DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claim
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims [No new matter should be entered]
The arrangement of claim 5 in which the first portion and the second portion are “integrally formed” and wherein “the connector is configured to be mounted to a mounting interface via a plug-and-turn movement”; and
The “spherical interconnecting surface” or “ellipsoid surface” of claim 7.
Figs. 1b, 1c, 2, 5a, 6a, 7a, 8a, 9a are objected to because they show the “central opening” with a cross-hatching, which would indicate that it is a sectioned portion of a solid element, rather than an opening.
In Fig, 1c, ref. no. “18” is objected to because it lacks a lead line pointing to the element to which it refers.
In Figs. 1c and 2, ref. no. “34” is objected to because its lead line does not point to an “edge protrusion 34” of the first portion 12, but rather points to an edge of the connecting flange 26 of the base structure 11.
Fig. 2 is objected to because the edge lines indicated in reproduced Fig. 2 below are incomplete.
In Fig, 7a, ref. no. “114” is objected to because it lacks a lead line pointing to the element to which it refers.
In Fig. 9a, ref. no. “122” is objected to because its lead line does not point to the “connecting bolt 122”, but rather points to the “insert 120”.
In Fig. 11, ref. no. “136” is objected to because its lead line does not point to the “curved engagement surface” (see parag. [000134] of the original disclosure), but rather points to a part of the frame 134.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 1: The final paragraph of claim 1 should be amended as follows:
--wherein the gap sections form segments along a virtual surface that is curved at least in one direction.--
Re Claim 14: lines 5-8 of claim 14 should be amended as follows:
--wherein the at least one truss work comprises a plurality of truss members connected via joints; and
wherein at least one of the joints comprises themounting interface according to claim 6.--
Re Claim 15: Lines 11-13 of claim 15 should be amended as follows:
--wherein the gap sections form segments along a virtual surface that is curved at least in one direction;--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benthien ‘225 (US Patent 11,021,225) in view of Benthien ‘438 (US Patent 11,072,438).
Re Claim 1: Benthien ‘225 discloses a connector (101/102) for a mounting interface of a trusswork (framework assembly 10), the connector (see Figs. 4a and 5b) comprising:
a body (118) with a first portion (116) and a second portion (119);
wherein the first portion (116) and the second portion (119) are arranged concentrically (for example, along a longitudinal axis of the longitudinal connector 11);
wherein the first portion (116) has first circumferential edge sections (at 116; Fig. 5b), and the second portion (119) has second circumferential edge sections (114);
wherein the first and second circumferential edge sections (116, 114) are spaced apart by gap sections (shown at the gap at 118; Fig. 4a) that are configured to receive connecting flanges (213) of a support structure (201); and
wherein the gap sections are forming segments along a virtual surface that is curved at least in one direction (see Fig. 5b).
Benthien ‘225 fails to disclose wherein a central opening is provided in the body, the central opening having an inner wall configured for receiving a connection end of a truss member.
Benthien ‘438 teaches the use of a connector (2) for a mounting interface, the connector (2; see Fig. 1a) comprising a body (flanged housing 8) with a first portion (12) and a second portion (64); wherein the first portion (12) and the second portion (64) are arranged concentrically; wherein the first portion (12) has first circumferential edge sections (at the outer edges of flange 12), and the second portion (64) has second circumferential edge sections (at the outer edges of flange 64); wherein the first and second circumferential edge sections are spaced apart by gap sections (shown at 10; Fig. 1a) that are configured to receive a support structure (4); and further wherein a central opening (at 68) is provided in the body (8), the central opening having an inner wall (68) configured for receiving a connection end (at closure element 66) of a connecting member (comprising stem 46, spherical insert 38, and closure element 66), for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that a central opening is provided in the body, the central opening having an inner wall configured for receiving a connection end of a truss member, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 2: Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a connector (2), wherein the central opening (at 38) comprises an inner thread (70; Fig. 1a) at the inner wall, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the central opening comprises an inner thread at the inner wall, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 3: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), wherein the first portion (116) and the second portion (119) are configured to be attached to each other.
Re Claim 4: Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a connector (2), wherein one (12) of the first portion (12) and the second portion (64) comprises an opening with an inner attachment thread (60); and wherein the other one (64) of the first portion and the second portion comprises a protrusion (the portion projecting from flange 64 that includes outer threads at 60 and inner threads at 68) with an outer attachment thread (at 60) to engage the inner attachment thread (60), for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that one of the first portion and the second portion comprises an opening with an inner attachment thread; and wherein the other one of the first portion and the second portion comprises a protrusion with an outer attachment thread to engage the inner attachment thread., as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 5: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), wherein the first portion (116) and the second portion (119) are integrally formed; and wherein the connector (“plug-and-turn connector 101/102”) is configured to be mounted to a mounting interface (201) via a plug-and-turn movement.
Re Claim 6: Benthien ‘225, as modified in view of Benthien ‘438 above, discloses a mounting interface on a support arrangement (201; Benthien ‘225 Figs. 4-5), the interface comprising:
the connector according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a base structure (201) from which connecting flange portions (213) protrude and which are arranged as segments of an interconnecting surface (at 117, 215, and at the lower surfaces of protrusions 213; Fig. 5b) that is curved at least in one direction (see Fig. 5b);
wherein the connecting flange portions (213) are engaged with (see Fig. 5b) the gap sections (at the gap shown at 118 in Fig. 4) of the connector and allow a pivoting relative movement between the connector and the base structure.
