DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on June 11, 2024. Claims 1-16 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-16 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
The claims 15-16 are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (hereinafter ‘Kim’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2023/0032169).
In regards to independent claim 1, Kim discloses a detection device (an electronic device 200 in Fig. 2) comprising:
a main body case where at least part of a main surface has an opening (the device 400 comprises structure 410, wheel key 420, a front plate 201, a rear cover 510 and a rear plate 493 in Fig. 6A comprising an opening to receive the printed circuit board 520, [0056]);
a board which is provided in the main body case (printed circuit board 520 is provided in the opening formed by the rear plate 493 in Fig. 6A, [0064]);
a first detection portion which is provided is provided under the board in the main body case and detects biological information of a user (a biological signal detector 540 comprising light emitter 541 and light receiver 543 as shown in Fig. 6A, [0068]; the two elements 541 and 543 are disposed between the lower surface of the board 520 and the upper surface of the window 510);
a window portion which is provided under the first detection portion and is in the opening of the main body case (the rear cover 510 and a heat insulating member 630 (shown in Figs. 7A and 7B) including an adhesive member is under the biological signal detector 540 in Fig. 6A; the heat insulating member 630 and the adhesive member is received by the opening defined by the rear plate 493 so as to attach the rear portion of the board 520 with the cover 510, [0103]-[0104]); and
a second detection portion which is provided between the board and the window portion and detects, through the window portion, whether or not the detection device is in contact with or close to the skin of the user (internal electrodes 551 and 552 in Fig. 6A, [0064]: internal electrodes 551 and 552 under the second printed circuit board 520 and above the cover 510).
In regards to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the main body case includes a lower windshield member which is provided in a lower part of the main body case and has the main surface that opposes the skin of the user ([0056]: the external electrodes 553 & 554 are metals), and wherein the lower windshield member is made of a metal (the external electrodes 553 & 554 are metals).
In regards to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the second detection portion is provided on the undersurface of the board (the internal electrodes 551 and 552 is provided under the bottom surface of the board 520 as shown in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion is provided to a side of the first detection portion (the internal electrodes 551 and 552 are provided laterally to the biological signal detector 540 comprising light emitter 541 and light receiver 543 as shown in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion surrounds the circumference of the first detection portion (the internal electrodes 551 and 552 circumferentially surrounds the biological signal detector 540 as shown in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the first detection portion has an upper part which the board is in contact (the biological signal detector 540 comprising a light emitter 541, light receiver 543, and light sealing member 590 are in direct contact with the board 520 as shown in Fig. 6A ), and a lower part with which the window portion is in contact (the light sealing member 590 is in contact with the upper surface of the cover 510 as shown in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 7, Kim further discloses wherein an insulative spacing member (the light sealing member 590 in Fig. 6A) is arranged between the lower windshield member and the board (the member 590 is disposed between the electrodes 553 & 554 and the board 520), wherein the spacing member has an insertion hole in which the first detection portion is arranged corresponding to the window portion (the member 590 circumferentially surrounds the light emitter 541 and therefore, the emitter 541 is arranged in an insertion hole defined by the member 590 and adjacent to the cover 510).
In regards to claim 8, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion is provided on the upper surface of the window portion (the internal electrodes 551 and 552 is provided above the cover 510).
In regards to claim 9, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion surrounds the circumference of the first detection portion in a planar view from below the main body case (the internal electrodes 551 and 552 surrounds the biological signal detector 540 as shown in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 10, Kim further discloses a connection member which electrically connects one side of the board with the second detection portion (an electrical contact 560 which connects the internal electrodes 551 and 552 to the board 520).
In regards to claim 11, Kim further discloses wherein an insulative spacing member (magnet 581 is a ring shape where the biological signal detector 540 is disposed in, [0068]) is arranged between the lower windshield member and the board (the magnet 581 is disposed between the electrodes 553 & 554 and the board 520), wherein the spacing member has an insertion hole in which the first detection portion is arranged corresponding to the window portion (the magnet 581 is disposed between the electrodes 553 & 554 and the board 520).
In regards to claim 12, Kim further discloses wherein the first detection portion is a pulse sensor which has a light emitting portion and a light receiving portion, and detects a pulse (the biological signal detector 540 comprising a light emitter 541 and light receiver 543; [0052]: a biometric sensor, such as a heart-rate monitor “HRM” sensor)
In regards to claim 13, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion is an electrostatic capacity sensor which detects an electrostatic capacity change that occurs by the detection device comping in contact with or approaching the skin of the user ([0064]: internal electrodes 551 and 552, provided for detecting a user's second biological signal; given that no processor has been claimed, the broadly claimed internal electrodes are capable of detecting electrostatic capacity).
In regards to claim 14, Kim further discloses wherein the second detection portion is formed of a metal (internal electrodes 551 and 552, provided for detecting a user's second biological signal).
In regards to claim 15, Kim further discloses wherein the window portion (cover 520), the first detection portion (the biological signal detector 540 comprising a light emitter 541 and light receiver 543) and the second detection portion (internal electrodes 551 and 552) oppose the skin of the user when the detection device is used by the user (the cover 520 and the electrodes 551, 552 and the detector 540 opposes or faces the skin of the user during use as a watch, [0088]).
In regards to claim 16, Kim further discloses a timepiece ([0088]: an electronic device 400 is a wrist-watch-type electronic device 400) comprising the detection device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Conclusion
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 5/29/2026