DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to submission of the amendment and Terminal Disclaimer filed on 9/2/2025.
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Terminal Disclaimer filed on 9/2/2025 has been considered and was disapproved. See communication on 9/10/2025.
Priority
Applicants’ claim for the benefit of a prior-filed U.S. Application No. 18/118,375, filed March 7, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/191,633, filed March 3, 2021, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/984,666, filed March 3, 2020 is acknowledged and admitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the amendment of 9/2/2025, the term “college recruiter” was added to the independent claims 1 and 2. In the accompanied response, on page 5, applicant asserts that the amendment was to “made more clear that a key use of the claimed platform is a ‘college recruiter”… [for] “pre-authorized college recruiter users.”
In the context of the claims, the newly added limitations to independent claims 1 and 2 requires that the claimed embodiment of “the graphical user interface (GUI) varied by the AI engine …[is for] … a prospective college recruiter, wherein the remote access for the prospective college recruiter type” (similar in claim 2).
However, there is no evidence in specification that the applicant’s embodiment is used by a “prospective college recruiter” and that is “a key use of the claimed platform”. There are five mentions of “recruiter” in the specification (Para 26, 32, 33, 40) that mentions that a recruiter can be a viewer or recipients of the player’s video, statistics, etc. And, there are two instances of mentioning the term “college” – Paragraphs. 23 discusses that the game schedules and player statistics can be used by a “college player recruiting apps” and Paragraph 25 discusses that the apps can be “integrated” to share the player profiles, pictures, schedules, statistics, etc. for players hoping to be recruited by local teams, high school teams and colleges.
Thus, although it can be speculated that a college recruiter (or anyone for that matter) may be able to use the app, the specification does not describe an embodiment, where preferred or best mode, in which a key use of the platform is by a “prospective college recruiter” and the specification fails to describe the “wherein the remote access [is] for the prospective college recruiter type” as in the amended claims.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11596853. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite only obvious differences which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention such as simply omitting/adding steps or elements along with their functions.
Current Application
US Patent No. 11596853
1. A sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (Al) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
1. A sports hub, comprising: an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, a scoreboard, and an audio input, to the Al engine;
a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, a scoreboard, and an audio system, to the AI engine;
and a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the Al engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the Al engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates remote access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter,
and a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the AI engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter,
wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to:ones of the plurality of third party applications, including at least upcoming scheduling; a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; and
wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to ones of the plurality of third party applications, a video feed from the video camera, a game score from the scoreboard, in-game audio from the audio system, swing mechanics data determined from the video feed, and
and highlight clips composed from the video feed and the audio input, regarding a particular player in a particular game who is the subject of the account and who is as recognized in at least the video feed by the Al engine as being the subject of the account.
highlight reels composed from the video feed and the audio system, regarding a particular player in a particular game as identified by the account and as recognized in at least the video feed by the AI engine as being identified by the account.
2. A sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
1. A sports hub, comprising: an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
a hardware integrator capable of remotely linking a plurality of on-site hardware at a plurality of geographic locations, including at least on-site video cameras, to the Al engine;
a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, a scoreboard, and an audio system, to the AI engine;
and a graphical user interface (GUI) varied by the Al engine according to a user type as indicated by a registered account with the Al engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access varied by the user type of at least a familial relation or a prospective recruiter relation,
and a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the AI engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter,
wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to:ones of the plurality of third party applications, including at least upcoming scheduling; a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; and
wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to ones of the plurality of third party applications, a video feed from the video camera, a game score from the scoreboard, in-game audio from the audio system, swing mechanics data determined from the video feed, and
and highlight video reels, composed at least from the video feeds, regarding a particular player identified by the account and recognized in at least the video feeds by the Al engine as being identified by the account.
highlight reels composed from the video feed and the audio system, regarding a particular player in a particular game as identified by the account and as recognized in at least the video feed by the AI engine as being identified by the account.
Claim(s) 1-16 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12010407. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite only obvious differences which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention such as simply omitting/adding steps or elements along with their functions.
Current Application
US Patent No. 12010407
1. A sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (Al) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
1. A sports hub, comprising: an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, a scoreboard, and an audio input, to the Al engine;
a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, a scoreboard, and an audio input, to the AI engine; and
and a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the Al engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the Al engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates remote access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter,
a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the AI engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates remote access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter,
wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to:ones of the plurality of third party applications, including at least upcoming scheduling; a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; and
wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: ones of the plurality of third party applications; a video feed from the video camera; a game score from the scoreboard; game commentary from the audio input;
and highlight clips composed from the video feed and the audio input, regarding a particular player in a particular game who is the subject of the account and who is as recognized in at least the video feed by the Al engine as being the subject of the account.
highlight clips composed from the video feed and the audio input, regarding a particular player in a particular game who is a subject of the account and who is recognized in at least the video feed by the AI engine as being the subject of the account, wherein the particular player in the particular game is determined at least in part by an upcoming scheduling.
