Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 8 and 16 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2 – 8 recite “A cleaning system” and should recite “The cleaning system”; Claims 16 – 20 recite “A method” and should recite “The method”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 – 14 are dependents of claim 9 which is directed towards an electronics device, however, claims 10 – 14 recite a cleaning system thus rendering the claims vague in that it is unclear if the claims should depend from 9 or from claim 1. For the purpose of examination, claims 10 – 14 will be examined as depending from 9 and instead of the cleaning system, will be examined as further limiting claim 9 as “the electronics device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 9, and 12 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byrne et al. (U. S. Patent No. 2018/0207691 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Byrne teaches a cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) for a vehicle (vehicle, 10; Fig. 1) having a vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]), a vehicle electronic device (vision system, 12), and a source of pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]), comprising: at least one housing assembly (housing portion, 22; Fig. 2) comprising a housing system (housing portion, 22; Fig. 2) adapted to be supported by the vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]), and a transmission structure (lens, 26; Fig. 2) defining a transmission surface (Fig. 2), where the transmission structure (26) is supported by the housing system (22) to define a housing chamber sized and dimensioned to contain the vehicle electronic device (Paragraph [0018]); and at least one nozzle assembly (washer, 30)
configured to be supported by the at least one housing assembly (22), and adapted to be operatively connected to the source of pressurized fluid (via hose connector end, 32; Paragraph [0018]); whereby the at least one nozzle assembly (30) is arranged to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid from the source of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) of the transmission structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which the housing assembly (22) defines an anchoring wall configured to be secured to the vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 3, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which the nozzle assembly (30) comprises at least one nozzle opening (nozzle end, 34) defined by at least one of the housing system (22; Fig. 2) and the transmission structure (26; Fig. 2), where the at least one nozzle opening (34) is configured to direct the stream of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) in a stream pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which the nozzle assembly (30) comprises at least one nozzle opening (34) defined by the housing system (22), where the at least one nozzle opening (34) is configured to direct the stream of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) in a stream pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which the nozzle assembly (30 ) comprises at least one nozzle opening (34) defined by the transmission structure (26), where the at least one nozzle opening (34) is configured to direct the stream of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) in a stream pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which the housing assembly (22) further comprises an attachment system (lens barrel, 24) configured to detachably connect the transmission structure (26) to the housing system (22).
Regarding Claim 8, Byrne teaches the cleaning system (system, 130; Fig. 6) in which signal waves associated with the vehicle electronic device (12) pass through the transmission surface (26; Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Independent Claim 9, Byrne teaches an electronics device support system (Fig. 2) for a vehicle (vehicle, 10; Fig. 1) having a vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]), a vehicle electronic device (vision system, 12), and a source of pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]), comprising: a housing assembly (22) comprising a housing structure (Fig. 2) adapted to be supported by the vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0018]), and a transmission structure (lens, 26; Fig. 2) defining a transmission surface (Fig. 2), where the transmission structure (26) is supported by the housing structure (22) to define a housing chamber sized and dimensioned to contain the vehicle electronic device (camera components are housed in housing structure and it is sized and dimension to accommodate the components); and at least one nozzle assembly (30) defining at least one nozzle opening (34), where the at least one nozzle assembly (30) is configured to be supported by the at least one housing assembly (22), and adapted to be operatively connected to the source of pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]); whereby the at least one nozzle opening (34) is configured to direct the stream of pressurized fluid from the source of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) in a stream pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Byrne teaches the electronics device support system (Fig. 2) in which the housing assembly (22) defines an anchoring wall configured to be secured to the vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 13, Byrne teaches the electronics device support system (Fig. 2) in which the housing structure (22) further comprises at least one attachment location (24) that is configured to detachably connect the transmission structure (26) to the housing structure (22).
Regarding Claim 14, Byrne teaches the electronics device support system (Fig. 2) in which signal waves associated with the vehicle electronic device (12) pass through the transmission surface (Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Byrne teaches a method for cleaning a visible surface (Abstract) of a vehicle (10) having a vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]), a vehicle electronic device (12), and a source of pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]), comprising the steps of: securing a housing structure to the vehicle structural member (Paragraph [0006]); connecting a transmission structure (26) having a transmission surface (Fig. 2) to the housing structure (22) to define a housing chamber (Fig. 2); arranging the vehicle electronic device within the housing chamber (camera components are housed in housing structure and the housing structure is sized and dimension to accommodate the components); configuring at least one nozzle assembly (30) to be supported by the housing structure (22); adapting the at least one nozzle assembly (33) to be connected to the source of pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]); arranging the at least one nozzle assembly (30) to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid from the source of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26) of the transmission structure (Fig. 2); and controlling the source of pressurized fluid to cause pressurized fluid to flow through the at least one nozzle assembly (30) to clean the transmission visible surface of a vehicle (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Byrne teaches the method for cleaning a visible surface of a vehicle (Fig. 2) in which the step of connecting the transmission structure (26) to the housing structure (22) comprises the step of arranging an attachment system (24) to detachably connect (the lens barrel is capable of being detached) the transmission structure (26) to the housing structure (22; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Byrne teaches the method for cleaning a visible surface of a vehicle (Fig. 2) in which the step of arranging the vehicle electronic device (12) within the housing chamber comprises the step of sizing and dimensioning the housing chamber to contain the vehicle electronic device (camera components are housed in housing structure and the chamber is sized and dimension to accommodate the components).
