Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/26/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al (PGPUB 2010/0253882 A1).
As to claim 1, Han (Figs. 1, 2, 4A) teaches, an electro-optically controlled display (liquid crystal module using LED as light modules)(¶ 50), comprising:
a display substrate (liquid crystal panel 10, light guide plates 201 and 202)(Fig. 1);
row wires (gate lines 15) extending in a row direction disposed on or in the display substrate (Figs. 1, 2, ¶ 28);
row light-pipes (second intaglio patterned lines 302) extending at least in the row direction (Fig. 1) disposed on or in the display substrate (Figs. 1, 4A, ¶ 40, 41);
a row controller (gate driving unit 13 and light driving unit 22) operable to provide a respective row electrical signal (scan pulse, ¶ 31) to each of the row wires and operable to provide a respective row optical signal (i.e. light from light sources 204 or LLED) to each of the row light-pipes (¶ 27, 31 35),
column light-pipes (first intaglio patterned lines 301) extending in a column direction (Fig. 1) disposed on or in the display substrate (Figs. 1, 4A, ¶ 40 41);
a column controller (source driving unit 12 and light source driving units 22) operable to provide a respective column optical signal (i.e. light from light sources 203 or ULED) to each of the column light-pipes (¶ 27, 30, 35);
wherein the respective column optical signal (i.e. signals generated by first light source driving unit 21 and second light source driving unit 22 and applied to first light sources 203 and second light sources 204) provides data signals specifying a desired luminance (luminance) for a pixel (i.e. pixels corresponding to blocks B11-B45)(¶ 38: i.e. luminance of the image is analyzed to generate the local dimming signals LDIM, which is applied to generate the signals for light source driving units 21 and 22); and
pixels (pixel) disposed in rows and columns over the display substrate (Fig. 2), wherein each of the pixels comprises a pixel circuit (thin film transistor TFT and storage capacitor Cst) that is connected to a combination of (i) one of the row wires (gate lines 15), (ii) one of the row light-pipes (second intaglio patterned lines 302), and (iii) one of the column light-pipes (first intaglio patterned lines 301), the pixel circuit operable to receive the respective row electrical signal from the one of the row wires, to receive the respective row optical signal from the one of the row light-pipes (¶ 31, 35, 37), and to receive the respective column optical signal from the one of the column light-pipes (¶ 27, 30, 35)(Han’s liquid crystal display device teaches utilizing all of row wires, column wires, row light-pipes and column light-pipes).
As to claim 2, Han (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the respective row electrical signal comprises a row-select signal (scan pulses)(¶ 31).
As to claim 3, Han (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the respective row optical signal comprises a timing signal (local dimming signal LDIM)(¶ 38: i.e. synchronized with the timing controller 11 upon receiving timing signals).
As to claim 4, Han (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the respective column optical signal comprises a data signal (data voltages)(¶ 30).
As to claim 5, Han (Fig. 2) teaches, wherein the pixels are arranged in a matrix-addressed array over the system substrate (Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Han (Fig. 2) teaches, wherein (i) the row wires extend substantially orthogonal to the column light-pipes over the display substrate (Fig. 2: i.e. gate lines 15 and first intaglio patterned lines 21 are orthogonal as shown in Fig. 1, 2, and 4A), (ii) the row light-pipes extend substantially orthogonal to the column light-pipes over the display substrate (Fig. 4A: i.e. the second intaglio patterned lines 302 is orthogonal to data line 14), or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (Figs. 1, 2, 4A: i.e. Han teaches both scenarios (i) and (ii) as shown in the figures).
As to claim 7, Han (Fig. 4A) teaches, wherein (i) the column controller comprises at least one inorganic light-emitting diode (first light source 203, ULED) that emits light into each of the column light-pipes, (ii) the row controller comprises at least one inorganic light-emitting diode (second light source 204, LLED) that emits light into each of the row light-pipes, or (iit) both (i) and (ii) (Figs. 1, 4A, ¶ 40).
As to claim 8, Han (Fig. 2) teaches, wherein the pixel circuit comprises (i) an optical input circuit (2D measuring instrument on the light guide plates) responsive to the respective column optical signal from the one of the column light-pipes and to the respective row optical signal from the one of the row light-pipes and (ii) an electrical input circuit responsive to the respective row electrical signal from the one of the row wires, wherein the optical input circuit comprises one or more light sensors (¶ 52: i.e. measure luminous flux by 2D measuring instrument, which can measure light from any LED form ULED1-3 and LLED1-3 based on the light guide structure as shown in Fig. 4A).
As to claim 10, Han (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein each of the pixels comprises a pixel substrate (two glass substrates) non-native to the display substrate (first and second light guide plates 201 and 202)(¶ 28, 33: i.e. Han teaches having substrate for the liquid crystal pixels while having separate plate/substrate for the backlight).
As to claim 12, Han (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein at least two rows (block size) of the pixels are responsive to a common one of the row light-pipes (¶ 34, 41: i.e. display is shown to have 5 horizontal blocks in Fig. 3, which would cover a block of pixels).