2. A sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
2. A sports hub, comprising: an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration;
a hardware integrator capable of remotely linking a plurality of on-site hardware at a plurality of geographic locations, including at least on-site video cameras, to the Al engine;
a hardware integrator capable of remotely linking a plurality of on-site hardware at a plurality of geographic locations, including at least on-site video cameras, and a scoreboard, to the AI engine; and
and a graphical user interface (GUI) varied by the Al engine according to a user type as indicated by a registered account with the Al engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access varied by the user type of at least a familial relation or a prospective recruiter relation,
a graphical user interface (GUI) varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by a registered account with the AI engine, and in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access varied by the user type of at least a familial relation or a prospective recruiter relation,
wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to:ones of the plurality of third party applications, including at least upcoming scheduling; a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; and
wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: ones of the plurality of third party applications, including at least upcoming scheduling; a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; a game score from the scoreboard; sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; and
and highlight video reels, composed at least from the video feeds, regarding a particular player identified by the account and recognized in at least the video feeds by the Al engine as being identified by the account.
highlight video reels, composed at least from the video feeds, regarding a particular player in a particular game who is a subject of the account and recognized in at least the video feeds by the AI engine as being the subject of the account,
3. The hub of claim 2, wherein the recognition occurs from at least one of an uploaded picture, a uniform type and color, a uniform number, and team knowledge from the upcoming scheduling.
3. The hub of claim 2, wherein the recognition occurs from at least one of an uploaded picture, a uniform type and color, a uniform number, and team knowledge from the upcoming scheduling.
4. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a game on the upcoming schedule.
4. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a game on the upcoming schedule.
5. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a showcase on the upcoming schedule.
5. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a showcase on the upcoming schedule.
6. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed further includes accumulated game statistics from a plurality of games once reflected on the upcoming schedule for the particular player.
6. The hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed further includes accumulated game statistics from a plurality of games once reflected on the upcoming schedule for the particular player.
7. The hub of claim 2, wherein at least ones of the plurality of third party apps, the AI engine, or the GUI are available for a subscription payment through the account.
7. The hub of claim 2, wherein at least ones of the plurality of third party apps, the AI engine, or the GUI are available for a subscription payment through the account.
8. The hub of claim 2, wherein the sport-specific mechanics data comprises at least one of results of bat swinging or baseball throwing.
8. The hub of claim 2, wherein the sport-specific mechanics data comprises at least one of results of bat swinging or baseball throwing.
9. The hub of claim 8, wherein the results comprise ones of bat speed, launch angle, throwing velocity or rotation rate.
9. The hub of claim 8, wherein the results comprise ones of bat speed, launch angle, throwing velocity or rotation rate.
10. The hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are game sites.
10. The hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are game sites.
11. The hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are practice sites.
11. The hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are practice sites.
12. The hub of claim 2, wherein the AI engine provides a verification of the sports- specific mechanics data.
12. The hub of claim 2, wherein the AI engine provides a verification of the sports-specific mechanics data.
13. The hub of claim 2, wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes a scoreboard reflecting a score of a game on the upcoming scheduling.
13. The hub of claim 2, wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes a scoreboard reflecting a score of a game on the upcoming scheduling.
14. The hub of claim 13, wherein the highlight video reels further include the score.
14. The hub of claim 13, wherein the highlight video reels further include the score.
15. The hub of claim 2, wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes an audio system for receiving on-site commentary regarding a game on the upcoming scheduling.
15. The hub of claim 2, wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes an audio system for receiving on-site commentary regarding a game on the upcoming scheduling.
