DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment was filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1 and 19-20 have been amended, claim 21 has been canceled, and new claim 22 has been added. Currently, claims 1-6, 8-20, and 22 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-12, filed 06/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 19, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited Arvidson (US 4886504) Bruno (US 4713064).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 12-13, 15, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson (US 4886504) in view of Cesa (US 20140121618), and further in view of Blake (US 5524787), Miller (US 3179323), Elton (US 20090236338), Bazin (US 20190256270) and Bruno (US 4713064).
Regarding claim 1, Arvidson discloses a container for holding a liquid solution intended for transport into a body of a patient (abstract), the container comprising:
a housing formed by a plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, a base, and a top (fig. 1 shows the container 10 with a top, base, and sidewalls, fig. 2 better shows the sidewalls being planar), wherein:
the housing is structurally configured to hold the liquid solution without additional internal containers therein (fig. 1, no internal containers therein),
the housing is sealed (fig. 2 shows cap 30 for sealing),
the housing defines a cross-section normal to a central longitudinal axis (fig. 1, cross-section normal to central longitudinal axis, longitudinal axis going along the z axis) that approximates a polygon to promote grouping of multiple containers together into a predetermined group shape (col. 1, lines 21-25 describes the generally rectangular plastic reservoir, with figs. 2-3 showing mating recesses 58 and raised ribs 56 for encouraging stacking);
and a fixture (32) disposed on the housing, the fixture structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use (fig. 2, hanger 32)
a connector (44) disposed on the base of the housing (fig. 2, adaptor 44) and structurally configured for engagement with tubing for draining the liquid solution from the container into the tubing (col. 3, lines 16-39 describes adaptor being fitted with tube 42), wherein the connector, when in a storage position, projects downwardly along a z-axis (while the specification describes the containers on their side in intended storage position, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the container hanging and having the adaptor 44 pointing down is also a suitable storage position).
Arvidson does not teach a handle formed along one or more of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, wherein the handle is formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing, wherein the connector projects downwardly along a z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base.
However, Cesa teaches a container that comprises both a handle formed on a planar sidewall (fig. 1, handle 26) and a fixture disposed on the housing configured for engagement with an external structure for handing the container when in use (fig. 1, carabineer 18 and/or hanging hole 16 for handing the bag)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that it comprises a handle formed along one or more of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, as taught by Cesa, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that lets a bag being held above the ground (see Cesa, paragraph 0016) and for holding a container for transport by a user (see Cesa, paragraph 0019).
Arvidson, as modified by Cesa, does not teach wherein the handle is formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing.
However, Blake teaches a cubic package (abstract) with a handle (12) formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent planar sidewalls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A, inner container 10 with a handle 11 formed by two cutouts on perpendicular walls), the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A shows the handle being formed from the rectangle and having two perpendicular walls) such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing (fig. 1A, handle 11 to provide a grip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson in view of Cesa such that the handle is formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing, as taught by Blake, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that grants an integral handle for a square/rectangular container, making the cube/rectangular container easier to lift (see Blake, col. 1, lines 13-17).
Arvidson does not teach the connector, in a storage position, projecting downwardly along a Z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base, wherein the structure includes at least one recessed surface surrounding the connector and the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls extend beyond the recessed surface such that the terminal ends form a plurality of feet configured to directly contact a resting surface, and wherein the container can remain upright in absence of external forced when the feet are placed on the resting surface with the connector projecting therefrom along the z-axis, with or without the liquid solution present therein.