As to claim 13, Han (Figs. 1, 2, 4A) a pixel (Fig. 2), comprising:
a pixel substrate (two glass substrates)(¶ 28); and
a pixel circuit (pixel array) operable to respond to a row electrical signal (scan pulse, ¶ 31), a row optical signal (local dimming signal LDIM), and a column optical signal (local dimming signal LDIM)(i.e. when the optical signals turn on the light from the light source driving unit 21 and 22, pixel array utilizes a liquid crystal cell to pass through the light at synchronized timing of the light emission), the pixel circuit disposed on, in, or over the pixel substrate (¶ 28),
wherein the column optical signal (i.e. signals generated by first light source driving unit 21 and second light source driving unit 22 and applied to first light sources 203 and second light sources 204) provides data signals specifying a desired luminance (luminance) for a pixel (i.e. pixels corresponding to blocks B11-B45)(¶ 38: i.e. luminance of the image is analyzed to generate the local dimming signals LDIM, which is applied to generate the signals for light source driving units 21 and 22).
Claim(s) 9, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Krijin et al (PGPUB 2006/0145970 A1).
As to claim 9, Han (Figs. 1, 2, 4A) teaches, wherein each of the pixels comprises (i) one or more inorganic light-emitting diodes (ULED, LLED, Fig. 4A).
Han does not specifically teach one or more inorganic light-emitting diodes controllable by the pixel circuit, (ii) one or more light sensors to which the pixel circuit is responsive, or (iit) both (i) and (ii).
Krijin (Fig. 1) teaches, one or more inorganic light-emitting diodes (“LED”, ¶ 46) controllable by the pixel circuit (Fig. 3: i.e. pixel light generating element LG controlled by transistor TR1)(¶ 52), (ii) one or more light sensors to which the pixel circuit (light sensitive elements FLS)(¶ 48, 49) is responsive, or (iit) both (i) and (ii) (Fig. 3: i.e. Krijin teaches both of light emitting diode and light sensors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Krijin’s pixel structure into Han’s display with backlight, so as to improve the brightness of the display (¶ 13).
As to claim 14, Han teaches the pixel of claim 13, but does not specifically teach a light sensor.
Krijin (Fig. 3) teaches, teaches, wherein the pixel circuit comprises a light sensor (light sensitive element LS) and wherein the pixel comprises an inorganic light- emitting diode (LED) (i) electrically connected to the pixel circuit and (ii) disposed on, in, or over the pixel substrate (¶ 46, 48, 55: i.e. pixels are integrated in a substrate SU).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Krijin’s pixel structure into Han’s display with backlight, so as to improve the brightness of the display (¶ 13).
As to claim 19, Han (Figs. 1, 2, 4A) teaches, an electro-optically controlled imaging system (liquid crystal module using LED as light modules)(¶ 50), comprising:
a system substrate (liquid crystal panel 10, light guide plates 201 and 202)(Fig. 1);
row wires (gate lines 15) extending in a row direction disposed on or in the system substrate (Figs. 1, 2, ¶ 28);
a row controller (gate driving unit 13 and light driving unit 22) operable to provide a respective row electrical signal (scan pulse, ¶ 31) to each of the row wires (¶ 27, 31 35),
column light-pipes (first intaglio patterned lines 301) extending in a column direction (Fig. 1) disposed on or in the system substrate (Figs. 1, 4A, ¶ 40 41);
a column controller (source driving unit 12 and light source driving units 22) operable to provide a respective column optical signal (i.e. light from light sources 203 or ULED) to each of the column light-pipes (¶ 27, 30, 35); and
pixels (pixel) disposed in rows and columns over the system substrate (Fig. 2), wherein each of the pixels comprises a pixel circuit (thin film transistor TFT and storage capacitor Cst) that is uniquely electrically connected to one of the row wires (Fig. 2) and that is optically connected to one of the column light-pipes (first intaglio patterned lines 301), the pixel circuit operable to receive the respective row electrical signal from the one of the row wires and to transmit the respective column optical signal from the one of the column light-pipes (i.e. light from light sources 203 or ULED in response to LDIM)(¶ 27, 30, 35).
Han teaches wherein the respective column optical signal provides data signals (i.e. signals generated by first light source driving unit 21 and second light source driving unit 22 and applied to first light sources 203 and second light sources 204 from LDIM) but does not specifically teach data signals specifying a sensed radiation for a pixel.
Krijn (Figs. 104) teaches, wherein the respective column optical signal provides data signals specifying a sensed radiation (i.e. light generated to and sensed by the light sensitive elements LSij) for a pixel (¶ 35: i.e. input data ID control the light generating element ALj and cooperates with the Lightwave guides to supply the control light generated to the light sensitive elements LSij).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Krijin’s pixel structure into Han’s display with backlight, so as to improve the brightness of the display (¶ 13).