16. The hub of claim 15, wherein the highlight video reels further include the on-site commentary.
16. The hub of claim 15, wherein the highlight video reels further include the on-site commentary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200074181 A1 thereafter "Chang"), in view of Karoui et al (US 20200104601 A1 thereafter "Karoui"), in view of Goldman et al (US 9087320 B2 thereafter "Goldman") and “NCSA Next College Student Athlete teams up with IMG Academy to deliver its innovative team edition recruiting platform”, (“https://www.imgacademy.com/news/ncsa-next-college-student-athlete-teams-img-academy-deliver-its-innovative-team-editiontm”, March 13, 2018) (hereinafter IMG Academy)
As to claim 1, Chang disclose(s) a sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (Al) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications; [Artificial intelligence is used to analyze data from an event [See ¶-71, 445]. Third-party content from third-party sources is received [See ¶-320]. Event data for a plurality of players during a sporting event is received from third-party servers (third party applications) [See ¶-520]] an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration; [An API is exposed to external servers (third party [sources]) with game information [See ¶-320]. The external servers may push data to the data management module [See ¶-320]] a hardware integrator capable of linking on-site hardware, including at least a video camera, ... and an audio input, to the AI engine; [Computer networks (hardware integrator) 5315 allow a plurality of sources to be connected (linking) to a machine learning system [See ¶-485, 444]. Connected elements include a camera (video camera) at a sports arena [See ¶-121, 267], audio sources (audio system) [See ¶-271, 444]. The number of points scored is also determined using event data [See ¶-519]] and a graphical user interface (GUI) that is varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by an account with the AI engine, and [The system varies video clips based on the user's favorite team, or favorite player (respectively user type) within the user profile data (account) [See ¶-293]. Content and stories are generated based on the user's favorite team and player [See ¶-369]] in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates remote access, … to: ones of the plurality of third party applications; [A listing of players is presented from a third party server (third party applications) [See ¶-500]. Spatiotemporal event data is also presented from a third party server [See ¶-180, 183, 510]] a video feed from the video camera; [Video related to a player is displayed [See ¶-183]] a game score … [Points earned by a player (game score) are displayed above the player [See ¶-472]] … audio input; [Video clips related to a player include audio [See ¶-183, 288]] sport- specific analytics data; [Player metrics and analytics (sport-specific analytics data) may be provided as part of the interface [See ¶-67, 70]] and highlight clips composed from the video feed and the audio input, regarding a particular player in a particular game who is the subject of the account and who is as recognized in at least the video feed by the AI engine as being the subject of the account. [Personalized video (video feed and the audio system) clip highlights (highlight reels) are determined for each user [See ¶-293, 361]. Fig 55 shows that a custom user interface and video is displayed to a user based on a particular player [See ¶-498, 510-514]. Players, and/or their player numbers are detected using video feeds [See ¶-267]. The system varies video clips based on the user's favorite team, or favorite player within the user profile data (account) [See ¶-293]] However, Chang do(es) not disclose "…linking on-site hardware, including… a scoreboard, ... a game score from the scoreboard;… access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter, wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: game commentary" On the other hand, Karoui discloses "…linking on-site hardware, including… a scoreboard, ... a game score from the scoreboard;" Karoui discloses that a media system can receive data from a scoreboard at a site hosting an event [See ¶-75]. The scoreboard data can be used to determine events such as score change, penalty, quarter changes, and half time [See ¶-75]. The scoreboard data can be relayed to the system via a network of devices (hardware integrator) [See ¶-77, 42]. The AI system may use the scoreboard event triggers to generate offsets for a media stream [See ¶-81]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang's AI system to incorporate the teachings of Karoui's scoreboard data utilization. Motivation to do so would be to determine moments of interest that occurred, as taught by Karoui [See ¶-6]. However, Chang, Karoui do(es) not disclose "… access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter, wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: game commentary" On the other hand, Goldman discloses "… access, varied by the user type, for at least a familial relation and a prospective recruiter, wherein the remote access for the prospective recruiter user type is controlled by the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: game commentary" Goldman discloses a system that provides users with user interfaces displaying sport information about players including video content [See Col 19, Ln 1-8]. A management component may allow users access to different user interfaces based on their role [See Col4, Ln 4-9]. A particular user (familial relation user type), e.g. a parent, may invite (controlled) another user, e.g. prospective recruiter, to access content [See Col 5, Ln 37-42]. The provided data may include game commentary audio [See Col 18, Ln 65- Col 19, Ln 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang's AI system, Karoui's scoreboard data utilization to incorporate the teachings of Goldman’s role based content access. Motivation to do so would be to streamline, and simplify the common tasks, unify participants to gather and share information, as taught by Goldman [See Col 2, Ln 10-29].
On the other hand, Goldman does not explicitly disclose the currently amended limitation that the particular user is a “college recruiter” to view information about a prospective college recruit. However, the IMG Academy article teaches that the college recruiting tools are integrated with different tools such as Coach Packets to incorporate the sports events and tournament data with a college recruiter tool such as NSCA that is used to view information on a prospective college recruit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of IMG Academy into the Chang's AI, Karoui and Goldman integrated systems to be used as a college recruiting tool, since Goldman explicitly taught the usefulness of its system for “provid[ing] a one stop location for all parties related to youth and other sports to gather and share information (Abstract, last 3 lines).”
