CTNF 18/740,068 CTNF 73834 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because reference character “100” and “200” should point to the entire figure not just the 102 region and 112’, respectively . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22-03 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 122 ” has been used to designate both interconnect and first & second contact pads . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: MICROELECTRONIC DEVICE WITH EMBEDDED DIE SUBSTRATE ON INTERPOSER INCLUDING EMBEDDED DIE WITH ADJACENT VERTICAL CONTACTS . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 12-13 recites the limitation " the embedded die " in lines 2 and 2-3, respectively . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2015/0357309 A1) in view of Gonzalez et al. (US 2012/0161331 A1) . In regard to claim 1, Liu et al. teach a microelectronic device, comprising: an embedded die 20 in a dielectric body 44, the embedded die 20 having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; a first plurality of vertical contacts 32 extending through the dielectric body 44, the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 laterally adjacent to the first side of the embedded die 20; a second plurality of vertical contacts 32 extending through the dielectric body 44, the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 laterally adjacent to the second side of the embedded die 20; the first die 60 (on left side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side); the second die 60 (on right side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side), wherein there is no intervening die between the second die 60 (on right side) and the first die 60 (on left side); an insulative layer 54 comprising interconnects 56, the insulative layer 54 over the embedded die 20, over the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side), and over the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side); first contact pads 62 (on left side) above a top surface of the insulative layer 54, the first contact pads 62 (on left side) coupled to the first die 60 (on left side); and second contact pads 62 (on right side) above the top surface of the insulative layer 54, the second contact pads 62 (on right side) coupled to the second die 60 (on right side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 2, Liu et al. teach that there is no intervening die between the first die 60 (on left side) and the second die 60 (on right side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 3, Liu et al. teach the first die 60 (on left side) extending laterally beyond the first side of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 4, Liu et al. teach the second die 60 (on right side) extending laterally beyond the second side of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 5, Liu et al. teach the dielectric body 44 further on a bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 6 Liu et al. teach the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) and the second plurality of contacts 32 (on right side) extending below a bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 7, Liu et al. teach a microelectronic device, comprising: a first die 20 in a dielectric body 4, the first die 20 having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; a first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) extending through the dielectric body 44, the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) laterally adjacent to the first side of the first die 20; a second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side) extending through the dielectric body 44, the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side) laterally adjacent to the second side of the first die 20; the second die 60 (on right side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side); the third die 60 (on right side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side), wherein there is no intervening die between the third die 60 (on right side) and the second die 60 (on left side); an insulative layer 54 comprising interconnects 56, the insulative layer 54 over the first die 20, over the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side), and over the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side); first contact pads 62 (on left side) above a top surface of the insulative layer 54, the first contact pads 62 (on left side) coupled to the second die 60 (on left side); and second contact pads 62 (on right side) above the top surface of the insulative layer 54, the second contact pads 62 (on right side) coupled to the third die 60 (on right side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 8, Liu et al. teach the first die 20 embedded in the dielectric body 44 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 9, Liu et al. teach that there is no intervening die between the second die 60 (on left side) and the third die 60 (on right side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 10, Liu et al. teach the second die 60 (on left side) extending laterally beyond the first side of the first die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 11, Liu et al. teach the third die 60 (on right side) extending laterally beyond the second side of the first die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 12, Liu et al. teach the dielectric body 44 further on a bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 13, Liu et al. teach the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) and the second plurality of contacts 32 (on right side) extending below a bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 14, Liu et al. teach a microelectronic device, comprising: an embedded die 20 in a dielectric body 44, the embedded die 20 having a top surface opposite a bottom surface, and the embedded die 20 having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side and the second side between the top surface and the bottom surface, a first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) extending through the dielectric body 44, the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) laterally adjacent to the first side of the embedded die 20; a second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side) extending through the dielectric body 44, the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side) laterally adjacent to the second side of the embedded die 20; the first die 60 (on left side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side); the second die 60 (on right side) electrically coupled to and vertically overlapping the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side); an insulative layer 54 comprising interconnects 56, the insulative layer 54 over the embedded die 20, over the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side), and over the second plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on right side); first contact pads 62 (on left side) above a top surface of the insulative layer 54, the first contact pads 62 (on left side) coupled to the first die 60 (on left side); and second contact pads 62 (on right side) above the top surface of the insulative layer 54, the second contact pads 62 (on right side) coupled to the second die 60 (on right side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 15, Liu et al. teach the dielectric body 44 further on the bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 16, Liu et al. teach the first plurality of vertical contacts 32 (on left side) extending below the bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 17, Liu et al. teach the second plurality of contacts 32 (on right side) extending below the bottom surface of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 18, Liu et al. teach that there is no intervening die between the second die 60 (on right side) and the first die 60 (on left side) (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 19, Liu et al. teach the first die 60 (on left side) extending laterally beyond the first side of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). In regard to claim 20, Liu et al. teach the second die 60 (on right side) extending laterally beyond the second side of the embedded die 20 (Figure 9, pages 1-4, paragraphs [0011]-[0028]). However, in regard to claim 1, 7 and 14, Lui et al. fail to teach a first die/second die electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die; and a second die/third die electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die; and in regard to claim 14, Liu et al. fail to teach a portion of the dielectric body on a portion of the top surface of the embedded die. In regard to claims 1, 7 and 14, Gonzalez et al. teach a first die/second die 104 electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die 106; and a second die/third die 560 electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die 106 (Figure 5, pages 2-7, paragraphs [0016]-[0053]); and in regard to claim 14, Gonzalez et al. teach a portion of the dielectric body 268 on a portion of the top surface of the embedded die 262 (Figure 2I, pages 2-6, paragraphs [0016]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the microelectronic device structure as taught by Liu et al. with microelectronic device having a first die/second die electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die; a second die/third die electrically coupled to the embedded die/first die; and a portion of the dielectric body on a portion of the top surface of the embedded die as taught by Gonzalez et al. to enable mixed technology die stacking (page 1, paragraph [0006]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to microelectronic devices: Bowles et al. (US 2008/0246126 A1) Chen et al. (US 9,490,167 B2) Gonzalez et al. (US 2014/0248742 A1) Hou et al. (US 9,564,416 B2) Lin (US 9,391,041 B2) Lin et al. (US 2013/0062761 A1) Nalla et al. (US 2012/0074580 A1) Yeh et al. (US 9,524,959 B1) Yu et al. (US 9,449,947 B2) Zhai et al. (US 9,318,474 B2). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IDA M SOWARD whose telephone number is (571)272-1845. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday, 7am to 5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Leonard Chang can be reached at 571-270-3691. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. IMS July 6, 2026 /IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/740,068 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898