DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Amendment filed: 09/16/2026. This action is made Final.
B. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knipfing, Jacob et al. (US Pub. 2024/0354555 A1), herein referred to as “Knipfing” in view of Yeo, Hangu (US Pub. 2020/0159848 A1), herein referred to as “Yeo”.
As for claims 1, 8 and 15, Knipfing teaches. A mobile device and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, comprising: having instructions stored thereon that , when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations; a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (par. 23 summary of the hardware system of the disclosure and depicted in figure 1; par. 117 hardware memory component; par. 252 computer system processor for executing; par. 258 non-transitory computer-readable storage medium):
launch, a mobile application including an integration component, in communication with a data service and a user interface (UI) service (par. 24 Each user system 102 may include multiple user devices, such as a mobile device 114, head-wearable apparatus 116, and a computer client device 118 that are communicatively connected to exchange data and messages; par. 25 An interaction client 104 interacts with other interaction clients 104 and with the interaction server system 110 via the network 108. The data exchanged between the interaction clients 104 (e.g., interactions 120) and between the interaction clients 104 and the interaction server system 110 includes functions (e.g., commands to invoke functions) and payload data (e.g., text, audio, video, or other multimedia data)).;
receive, at the integration component, a response including data and a data type from the data service generated by a large language model responsive to a natural language query (par. 68 trained algorithm and examples; par. 89 the trained machine-learning program, such as personalized Al agent system 232 may be a generative AI model. Generative AI is a term that may refer to any type of artificial intelligence that can create new content from training data. For example, generative AI can produce text, images, video, audio, code or synthetic data that are similar to the original data but not identical.; par. 165 Large Language Models (LLMs) is used by the intent component 612) and
customize, by the integration component, an interface at the integration component using a rendering configuration received from the UI service to display the data, the rendering configuration generated by decomposing (par. 72 specific machine learning algorithm can be deployed which includes Matrix factorization is another type of machine learning algorithm used for recommender systems and other tasks.
Matrix factorization is similar functionality of data type decomposition as both function to breaking complex elements into simpler components that revel hidden structure.
Matrix factorization decomposes a matrix into two or more matrices to uncover hidden patterns or relationships in the data; par. 73 Although several specific examples of machine learning algorithms are discussed herein, the principles discussed herein can be applied to other machine learning algorithms as well.) the data type into a predefined type (par. 193 Referring to FIG. 5 , the XR application generation system 590 implements an XR application that generates one or more XR objects using pre-defined templates. For example, the templates can define placeholders for images, text, video, graphics, behavior, segmentation models, conditions, and so forth. Par. 195 based upon sensor data (integration component) the template used/defined can update the graphical user interface according to the configurations made by a user in the XR application generation system 590 application; par. 196 the content items of the template can be populated based on information and/or data objects received from the tool components 512; par. 211-212 the first graphical user interface is displayed on a first users device that receives input to configure options 722 shown in a second user interface (e.g. menu frame), the XR application and present .
Knipfing does not specifically teach that the customizing an interface at the integration component using a rendering configuration received from the UI service to display data provided by the data service and contained in a large language model response to a natural language query, the rendering configuration generated by decomposing a data type provided by the data service into a predefined type for displaying the data; however in the same field of endeavor Yeo teaches customizing a user interface by means of updating the display in response to input query by the system or user starting at paragraph 24 a query decomposition unit 101 decomposes a user query into sub-queries, these sub-queries are treated functionally as data types, a natural langue interface database engine uses the sub queries to extract feature values (example of data type) from clinical records stored in a database 203. The extracted data types (values) used as input vector. For example each decomposed sub-query is treated as a feature, and the answers to the sub-queries constitute a feature vector, and the feature vectors along with the desired output labels are used by a Supervised Machine Learning unit 103 of the System to train a model. Next Converter 202. The NLP Pipeline 201 extracts entities and relations from the input query. For example, if the input query is “Which patients are diagnosed with {a certain disease}?”, then the NLP pipeline 201 extracts ‘patient’ and ‘a certain disease’ (which is the name of the disease) as the entities and ‘diagnose’ as a relation between the two entities from the input query. The NLP Pipeline 201 may also extract auxiliary information that includes aggregation information, data types of the entities (e.g., the certain disease could be of type string), etc. The extracted entities and relations are used to retrieve the actual table and column names stored as metadata of the schema of the database 203. At least one of the table and column names, and the auxiliary information, and the data types are then sent to the Query Converter 202. The Query Converter 202 converts the data received from the NLP pipeline 201 into a database structured query language (SQL) query and uses the SQL query to retrieve query results from the database 203. In an embodiment, the Query Decomposition unit 101 generates input queries of a special type (yes/no questions) and a Query Analysis and Rephrase unit 204 and YES/NO converter 205 are added to the NLIDB system as depicted in FIG. 2 to handle the special types of questions. The Query Analysis and Rephrase unit 204 is introduced to convert the sub-queries into ‘How many’ type queries and the YES/NO converter 205 is introduced to convert the integer value query results of the ‘How many’ type queries into binary numbers (either 1 or 0). For example, the Query Analysis and Rephrase unit 204 can convert a yes-no query such as ‘did a patient have a certain outcome?’ into a how many type query such as ‘how many patient had the certain outcome. For example, the YES/NO converter 205 can determine whether the number of patients having the certain outcome is above a threshold that leads to a yes or is not above the threshold to lead to a no. Hence, the NLIDB engine 102 is used to generate feature values (in a binary number) and the set of feature values obtained using a set of sub-queries are used to create a feature vector. By this example Yeo in these paragraphs 24-27 provides a way to update (customize) an interface at the integration component using a rendering configuration received from the UI service to display data provided by the data service and contained in a large language model response to a natural language query, the rendering configuration generated by decomposing a data type provided by the data service into a predefined type for displaying the data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yeo into Knipfing because Yeo suggests in paragraph 5 the end users who interact with the structured database do not always have a technical background and often are intimidated to write a code in a query language, and it is often challenging for non-technical end users to query relational databases without being trained technically.