Claim(s) 2-8, 10-12, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200074181 A1 thereafter "Chang"), in view of Goldman et al (US 9087320 B2 thereafter "Goldman").
As to claim 2, Chang disclose(s) a sports hub, comprising:an artificial intelligence (AI) engine capable of integration with a plurality of third party applications; [Artificial intelligence is used to analyze data from an event [See ¶-71, 445]. Third-party content from third-party sources is received [See ¶-320]. Event data for a plurality of players during a sporting event is received from third-party servers (third party applications) [See ¶-520]] an application programming interface (API) capable of providing the integration; [An API is exposed to external servers (third party [sources]) with game information [See ¶-320]. The external servers may push data to the data management module [See ¶-320]] a hardware integrator capable of remotely linking a plurality of on-site hardware at a plurality of geographic locations, including at least on-site video cameras, to the AI engine; [Computer networks (hardware integrator) 5315 allow a plurality of sources to be connected (linking) to a machine learning system [See ¶-485, 444]. Connected elements include a camera (video camera) at a sports arena [See ¶-121, 267], audio sources (audio system) [See ¶-271, 444]. The number of points scored is also determined using event data [See ¶-519]] and a graphical user interface (GUI) varied by the AI engine according to a user type as indicated by a registered account with the AI engine, and [The system varies video clips based on the user's favorite team, or favorite player (respectively user type) within the user profile data (account) [See ¶-293]. Content and stories are generated based on the user's favorite team and player [See ¶-369]] in which a user is presented with at least a computing interface that integrates simultaneous remote access ... to: ones of the plurality of third party applications, … [A listing of players is presented from a third party server (third party applications) [See ¶-500]. Spatiotemporal event data is also presented from a third party server [See ¶-180, 183, 510]] a video feed from each of the on-site video cameras; [Video related to a player is displayed [See ¶-183]] sport-specific mechanics data determined from at least activities reflected in the video feeds; [Player metrics and analytics (sport-specific analytics data) may be provided as part of the interface [See ¶-67, 70]] and highlight video reels, composed at least from the video feeds, regarding a particular player identified by the account and recognized in at least the video feeds by the AI engine as being identified by the account. [Personalized video (video feed and the audio system) clip highlights (highlight reels) are determined for each user [See ¶-293, 361]. Fig 55 shows that a custom user interface and video is displayed to a user based on a particular player [See ¶-498, 510-514]. Players, and/or their player numbers are detected using video feeds [See ¶-267]. The system varies video clips based on the user's favorite team, or favorite player within the user profile data (account) [See ¶-293]] However, Chang do(es) not disclose "access varied by the user type of at least a familial relation or a prospective recruiter relation, wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: ... including at least upcoming scheduling; … " On the other hand, Goldman discloses "access varied by the user type of at least a familial relation or a prospective recruiter relation, wherein aspects of the remote access for the prospective recruiter relation user type is controlled by a user with the remote access for the familial relation user type, to: ... including at least upcoming scheduling; … " Goldman discloses a system that provides users with user interfaces displaying sport information about players including video content [See Col 19, Ln 1-8]. A management component may allow users access to different user interfaces based on their role [See Col4, Ln 4-9]. A particular user (familial relation user type), e.g. a parent, may invite (controlled) another user, e.g. prospective recruiter, to access content [See Col 5, Ln 37-42]. The provided data may include a player/game schedule [See Col 4, Ln 23-42, and Col 21, Ln 60-63]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang's AI system to incorporate the teachings of Goldman’s role based content access. Motivation to do so would be to streamline, and simplify the common tasks, unify participants to gather and share information, as taught by Goldman [See Col 2, Ln 10-29].
On the other hand, Goldman does not explicitly disclose the currently amended limitation that the particular user is a “college recruiter” to view information about a prospective college recruit. However, the IMG Academy article teaches that the college recruiting tools are integrated with different tools such as Coach Packets to incorporate the sports events and tournament data with a college recruiter tool such as NSCA that is used to view information on a prospective college recruit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of IMG Academy into the Chang's AI, Karoui and Goldman integrated systems to be used as a college recruiting tool, since Goldman explicitly taught the usefulness of its system for “provid[ing] a one stop location for all parties related to youth and other sports to gather and share information (Abstract, last 3 lines).”