Re Claim 7: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), wherein the interconnecting surface (at 117, 215, and at the lower surfaces of protrusions 213; Fig. 5b) is curved in two directions (see Figs. 4 and 5b) forming:
a spherical interconnecting surface (see Col. 14 lines 56-62); or
an ellipsoid surface.
Re Claim 8: Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a connector (2), wherein the connector (2) is held to a base structure (4) rotatably around an axis aligned with an inner thread (38), for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the connector is held to the base structure rotatably around an axis aligned with an inner thread, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 9: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), the mounting interface (see Fig. 5b) provides a tolerance compensator (formed by the gap shown at 212 in Fig. 5b) by being configured to be adjusted in at least one pivoting direction.
Re Claim 10: Benthien ‘225, as modified in view of Benthien ‘438 above, discloses a mounting system for a trusswork in an aircraft, the system comprising:
the mounting interface according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above); and
at least one truss member (10) comprising a connection end (11; see Fig. 2).
Benthien ‘225 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the connection end comprises a coupling end part for engaging with the inner wall of the connector of the mounting interface.
Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a mounting system comprising a connector (2) and at least one connecting member (comprising stem 46, spherical insert 38, and closure element 66), comprising a connection end (at 66); and further wherein the connection end comprises a coupling end part (66) for engaging with the inner wall (68) of the connector of the mounting interface, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the connection end comprises a coupling end part for engaging with the inner wall of the connector of the mounting interface, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 11: Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a connector (2), wherein the central opening (68) comprises an inner thread (70) and the coupling end part (66) is provided with an outer thread (at 70), for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the central opening comprises an inner thread and the coupling end part is provided with an outer thread, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 12: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), wherein a nut portion (12) with an inner connection thread (121; Fig. 1b) is provided at the at least one truss member (10);
wherein the connection end (11) is mounted to the at least one truss member via a thread connection (at 111; Fig. 1a); and
wherein the connection end (11) is provided as a threaded bolt (110).
Re Claim 13: Benthien ‘225 further discloses a connector (101/102), wherein the threaded bolt (110) comprises a second threaded segment (111) for engaging with the inner connection thread (121) of the at least one truss member (10).
Benthien ‘225 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the threaded bolt comprises a first threaded segment for engaging with an inner thread of the connector of the mounting interface.
Benthien ‘438 further teaches the use of a connector (2), wherein the connecting end of the member (comprising stem 46, spherical insert 38, and closure element 66) comprises a first threaded segment (at 70) for engaging with an inner thread (68) of the connector of the mounting interface, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the threaded bolt comprises a first threaded segment for engaging with an inner thread of the connector of the mounting interface, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Re Claim 14: Benthien ‘225, as modified in view of Benthien ‘438 above, discloses an aircraft (100; Fig. 6) comprising:
a fuselage and a wing arrangement (see Fig. 6), wherein at least one of the fuselage and the wing arrangement comprises a primary structure (20) and wherein at least one truss work (10) is provided connected to the primary structure; wherein the truss work comprises a plurality of truss members (10, 11; see Fig. 2) connected via joints (101, 102); and wherein at least one of the joints comprises the mounting interface according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Re Claim 15: Benthien ‘225 discloses a method for connecting a member (11) of a trusswork (10) to a support structure (20), the method comprising the following steps:
providing a base structure (201) from which connecting flange portions (213) protrude and which are arranged as segments of an interconnecting surface that is curved at least in one direction (see Fig. 5b);
providing a connector (101/102) comprising a body (118) with a first portion (116) and a second portion (119); wherein the first portion (116) and the second portion (119) are arranged concentrically, wherein the first portion (116) comprises first circumferential edge sections (at 116), and the second portion (119) comprises second circumferential edge sections (114), wherein the first and second circumferential edge sections are spaced apart by gap sections (shown at the gap at 118; Fig. 4a) that are configured to receive connecting flanges (213) of a support structure (201), and wherein the gap sections are forming segments along a virtual surface that is curved at least in one direction (see Fig. 5b);
providing a truss member (12; Fig. 2) comprising a connection end (at 11).
Benthien ‘225 fails to disclose wherein a central opening is provided in the body, the central opening having an inner wall configured for receiving a connection end of a truss member; wherein the connection end comprises a coupling end part for engaging with the inner wall of the connector; and the final step of inserting the coupling end part into the central opening.
Benthien ‘438 teaches the use of a connector (2) for a mounting interface, the connector (2; see Fig. 1a) comprising a body (flanged housing 8) with a first portion (12) and a second portion (64); wherein the first portion (12) and the second portion (64) are arranged concentrically; wherein the first portion (12) has first circumferential edge sections (at the outer edges of flange 12), and the second portion (64) has second circumferential edge sections (at the outer edges of flange 64); wherein the first and second circumferential edge sections are spaced apart by gap sections (shown at 10; Fig. 1a) that are configured to receive a support structure (4); and further wherein a central opening (at 68) is provided in the body (8), the central opening having an inner wall (68) configured for receiving a connection end (at closure element 66) of a connecting member (comprising stem 46, spherical insert 38, and closure element 66); wherein a connection end (at 16) of a the connecting member comprises a coupling end part (66) for engaging with the inner wall (68) of the connector; and wherein the coupling end part (66) is inserted into the central opening (68), for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Benthien ‘225, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that a central opening is provided in the body, the central opening having an inner wall configured for receiving a connection end of a truss member; wherein the connection end comprises a coupling end part for engaging with the inner wall of the connector; and such that it includes a final step of inserting the coupling end part into the central opening, as taught by Benthien ‘438, for the purpose of easily connecting the body on opposing sides of the support structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678