Regarding Claim 18, Byrne teaches the method for cleaning a visible surface of a vehicle (Fig. 2) in which the step of connecting the transmission structure (26) to the housing structure (22) comprises the step of providing a transmission surface (Fig. 2) on the transmission structure (26) such that signal waves associated with the vehicle electronic device (12) may pass through the transmission surface (26; Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 19, Byrne teaches the method for cleaning a visible surface of a vehicle (Fig. 2) in which the step of arranging the at least one nozzle assembly (30) to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid (Paragraph [0018]) onto the transmission surface (26) comprises the steps of: providing the at least one nozzle assembly (30) with at least one nozzle opening (34) defined by the housing structure (22), and configuring the at least one nozzle opening (34) to direct the stream of pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface (26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 – 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne et al. (U. S. Patent No. 2018/0207691 A1) in view of Lopez (EP3168094 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Byrne teaches the cleaning system as recited in claim 1, as discussed above.
Byrne does not explicitly teach the cleaning system comprises first and second nozzle assemblies, whereby the housing system supports the first and second nozzle assemblies such that: the first nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a first direction: and the second nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a second direction.
Lopez, however, teaches the cleaning system (Fig. 1) comprises first (air nozzle, 8) and second (liquid nozzle, 9) nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4), whereby the housing system (support, 1) supports the first and second nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4) such that: the first nozzle assembly (8) is oriented to direct fluids
at the transmission surface (camara lens, 3) from a first direction (from the left; Fig. 1): and the second nozzle assembly (9) is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface (3) from a second direction (from the right; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byrne to further include first and second nozzle assemblies, whereby the housing system supports the first and second nozzle assemblies such that: the first nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a first direction: and the second nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a second direction, as taught by Lopez, to provide a device that improves the cleaning performance, thus preventing loss in signal due to remaining contaminants.
Regarding Claim 10, Byrne teaches the electronics device support system as recited in claim 9, as discussed above.
Byrne does not explicitly teach the electronics device support system comprises first and second nozzle assemblies, whereby the housing structure supports the first and second nozzle assemblies such that: the first nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a first direction; and the second nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a second direction.
Lopez, however, teaches the electronics device support system (Fig. 1) comprises first (air nozzle, 8) and second (liquid nozzle, 9) nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4), whereby the housing system (support, 1) supports the first and second nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4) such that: the first nozzle assembly (8) is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface (camara lens, 3) from a first direction (from the left; Fig. 1): and the second nozzle assembly (9) is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface (3) from a second direction (from the right; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byrne to further include first and second nozzle assemblies, whereby the housing system supports the first and second nozzle assemblies such that: the first nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a first direction: and the second nozzle assembly is oriented to direct fluids at the transmission surface from a second direction, as taught by Lopez, to provide a device that improves the cleaning performance, thus preventing loss in signal due to remaining contaminants.
Regarding Claim 11, Byrne teaches the electronics device support system as recited in claim 10, as discussed above.
Byrne does not explicitly teach the first and second nozzle assemblies direct fluids at the transmission surface.
Lopez, however, teaches first (8) and second (9) nozzle assemblies direct fluids at the transmission surface (3; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byrne to further include the first and second nozzle assemblies’ direct fluids at the transmission surface, as taught by Lopez, to provide a device that improves the cleaning performance, thus preventing loss in signal due to remaining contaminants.
Regarding Claim 20, Byrne teaches the method for cleaning a visible surface of a vehicle as recited in claim 15, as discussed above.
Byrne does not explicitly teach the step of arranging the at least one nozzle assembly to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface comprises the step of operatively connecting first and second nozzle assemblies to the housing structure such that: the first nozzle assembly directs the fluid onto the transmission surface from a first direction; and the second nozzle assembly directs the fluid onto the transmission surface from a second direction.
Lopez, however, teaches the step of arranging the at least one nozzle assembly to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface comprises the step of operatively connecting first (air nozzle, 8) and second (liquid nozzle, 9) nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4), whereby the housing system (support, 1) supports the first and second nozzle assemblies (Fig. 4) to the housing structure (1) such that: the first nozzle assembly (8) directs the fluid onto the transmission surface (3) from a first direction (Fig. 1); and the second nozzle assembly (9) directs the fluid onto the transmission surface (3) from a second direction (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byrne to further include the step of arranging the at least one nozzle assembly to direct a stream of the pressurized fluid onto the transmission surface comprises the step of operatively connecting first and second nozzle assemblies to the housing structure such that: the first nozzle assembly directs the fluid onto the transmission surface from a first direction; and the second nozzle assembly directs the fluid onto the transmission surface from a second direction, as taught by Lopez, to provide a device that improves the cleaning performance, thus preventing loss in signal due to remaining contaminants.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0150455 A1 to Janick teaches a multi-channel cleaning apparatus is disclosed for a vehicle to provide a liquid cleaning pulse and/or a compressed-air cleaning pulse for at least two cleaning nozzles. The multi-channel cleaning apparatus includes a module compressed-air port for admitting compressed air and a module liquid port for admitting cleaning liquid. At least two nozzle branches are provided wherein one nozzle branch is configured for supplying at least one cleaning nozzle independently of another nozzle branch.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723