DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 7-10, 14-15, and 19-20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 3, 6 and 13 refer to “at least one processor”. Claim 1 line 2 also refers to “at least one processor”. Although “at least one processor” may include more than one processor, the claims would be clearer if applicant were to recite “the at least one processor” in lines 3, 6 and 13 or to identify each processor as “a first processor”, “a second processor”, “a third processor”, etc. A similar objection is also made over claim 5.
Claims 7 and 9-10 refer to “the step”. Although claim 1 lines 7-8 recite “each step of the plurality of steps comprises:”, the claims would be clearer if applicant were to recite “each step” in claims 7, 9, and 10. A similar objection is also made over claims 14 and 19 in view of claims 11 and 16.
Claim 8 recites “a condition of the item”. However, claim 8 is dependent on claim 7 which also refers to “a condition of the item”. The examiner requests applicant amend claim 8 to recite “the condition of the item”. A similar objection is also made over claims 15 and 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention(s) is/are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are not directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. Claims 16-20 are directed towards a computer program product and therefore are directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed toward a computer-implemented method. Claim 11 is directed toward a system.
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract ideas.
Claims 1 & 11 recites the abstract ideas, “determining, with at least one processor, an item identifier of an item to be cleaned”, “determining, with at least one processor, cleaning instructions based on the item identifier”, and “determining that the step was completed based on an input received at the computing device”, and “updating…to identify…” which are mental processes that could be performed by a human person by pen and paper or by a black box computer. The computing device and at least one processor performing the recited steps/processes is merely a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because upon determining the step was completed and updating a record associated with the item, nothing further is performed with the item to be cleaned. Therefore, there is no application of the abstract idea.
The abstract ideas are performed by a computing device which is just a general-purpose computer. However, use of a conventional computer functions to apply the judicial exceptions does not qualify as a particular machine (MPEP § 2106(b)(I), MPEP § 2106(b)(II) and MPEP § 2106(b)(III)).
The item identifier of the item to be cleaned is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity).
The cleaning instructions based on the item identifier comprising a plurality of steps defining cleaning actions to be performed on the item by a user and completing the step based on an input received at the computing device are interpreted as mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these elements amount to a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed system and would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(III), and MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation). Additionally, the only recited structure is a processor and a processor is not a particular machine.
Sequentially presenting each step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions comprising presenting the step via at least one of a visual output and an auditory output of the computing device associated with the user is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process and as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). Further, displaying is not considered a practical application, such as improving the functioning of a computer, effecting a transformation, effecting a particular treatment, or applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Indeed, the Court did not find that displaying information on a computer display without any limitations specifying how to achieve the desired result (information display) was not sufficient to show patent eligibility. Nor did the court find that arranging information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists in processing information more quickly was sufficient to show patent eligibility. MPEP 2106.05(a)(I).
If the updating/identifying step is not considered an abstract idea, then updating a record associated with the item in at least one database to identify that the item was cleaned is interpreted as insignificant post-solution activity and does not provide anything more than just generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use per MPEP 2106.05(h), or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception), which are not particular practical applications.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
Claim 1 recites the additional elements “at least one processor”, “an item identifier of an item”, “a computing device”, and “at least one database”. However, these additional elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and convention (WURC) in the art as evidenced by Sly et al. (US 2017/0273547) and Britton et al. (US 2019/0167356). Sly and Britton teach at least one processor (Sly; [0074] and Britton; [0035]), an item identifier of an item (Sly; [0019] and Britton; [0038]), a computing (Sly; [0073] and Britton; [0035]), and at least one database (Sly; fig. 3, #322, [0043] and Britton; [0035]). It is also noted that data gathering in conjunction with the abstract ideas is not enough to transform the nature of the claim into significantly more that the judicial exception.
The claims by-and-large do not contain any additional elements aside from a general-purpose computer to apply the judicial exception and therefore comprise no additional claim elements that amount to significantly more.