As for claims 2, 9 and 16, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receiving ,an interaction with the data at the customized interface; receiving a recommended second mobile application based on the interaction, the data, and the data type, wherein the recommendation was generated by the large language model; and launching a second mobile application in response to an interaction with the recommendation, wherein the integration component is configured to communicate data with the second mobile application (par. 196 The XR application generation system 590 can receive the first and second data objects and can populate the template portions for each of the first and second data objects to generate a populated template. Then, the XR application can be launched to present the message with an XR object generated based on a randomly selected template portion that includes the data object generated by the tool components 512; par. 198 the template can define a segmentation model that is associated with a given data object; par. 204 user utilizes the second application with recommendation template Disney princesses; par. 205 second user can go back to first application and define a new XR experience now related to a different subject (e.g. race car drivers); The tool components 512 can generate a list of data objects representing the list of racecar drivers and provide the list of data objects to the XR application generation system 590. In some cases, the tool components 512 can obtain a multimodal memory 508 from the personal AI agent 502 to tailor selection of the data objects based on preferences of a given user).
As for claims 3, 10 and 16, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, wherein the second mobile application is at least one of an email application, instant messaging application, an image capturing application, a video capturing application, an audio capturing application, a web browsing application, or a navigation application (par. 211 fig. 7 video and audio capturing application known as XR application that is launched from the XR application generation system 590; par. 162).
As for claims 4, 11 and 17, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, wherein the customized interface includes a chatbot interface and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: updating the interface at the integration component using the rendering configuration from the UI service to display updated data provided by the data service and contained in an additional large language model response to a natural language query input to the chatbot interface (par. 66 The artificial intelligence and machine learning system 230 may also provide chatbot functionality and personalized Al agent to message interactions 120 between user systems 102 and between a user system 102 and the interaction server system 110); and
update, by the integration component, the interface at the integration component using the rendering configuration from the UI service to display the updated data (par. 67 The code segments can be generated based one a prompt that is defined or generated at least partially based on a user query that defines attributes or desired content of the XR application and one or more templates associated with the XR application. Once the code segments are received from the one or more machine learning models, the templates of the XR application or other application are populated and used to generate and provide unique and engaging XR experiences to an end user of the interaction client 104.).
Knipfing does not specifically teach wherein the rendering configuration is updated by decomposing an updated data type provided by the data service into an additional predefined type for displaying the updated data; however in the same field of endeavor Yeo does in paragraph 24-27 which teaches decomposing query into sub-queries which have feature values extracted and used to create an answer back to a user whom inputted a natural query into the user interface, note claim 1 analysis above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yeo into Knipfing because Yeo suggests in paragraph 5 the end users who interact with the structured database do not always have a technical background and often are intimidated to write a code in a query language, and it is often challenging for non-technical end users to query relational databases without being trained technically.
As for claims 5, 12 and 18, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform operations comprising: authenticating a user associated with the mobile application via an authentication mechanism executed by the integration component (par. 263 authentication methods used for user authentication).
As for claims 6, 13 and 19, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 5 and corresponding method of claim 12 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 18, wherein the authentication mechanism is configured to use a username, password, fingerprint, facial recognition, voiceprint, security question, or a reverse Turing test (par. 263 authentication methods such as biometric).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knipfing in view of Maschmeyer, Russ et al. (US Pub. 2024/0338902 A1), herein referred to as “Maschmeyer”.
As for claims 7, 14 and 20, Knipfing teaches. The mobile device of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 8 and non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 15, wherein the integration component is configured to input sensor data collected by the mobile device, the sensor data including GPS data (par. 109 GPS), image data, video data, audio data (par. 117 camera component; image data, video data, audio data sensor information used as input), accelerometer data, gyroscope data (par. 269 acceleration sensor and gyroscope sensor information used as input), barometer data (par. 270 pressure sensor e.g. barometer), proximity data (par. 270 proximity sensor components (e.g. infrared), ambient light data (par. 270 illumination sensor (e.g. photometer)), magnetometer data (par. 273 orientation sensor components e.g. magnetometers).
Knipfing teaches paragraph 270 and 284 Infrared sensors and emitters used to detect nearby objects and as known in the art Lidar uses infrared light in many systems but infrared itself is a type of electromagnetic radiation, while lidar is a technology that uses laser pulses to measure distance; Knipfing does not specifically mention the technology “LIDAR”; however in the same field of endeavor Maschmeyer teaches augmented reality (par. 30) and the use of LIDAR data (par. 46 The optical sensors 238 may include any type of sensor device that captures optical information and generates the media data containing the optical information by converting light rays into electronic signals and binary data. Non-limiting examples of the optical sensors 238 may include a camera, LIDAR sensor, and a light sensor, among others).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Maschmeyer into Knipfing because Maschmeyer suggests in paragraph 13 conventional AR functions may enhance a user's experience by overlaying information about a product within an AR-enhanced graphical user interface, but do not provide comparable information of two or more products.
(Note:) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 November 6, 2026