However, Miller teaches a shipping container for liquids (abstract) that, in a storage position, the connector projects downward along a Z-axis no further than the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base (fig. 5, flat marginal portion 8 as the terminal ends of the walls, with cylindrical outlet portion 10 extending no further than the terminal ends of marginal portion 8. While the figure shows the bottle upright, the bottle may also be placed upside down as long as the seal remains intact), wherein the structure includes at least one recessed surface surrounding the connector (fig. 5, outlet 10 within a recess) and the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls extend beyond the recessed surface such that the terminal ends form a plurality of feet configured to directly contact a resting surface (fig. 5, flat marginal portion 8 serve as feet),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Bruno such that the connector, in a storage position, projecting downwardly along a Z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base, wherein the structure includes at least one recessed surface surrounding the connector and the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls extend beyond the recessed surface such that the terminal ends form a plurality of feet configured to directly contact a resting surface, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing safe and convenient storage for shipping the container (see Miller, col. 2, lines 16-20)
Arvidson, as modified by Miller, appears to teach wherein the container can remain upright in absence of external forces when the feet are placed on the resting surface with the connector projecting therefrom along the z axis (see Miller, feet as described would be capable of supporting the container if the container was flipped over as the connector doesn’t protrude past the feet), but is silent to wherein the container can remain upright in absence of external forced when the feet are placed on the resting surface with the connector projecting therefrom along the z-axis, with or without the liquid solution present therein.
However, Elton teaches a biocontainer (abstract) that is capable of remaining upright with or without fluid (fig. 2 shows the container upright with the connector 136 facing downwards without fluid, fig. 1 shows the container upright with the connector 136 facing downwards with fluid). While the storage device for this container is shown to have a slanted floor to guide the positioning of the container within the tote, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this would also remain upright on a level surface with a guiding opening, similar to that of Arvidson, due to having a flat bottom and a drainage tube that is supported by the hole in the storage device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson in view of Miller such that the container can remain upright in absence of external forced when the feet are placed on the resting surface with the connector projecting therefrom along the z-axis, with or without the liquid solution present therein, as taught by Elton, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that grants a support member to promote proper draining of the container (see Elton, paragraph 0031).
Arvidson is silent to wherein the container is hermetically sealed.
However, Bazin teaches wherein hermetically sealing containers is a known practice in the art (paragraph 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the container is hermetically sealed, as taught by Bazin, for the purpose of providing a suitable seal that properly prevents the passage of air, gases, or liquids per the definition of a hermetic seal.
Arvidson appears to disclose the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (abstract describes the container being semi-rigid)
However, Bruno more firmly teaches an enteral feeding device (abstract) with a more rigid container such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (col. 1, lines 62-64, also see col. 1, lines 44-54 describing the problem of flexible bag-like structures not providing accurate readings due to their flexibility).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration, as taught by Bruno, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for more accurate readings on the amount of liquid (see Bruno, col. 2, lines 19-21).
Regarding claim 2, Arvidson discloses wherein the housing has four substantially planar sidewalls (fig. 2, sidewalls are shown as planar in a generally rectangular structure).
Regarding claim 3, Arvidson discloses wherein the cross-section approximates a rectangle (col. 1, lines 21-30 describes the container being generally rectangular, thus suggesting a cross-section that approximates a rectangle).
Regarding claim 4, Arvidson discloses wherein the predetermined group shape approximates a rectangular box (col. 1, lines 21-30 describes the container being generally rectangular, thus suggesting a cross-section that approximates a rectangle).
Regarding claim 6, Arvidson discloses the device further comprising one or more markings on one or more sidewalls, the one or more markings related to a volume of the liquid solution within the container (fig. 1, indicia 36 on the side wall).
Regarding claim 8, Arvidson discloses wherein the housing is hollow but for the liquid solution (fig. 1, container 10 does not have a nested container inside).
Regarding claim 12, Arvidson does not teach wherein the connector projects downwardly along the z-axis no further than junctions between the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls and the base.
However, Miller teaches wherein the connector projects downwardly along the z-axis no further than junctions between the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls and the base (fig. 5, outlet portion 10 projects no further than the edges of the container and the base).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the connector projects downwardly along the z-axis no further than junctions between the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls and the base, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing safe and convenient storage for shipping the container (see Miller, col. 2, lines 16-20)
Regarding claim 13, Arvidson does not teach wherein maximum dimensions of the cross-section of the housing are not impacted by the handle.
