DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 7/24/2026.
Claims 2-4 & 13-15 are cancelled. Claims 1, 5-12, & 16-20 remain pending. Claims 21-24 are added. Claims 1, 5-12, & 16-24 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/138131 and claims foreign priority to CN202111521970.2 filed 12/13/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the communications above have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
For at least these reasons, applicant’s arguments are considered not persuasive.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-10, 12, 16-17, 19-22, & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0095343 A1), hereinafter abbreviated as Khosh, in view of Ohara (US 2024/0064754 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Khosh teaches:
A reference determining method, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a communication device, first information, wherein the first information is used for configuring a plurality of associated physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates, and the communication device comprises at least one of the following: a terminal or a network-side device; (a user equipment (UE) may monitor for downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., one or more repetitions of the DCI) among a plurality of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates that are associated with each other [Khosh: 0131; 0143]);
and determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication; (the UE may identify a reference timing rule based at least in part on the association between the plurality of PDCCH candidates [Khosh: 0131], wherein the reference timing rule may be applied to determine the reference time used in application of monitoring for the SFI index, SS set group switching flag, BWP change, etc. indicated in DCI repetition(s) carried among the plurality PDCCH candidates [Khosh: 0213; 0231-41], and wherein the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0161-63]);
wherein the first reference is a reference point, the reference point being an ending time of a first time unit in which the first PDCCH candidate among the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates is located, and the first PDCCH candidate is a latest PDCCH candidate in time among the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates; (identifying that the reference timing rule defines the reference time as a PDCCH ending symbol that may be a last symbol of an earliest PDCCH candidate of a set of associated PDCCH candidates, or may be a last symbol of a last PDCCH candidate of a set of associated PDCCH candidates [Khosh: 0009-12; 0151]).
However, Khosh does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
and determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication; wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is used to indicate a PDCCH skipping.
In a similar field of endeavor involving PDCCH monitoring adaptations, Ohara discloses:
and determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication; wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is used to indicate a PDCCH skipping; (operations related to PDCCH monitoring include switching of the search space set group and skipping of PDCCH monitoring for a certain period of time, wherein timing to start and/or end the application of PDCCH monitoring skipping for a certain period of time and/or the duration of the application may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khosh in view of Ohara in order to utilize the reference timing rule of Khosh with the PDCCH skipping of Ohara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Khosh with Ohara as doing so would keep the UE and gNB in sync by utilizing a specific PDCCH candidate (i.e. the reference timing rule) for additional types of timing-controlled PDCCH monitoring processes (i.e. PDCCH skipping), thereby preventing the UE from missing information from the gNB due to misaligned DRX sleep/wake cycles.
With regard to Claim 5, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication comprises: determining, by the communication device based on the first reference, a starting time of the application delay for the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication; (the UE may monitor for one or more repetitions of the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag among the plurality of PDCCH candidates, the SS set group switching flag may identify an updated SS set group that the UE is to use in a set of upcoming slots, wherein the UE may receive a configuration signal indicating a switching delay (e.g., Pswitch) between the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag and the set of upcoming slots [Khosh: 0161-63; Fig. 4] such that the UE considers a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the reference time [Khosh: 0159], and wherein the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0163]. Ohara teaches the timing to start and/or end the application of PDCCH monitoring skipping for a certain period of time and/or the duration of the application may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
With regard to Claim 6, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for start or restart of a timer related to a search space set group; and the determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for start or restart of a timer related to a search space set group comprises: determining, by the communication device based on the first reference, a starting time or restarting time of the timer related to the search space set group; (the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0161-63]. Ohara teaches switching of the search space set or the search space set group may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
With regard to Claim 8, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is further used to indicate a search space set group switching indication; (the UE may monitor for one or more repetitions of the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag among the plurality of PDCCH candidates, the SS set group switching flag may identify an updated SS set group that the UE is to use in a set of upcoming slots, wherein the UE may receive a configuration signal indicating a switching delay (e.g., Pswitch) between the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag and the set of upcoming slots [Khosh: 0161-63; Fig. 4] such that the UE considers a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the reference time [Khosh: 0159], and wherein the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0163]. Ohara teaches switching of the search space set or the search space set group may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
With regard to Claim 9, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein downlink control information (DCI) of a PDCCH carried on the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates comprises at least one of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication or the DRX start offset indication; (the UE may monitor for one or more repetitions of the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag among the plurality of PDCCH candidates, the SS set group switching flag may identify an updated SS set group that the UE is to use in a set of upcoming slots, wherein the UE may receive a configuration signal indicating a switching delay (e.g., Pswitch) between the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag and the set of upcoming slots [Khosh: 0161-63; Fig. 4] such that the UE considers a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the reference time [Khosh: 0159], and wherein the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0163]. Ohara teaches switching of the search space set or the search space set group may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
With regard to Claim 10, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first time unit is at least one of: a symbol, a slot, a millisecond, a subframe, or a radio frame; (identifying that the reference timing rule defines the reference time as a PDCCH ending symbol that may be a last symbol of an earliest PDCCH candidate of a set of associated PDCCH candidates [Khosh: 0009-12; 0151]).