Claims 2 and 12 recite the abstract ideas “determining the item identifier” (Step 2A, Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A, Prong 2, because identifying an item based on scan data generated by a scanner associated with the computing devices is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claims 3 and 13 recite the abstract idea(s) “determining the identifier” and “identifying the item” (Step 2A, Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because using a camera to generate image data and identify the item with a machine-learning model is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim 4 further limits the scanner to a radio frequency identification reader and the scan data to a radio frequency identification transmitter positioned on or in the item but does not integrate the exception because these elements amount to a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed system and would not provide significantly more (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(III), and MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation)..
Claim 5 recites the abstract idea “determining … a user identifier of the user” (Step 2A Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because identifying a user using scan data and updating/associating the record with the user identifier is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim 6 recites the abstraction idea(s) “determining the cleaning instructions”, “determining whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modified the default instructions”, and “determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier” (Step 2A Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because retrieving data from a database based on an identifier is extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claims 7 and 14 recite the abstract idea(s) “determining that the step was completed” and “determining the input” (Step 2A Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because using image data generated by a camera is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claims 8 and 15 recite the abstract idea(s) “determining the input”, “determining a measure of cleanliness of the item after the user performs the cleaning action associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions”, comparing the measure of cleanliness to a predetermined threshold of cleanliness associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions”, “determining that the measure of cleanliness satisfies the predetermined threshold”, and “determining that the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions was completed” (Step 2A Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because using imaging data to determine/compare a cleanliness of the item is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim 9 recites the abstract idea(s) “determining that the step was completed” and “detecting activation of a foot-controlled input interface associated with the computing device” (Step 2A Prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because using image data or a foot-controlled interface to confirm/detect a process step is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim 10 recites the abstract idea “determining that the step was completed” (Step 2A Prong 1) but does not integrate the exception under 2A Prong 2 because updating the record with a most recently completed step is interpreted as extra-solution activity which are incidental to the primary process as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use which are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sly et al. (US 2017/0273547 – hereinafter “Sly”).
Regarding claim 1, Sly disclose a computer-implemented method (Sly disclose a medical device cleaning method; figs. 1 & 8, [0018, 0074-0076]) comprising:
determining, with at least one processor (Sly disclose the computing system 800 comprises a processor 802; fig. 8, [0074-0076]), an item identifier of an item to be cleaned (Sly disclose a barcode, RFID tag, or other identifier coupled to an endoscope subject to one or more cleaning procedures; figs. 1 & 6, [0019, 0057-0064]);
determining, with at least one processor, cleaning instructions based on the item identifier, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise a plurality of steps defining cleaning actions to be performed on the item by a user (Sly disclose a cleaning workflow comprising manual and automated cleaning procedures which may be based on the manufacturer’s instructions of the product; [0040-0053, 0075-0076]);
sequentially presenting, with at least one processor, each step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions (Sly; fig. 4, 0046-0053, 0075-0076]), wherein sequentially presenting each step of the plurality of steps comprises:
presenting the step via at least one of a visual output and an auditory output of a computing device associated with the user (Sly; figs. 1 & 7, #140, #144, #710, [0022, 0065, 0094]); and
determining that the step was completed based on an input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]); and
updating, with at least one processor, a record associated with the item in at least one database to identify that the item was cleaned by the user (Sly; fig. 3, #322, [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining the item identifier comprises: determining the item identifier based on scan data generated by a scanner associated with the computing device (Sly; figs. 1 & 6, #124, #126, [0019, 0023, 0057-0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 2 above, wherein the scanner comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader and the scan data comprises a RFID identifier of a RFID transmitter positioned on or in the item (Sly; [0019, 0023, 0061, 0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 2 above, further comprising: determining, with at least one processor, a user identifier of the user based on the scan data generated by the scanner (Sly; fig. 3, #312, [0041, 0067-0069]); and
wherein updating the record in the at least one database comprises: associating, in the record, the user identifier with the item identifier and a time that the user completed a final step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions (Sly; [0042-0043, 0067-0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining the cleaning instructions comprises: retrieving default instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the default instructions are predetermined by a manufacturer of the item (Sly; fig. 4, [0049]);
determining whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modify the default instructions; and
in response to determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier, retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions.
Note: “determining whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modify the default instructions; and in response to determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier, retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions” are all contingent limitations and do not necessarily have to occur.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B. (See MPEP 2111.04).
