DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 6/11/2024. This application claims benefit to U.S. Provisional Application Serial Number 63/472,497, filed 6/12/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 6/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-11 have been examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 2/4/2025 and 8/24/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hazlebeck et al., US 2020/0299636 (US Patent Application Publication cite 1, IDS, 2/4/2025; herein “Hazlebeck”).
Note: Claims 1-11 are composition claims drawn to a system, i.e., device; hence, limitations of the claims drawn to an intended use are met if the device of the prior art COULD be used for the intended uses or method steps regardless of whether the prior art discloses the method or intended use.
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are drawn to an algae cultivation system comprising: 1) a first unit, 2) a second unit and 3) a conduit; wherein the first unit is a unit suitable for producing an algae slurry in a cultivation fluid; wherein the second unit is suitable for producing a microorganism slurry in a growth media under conditions in which one or more microorganisms produce and excrete carbonic anhydrase into the growth media, wherein the microorganism is one of an algae, a bacteria, or a fungi or is from one or more genera selected from Chlamydomonas, Methanosarcina, Porphyridium, Dunaliella, Saccharomyces, Schizosaccharomyces, Nitzschia, Escherichia, Coccomyxa, and any combination thereof; and wherein the conduit is suitable for transferring at least a portion of a microorganism slurry from the second unit to the first unit.
Hazlebeck discloses, in Fig. 10, an algae cultivation system comprising an algae cultivation unit (60a) configured to produce an algae slurry in a cultivation fluid ([0074], [0152-156]); comprising a microorganism cultivation unit (60b) configured to produce a microorganism slurry in a growth media under conditions in which one or more microorganisms produce and excrete carbonic anhydrase into the growth media, wherein the microorganism is one of an algae, a bacteria, or a fungi or is from one or more genera selected from Chlamydomonas, Methanosarcina, Porphyridium, Dunaliella, Saccharomyces, Schizosaccharomyces, Nitzschia, Escherichia, Coccomyxa, and any combination thereof because 60b is configured to grow algae which can excrete carbonic anhydrase; and comprises a conduit suitable for transferring at least a portion of a microorganism slurry, i.e., any component from 60b, from the second unit, i.e., 60b, to the first unit, i.e., 60a, because the outflow of 60b on the right, through pump 61, through harvester 51, past contactor 66, through pump 62 and in to 60a on the left side of the figure, anticipating claims 1-2 and 10-11.
Hazlebeck discloses that the algae cultivation system can comprise the system of Fig. 6 for the harvester 50 in Fig. 10 [0152]. Said system would comprise a harvest system configured to produce a concentrated algae product from the algae slurry, i.e., exits pump 16 in Fig. 6, a recycled cultivation fluid, i.e., leaving tanks 10 though valve 21 ([0015], [0123-126]); a holding reservoir (41), conduit suitable to transfer algae slurry from algae cultivation unit 60a to the harvest system (10) (19 in Fig. 6; [0115]), conduit suitable to transfer recycled cultivation fluid from the harvest system (10) to the holding reservoir (41) (through valve 21 in Fig. 6), conduit from holding reservoir (63 in Fig. 10) to algae cultivation unit 60a and conduit from holding reservoir to microorganism cultivation unit 60b (from 63 through contactor 66, pump 62 and into left side of algae cultivator 60a and microorganism cultivation unit 60b in Fig. 10) anticipating claims 3-4 and 6.
Hazlebeck teaches that the recycled media reservoir 63 can be used to add media to algae cultivator 60 (including 60b) in Fig. 10. The conduit between recycled media reservoir 63 and microorganism cultivation unit 60b is suitable for transferring make-up water into 60b anticipating claim 7.
Hazlebeck teaches that the algae cultivation system comprises a gas/liquid contactor 66 connected to the holding reservoir 63 in Fig. 10 for contacting the recycled cultivation fluid with carbon dioxide-containing gas [0157] anticipating claims 5 and 8-9.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651