DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction does not meet the search of burden due to the lack of evidence regarding the lack of the first and second layer in Species I and that it would be no burden of search in regards to searching for Species II and III along with Species I. This is not found persuasive because:
The applicant states that the restriction requirement rests solely on the fact that Species I contains two layers that are not shown in the other species. However, that is factually incorrect as that was not the only argument made within the species requirement. Species I contains the first and second layer and also contains a structurally different channel structure than those that are shown in Species II and Species III.
The applicant also made the argument that the addition of Species II and Species III lacks a search burden because it would not be difficult to have the addition of the first and second layer to the rest of the Species. However, the argument made by the applicant also fails to acknowledge the search burden that comes with the additional elements included in Species II and Species III. Only stating that there would be a lack of search burden from searching for the additional first and second layer but does not acknowledge that there would be a search burden by searching for the changed channel structure and additional structural elements added to the claims within Species II and Species III. Species II, for example, completely changes the structure of the first channel as makes the continuous first channel into two individual channels, only connected through the second channel. Species III, in turn, adds additional channels and dies and creates new openings within the previously claimed channels to connect the additional channels. These both have very different structures to the channels that were depicted in Species I. The argument was made that the shifting of the locations and shapes of the channels, additional openings, and the varying number of channels would result in having separate structures which would need to be searched for independently from each other.
Looking at Fig 6, which corresponds to species II and claims 13 and 14, the change of the other first channel does not merely add an additional element to the elected species I, it changes the structure of the channels. It divides the first channel, instead of it flowing continuously, they are disconnected and only flow together through the second channel. Because this changes the channel structure from Species I, these additions do not read on species I. Therefore claims 13 and 14 are not part of the examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are readable on elected species I and examined below, while, claims 13-16 are withdrawn as described above.
Claim Objections
Claim 2-4, & 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 of claim 9 states “the opening”. This should be changed to say “the first opening”
In claims 2-4 and 6, the choice condition should be “at least one of A, B, C, and D” or “A, B, C, or D”, it should not be a combination of the statement “at least one of” and the use of the ‘or’ operator.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 uses numerous “or” statements in addition to the phrase ‘at least one of’ (see above objection) leaving it unclear what structure is actually being claimed. For the sake of prosecution claim 4 is taken to mean that only one of the four possible configurations is needed.
The first surface of the first layer is coupled to a second surface of the first die
The first surface of the first layer is coupled to the second layer
A third surface of the second layer is coupled to a fourth surface of the substrate
A third surface of the second layer is coupled directly to the first layer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suh et al. (US 20100224990 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suh et al. teaches A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate comprising a first channel (Fig 5 shows a first channel, 45, within the substrate, 40);
a first die coupled to the substrate and comprising at least a first portion of a second channel (Fig. 5 shows a first die, 10, on attached to the top surface, 41, of the substrate, 40. In the first die, 10, is a second channel, 23); and
a first opening extending from the first channel to the second channel and fluidly coupling the first channel to the second channel (Fig 5 shows that the bottom of the second channel, 23, is connected to the top surface of the first channel, 45. The opening is located where these two channels connect. Paragraph 0069 describes the fluid path that connects the first channel, 45, to the second channel, 23).
Regarding claim 2, Suh et al. teaches at least one of the substrate further comprises a first layer or the first die comprises a second layer (Fig 5 shows a layer, 30, in the first die, 10); and wherein the first opening extends from the first channel to the second channel through at least one of the first layer or the second layer (Annotated Fig 5 below shows that the opening extends through the layer, 30).
Regarding claim 4, Suh et al. teaches at least one of a first surface of the first layer is coupled directly to a second surface of the first die or the second layer or a third surface of the second layer is coupled directly to a fourth surface of the substrate or the first layer (Fig 5. Shows that the bottom surface, which is the second surface, of the second layer, 30, is in direct contact with the top surface, 41, of the substrate, which is the fourth surface).
Regarding claim 5, Suh et al. teaches an interface between the substrate and the first die (Fig 5 shows the interface, 30, between the substrate, 40, and the firs die, 10), wherein the interface couples a first surface of the substrate directly to a second surface of the first die (Paragraph 0064 describes the interface, 30, as an adhesion layer that directly attaches the die, 10, to the substrate, 40) and, wherein the first opening extending from the first channel to at least the first portion of the second channel extends through the interface (The annotated Fig 5 below shows the openings extending through the interface, 30).
Regarding claim 7, Suh et al. teaches the interface is configured to form a seal surrounding the first opening extending from the first channel to at least the portion of the second channel (Fig 5 shows that the interface, 30, which is an adhesive layer, surrounds the sides of the opening. The interface would be able to form a seal surrounding the first opening).
Regarding claim 8, Suh et al. teaches a fluid contained within the first channel and the second channel, wherein the fluid is configured to pass from the first channel to the second channel via the first opening (Fig 5 shows that the bottom of the second channel, 23, is connected to the top surface of the first channel, 45. The opening is located where these two channels connect. Paragraph 0069 describes fluid flowing between the first channel, 45, and the second channel, 23).
Regarding claim 9, Suh et al. teaches the opening is about a same size as a bottom surface of the second channel (Fig 5 shows that the bottom surface of the second channel, 23, is about the same size as the opening directly below it).
Regarding claim 10, Suh et al. teaches the second channel is formed in the first die and a bottom surface of the second channel is a top surface of the substrate. (Fig 5 shows the second channel, 23, is formed in the chip, 10. Figure 5 shows that the bottom surface of the second channel, 23, is in contact with the top surface, 41, of the substrate, 40).