Claim limitation “retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions” is a limitation that requires a condition where additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier. Since the method may be practiced by determining additional instructions have not been associated with the item identifier, the above limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 7, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining that the step was completed based on the input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]) comprises:
determining the input based on image data generated by a camera of the computing device, wherein the input comprises at least one of the following: a gesture of the user, a condition of the item, a performance of a cleaning action, a physical position of the user, or any combination thereof (Sly; fig. 2, [0025-0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 7 above, wherein the input comprises a condition of the item, and wherein determining the input further comprises: determining a measure of cleanliness of the item after the user performs the cleaning action associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions, wherein the measure of cleanliness is based on an amount of soiling of the item; comparing the measure of cleanliness to a predetermined threshold of cleanliness associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions; and in response to determining that the measure of cleanliness satisfies the predetermined threshold, determining that the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions was completed (Sly disclose manual testing or verification 420, manual cleaning 430, and automated cleaning 440 which are subject to pass/fail conditions (i.e. threshold conditions), wherein the process is completed when failure is determined or the device is placed in storage at 450; fig. 4, [0046-0053]. A failure at step 440 to properly disinfect the item is a measure of cleanliness based on an amount of soiling.).
Regarding claim 9, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining that the step was completed based on the input received at the computing device comprises: detecting activation of a foot-controlled input interface associated with the computing device (Sly disclose the user interface 140 configured to enable control by input devices such as a keyboard or a mouse which may be activated by foot; [0024, 0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein sequentially presenting each step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions further comprises: in response to determining that the step was completed, updating the record in the at least one database associated with the item to identify the step as a most recently completed step of the cleaning instructions (Sly; fig. 3, #322, [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Sly disclose a system (Sly disclose a medical device cleaning system and method; figs. 1 & 8, [0018, 0074-0076]) comprising:
at least one processor (Sly disclose the computing system 800 comprises a processor 802; fig. 8, [0074-0076]) configured to:
determine an item identifier of an item to be cleaned (Sly disclose a barcode, RFID tag, or other identifier coupled to an endoscope subject to one or more cleaning procedures; figs. 1 & 6, [0019, 0057-0064]);
determine cleaning instructions based on the item identifier, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise a plurality of steps defining cleaning actions to be performed on the item by a user (Sly disclose a cleaning workflow comprising manual and automated cleaning procedures which may be based on the manufacturer’s instructions of the product; [0040-0053, 0075-0076]);
sequentially present each step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions (Sly; fig. 4, 0046-0053, 0075-0076]), wherein,
when sequentially presenting each step of the plurality of steps, the at least one processor is configured to:
present the step via at least one of a visual output and an auditory output of a computing device associated with the user (Sly; figs. 1 & 7, #140, #144, #710, [0022, 0065, 0094]); and
determine that the step was completed based on an input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]); and
update a record associated with the item in at least one database to identify that the item was cleaned by the user (Sly; fig. 3, #322, [0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Sly disclose the system of claim 11 above, wherein, when determining the item identifier, the at least one processor is configured to: determine the item identifier based on scan data generated by a scanner associated with the computing device (Sly; figs. 1 & 6, #124, #126, [0019, 0023, 0057-0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Sly disclose the system of claim 11 above, wherein, when determining that the step was completed based on the input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]), the at least one processor is configured to:
determine the input based on image data generated by a camera of the computing device, wherein the input comprises at least one of the following: a gesture of the user, a condition of the item, a performance of a cleaning action, a physical position of the user, or any combination thereof (Sly; fig. 2, [0025-0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Sly disclose the system of claim 14 above, wherein the input comprises a condition of the item, and wherein, when determining the input, the at least one processor is configured to: determine a measure of cleanliness of the item after the user performs a cleaning action associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions, wherein the measure of cleanliness is based on an amount of soiling of the item; compare the measure of cleanliness to a predetermined threshold of cleanliness associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions; and in response to determining that the measure of cleanliness satisfies the predetermined threshold, determine that the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions was completed (Sly disclose manual testing or verification 420, manual cleaning 430, and automated cleaning 440 which are subject to pass/fail conditions (i.e. threshold conditions), wherein the process is completed when failure is determined or the device is placed in storage at 450; fig. 4, [0046-0053]. A failure at step 440 to properly disinfect the item is a measure of cleanliness based on an amount of soiling.).
