (instant spec page 4). The specific gravity will fall within applicant’s range from 1.7-4.7 [0126]. Claim 9, Nielson discloses the face may be made from steel alloy, which is identical to applicant’s material (instant spec page 4). The specific gravity will fall within applicant’s range from 7-18. Claim 10, Nielson discloses the specific gravity of the ball striking face plate is more than 1.5 times that of the main shell (same as applicant’s materials). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the type of screw connection to optimize strength and durability.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
January 22, 2026