DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
A telephone call was made on 3/9/26 to the applicant’s representative, Ryan Grace, to request applicant further elect one of the species described on pg. 3 of the restriction requirement of 12/30/25. Applicant elected Species I (figs. 1-27) without traverse.
Note: Claim 3 is directed non-elected Species II comprising the first component (123) adapted for connection to a corner of the wood post (figs. 28; pg. 15, lines 16-18 of original specification). Claim 9 is directed to non-elected species II comprising the second component (136) having an inverted U shaped cross section (fig. 28e; pg. 16, lines 21-24 of the original specification). Claim 13 is directed to non-elected species II having longitudinal edges of the strap (113) comprising a downwardly facing receiving channel (122) and opposing upwardly facing receiving channel (128) (figs. 28 and 28e; pg. 15, line 28 – pg. 16, line 4 of the original specification). Claim 14 is directed to non-elected Species III comprising an arced flange (239) (figs. 29-30).
Claims 3, 9, 13-14 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/24/26 and the telephone call made 3/9/26 to applicant’s representative, Ryan Grace.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 2/24/26 and the telephone call made 3/9/26 to applicant’s representative, Ryan Grace, is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the followings:
Figs. 10-20: The text of each figure, including reference numbers, are small. Text should be at least 1/8 inch in height (see 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3)). Further, the text “Fig” found in Fig. 15. appears to overlap one of the reference numbers.
Figs. 21-25: The text of each figure, including reference numbers, are small. Text should be at least 1/8 inch in height (see 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3)). The lines of the figures are faint and should be darkened for legibility purposes. Further, reference number “39” found in Fig. 22 does not include a corresponding lead line.
Fig. 26: The lines and text corresponding to the dimensions shown are faint and difficult to read. Further, stray markings and lines should be removed.
Figs. 28-28e: The text of each figure, including reference numbers, are small. Text should be at least 1/8 inch in height (see 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3)). Regarding figs. 28 and 28d-28e, the lines of the figures are faint and should be darkened for legibility purposes. Further regarding fig. 28c, the hidden lines should be darked for legibility purposes.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 9, line 20: It appears “adjustment” should be --adjust--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Line 8 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 12 of the claim, is appears the limitation “a second end” should be --the second end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 13 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the form” should be --the cylindrical form-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 14 of the clam, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 4: Lines 3-4 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said outer ring” should be --said circular outer ring—for consistency of the claim language. Line 4 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 5: Line 1 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 6: Lines 1 and 4 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 3 of the claim, it appears “adjustments” should be --adjust--. Note that such language is consistent with that of claim 7.
With regard to claim 7: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 8: Lines 1-2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 10: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a top surface” should be --the top surface-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 10 of the claim, it appears the limitation “opposing sides” should be --the opposing sides-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 12: Lines 5-6 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a longitudinal channel” should be --the longitudinal channel-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 7 of the claim, it appears the limitation “when locking pin” should the --when the locking pin-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 8 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end--for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 15: Line 10 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 14 of the claim, is appears the limitation “a second end” should be --the second end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 15 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the form” should be --the cylindrical form-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 16 of the clam, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 16: Line 6 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be -the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 10 of the claim, is appears the limitation “a second end” should be --the second end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 12 of the clam, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 18 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said outer ring” should be --said circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 19 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 17: Line 6 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be -the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 10 of the claim, is appears the limitation “a second end” should be --the second end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 12 of the clam, it appears the limitation “a first end” should be --the first end-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 18 of the claim, it appears the limitation “said outer ring” should be --said circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 19 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the outer ring” should be --the circular outer ring-- for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1: Line 2 of the claim, it’s unclear as to the characteristics aggregate must possess and/or the type of aggregate that would be considered suitable (emphasis added). Lines 8-9 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “a wooden post” is referencing one of the previously recited wood posts. Line 13 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “hole” is referencing the previously recited cylindrical hole with the cylindrical form within or the cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form.
With regard to claim 2: Line 2 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “a wooden post” is referencing one of the previously recited wood posts. Line 2 of the claim, the limitation “the longitudinal axis” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 4: Line 3 of the clam, the limitation “said adjustable support brace” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 6: Line 3-4 of the claim, the limitation “the diameter” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Note that the circular outer ring comprises an inner and outer diameter. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --a diameter--.
With regard to claim 7: Line 2 of the claim, the limitation “the longitudinal axis” lack sufficient antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 11: It’s unclear if the claimed locking pin is referencing the previously recited means to lock the first component in position relative to the second component.