Regarding claim 16, Sly disclose a computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more instructions that (Sly disclose a medical device cleaning method; figs. 1 & 8, [0018, 0074-0076]), when executed by at least one processor (Sly disclose the computing system 800 comprises a processor 802; fig. 8, [0074-0076]), cause the at least one processor to:
determine an item identifier of an item to be cleaned (Sly disclose a barcode, RFID tag, or other identifier coupled to an endoscope subject to one or more cleaning procedures; figs. 1 & 6, [0019, 0057-0064]);
determine cleaning instructions based on the item identifier, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise a plurality of steps defining cleaning actions to be performed on the item by a user (Sly disclose a cleaning workflow comprising manual and automated cleaning procedures which may be based on the manufacturer’s instructions of the product; [0040-0053, 0075-0076]);
sequentially present each step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions (Sly; fig. 4, 0046-0053, 0075-0076]),
wherein, when sequentially presenting each step of the plurality of steps, the at least one processor is configured to: present the step via at least one of a visual output and an auditory output of a computing device associated with the user (Sly; figs. 1 & 7, #140, #144, #710, [0022, 0065, 0094]); and
determine that the step was completed based on an input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]); and
update a record associated with the item in at least one database to identify that the item was cleaned by the user (Sly; fig. 3, #322, [0043]).
Regarding claim 17, Sly disclose the computer program product of claim 16 above, wherein the one or more instructions that cause the at least one processor to determine the item identifier cause the at least one processor to: determine the item identifier based on scan data generated by a scanner associated with the computing device (Sly; figs. 1 & 6, #124, #126, [0019, 0023, 0057-0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Sly disclose the computer program product of claim 16, wherein the one or more instructions that cause the at least one processor to determine that the step was completed based on the input received at the computing device (Sly figs. 4 & 7, [0046-0053, 0065-0066, 0082]) cause the at least one processor to:
determine the input based on image data generated by a camera of the computing device, wherein the input comprises at least one of the following: a gesture of the user, a condition of the item, a performance of a cleaning action, a physical position of the user, or any combination thereof (Sly; fig. 2, [0025-0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Sly disclose the computer program product of claim 19 above, wherein the input comprises a condition of the item, and wherein the one or more instructions that cause the at least one processor to determine the input cause the at least one processor to: determine a measure of cleanliness of the item after the user performs a cleaning action associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions, wherein the measure of cleanliness is based on an amount of soiling of the item; compare the measure of cleanliness to a predetermined threshold of cleanliness associated with the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions; and in response to determining that the measure of cleanliness satisfies the predetermined threshold, determine that the step of the plurality of steps of the cleaning instructions was completed (Sly disclose manual testing or verification 420, manual cleaning 430, and automated cleaning 440 which are subject to pass/fail conditions (i.e. threshold conditions), wherein the process is completed when failure is determined or the device is placed in storage at 450; fig. 4, [0046-0053]. A failure at step 440 to properly disinfect the item is a measure of cleanliness based on an amount of soiling.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sly in view of Arditi (US 2019/0147331 – hereinafter “Arditi”).
Regarding claim 3, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 2 above, wherein the scanner comprises a camera, the scan data comprises image data, and determining the item identifier further comprises: identifying the item based on an output of a machine model given an input of the image data (Sly disclose the camera 145, a near field communication component 150, or an external barcode reader may be used in connection with identifier recognition, such as the detection of a barcode or RFID identifier being provided by a user in response to an inquiry displayed in the user interface 140; [0023]).
Sly does not teach the model is a machine-learning model.
However, Arditi teach the analogous art of a model that identifies an item based on an output given an input from image data and other sensor data (Arditi; fig. 4, [0018, 0025, 0032]), wherein the model is a machine-learning model (Arditi; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine model of Sly with the machine-learning model, as taught by Arditi, because Arditi teach the machine learning model classifies the identified objects to identify where the object is located (Ardidi; [0032]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sly and Arditi both teach models that use imaging data as inputs to operate a machine computing device.