However, Blake teaches wherein the maximum dimensions of the cross-section of the housing are not impacted by the handle (fig. 1 shows handle 11 not changing the maximum cross section of the container)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the maximum dimensions of the cross-section of the housing are not impacted by the handle, as taught by Blake, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that grants an integral handle for a square/rectangular container, making the cube/rectangular container easier to lift (see Blake, col. 1, lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 15, Arvidson does not teach wherein the connector is movable between the storage position and a draining position, and wherein the connector projects further downward along the z-axis when in the draining position.
However, Miller teaches wherein the connector (10) is movable between the storage position and a draining position (fig. 5 shows the storage position, fig. 4 shows the draining position), and wherein the connector projects further downwards along the z-axis when in the draining position (fig. 4 shows the outlet 10 further out in the z-axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the connector is movable between the storage position and a draining position, and wherein the connector projects further downward along the z-axis when in the draining position, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing safe and convenient storage for shipping the container (see Miller, col. 2, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 17, Arvidson discloses wherein the tubing is part of an intravenous delivery system (col. 1, lines 5-20 describes the reservoir container for use in an I.V. system, thus tube 42 would be part of an intravenous delivery system).
Regarding claim 18, Arvidson discloses wherein the container is configured for use in a dialysis treatment (Fig. 2, any container is configured for use in a dialysis treatment, especially since the container is for medicaments, through enteral, I.V. or like system, see col. 1, lines 6-20).
Regarding claim 22, Arvidson does not teach wherein the base includes an expandable portion that allows for movement of the connector relative to the housing between the storage position and the draining position.
However, Miller teaches wherein the area with the area with the outlet includes an expandable portion (9) that allows for movement of the connector relative to the housing between the storage position and the draining position (figs. 4-5 shows neck portion 9 that is movable between a used position and a storing position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the base includes an expandable portion that allows for movement of the connector relative to the housing between the storage position and the draining position, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing safe and convenient storage for shipping the container (see Miller, col. 2, lines 16-20).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Cesa, Blake, Miller, Elton, Bazin and Bruno, and further in view of Wheeler (US 20140050817).
Regarding claim 5, Arvidson is silent to wherein the housing is at least semitransparent.
However, Wheeler teaches a container for fluids (abstract) that utilizes a transparent material (paragraph 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is at least semitransparent, as taught by Wheeler, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that makes determining fluid level in the container easier (see Wheeler, paragraph 0053).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Cesa, Blake, Miller, and Elton, and further in view of Myerscough (WO 2023007150).
Regarding claim 9, Arvidson does not teach wherein the housing is made from plastic-coated paper.
However, Myerscough teaches a means for holding liquid (abstract) that comprises a housing made from plastic-coated paper (pg. 18, lines 1-9 discuss card outer blank with a liner having a polymeric component, such as ethylene vinyl alcohol film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is made from plastic-coated paper, as taught by Myerscough, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that is recyclable and that grants a barrier to bacteria and contaminants (see Myerscough, pg. 5, lines 4-14), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (i.e., holding liquids). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, Arvidson does not teach wherein the housing is made from liquid packaging board.
However, Myerscough teaches wherein liquid housings made from liquid packaging board are well known in the art (pg. 17, lines 17-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is made from liquid packaging board, as taught by Myerscough, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that is recyclable and that grants a barrier to bacteria and contaminants (see Myerscough, pg. 5, lines 4-14), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (i.e., holding liquids). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Cesa, Blake, Miller, and Elton, further in view of McPhee (US 3921630).
Regarding claim 11, Arvidson does not teach wherein the housing is blow molded.
However, the Office has interpreted this claim limitation as a Product-by-Process claim, wherein the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113. In this instance, because the material in Arvidson can be blow molded into a container, the limitation of the housing being blow molded does not affect the patentability of the claim.