With regard to claim 12: Line 3 of the claim, the limitation “the longitudinal axis” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Lines 6-7 of the claim, the limitation “the top surface of the locking pin” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It appears the limitation should be directed to --the top surface of the rod--.
With regard to claim 15: Line 2 of the claim, it’s unclear as to the characteristics aggregate must possess and/or the type of aggregate that would be considered suitable (emphasis added). Line 4 of the claim, the limitation “the process” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Line 4 of the claim, the limitation “the wooden post” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Lines 10-11 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “a wooden post” is referencing one of the previously recited wooden posts. Line 15 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “hole” is referencing the previously recited hole with the cylindrical form within or the cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form.
With regard to claim 16: Lines 6-7 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “a wooden post” is referencing one of the previously recited wood posts. Line 11 of the claim, the limitation “the form or hole” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --a form or hole--. Lines 17-18 of the claim, the limitation “said adjustable support brace” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 17: Line 1 of the claim, the limitation “each adjustable post support braces” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Lines 17-18 of the claim, the limitation “said adjustable support brace” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 15-17 are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kemmsies (11,208,824 B1).
With regard to claim 1: Kemmsies discloses a radial support brace (10) (figs. 1-11; col. 1, lines 20-23 and 47-57) capable of use with a support system for wooden posts (11) having one end to be permanently encased by concrete, foam or aggregate in a cylindrical form within a cylindrical hole or in a cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form, the radial support brace (10) comprising
a. a first component (15) that has
(i) a body section (15) having top and bottom surfaces, opposing sides and first and second ends (A and B) (figs. 7-11);
(ii) means (abutting plate surfaces) at the first end (A) of the body section (15) to attach the first component (15) to one of the wooden posts (11) (figs. 7-11),
b. a second component (20) that has
(i) a first section (20) having a top surface, opposing sides and first and second ends (M and N) (fig. 11);
(ii) means at the second end (N) of the first section (20) to support the second end (N) of the first section in abutment against a peripheral inner wall of the cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of the form (fig. 11);
(iii) means at the first end (M) of the first section (20) to cooperate with means at the second end (B) of the first component (15) to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components (15, 20) (figs. 9-10);
c. means to lock (via nut 65) the first component (15) in position relative to the second component (20) (figs. 9-10; col. 4, lines 34-41).
Fig. 11: Kemmsies (US 11,208,824 B1)
With regard to claim 2: Kemmsies discloses that the means to attach the first component (15) to said one of the wooden posts (11) is a base plate perpendicular (extending vertically) to a longitudinal axis (extending in the direction towards a center of the one of the wooden posts) of the first component (15) adapted for connection to a side of the one of the wooden posts (11) (figs. 8-11).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gathers et al. (US 10,745,931 B1).
With regard to claim 1: Gathers et al. discloses a radial support brace (10) capable of use with a support system for wooden posts having one end to be permanently encased by concrete, foam or aggregate in a cylindrical form within a cylindrical hole or in a cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form, the radial support brace (10) comprising
a. a first component (42) that has
(i) a body section (42) having top and bottom surfaces, opposing sides, a first end (contacting post) and a second end (opposite the first end) (figs. 6-8);
(ii) means (abutting surface) at the first end of the body section (43) to attach the first component (42) to the one of the posts (figs. 6-8),
b. a second component (44) that has
(i) a first section (44) having a top surface, opposing sides and first and second ends (figs. 6-8);
(ii) means (45) at the second end of the first section (44) to support the second end of the first section (44) in abutment against a peripheral inner wall of the cylindrical hole (fig. 6);
(iii) means at the first end of the first section (44) to cooperate with means at the second end of the first component (42) to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components (42, 44) (figs. 6-8);
c. means (via bolt 51) to lock the first component (42) in position relative to the second component (44) (figs. 6-8).
With regard to claim 2: Gathers et al. discloses the means (abutting surface) to attach the first component (42) to said one of the posts is a base plate perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (extending towards a center of the one of the posts) of the first component (42) adapted for connection to a side of the one of the posts (fig. 6).
With regard to claim 8: Gathers et al. discloses a rod section (60, 66 and 68) extends from the first end of the first section of the second component (44) and is sized and shaped to fit within a longitudinal channel in the second end of the first component (42) to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components (42, 44) (figs. 4-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmsies (11,208,824 B1).