Regarding claim 13, Sly disclose the system of claim 12 above, wherein the scanner comprises a camera, the scan data comprises image data, and when determining the item identifier, the at least one processor is configured to: identify the item based on an output of a machine model given an input of the image data (Sly disclose the camera 145, a near field communication component 150, or an external barcode reader may be used in connection with identifier recognition, such as the detection of a barcode or RFID identifier being provided by a user in response to an inquiry displayed in the user interface 140; [0023]).
Sly does not teach the model is a machine-learning model.
However, Arditi teach the analogous art of a model that identifies an item based on an output given an input from image data and other sensor data (Arditi; fig. 4, [0018, 0025, 0032]), wherein the model is a machine-learning model (Arditi; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine model of Sly with the machine-learning model, as taught by Arditi, because Arditi teach the machine learning model classifies the identified objects to identify where the object is located (Ardidi; [0032]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sly and Arditi both teach models that use imaging data as inputs to operate a machine computing device.
Regarding claim 18, Sly disclose the computer program product of claim 17 above, wherein the scanner comprises a camera, the scan data comprises image data, and the one or more instructions that cause the at least one processor to determine the item identifier cause the at least one processor to: identify the item based on an output of a machine model given an input of the image data (Sly disclose the camera 145, a near field communication component 150, or an external barcode reader may be used in connection with identifier recognition, such as the detection of a barcode or RFID identifier being provided by a user in response to an inquiry displayed in the user interface 140; [0023]).
Sly does not teach the model is a machine-learning model.
However, Arditi teach the analogous art of a model that identifies an item based on an output given an input from image data and other sensor data (Arditi; fig. 4, [0018, 0025, 0032]), wherein the model is a machine-learning model (Arditi; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine model of Sly with the machine-learning model, as taught by Arditi, because Arditi teach the machine learning model classifies the identified objects to identify where the object is located (Ardidi; [0032]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sly and Arditi both teach models that use imaging data as inputs to operate a machine computing device.
Claim 6 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sly in view of Takeoka (US 2002/0032707 – hereinafter “Takeoka”).
Regarding claim 6, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining the cleaning instructions comprises: retrieving default instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the default instructions are predetermined by a manufacturer of the item (Sly; fig. 4, [0049]).
If it is deemed that Sly does not teach determining whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modify the default instructions; and in response to determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier, retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions, Takeoka teach the analogous art of a computer implemented method of retrieving default instructions by a manufacturer of an item (Takeoka; fig. 1, #48, [0047]), wherein the instructions comprises determining whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modify the default instructions; and in response to determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier, retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions (Takeoka; figs. 2, #74, [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the computer-implemented method of Sly to further whether additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier in the at least one database that modify the default instructions; and in response to determining that the additional instructions have been associated with the item identifier, retrieving the additional instructions associated with the item identifier from the at least one database, wherein the cleaning instructions comprise the default instructions modified by the additional instructions, as taught by Takeoka, because Takeoka teach including the additional instructions provides a customized manual which contains inserted additional data from either the manufacturer or a user (Takeoka; [0050]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sly and Takeoka both teach electronically retrieving an instruction manual from a computing device.
Claim 9 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sly in view of Britton et al. (US 2019/0167356 – hereinafter “Britton”).
Regarding claim 9, Sly disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, wherein determining that the step was completed based on the input received at the computing device comprises: detecting activation of a input interface associated with the computing device (Sly disclose the user interface 140 configured to enable control by input devices such as a keyboard or a mouse which may be activated by foot; [0024, 0074]).
If it is deemed that Sly does not teach a foot-controlled input interface, Britton teach the analogous art of a computing system 140 and human interface device 145 which comprises a foot pedal (Britton; fig. 1, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the input interface of Sly with a foot-controlled input interface, as taught by Britton, because Britton teach the foot pedal are commonly associated with input mechanism compatible with a surgical environment (Britton; [0035]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sly and Britton both each computing systems and input interfaces designed for clean-room environments.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Gemunder et al. (US 2002/0030661) disclose a foot switch interface for operation of a computer.
Bonikowski (US 2007/0279653) disclose a computer method for generating customized maintenance manuals.
Fujita (US 2008/0050280) disclose a maintenance schedule and screen for displaying a maintenance history/plan.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798