If this is not clearly envisioned by the applicant, McPhee teaches wherein containers for medical fluid being blow-molded are well known in the art (col. 4, lines 18-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is blow molded, as taught by McPhee, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bazin in view of Cesa, Blake, Miller, and Elton, and further in view of Sikas (US 4715728).
Regarding claim 14, Arvidson, as modified by Cesa does not teach wherein the fixture is movable from a storage position where it is flush or recessed relative to an external surface of the housing and an in-use position where it extends from the housing.
However, Sfikas teaches wherein the fixture (32) is movable from a storage position where it is flush to an external surface of the housing (fig. 1, hanger 32 flipped downwards and flush against first flap 10) and an in-use position where it extends from the housing (fig. 2, hanger 32 flipped up for hanging with hook 40)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson in view of Cesa such that the fixture is movable from a storage position where it is flush or recessed relative to an external surface of the housing and an in-use position where it extends from the housing, as taught by Sfikas, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allow for more compact storage when not hanging.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Cesa, Blake, Miller, and Elton, and further in view of Tom (US 20140374416). Trisure is utilized as extrinsic evidence.
Regarding claim 16, Bazin does not teach wherein the connector includes a vented cap.
However, Tom teaches wherein vented caps are well known structures in the art (paragraph 070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the connector includes a vented cap, as taught by Tom, for the purpose of providing the known function of regulating pressure and preventing the accumulation of hazardous gases while maintain a secure seal (see Trisure).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Cesa, and further in view of Blake, Miller, Bazin, and Bruno.
Regarding claim 19, Arvidson discloses a system, comprising:
a liquid solution configured for transmission into a body of a patient (abstract); and
a container (fig. 1, container 10) comprising:
a housing formed by a plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, a base, and a top (fig. 1 shows the container 10 with a top, base, and sidewalls, fig. 2 better shows the sidewalls being planar), wherein:
the housing holds the liquid solution without additional internal containers therein (fig. 1, no internal containers therein),
the housing is sealed (fig. 2 shows cap 30 for sealing), and the housing defines a cross-section normal to a central longitudinal axis that approximates a polygon to promote grouping of multiple containers together into a predetermined group shape (col. 1, lines 21-25 describes the generally rectangular plastic reservoir, with figs. 2-3 showing mating recesses 58 and raised ribs 56 for encouraging stacking)
a fixture (32) disposed on the housing, the fixture structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use (fig. 2, hanger 32); and
a connector (44) disposed on the base of the housing and structurally configured for engagement with tubing for draining the liquid solution from the container into the tubing (col. 3, lines 16-39 describes adaptor being fitted with tube 42), wherein the connector, when in a storage position, projects downwardly along a z-axis (while the specification describes the containers on their side in intended storage position, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the container hanging and having the adaptor 44 pointing down is also a suitable storage position).
Arvidson is silent to wherein the container is hermetically sealed, and does not teach a handle formed along one or more of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, wherein the handle is formed by aligned cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, and wherein the handle defines a hollow handle portion that is in fluid communication with a remainder of an interior of the housing such that the liquid solution can occupy the hollow handle portion, the handle defining a truncated portion of the interior of the housing while an outer perimeter of the cross-section that approximates the polygon is not impacted by the handle, wherein the connector, when in a storage position, projects downwardly along a z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base.
