DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 1-8 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 3 and 5 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 1.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, see discussion below.
The applicant argued that Wenger, Zhang and Sychev, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the following recitations of claims 1, 3, and 5, as currently amended: “using the mode, form a first inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a first block of the second coded picture from the first reference picture using a first spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder and a first filter determined for the first block” OR “using the mode, form a second inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a second block of the third coded picture from the second reference picture using a second spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder and a second filter determined for the second block”
As to the above argument, Wenger discloses a first inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a first block of the second coded picture from the first reference picture utilizing a Motion Compensation Prediction unit (353) accesses reference picture memory (357) to fetch samples used for prediction and apply motion compensating the fetched samples in accordance with the symbols (321) pertaining to the block, these samples can be added by the aggregator (355) to the output of the scaler/inverse transform unit to generate output sample information ([0038], FIG. 3) using a first spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder decoding incoming copy of the encoded video bitstream (207) ([0029], FIG. 2, [0063]).
Wenger further discloses a second inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a second block of the third coded picture from the second reference picture using the Motion Compensation Prediction unit (353) ([0038], FIG. 3) using a second spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder and a second filter determined for the second block adaptively resampled or rescaled/unscaled for decoding, referencing for prediction spatial resolution of a picture segment and output for display (reference picture resampling (RPR) information; and if a reference picture resolution is different from a decoded picture resolution, a decoded picture is rescaled in relation to a ratio between the reference picture resolution and the decoded picture resolution, and then the rescaled decoded picture is stored in a decoded picture buffer (DPB) as a reference picture ([0064], FIG. 5, [0071]).
It should be further noted that Applicant has not presented any specific arguments with regards to the rejections of the dependent claims.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection with regards to above arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenger et al. (US 20220132153, hereinafter Wenger) in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20220060712, hereinafter ZHANG) and Sychev (US 20160014411, hereinafter, Sychev)
Regarding Claim 1, Wenger discloses a decoder (FIG. 3), for decoding a coded bit stream configured to:
execute a block-based mode in which a reference picture of one resolution is used to form a predictor for a picture of another resolution ([0064], FIG. 5, a flag (adaptive picture resolution) (502)indicates whether the spatial resolution of a picture segment is adaptively resampled/rescaled/unscaled for decoding, referencing for prediction, and output for display (reference picture resampling (RPR) information);
receive a coded bit stream encoded by an encoder ([0029], FIG. 2, decoding incoming copy of the encoded video bitstream (207); [0063]; claim 9) and including a first coded picture having a first spatial resolution, a second coded picture having a second spatial resolution, and a third coded picture having a third spatial resolution ([0071], if a reference picture resolution is different from a decoded picture resolution, a decoded picture is rescaled in relation to a ratio between the reference picture resolution and the decoded picture resolution, and then the rescaled decoded picture is stored in a decoded picture buffer (DPB) as a reference picture; Claim 9, a first high level syntax structure for a plurality of pictures, a syntax element related to a reference segment resolution; second encoding code configured to encode, to a second high level syntax structure that changes from a first coded picture to a second coded picture, a syntax element related to an encoded segment resolution; resampling code configured to resample, a sample from a reference picture memory for use for prediction by an encoder, the encoder encoding a segment of the source video sequence into the encoded segment resolution);
decode the first coded picture and store the first picture as a first reference picture ([0064], FIG. 5, spatial resolution of a picture segment is adaptively resampled/ rescaled/ unscaled for decoding, referencing for prediction, and output for display (reference picture resampling (RPR) information);
using the mode, form a first inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a first block of the second coded picture from the first reference picture using a first spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder ([0029], FIG. 2, decoding incoming copy of the encoded video bitstream (207); [0038], FIG. 3, a Motion Compensation Prediction unit (353) accesses reference picture memory (357) to fetch samples used for prediction and apply motion compensating the fetched samples in accordance with the symbols (321) pertaining to the block, these samples can be added by the aggregator (355) to the output of the scaler/inverse transform unit to generate output sample information; [0063]);
a first filter ([0064], FIG. 5 , [0079], and various filters used in the rescaling process; Claim 9, a first high level syntax structure for a plurality of pictures, a syntax element related to a reference segment resolution);
decode the second coded picture using the first inter-picture motion compensation predictor and store the second picture as a second reference picture ([0038], FIG. 3, a Motion Compensation Prediction unit (353) accesses reference picture memory (357) to fetch samples used for prediction and apply motion compensating the fetched samples; [0071], if a reference picture resolution is different from a decoded picture resolution, a decoded picture is rescaled in relation to a ratio between the reference picture resolution and the decoded picture resolution, and then the rescaled decoded picture is stored in a decoded picture buffer (DPB) as a reference picture);
using the mode, form a second inter-picture motion compensation predictor for a second block of the third coded picture from the second reference picture using a second spatial resolution changing scale factor signaled to the decoder by the encoder and a second filter determined for the second block ([0038], FIG. 3, a Motion Compensation Prediction unit (353); [0064], FIG. 5, [0071], spatial resolution of a picture segment is adaptively resampled or rescaled/unscaled for decoding, referencing for prediction, and output for display (reference picture resampling (RPR) information; and if a reference picture resolution is different from a decoded picture resolution, a decoded picture is rescaled in relation to a ratio between the reference picture resolution and the decoded picture resolution, and then the rescaled decoded picture is stored in a decoded picture buffer (DPB) as a reference picture).