As to claim 3, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the recognition occurs from at least one of an uploaded picture, a uniform type and color, a uniform number, and team knowledge from the upcoming scheduling. [Chang, The system recognizes a player number (uniform number) [See ¶-267]]
As to claim 4, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a game on the upcoming schedule. [Goldman, Video may be received of one or more games [See Col 18, Ln 66- Col 19, Ln 8]. The game may be on a schedule [See Col 4, Ln 23-42, and Col 21, Ln 60-63]]
As to claim 5, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed is a video stream of a showcase on the upcoming schedule. [Goldman, The events and game may be on a schedule [See Col 4, Ln 23-42, and Col 21, Ln 60-63]. The video may be from try-outs, award ceremonies, or any other event [See Col 4, Ln 23-30]]
As to claim 6, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the video feed further includes accumulated game statistics from a plurality of games [Chang, The video may include statistics relating to the player during a game [See ¶-315]] once reflected on the upcoming schedule for the particular player. [Goldman, Video may be received of one or more games [See Col 18, Ln 66- Col 19, Ln 8]. The game may be on a schedule [See Col 4, Ln 23-42, and Col 21, Ln 60-63]]
As to claim 7, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein at least ones of the plurality of third party apps, the AI engine, or the GUI are available for a subscription payment through the account. [Goldman, The interface may be provided based on a subscription fee [See Col 22, Ln 1- 4, and Ln 34-39]]
As to claim 8, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the sport-specific mechanics data comprises at least one of results of bat swinging or baseball throwing. [Chang, Statistics are collected, e.g. number of pitches (baseball throwing), and strikes (bat swinging) [See ¶-503]]
As to claim 10, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are game sites. [Chang, The system may receive spatiotemporal information from arenas, and courts (game sites) [See ¶-67, 172, 275]]
As to claim 11, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein ones of the geographic locations are practice sites. [Chang, Video may be received from practice games (practice sites) [See ¶-383]]
As to claim 12, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the AI engine provides a verification of the sports- specific mechanics data. [Chang, The various sports analytics are analyzed and interpreted by the AI system [See ¶-71]. Examiner construes analyzing the sports analytics as verification of the data, as the broadest reasonable interpretation of verification provides no metric for verifying. Additionally, events are verified by the machine learning [See ¶-182]]
As to claim 15, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 2, wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes an audio system for receiving on-site commentary regarding a game on the upcoming scheduling. [Goldman, Audio commentary during a game event is received [See Col 18, Ln 66- Col 19, Ln 8]]
As to claim 16, Chang, Goldman disclose(s) the hub of claim 15, wherein the highlight video reels further include the on-site commentary. [Goldman, Audio commentary during a game event is received [See Col 18, Ln 66- Col 19, Ln 8]. The audio commentary is disclosed as included within the highlight videos [See Col 18, Ln 66- Col 19, Ln 8]]
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200074181 A1 thereafter "Chang"), in view of Goldman et al (US 9087320 B2 thereafter "Goldman"), in view of Hall et al (US 20190015019 A1 thereafter "Hall").
As to claim 9, Chang, Goldman do(es) not disclose "wherein the results comprise ones of bat speed, launch angle, throwing velocity or rotation rate. " On the other hand, Hall discloses "wherein the results comprise ones of bat speed, launch angle, throwing velocity or rotation rate. " Hall discloses that a player's bat swing speed may be determined [See ¶-72]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang's AI system, Goldman’s role based content access to incorporate the teachings of Hall's swing speed. Motivation to do so would be to obtain objective and quantitative data regarding player performance, as taught by Hall [See ¶-15].
Claim(s) 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200074181 A1 thereafter "Chang"), in view of Goldman et al (US 9087320 B2 thereafter "Goldman"), in view of Karoui et al (US 20200104601 A1 thereafter "Karoui").
As to claim 13, Chang, Goldman do(es) not disclose "wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes a scoreboard reflecting a score of a game on the upcoming scheduling. " On the other hand, Karoui discloses "wherein the plurality of on-site hardware further includes a scoreboard reflecting a score of a game on the upcoming scheduling. " Karoui discloses that a media system can receive data from a scoreboard at a site hosting an event [See ¶-75]. The scoreboard data can be used to determine events such as score change, penalty, quarter changes, and half time [See ¶-75]. The scoreboard data can be relayed to the system via a network of devices (hardware integrator) [See ¶-77, 42]. The AI system may use the scoreboard event triggers to generate offsets for a media stream [See ¶-81]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang's AI system, Goldman’s role based content access to incorporate the teachings of Karoui's scoreboard data utilization. Motivation to do so would be to determine moments of interest that occurred, as taught by Karoui [See ¶-6].
As to claim 14, Chang, Goldman, Karoui disclose(s) the hub of claim 13, wherein the highlight video reels further include the score. [Chang, Figs 32-33 show that video highlights may include a score at the bottom]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen Hong/
Supervisory Patent Examiner 2178