However, Cesa teaches a container that comprises both a handle formed on a planar sidewall (fig. 1, handle 26) and a fixture disposed on the housing configured for engagement with an external structure for handing the container when in use (fig. 1, carabineer 18 and/or hanging hole 16 for handing the bag). Said handle is formed by aligned cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls (fig. 1, handle 26 as an opening through the container 10 with sealed edges), and wherein the handle defines a hollow handle portion that is in fluid communication with a remainder of an interior of the housing such that the liquid solution can occupy the hollow handle portion (fig. 1, handle 26 is an opening through the container, wherein the handle does not close off the volume adjacent to it), the handle defining a truncated portion of the interior of the housing while an outer perimeter of the cross-section that approximates the polygon is not impacted by the handle (fig. 1, as the handle 26 is within the body of the cross-section of the polygon, the cross-section that approximates the polygon is not affected)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that it comprises a handle formed along one or more of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, aligned cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, and wherein the handle defines a hollow handle portion that is in fluid communication with a remainder of an interior of the housing such that the liquid solution can occupy the hollow handle portion, the handle defining a truncated portion of the interior of the housing while an outer perimeter of the cross-section that approximates the polygon is not impacted by the handle in addition to a fixture disposed on the housing, the fixture structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use, as taught by Cesa, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that lets a bag being held above the ground (see Cesa, paragraph 0016) and for holding a container for transport by a user (see Cesa, paragraph 0019).
Arvidson, as modified by Cesa, does not teach wherein the handle is formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, wherein the handle defines a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other.
However, Blake teaches a cubic package (abstract) with a handle (12) formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent planar sidewalls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A, inner container 10 with a handle 11 formed by two cutouts on perpendicular walls), the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A shows the handle being formed from the rectangle and having two perpendicular walls) such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing (fig. 1A, handle 11 to provide a grip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson in view of Cesa such that the handle is formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, wherein the handle defines a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other, as taught by Blake, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that grants an integral handle for a square/rectangular container, making the cube/rectangular container easier to lift (see Blake, col. 1, lines 13-17).
Arvidson is silent to wherein the container is hermetically sealed, and does not teach the connector, in a storage position, projecting downwardly along a Z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base.
However, Miller teaches a shipping container for liquids (abstract) that, in a storage position, the connector projects downward along a Z-axis no further than the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base (fig. 5, flat marginal portion 8 as the terminal ends of the walls, with cylindrical outlet portion 10 extending no further than the terminal ends of marginal portion 8. While the figure shows the bottle upright, the bottle may also be placed upside down as long as the seal remains intact).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the connector, in a storage position, projecting downwardly along a Z-axis no further than terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls disposed adjacent to the base, wherein the structure includes at least one recessed surface surrounding the connector and the terminal ends of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls extend beyond the recessed surface such that the terminal ends form a plurality of feet configured to directly contact a resting surface, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing safe and convenient storage for shipping the container (see Miller, col. 2, lines 16-20).
Arvidson is silent to wherein the container is hermetically sealed.
However, Bazin teaches wherein hermetically sealing containers is a known practice in the art (paragraph 0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the container is hermetically sealed, as taught by Bazin, for the purpose of providing a suitable seal that properly prevents the passage of air, gases, or liquids per the definition of a hermetic seal.
Arvidson appears to disclose the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (abstract describes the container being semi-rigid)
However, Bruno more firmly teaches an enteral feeding device (abstract) with a more rigid container such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (col. 1, lines 62-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration, as taught by Bruno, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for more accurate readings on the amount of liquid (see Bruno, col. 2, lines 19-21).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvidson in view of Myerscough, and further in view of Cesa, Blake, Bruno, and Inoue (US 20100298804). Foundite (the NPL thereof given with non-final rejection mailed on 10/21/2025) is utilized as extrinsic evidence.
Regarding claim 20, Arvidson discloses a method of manufacturing a container, comprising:
forming the container (fig. 1, container 10) comprising:
substantially planar sidewalls, a top, and a base (fig. 2, housing with 4 planar sidewalls, a top and a base),
wherein the container defines a cross-section normal to a central longitudinal axis (fig fig. 1, cross-section normal to central longitudinal axis, longitudinal axis going along the z axis) that approximates a polygon to promote grouping of multiple containers together into a predetermined group shape (col. 1, lines 21-25 describes the generally rectangular plastic reservoir, with figs. 2-3 showing mating recesses 58 and raised ribs 56 for encouraging stacking);
a fixture (32) structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use (fig. 2, hanger 32)
a portion of the base formed for engagement with a connector structurally configured for engagement with tubing (col. 3, lines 16-39 describes adaptor 44 on a base that is fitted with tube 42);
filling the container with a liquid solution (paragraphs 0001-0002); and
sealing the container (paragraph 0157).