With regard to Claims 12, 16-17, 19-22, & 24, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1, 5-6, & 8-10 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 12, 16-17, & 19-22, & 24 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1, 5-6, & 8-10.
Claims 7, 18, & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0095343 A1) in view of Ohara (US 2024/0064754 A1) as applied to Claims 1 & 12 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (US 2023/0239794 A1).
With regard to Claim 7, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a offset indication, and the determining, by the communication device based on the first information, a first reference for application delay for a offset indication comprises: determining, by the communication device based on the first reference, a starting time of the application delay for the offset indication; (the UE may monitor for one or more repetitions of the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag among the plurality of PDCCH candidates, the SS set group switching flag may identify an updated SS set group that the UE is to use in a set of upcoming slots, wherein the UE may receive a configuration signal indicating a switching delay (e.g., Pswitch) between the DCI indicating the SS set group switching flag and the set of upcoming slots [Khosh: 0161-63; Fig. 4] such that the UE considers a first slot that is at least Pswitch symbols after the last symbol of the reference time [Khosh: 0159], and wherein the UE may initiate a timer at the start of the set of upcoming slots based at least in part on the reference time and the search space (SS) set group switching flag [Khosh: 0163]. Ohara teaches the timing to start and/or end the application of PDCCH monitoring skipping for a certain period of time and/or the duration of the application may be specified, or may be indicated from the base station to the terminal [Ohara: 0027-28]).
However, Khosh-Ohara does not teach that the application delay pertains to a DRX start offset indication.
In a similar field of endeavor involving determining application delays, Bao discloses:
an application delay for a DRX start offset indication; (a plurality of DRX groups share a drx-SlotOffset, which is the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer [Bao: 0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khosh-Ohara in view of Bao in order to utilize the reference timing rule of Khosh-Ohara with the DRX slot offset and timer of Bao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Khosh-Ohara with Bao as doing so would keep the UE and gNB in sync by utilizing a specific PDCCH candidate (i.e. the reference timing rule) for additional types of timing-controlled PDCCH monitoring processes (i.e. DRX), thereby preventing the UE from missing information from the gNB due to misaligned DRX sleep/wake cycles.
With regard to Claims 18 & 23, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 7 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claims 18 & 23 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0095343 A1) in view of Ohara (US 2024/0064754 A1) as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Matsumara et al. (US 2024/0089986 A1).
With regard to Claim 11, Khosh-Ohara teaches:
The method according to claim 10, wherein a value of the first time unit in a first case and in a second case are different; (the reference timing rule defines the reference time as a PDCCH ending symbol that may be a last symbol of an earliest PDCCH candidate of a set of associated PDCCH candidates, or may be a last symbol of a last PDCCH candidate of a set of associated PDCCH candidates [Khosh: 0009-12; 0151]. Examiner notes that the time unit (i.e. symbol) will be determined differently depending on which particular PDCCH candidate is indicated by the reference timing rule).
However, Khosh-Ohara does not teach:
wherein the first case comprises that a time span occupied by the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates does not exceed one slot, and the second case comprises that a time span occupied by the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates exceeds one slot.
In a similar field of endeavor involving identifying PDCCH candidates for a plurality of repetitions, Matsumara discloses:
wherein the first case comprises that a time span occupied by the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates does not exceed one slot, and the second case comprises that a time span occupied by the plurality of associated PDCCH candidates exceeds one slot; (a plurality of PDCCH candidates for repetition may be present in the same (one) slot/span, or in different (a plurality of) slots/spans [Matsumara: 0107-13]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khosh-Ohara in view of Matsumara in order to receive PDCCH in one slot/span in a first case, and receive PDCCH candidates in a plurality of slots/spans in a second case in the system of Khosh-Ohara.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Khosh-Ohara with Matsumara as doing so would allow the network to control how candidates are distributed over time which can effect the total number of candidates that can be monitored overall by the UE.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new grounds of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ma et al. (US 2023/0098013 A1) which teaches an application delay in which the UE can determine the start of the PDCCH skipping periods according to Tstart and a reference point [0193].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417