With regard to claim 15: Kemmsies discloses support system (10) (figs. 7-11) capable of use with wooden posts having one end to be permanently encased in concrete, foam or aggregate in a cylindrical form within a hole in the ground or in a cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form, the support system securing the post prior to and during a process of encasing one of the wooden posts.
Kemmsies discloses that the support system (10) comprising an adjustable post support brace (10) formed from a plurality of radial support braces (15, 20) comprising:
a. a first component (15) that has
(i) a body section (15) having top and bottom surfaces, opposing sides and first and second ends (A and B) (figs. 7-11);
(ii) means (abutting plate surfaces) at the first end (A) of the body section (15) to attach the first component to one of the wooden posts (11) (figs. 7-11),
b. a second component (20) that has
(i) a first section (20) having a top surface, opposing sides and first and second ends (M and N) (fig. 11);
(ii) means at the second end (N) of the first section (20) to support the second end (N) of the first section in abutment against a peripheral inner wall of the cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of the form (fig. 11);
(iii) means at the first end (M) of the first section (20) to cooperate with means at the second end (B) of the first component (15) to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components (15, 20) (figs. 9-10);
c. means to lock (via nut 65) the first component (15) in position relative to the second component (20) (figs. 9-10; col. 4, lines 34-41).
Kemmsies does not disclose the support system comprising a plurality of the adjustable post support braces spaced apart formed from a plurality of the radial support braces.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support system of Kemmsies to include multiple adjustable support post braces spaced from another comprising the radial support braces in order to provide further means of plumbing and supporting the respective post in a configuration where the cylindrical hole is deepened to accommodating a post of greater length. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the support system of Kemmsies to include multiple adjustable support post braces spaced from another to support posts of greater length. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gathers et al. (US 10,745,931 B1).
With regard to claim 15: Gathers et al. discloses support system (10) (figs. 3-8) capable of use with wooden posts having one end to be permanently encased in concrete, foam or aggregate in a cylindrical form within a hole in the ground or in a cylindrical hole in the ground without the use of a form, the support system securing the post prior to and during a process of encasing one of the wooden posts.
Gathers et al. discloses that the support system (10) comprising an adjustable post support brace (10) formed from a plurality of radial support braces (15, 20) comprising:
a. a first component (42) that has
(i) a body section (42) having top and bottom surfaces, opposing sides, a first end (contacting post) and a second end (opposite the first end) (figs. 6-8);
(ii) means (abutting surface) at the first end of the body section (43) to attach the first component (42) to the one of the posts (figs. 6-8),
b. a second component (44) that has
(i) a first section (44) having a top surface, opposing sides and first and second ends (figs. 6-8);
(ii) means (45) at the second end of the first section (44) to support the second end of the first section (44) in abutment against a peripheral inner wall of the cylindrical hole (fig. 6);
(iii) means at the first end of the first section (44) to cooperate with means at the second end of the first component (42) to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components (42, 44) (figs. 6-8);
c. means (via bolt 51) to lock the first component (42) in position relative to the second component (44) (figs. 6-8).
Gathers et al. does not disclose the support system comprising a plurality of the adjustable post support braces spaced apart formed from a plurality of the radial support braces.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support system of Gathers et al. to include multiple adjustable support post braces spaced from another comprising the radial support braces in order to provide further means of plumbing and supporting the respective post in a configuration where the cylindrical hole is deepened to accommodating a post of greater length. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the support system of Gathers et al. to include multiple adjustable support post braces spaced from another to support posts of greater length. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 10-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. As noted above, claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4: The combination of all the elements of the claimed radial support brace, in particular the second end of the first section has an opening sized and shaped to permit a circular outer ring to pass through said opening and permit said radial support brace to move around said circular outer ring while extending radially inwardly from the circular outer ring is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record.
With regard to claim 10: The combination of all the elements of the claimed radial support brace including a rod section extends from the first end of the first section of the second component and is sized and shaped to fit within a longitudinal channel in the second end of the first component to permit longitudinal movement of the first and second components, in particular a vertical slot extending downwardly from the top surface of the body section of the first component and open on opposing sides of the body section is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record.
With regard to claim 16-17: The combination of all the elements of the claimed support system including means at the second end of the first section to support the second end of the first section in abutment against a peripheral inner wall of a form or hole, in particular the second end of the first section having an opening is sized and shaped to permit a circular outer ring to pass through said opening and permit said adjustable support brace to move around said outer ring while extending radially inwardly from the outer ring is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to support systems for posts.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633