DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group XXXV (a composition comprising at least Zn) as applicant has requested in the reply filed on 8/7/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction over fragmented the invention however the way applicant’s claims are drafted necessitated the restriction because of the amount of distinct inventions claimed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-4 are examined on the merits as they read on the elected invention, i.e. a pharmaceutical composition for modulating inflammation and oxidative stress in mammals including at least Zn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s claim appear to be drafter broader than what applicant would define their invention as and as such the claims fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. The instant claim 1 requires only a singular cation, e.g. H, which in most cases would read on a product of nature and also not be effective for “modulating inflammation and oxidative stress in mammals.” In their argument about the restriction requirement, applicant argues “In the context of the claimed invention, the relevant genus may be divided into
two scientifically coherent subclasses: cationic species and anionic species. The
examiner-designated element-by-element division, therefore, does not reflect the
common inventive concept. The physiologically relevant distinction is not the mere identity of each element in isolation, but how the species behaves under physiological conditions in relation to the claimed modulation of inflammation and oxidative stress.” which would suggest that the subject matter applicant regards as their invention is mote than is claimed.
Please note that the language of a claim must make it clear what subject matter the claim encompasses to adequately delineate its "metes and bounds". See, e.g., the following decisions: In re Hammack, 427 F 2d. 1378, 1382, 166 USPQ 204, 208 (CCPA 1970); In re Venezia 530 F 2d. 956, 958, 189 USPQ 149, 151 (CCPA 1976); In re Goffe, 526 F 2d. 1393, 1397, 188 USPQ 131, 135 (CCPA 1975); In re Watson, 517 F 2d. 465, 477, 186 USPQ 11, 20 (CCPA 1975); In re Knowlton 481 F 2d. 1357, 1366, 178 USPQ 486, 492 (CCPA 1973). The courts have also indicated that before claimed subject matter can properly be compared to the prior art, it is essential to know what the claims do in fact cover. See, e.g., the following decisions: In re Steele, 305 F 2d. 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962); In re Moore 439 F 2d. 1232, 169 USPQ 236 (CCPA 1969); In re Merat, 519 F 2d. 1390, 186 USPQ 471 (CCPA 1975).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by
US 2022/305054 (NOVAK et al) 29 September 2022, WO 2021/211660 (VECTOR) 21 October 2021
Novak teaches a composition comprising ⁶⁴Zn which is at least 80% enriched (and in combination with aspartate) that is anti-inflammatory as well modulating of oxidative stress [215-232]; [table 10].
Vector also teaches a composition of Zn which is ⁶⁴Zn-enriched and in the form of Zn⁶⁴citrate or glycine-methionine, wherein the Zn is at least 80% enriched and in a carrier such as water. Compositions are shown to have anti-inflammatory activities and result in a reduction of oxidative stress [par.35-45; 66; Table 16, 17; par. 238-251].
The references anticipate the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/305054 (NOVAK et al) 29 September 2022, WO 2021/211660 (VECTOR) 21 October 2021 & Albarede et al Review in Minerals & Geochemistry.
Novak teaches a composition comprising ⁶⁴Zn which is at least 80% enriched (and in combination with aspartate) that is anti-inflammatory as well modulating of oxidative stress [215-232]; [table 10].
Vector also teaches a composition of Zn which is ⁶⁴Zn-enriched and in the form of Zn⁶⁴citrate or glycine-methionine, wherein the Zn is at least 80% enriched and in a carrier such as water. Compositions are shown to have anti-inflammatory activities and result in a reduction of oxidative stress [par.35-45; 66; Table 16, 17; par. 238-251].
Novak and Vector don’t teach ⁶6Zn or all the combinations as claimed with the other active components however it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to enrich a composition with either claimed Zn isotope because Albarede teaches that ⁶6Zn is also a known isotope of Zn and has functional properties such as the isotope used in Novak and Vector [Table 1, p 861-62] and would be usable as ⁶⁴Zn is. Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.” Further it is obvious to combine medicants with known medications that are to perform the same utility or act an adjuvants or otherwise increase the pharmaceutical benefit of the active ingredient. It is a well established proposition of patent law that no patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known characteristics where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See In re Sussman, 1943 C.D. 518; In re Huellmantel 139 USPQ 496; In re Crockett et al, 1266 USPQ 186.
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a composition of a naturally occurring Zn isotope. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are drawn to the composition per se. The claims are drawn to a composition of matter however the claims are drawn to a natural phenomenon, namely the occurrence in nature of The Zn isotopes. The instant specification describes the invention as being composed of all those isotopes
The specification contains no evidence, that the method of making the composition imparts characteristics markedly different from those isotopes as they exist and function in nature. As such, there is no evidence that the claimed population or composition of the population has any characteristics (structural, functional, or otherwise) that are different from the naturally occurring isotopes. For these reasons, the claimed invention does not appear to have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature and is a “product of nature” exception. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an exception.
The claims do not include additional elements that aren’t also natural products that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed invention does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception, so the claim does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Concluding the analysis, the claimed invention is drawn to a judicial exception to the statute and must be rejected as ineligible under 35 USC101.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657