DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claims 1, 11, and 12 recite the following abstract ideas:
an occurrence of a cashout event of a balance,
determine, in association with the occurrence of the cashout event and based on the balance (certain methods of organizing human activity, CMOHA, such as fundamental economic principles of receiving money from a wagering entity), to repay any portion of any outstanding amount of funds owed on any gaming establishment marker, and responsive to the determination being to repay at least a portion of an outstanding amount of funds owed on a gaming establishment marker (e.g., fundamental economic principles of transferring money from one account to another according to borrowing and paying back money),
cause at least one of:
modify the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker (e.g., the loan is decreased upon a person paying back some the monies owed), and
a modification of a gaming establishment account, (as required by claim 11) in association with a transfer of funds from the gaming establishment account (e.g., a person withdraws or deposits funds, credits, or the like from his/her financial account), wherein a total modification comprising any modification of the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker and any modification of the gaming establishment account is based on the balance associated with the occurrence of the cashout event (e.g., a person uses monies from their financial account to participate in a wagering event where the person wins funds then pay off some of the loan and deposits an amount of funds back to the financial account).
Claims 1, 11, and 12 fall under “certain methods of organizing human activity” related to a person repaying a loan via transferring money from one account to another according to terms and agreements of the loan, i.e., fundamental economic principles.
Claims 1, 11, and 12 does not recite additional elements that integrated into a practical application because the claimed “a processor”, a memory device”, “a computing component of a gaming establishment credit system”, and “a gaming device” are related to using computer components as tools to perform the abstract ideas.
Claims 1, 11, and 12 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more that the judicial exceptions because the claimed “a processor”, a memory device”, “a computing component of a gaming establishment credit system”, and “a gaming device” are related to using computer components as tools to perform the abstract ideas. The additional elements taken individually and in combination do not result in the claims as a whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exceptions.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 13-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to (a) integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and/or (b) amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because they recite additional limitations relating to “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. 20050187012 to Walker et al (Walker).
Claims 1, 11, and 12. Walker discloses a system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor in association with an occurrence of a cashout event of a balance of a gaming device, cause the processor to:
determine, in association with the occurrence of the cashout event and based on the balance of the gaming device, to repay any portion of any outstanding amount of funds owed on any gaming establishment marker, and responsive to the determination being to repay at least a portion of an outstanding amount of funds owed on a gaming establishment marker (¶¶44 and 263 “After pressing the cashout button, the gaming device subtracts the amount of the loan from the balance in the machine”; also see ¶36 “the repayment of each such loan extended to a player of a gaming device”),
cause at least one of:
a computing component of a gaming establishment credit system to modify the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker (¶¶140 and 261, “payment amount owed 670 may be decreased appropriately whenever the player repays all or a portion of the amount owed for electronic credits previously provided to the player”), and
a modification of a gaming establishment account (¶134 “casino financial account”), (as required by claim 11) in association with a transfer of funds from the gaming establishment account (¶134 “financial account identifier may be used to collect a payment from a player”), wherein a total modification comprising any modification of the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker and any modification of the gaming establishment account is based on the balance of the gaming device associated with the occurrence of the cashout event (¶140 “payment amount owed 670 may be decreased appropriately whenever the player repays all or a portion of the amount owed”; and ¶¶260 and 270, “repaid by being automatically deducted from a player's winnings”).
Claims 2 and 13. Walker discloses wherein a determination of if any outstanding amount of funds are owed on the gaming establishment marker is based on data received from the computing component of the gaming establishment credit system (Fig. 12, and ¶252).
Claims 3 and 14. Walker discloses wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
an amount of time until the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker are due, if the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker exceed a threshold amount of funds, and a difference between the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker and a target threshold amount of funds (¶253).
Claims 6 and 17. Walker discloses, wherein the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker is different from a total amount of funds available in association with a line of credit (¶¶45 and 66 “credit card” and “loan”).
Claims 7 and 18. Walker discloses wherein the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker comprises a percentage of the total amount of funds available in association with the line of credit (¶45 where the loan is a percentage of the amount of the credit card total).
Claim 8. Walker discloses wherein the processor comprises a processor (Fig. 3, and ¶117) of a gaming establishment fund management system (¶185).
Claims 10 and 20. Walker discloses wherein the modification of the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker occurs independent of any inputs received associated with any repayment of any amount of funds owed on any gaming establishment marker (¶¶260 and 270 “repaid by being automatically deducted from a player's winnings”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20050187012 to Walker et al (Walker) in view of US Pub. 20040043814 to Angell et al (Angell).
