Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/19/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 7/19/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7,9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh (US 20240126045, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches (Fig. 1, Tables 1) An imaging lens system, comprising:
a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens (E1-E4) having a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region (curvature radius: 12) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region (curvature radius: 24), and optical path conversion member (E5) disposed in order from an object side toward an image plane (at IMG), and
wherein 1.0<TTL/f<1.4 (19.02/15.83),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to the image plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system.
Regarding claim 2, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the third lens has negative refractive power (focal length: -8.68).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the second lens has concave image-side surface in a paraxial region (7.5 curvature radius).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the third lens has concave image-side surface in a paraxial region (2 curvature radius).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1,
wherein 0.1<|R7/PL|<3.0 (12.2579/12.912),
where R7 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens, and PL is a distance from an incident surface of the optical path conversion member to an exit surface of the optical path conversion member.
Regarding claim 9, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power (20.78 focal length).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the second lens has positive refractive power (12.41 focal length) and has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region (3.7285 curvature radius).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches (Fig. 6, Tables 2) An imaging lens system, comprising:
a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens (E1-E4) having a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region, and optical path conversion member (E5) disposed in order from an object side toward an image plane (at IMG), and
wherein 1.0<TTL/f<1.4 (1.23),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to the image plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system.
Regarding claim 3, Yeh further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the object-side surface and an image-side surface of the first lens both have convex shapes in a paraxial region (E1 as seen in Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh.
Regarding claim 8, mutatis mutandis, Yeh teaches in Tables 4, Fig. 10 all the limitations as stated in claim 1 rejection above (TTL/f=1.2), and further teaches The imaging lens system of claim 1,
wherein 0.1<TL14/PL (0.30),
where TL14 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to the image-side surface of the fourth lens, and PL is a distance from an incident surface of the optical path conversion member to an exit surface of the optical path conversion member.
Yeh does not explicitly teach TL14/PL<0.3.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having TL14/PL<0.3 would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors and/or design choices by having a slightly longer prism.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yeh by having TL14/PL<0.3 for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors and/or design choices by having a slightly longer prism.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234