DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 11, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: wall portion 52b recited in ¶[00169] of the instant specification is not included in fig. 19.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: elements 508, 509, 510 shown in fig. 9.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 of ¶[00125] of the specification recites “Specifically, the pressure of the second pressure con troll…(Emphasis added).” The emphasized section appears to contain a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udagawa et al. (US 2018/0043691 A1), hereinafter Udagawa, in view of Grosser et al. (US 2021/0189161 A1), hereinafter Grosser.
Regarding claim 1, Udagawa teaches an ink jet recording method of ejecting an aqueous ink from a plurality of ejection orifices to record an image on a unit area of a recording medium, the ink jet recording method comprising: performing a plurality of times of reciprocal scanning of a recording head on the unit area while performing reciprocal scanning in a direction intersecting a conveyance direction of the recording medium (figs. 3-4; carriage 32, medium S; ¶[0041]-[0044]), wherein the recording head includes: the plurality of ejection orifices for ejecting the aqueous ink (fig. 5; nozzles 36; ¶[0043]), a pressure chamber that communicates with the plurality of ejection orifices (fig.5; common liquid chamber 95; ¶[0075]), an ejection unit that includes an ejection element disposed in the pressure chamber and generating energy for ejecting the aqueous ink from the plurality of ejection orifices (fig. 5; actuator 94; ¶[0076]), a circulation unit that includes a supply channel for supplying the aqueous ink to the pressure chamber of the ejection unit (fig. 5; liquid supply channel 37; ¶[0044]), a collecting channel for collecting the aqueous ink from the pressure chamber of the ejection unit (fig. 5; return channel 97; ¶[0078]).
However, Udagawa fails to teach or fairly suggest the aqueous ink contains a particle having a specific gravity of 3.8 gram per cubic centimeter (g/cm3) or more.
Grosser teaches an aqueous ink comprising titanium dioxide particles (). Titanium dioxide inherently possesses a specific gravity of between 3.9 and 4.3 grams per cubic centimeter (see attached non-patent literature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aqueous ink of Grosser into the ink jet recording method of Udagawa in order to provide a white inkjet ink with improved ability to prevent sedimentation.
Regarding claim 2, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1. Grosser further teaches the particle having an average particle size (d50) of 200 nm to 400 nm (¶[0042]). Grosser identifies the particle size as a result-effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the particle size of Grosser to possess a volume-based cumulative 50% particle diameter of 200 nm or more to 300 nm or less, as recited in the claim, in order to balance the light scattering effect of the particle against the propensity of the particle to clog the nozzles of a printhead. One would have chosen the particle size through routine experimentation in order to sufficiently scatter light while avoiding extremely large particles that clog nozzles in inkjet printheads (¶[0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1. Grosser further teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the particle is a titanium oxide particle having a surface at least partially coated with silica, and the titanium oxide particle is dispersed at least by an action of silica (¶[0010], [0015]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Udagawa further teaches the recording head further includes a circulation pump that makes the aqueous ink in the collecting channel flow into the supply channel (fig. 5; circulation pump 98; ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Udagawa further teaches the circulation unit includes a first pressure adjustment unit that adjusts a pressure of the supply channel, wherein the first pressure adjustment unit includes a first valve chamber, a first pressure control chamber, and a first opening that makes the first valve chamber and the first pressure control chamber communicate with each other, and wherein the first valve chamber includes a first valve that opens and closes the first opening according to a change in pressure of the first pressure control chamber (fig. 5; pressure regulating mechanism 70, supply chamber 71, communication hole 72, pressure chamber 73, valve body 74; ¶[0064]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Udagawa teaches the ink jet recording method according claim 8, including a pressure adjustment unit that adjusts a pressure of the supply channel, wherein the pressure adjustment unit includes a valve chamber, a pressure control chamber, and an opening that makes the valve chamber and the pressure control chamber communicate with each other, and wherein the valve chamber includes a valve that opens and closes the opening according to a change in pressure of the pressure control chamber (fig. 5; pressure regulating mechanism 70, supply chamber 71, communication hole 72, pressure chamber 73, valve body 74; ¶[0064]-[0071]).
