DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 5/4/26. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2024/0129125 A1 to Marson et al. (hereinafter “Marson”) in view of US Publication No. 2003/0190944 A1 to Manfredi et al. (hereinafter “Manfredi”).
Concerning claim 1, Marson discloses a method for preserving privacy in a responsible gaming system (Abstract, paragraph [0021]), the method comprising:
maintaining, by the responsible gaming system, a first set of responsible gaming information; maintaining, by the responsible gaming system, a second set of responsible gaming information related to a second set of players (paragraphs [0019]-[0023], [0037]-[0039], [0045]);
receiving, by the responsible gaming system, a first query of a first query type, corresponding to the first type of responsible gaming information, the first query requesting information from the first set of responsible gaming information using a first privacy-preserving protocol corresponding to the first query type; responding, by the responsible gaming system, to the first query with an electronic message comprising a first answer using the first privacy-preserving protocol, the first answer comprising information from the first set of responsible gaming information (paragraphs [0051], [0065]-[0067] – user enters credentials to verify user identity);
receiving, by the responsible gaming system, a second query of a second type, corresponding to the second type of responsible gaming information, the second query requesting information from the second set of responsible gaming information using a second privacy preserving protocol different from the first privacy-preserving protocol and corresponding to the second query type; and responding, by the responsible gaming system, to the second query with an electronic message comprising a second answer using the second privacy-preserving protocol, the second answer comprising information from the second set of responsible gaming information (paragraphs [0051], [0067]-[0069], [0078] – different users will verify their identity by providing different user credentials).
Marson lacks specifically disclosing, however, Manfredi discloses a first set of responsible gaming information related to a first set of players wherein the first set of responsible gaming information comprises a first type of responsible gaming information; wherein the second set of responsible gaming information comprises a second type of responsible gaming information different from the first type of responsible gaming information (paragraphs [0025]-[0032] – there are different limitations in responsible gaming information including a self-limit spending trigger, and a time trigger which correspond to different sets of responsible gaming information for different players). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate different types of responsible gaming information for players including ones with limits on gambling as disclosed by Manfredi in the blacklist system disclosed by Marson in order to provide more flexibility to players on casino banned lists.
Concerning claims 2, 9, and 16, Marson lacks specifically disclosing, however, Manfredi discloses wherein the first set of responsible gaming information comprise gaming limitation information for each player of the first set of players (paragraphs [0025]-[0032] – there are different limitations in responsible gaming information including a self-limit spending trigger, and a time trigger which correspond to different sets of responsible gaming information for different players). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate different types of responsible gaming information for players including ones with limits on gambling as disclosed by Manfredi in the blacklist system disclosed by Marson in order to provide more flexibility to players on casino banned lists.
Concerning claims 3, 10, and 17, Marson discloses wherein the first privacy-preserving protocol comprises Oblivious Transfer (OT) protocol (paragraphs [0074]-[0076]).
Concerning claims 4, 11, and 18, Marson discloses wherein the second set of responsible gaming information comprises a banned player list comprising the second set of players (paragraphs [0019]-[0023], [0037]-[0039], [0045]).
Concerning claims 6 and 13, Marson discloses wherein the first query, the first answer, the second query, and the second answer are signed with a key issued by a certificate authority (paragraphs [0065]-[0069], [0078]).
Concerning claims 7, 14, and 20, Marson discloses wherein the first query, the first answer, the second query, and the second answer are signed using Blind Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA) encryption (paragraphs [0065]-[0069], [0075], [0081], [0078]).
Concerning claims 8 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marson, Manfredi and further in view of US Publication No. 2025/0258950 A1 to Phillips et al. (hereinafter “Phillips”).
Concerning claims 5, 12, and 19, Marson lacks specifically disclosing, however, Walker discloses wherein the second privacy-preserving protocol comprises Private Set Intersection (PSI) protocol (paragraphs [0033]-[0035], [0129]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using PSI protocol disclosed by Philips in the blacklist system disclosed by Marson in order to enable data collaboration and analysis while strictly preserving privacy and adhering to data protection laws.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5/4/26 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715