As to claim 20, Han (Figs. 1, 2, 4A) teaches, one or more row light-pipes (second intaglio patterned lines 302) extending at least in the row direction disposed on the system substrate (Figs. 1, 4A, ¶ 40, 41), wherein the row controller is operable to provide a respective row optical signal (i.e. generate light from LED 204 and LLED in response to LDIM) to each of the row light- pipes (¶ 27, 30, 35).
Han does not specifically teach the pixel circuit is connected to a one of the row light-pipes to receive the respective row optical signal from the one of the row light-pipes.
Krijin (Figs. 1, 3) teaches, the pixel circuit (Fig. 3) is connected to a one of the row light-pipes (light waveguides LW) to receive the respective row optical signal from the one of the row light-pipes (¶ 33: i.e. pixel associated with light-waveguide, Fig. 3 teaches transistor TR1 controls pixel light LM from pixel light generating element LG).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Krijin’s pixel structure into Han’s display with backlight, so as to improve the brightness of the display (¶ 13).
Claim(s) 11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Cok et al (PGPUB 2018/0261658 A1: herein after 658).
As to claim 11, Han teaches the electro-optically controlled display of claim 10, but does not specifically teach pixel substrate comprise a broken or separated pixel tether.
Cok 658 (Fig. 2A) teaches, wherein the pixel substrate (integrated circuit 21) comprises a broken or separated pixel tether (tether 16)(Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cok 658’s display structure into Han’s display, so as to improve the adhesive between components and the substrates and improve the electrical connection (¶ 67).
As to claim 15, Han teaches the pixel of claim 13, but does not specifically teach the pixel substrate comprises a broken or separated pixel tether.
Cok 658 (Fig. 2A) teaches, a broken or separated pixel tether (tether 16)from the pixel substrate (integrated circuit 21)(Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cok 658’s display structure into Han’s display, so as to improve the adhesive between components and the substrates and improve the electrical connection (¶ 67).
As to claim 16, Han teaches the pixel of claim 13, but does not specifically teach a compound semiconductor device.
Cok 658 (Figs. 1B-2B) teaches, wherein the pixel is a heterogeneous integrated module (micro-device 20) comprising a semiconductor device (¶ 59: i.e. semiconductor device) and a compound semiconductor device (¶ 59: i.e. compound elements), wherein the semiconductor device comprises a semiconductor (semiconductor device) and the compound semiconductor device comprises a compound semiconductor (¶ 59).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cok 658’s display structure into Han’s display, so as to improve the adhesive between components and the substrates and improve the electrical connection (¶ 67).
As to claim 17, Han teaches the pixel of claim 13, but does not specifically teach a semiconductor and the pixel circuit native to the pixel substrate.
Cok 658 (Figs. 1, 2) teaches, wherein (1) the pixel substrate comprises a semiconductor (semiconductor integrated circuit 21) and the pixel circuit is native to the pixel substrate (micro-device 20)(Figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cok 658’s display structure into Han’s display, so as to improve the adhesive between components and the substrates and improve the electrical connection (¶ 67).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Cok et al (PGPUB 2019/0333901: hereinafter Cok 901).
As to claim 18, Han (Figs. 1, 2) teaches, wherein the pixel substrate is a non- semiconductor substrate (glass substrates), but does not specifically teach the pixel circuit is formed in an integrated circuit.
Cok 901 (Fig. 8) teaches, the pixel circuit is formed in an integrated circuit (integrated circuit) comprising a circuit substrate (pixel tether 52 and display substrate 10) non-native to and disposed on the pixel substrate (Fig. 8: i.e. pixel substrate is not native to display substrate 10 and is placed on the top surface as shown in Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cok 901’s pixel structure into Han’s display device, so as to improve display substrate yields and reduce costs (¶ 87).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 13 and 19 recite the new limitations. Claims 1 and 13 newly recite the limitation, “wherein the respective column optical signal provides data signals specifying a desired luminance for a pixel” and claim 19 newly recite the limitation, “wherein the respective column optical signal provides data signals specifying a sensed radiation for a pixel”. Further, Applicant argues that these new limitations are not taught by Han prior art and that light from light sources of Han cannot specify a desired luminance for a pixel. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Han prior art teaches on ¶ 38 that the image analyzing unit 16 analyzes the digital video data RGB and analyzes the luminance of the input images in units of the block size. The image analyzing unit 16 generates the local dimming signal LDIM for adjusting the supply current to the light sources 203 and 204 in proportion to the luminance analyzed by the block size. In other words, the local dimming signal LDIM specifies the luminance required for displaying the image and drives the light sources with the proper luminance.
Regarding claim 19, Han and Krijn prior art combination teaches the new limitation. Krijn teaches that the data driver DD receives the input data ID, which controls light generating element ALj to produce a control light Lj. The control light is supplied to the light sensitive elements LSij of the pixel as described in ¶ 35. In other words, input data ID controls the light provided to the light sensitive elements and specifies the sensed radiation of control light by the light sensitive elements. Therefore, Han and Krijn prior art combination teaches the limitations of claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623