Arvidson does not teach the method comprising forming a paperboard sheet, applying a coating to the paperboard sheet to create a waterproof sheet, forming the waterproof sheet into the container comprising: a handle formed at a corner of the container by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle defining a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other; a;
However, Myerscough teaches a method of creating a container comprising forming a paperboard sheet made of a liquid packaging board (pg. 17, lines 17-26), applying a coating to the paperboard sheet to create a waterproof sheet (pg. 17, lines 1-9 describe a laminate film material of ethylene vinyl alcohol film, see Foundite that describes EVA film being waterproof), and forming the waterproof sheet into the container (fig. 2, also pg. 5, lines 15-28 describes the liner being within the card outer 2 and holding the contents of the carton)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Bazin such that it comprises forming a paperboard sheet made of a liquid packaging board, applying a coating to the paperboard sheet to create a waterproof sheet, and forming the waterproof sheet into the container, as taught by Myerscough, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that is recyclable and that grants a barrier to bacteria and contaminants (see Myerscough, pg. 5, lines 4-14).
Arvidson doesn’t teach a handle at a corner of the container by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle defining a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other, a fixture structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use.
However, Cesa teaches a container that comprises both a handle formed on a planar sidewall (fig. 1, handle 26) and a fixture disposed on the housing configured for engagement with an external structure for handing the container when in use (fig. 1, carabineer 18 and/or hanging hole 16 for handing the bag)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Bazin such that it comprises a handle formed along one or more of the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls, and a fixture disposed on the housing, the fixture structurally configured for engagement with an external structure for hanging the container when in use, as taught by Cesa, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that lets a bag being held above the ground (see Cesa, paragraph 0016) and for holding a container for transport by a user (see Cesa, paragraph 0019).
Arvidson, as modified by Cesa, does not teach the handle formed at a corner of the container by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle defining a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other.
However, Blake teaches a cubic package (abstract) with a handle (12) formed at a corner of the housing by cutouts in two adjacent planar sidewalls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A, inner container 10 with a handle 11 formed by two cutouts on perpendicular walls), the handle including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other (fig. 1A shows the handle being formed from the rectangle and having two perpendicular walls) such that the handle provides a gripping surface enabling lifting of the container without collapsing the housing (fig. 1A, handle 11 to provide a grip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Bazin in view of Cesa such that the handle is formed at a corner of the container by cutouts in two adjacent ones of the substantially planar sidewalls that are oriented perpendicular to each other, the handle defining a gripping surface including at least two walls oriented perpendicular to each other, as taught by Blake, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that grants an integral handle for a square/rectangular container, making the cube/rectangular container easier to lift (see Blake, col. 1, lines 13-17).
Arvidson, as modified by Myerscough, does not teach a method of applying a metal layer to the paperboard sheet to provide a light barrier.
However, Inoue teaches a package for liquid products (abstract) that comprise a metal layer to provide a light barrier (paragraph 0114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Bazin in view of Myerscough such that it comprises applying a metal layer to the paperboard sheet to provide a light barrier, as taught by Inoue, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of preventing a potential drug of being degraded by light (see Inoue, paragraph 0114).
Arvidson appears to disclose the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (abstract describes the container being semi-rigid)
However, Bruno more firmly teaches an enteral feeding device (abstract) with a more rigid container such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration (col. 1, lines 62-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Arvidson such that the housing is structurally configured to maintain its shape during filling and draining of the liquid solution such that the plurality of substantially planar sidewalls maintain their planar configuration, as taught by Bruno, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for more accurate readings on the amount of liquid (see Bruno, col. 2, lines 19-21).
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781