Wenger does not explicitly disclose a second filter and
ZHANG teaches a second filter and decode the third coded picture using the second predictor ([0016], adaptive resolution conversion (ARC) information is signaled in the bitstream representation, wherein a current picture comprising the current video block has a first resolution, and wherein the ARC process comprises resampling a portion of the current video block at a second resolution different from the first resolution; [0484], a current picture comprising the current video block has a first resolution, and the ARC process comprises resampling a portion of the current video block at a second resolution different from the first resolution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of second filter and decode the third coded picture using the second predictor as taught by ZHANG ([0016]) into the imaging system of Wenger in order to provide prediction structure in sub-picture representations without compromising from fast and seamless representation switching capability between sub-picture representations of different properties, such as different spatial resolutions, while enabling merging of sub-picture representations into single bitstream. Enables use of efficient prediction structures (ZHANG, [0090]).
Wenger & ZHANG do not explicitly disclose the first filter determined for the first block and the second filter determined for the second block
Sychev teaches the first filter determined for the first block ([0095], FIG. 3, first new prediction mode is processed by up-scaling 317 a block 316 of the second resolution layer image 304 to a corresponding block 326 of an up-scaled second resolution layer image and filtering 330 the corresponding block 326 of the up-scaled second resolution layer image by a sharpening filter to obtain a predictor block 336 which is a corresponding block 306 of the first resolution layer image 302 )and the second filter determined for the second block ([0096], FIG. 3, second new prediction mode is processed by up-scaling 319 a scaled block 318 which is scaled by a custom scale to obtain a predictor block 328 which is a corresponding block 308 of the first resolution layer image 302)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the first filter determined for the first block and the second filter determined for the second block as taught by Sychev ([0016]) into the imaging system of Wenger & ZHANG in order to provide reduced residual signal and improved coding efficiency when image blocks containing distinct edges which are smeared by downsampling or upsampling transforms with computational complexity and memory requirements of optimal prediction parameters search are minimized and flexible quality-performance trade-off (Sychev, [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wenger in view of ZHANG and Sychev discloses the decoder of claim 1,
Wenger discloses wherein the first resolution and third resolution are the same and wherein the second scaling factor and second filter and first scaling factor and first filter inversely affect spatial resolution ([0078], FIG. 6, video decoder, in receipt of non-RPS related syntax elements from the coded video bitstream may reconstruct the coded picture in potentially downsampled resolution received from a decoded picture buffer (604) that stores reference pictures or segments in full resolution, a rescaling (605) to provide the decoder (603) with an appropriately resampled reference picture)
Regarding Claims 3-4, Video encoder claims 3-4 of using the corresponding decoder claimed in claims 1-2, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 5-6, Decoder for computer readable medium claims 5-6 of using the corresponding decoder claimed in claims 1-2, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 7, Wenger in view of ZHANG and Sychev discloses the decoder of claim 1, Wenger discloses wherein the first reference picture and the second reference picture are stored in a decoded picture buffer in a position determined by an index ([0059] A Predictive picture (P picture) may be one that may be coded and decoded using intra prediction or inter prediction using at most one motion vector and reference index to predict the sample values of each block; [0078], FIG. 6)
Regarding Claim 8, Wenger in view of ZHANG and Sychev discloses the decoder of claim 7, Wenger discloses wherein the index is signaled in the coded bitstream ([0078], FIG. 6, a video bitstream parser (602) may parse and interpret the above syntax elements and other syntax elements from a coded video bitstream received from a coded picture buffer (601)).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487