Regarding claim 12, Suh et al. teaches a second portion of the second channel is at least partially formed within the substrate and wherein the second portion of the second channel is in fluid communication with at least the first portion of the second channel (Fig 1 shows that the second channel, 23, is fully contained within the chip, 10, and that the bottom surface of the second channel corresponds to the bottom surface, 2, of the semiconductor chip, 10).
Regarding claim 17, Suh et al. teaches the semiconductor device further comprises a port coupled to the first channel, the port is configured to allow fluid to flow into or out of the first channel (Paragraph 0069 states that the first channel, 64, is connected to a pump, 66, which circulates fluid through the first channel, 64, and into the second channel, 23).
Regarding claim 18, Suh et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a substrate comprising:
forming a first channel in the substrate (Fig 5 shows a substrate, 40, which contains a first channel, 45); and
forming a first layer on the substrate (The annotated Fig 5 below shows that a first layer, the section shown in the box, is formed directly on the top surface, 41, of the substrate, 40) and forming a first opening extending from the first channel through the first layer (The annotated Fig 5 below shows a first opening, which is the section where the first channel, 45, and the second channel, 23, connects. It then shows the first layer which goes through the first opening);
wherein the first layer comprises an interface configured to couple directly to a surface of a die (Within the annotated Fig 5 below that shows an interface, 30, in the first layer) comprising at least a first portion of a second channel (Fig 5 shows that the second channel, 23, is in the die, 10).
Regarding claim 19, Suh et al. teaches forming the die comprising:
forming at least the first portion of the second channel in the die (Fig 5 shows that the second channel, 23, is in the die, 10); and
coupling the substrate to the surface of the die via the interface (Fig 5 shows that the interface, 30, is an adhesive that is between the substrate, 40, and the surface of the die, 10);
wherein the first opening extends from the first channel to the second channel and fluidly couples the first channel to the second channel (Fig 5 shows that the bottom of the second channel, 23, is connected to the top surface of the first channel, 45. The opening is located where these two channels connect. Paragraph 0069 describes the fluid path that connects the first channel, 45, to the second channel, 23).
Regarding claim 20, Suh et al. teaches A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate comprising a first channel (Fig. 5 shows a first die, 10, on attached to the top surface, 41, of the substrate, 40. In the first die, 10, is a second channel, 23);
a die coupled to the substrate and comprising at least a first portion of a second channel (Fig. 5 shows a first die, 10, on attached to the top surface, 41, of the substrate, 40. In the first die, 10, is a second channel, 23);
a first opening extending from the first channel to the second channel (Fig 5 shows that the bottom of the second channel, 23, is connected to the top surface of the first channel, 45. The opening is located where these two channels connect);
and a fluid contained within the first channel and the second channel and configured to flow between the first channel and the second channel via the first opening (Paragraph 0069 describes fluid flowing between the first channel, 45, and the second channel, 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (US 20100224990 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Suh et al. does not explicitly teach at least one of the first layer or the second layer comprises a dielectric layer (the patent does not disclose the specific material of the adhesive layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive layer in Suh et al. to be made out of a dielectric material because making a conductive adhesive material would be more expensive and require stricter control in the manufacturing process. Therefore, it would be easier and more cost effective to make the adhesive layer between the die and the substrate a dielectric as it is cheaper and simpler to process.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (US 20100224990 A1) in view of Haba et al. (US 20230154828 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Suh et al. does not explicitly teach the interface is formed using at least one of surface activated bonding or hybrid bonding.
Haba et al. teaches the interface is formed using at least one of surface activated bonding or hybrid bonding (Paragraph 0017 describes a bonding interface which is formed to connect with the semiconductor die and the cooling unit using hybrid bonding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suh et al. to have the interface formed using hybrid bonding, as taught in Haba et al., because using direct hybrid bonding allows for a thinner package, which helps to reduce thermal resistance and reducing the likelihood of heat being trapped between the layers.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (US 20100224990 A1) in view of Beyne (US 20200118840 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Suh et al. does not teach a second portion of the second channel is at least partially formed within the substrate and wherein the second portion of the second channel is in fluid communication with at least the first portion of the second channel.
Beyne teaches a second portion of the second channel is at least partially formed within the substrate (The annotated Fig 2M below shows that the second portion of the second channel is in the substrate, 11’) and wherein the second portion of the second channel is in fluid communication with at least the first portion of the second channel (Paragraph 0047 describes fluid flowing from the first channel, 31, to the second channel, 30. As fluid flows from the second portion of the second channel to the first portion of the second channel, the two are in fluid communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suh et al. to have some of the second channel within the substrate, as taught in Beyne, because having the second channel partially in the substrate allows for the formation of channels at multiple depths within the substrate, allowing for better heat reduction in both of the channels and avoiding thermal bottlenecks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Elsherbini et al. (US 20240063089 A1) contains a fluid channel that flows through the die with several layers, including a dielectric layer bonded to the dies and includes layers that were bonded together through hybrid bonding.
Sadaka (US 20140001604 A1) contains a series of fluid channels within a semiconductor device, with a dielectric layer on top of the semiconductor substrate and an interface surrounding the openings of the channels.
Koontz et al. (US 20140264759 A1) contains a series of channels which are used to transfer fluid through the semiconductor device. The second channel is contained within the die and contains an opening which is in fluid communications to a first channel.
/C.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818