Claims 4 and 15. Walker fails to explicitly disclose a cashless wagering account.
Angell teaches a cashless wagering account (¶41). The system of Walker would have motivation to use the teachings of Angell in order to make it easier to transfer funds between different electronic systems in hopes to improve player gaming experience.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Walker with the teachings of Angell in order to make it easier to transfer funds between different electronic systems in hopes to improve player gaming experience.
Claims 5 and 16. Walker in view of Angell teaches wherein the gaming device comprises one of an electronic gaming machine and a gaming table component associated with a gaming table (see Walker ¶55).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20050187012 to Walker et al (Walker) in view of US Pub. 20210110652 to Schwartz.
Claims 9 and 19. Walker fails to explicitly disclose wherein the modification of the outstanding amount of funds owed on the gaming establishment marker is associated with a first transaction identifier, the modification of the gaming establishment account is associated with a second, different transaction identifier, and a master transaction identifier is associated with both the first transaction identifier and the second, different transaction identifier (emphasis added).
Schwartz teaches a first transaction identifier (¶¶138 and 141 “Universal Unique Identifier (UUID)” and/or “peripheral device ID”), the modification of the gaming establishment account is associated with a second, different transaction identifier (¶90 “voucher ID” and/or ¶96 “tag ID”), and a master transaction identifier (¶84 “unique transaction ID”) is associated with both the first transaction identifier and the second, different transaction identifier. The system of Walker would have motivation to use the teachings of Schwartz in order to improve the transaction recordkeeping which would ensure the reliability of the system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Walker with the teachings of Schwartz in order to improve tracking and recordkeeping of transactions which would ensure the reliability of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pps. 7-9, Applicant submit the claims satisfy the subject matter eligibility requirement under 101 because (1) the claims integrates the abstract idea into a practical application, (2) the claims provides solution and benefits that imposed meaningful limitations on user control of funds accessed from a line of credit, (3) an improved way to coordinate gaming establishment markers and the selective repayment thereof.
However, the examiner disagrees.
As best understood, a cashout event is interpreted as receiving funds, monies, or the like. Outstanding amount of funds owed on a gaming establishment marker is interpreted as a form of a loan, line of credit, or the like, in this case, a loan tied to a casino, gambling establishment, or the like. Upon a person deciding to use the monies (won during a payout) to payoff some or all of a loan falls under certain methods of organizing human activity, specifically, fundamental economic practices, hence, the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Using computer components, e.g., processor, memory, computing component is using computing devices as a way of automating a loan payback process, i.e., using computer components to apply the abstract idea. The claimed gaming device, gaming establishment marker, gaming establishment credit system, gaming establishment account are linking the abstract idea to a particular environment and field of use. The claims fail to clearly reflect the proposed solutions and benefits. Therefore, the 101 rejection still stands.
On pps. 10-11, the applicant submits (1) Walker does not include any determination of any selective repayment of part or all of the loan, (2) Walker lacks any determining to repay at least a portion of an amount of funds owed to employ in association with a cashout event, and then, based on that determination, causing a modification of the amount owed and/or transferring funds to a gaming establishment account, (3) Walker does not include repaying none, part or all of such a loan based on a determination separately made regarding where to route the funds when the player presses the cashout button.
However, the examiner disagrees.
Note, the claims do not explicitly recite “selective payment of part or all of the loan”. Notwithstanding, Walker (see ¶¶44 and 263) discloses an opportunity to the player to use a payout amount to repay an amount owed which is interpreted as a selective payment because the player has to make a selection to agree to use funds a repay before they are done so, and the payout amount could potentially be part or all of the loan. Note, the claims do not explicitly recite “transferring funds to a gaming establishment account”, however, claim 11 recites “… a transfer of funds from the gaming establishment account…”. Notwithstanding, Walker (see ¶134) discloses a casino financial account number associated with the player, financial account identifier may be used to credit a payment to the player and/or to debit a wager amount, “the financial account identifier may be used to collect a payment from a player for a number of electronic credits previously provided to the player” which is interpreted as transferring funds to/from an account. Note, the claims do not explicitly disclose a determination separately made regarding where to route the funds when the player presses the cashout button. Therefore, as best understood, the teachings of Walker read on the limitations of the independent claims. The rejections under 102 and 103 still stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715