Merely duplicating the pressure adjustment unit in the collecting channel, as recited in the claim, would not produce new or unexpected results, therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pressure adjustment unit of Udagawa into the collecting channel in order to control a pressure of ink returning to the circulation pump. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 11, Udagawa teaches An ink jet recording device to eject an aqueous ink from a plurality of ejection orifices to record an image on a unit area of a recording medium, the ink jet recording device comprising: a recording head configured to perform a plurality of times of reciprocal scanning on the unit area while performing reciprocal scanning in a direction intersecting a conveyance direction of the recording medium (figs. 3-4; carriage 32, medium S; ¶[0041]-[0044]), wherein the recording head includes: the plurality of ejection orifices for ejecting the aqueous ink (fig. 5; nozzles 36; ¶[0043]), a pressure chamber that communicates with the plurality of ejection orifices (fig.5; common liquid chamber 95; ¶[0075]), an ejection unit that includes an ejection element disposed in the pressure chamber and generating energy for ejecting the aqueous ink from the plurality of ejection orifices (fig. 5; actuator 94; ¶[0076]), a circulation unit that includes a supply channel for supplying the aqueous ink to the pressure chamber of the ejection unit (fig. 5; liquid supply channel 37; ¶[0044]), a collecting channel for collecting the aqueous ink from the pressure chamber of the ejection unit (fig. 5; return channel 97; ¶[0078]).
However, Udagawa fails to teach or fairly suggest the aqueous ink contains a particle having a specific gravity of 3.8 gram per cubic centimeter (g/cm3) or more.
Grosser teaches an aqueous ink comprising titanium dioxide particles (¶[0015]-[0021]). Titanium dioxide inherently possesses a specific gravity of between 3.9 and 4.3 grams per cubic centimeter (see attached non-patent literature, alternatively see ¶[0010] of Kabalnov et al. (US 2014/0123874 A1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aqueous ink of Grosser into the ink jet recording device of Udagawa in order to provide a white inkjet ink with improved ability to prevent sedimentation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udagawa as modified by Grosser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda et al. (WO 2022/180955 A1), hereinafter Maeda. Textual references to Maeda are drawn from the attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 4, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, however neither Udagawa nor Grosser teach or fairly suggest a content (% by mass) of the particle in the aqueous ink is 0.5% by mass or more to 20.0% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the aqueous ink.
Maeda teaches a white ink composition wherein a content (% by mass) of the particle in the aqueous ink is 0.5% by mass or more to 20.0% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the aqueous ink (¶[0005], [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Udagawa as modified by Grosser with the ink properties of Maeda in order to provide an ink pigment that is easily re-dispersible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udagawa as modified by Grosser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasai et al. (US 2022/0088934 A1), hereinafter Kasai.
Regarding claim 5, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, however Udagawa as modified by Grosser fails to teach or fairly suggest the aqueous ink in a circulation path has a flow rate (mm/s) of 10 mm/s or more to 30 mm/s or less.
Kasai teaches an inkjet printing apparatus wherein the aqueous ink in a circulation path has a flow rate (mm/s) of 10 mm/s or more to 30 mm/s or less (fig. 5; bubbling chamber 23; ¶[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flow rate of Kasai into the ink jet recording method of Udagawa as modified by Grosser in order to provide for stable ink circulation while preventing erroneous ejection from the printhead nozzles.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udagawa as modified by Grosser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muto et al. (US 2013/0050336 A1), hereinafter Muto.
Regarding claim 6, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, however Udagawa as modified by Grosser fails to teach or fairly suggest a movement speed (inch/s) of the recording head in the reciprocal scanning is 20 inch/s or more.
Muto teaches an inkjet recording apparatus capable of performing inkjet printing with a carriage speed of 33 inch/s or more (fig. 1; carriage 3; ¶[0013], [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recording head of the ink jet recording method as taught by Udagawa in view of Grosser to operate at the carriage speed taught by Muto in order to provide for high throughput printing with high image quality.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udagawa as modified by Grosser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US 2013/0265355 A1), hereinafter Sato.
Regarding claim 10, Udagawa as modified by Grosser teaches the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, however Udagawa as modified by Grosser fails to teach or fairly suggest a water absorption amount of the recording medium from a start of contact to 30 msec1/2 in a Bristow method is 10 mL/m2 or less.
However, Sato teaches a printing apparatus and printing method for printing on plastic film (fig. 2A; printer 1; ¶[0032]). As recited in ¶[00174] of the instant specification, plastic film is an example of low to non-absorbing recording media that meet the physical properties of the claimed recording medium. Because the water absorptivity of plastic film is an inherent property of the material, despite the fact that Sato fails to teach the plastic film’s water absorptivity being quantified or otherwise evaluated using a Bristow method, the plastic film as taught by Sato would inherently possess such a water absorptivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink jet recording method as taught by Udagawa in view of Grosser to print on plastic film as taught by Sato in order to produce images for use in product packaging, for example.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Askeland et al. (US 2003/0001915 A1) teaches and inkjet printer and method comprising a carriage operable at 30 inch/s. Kumamoto et al. (US 2019/0023926 A1) teaches an inkjet printer and ink comprising particles with diameters between 200nm and 300nm. Ito (US 2010/0231669 A1) teaches an inkjet circulation system comprising multiple pressure valve assemblies.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853